Floral City, FL 
Floral Park Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #2 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 209ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Solid and fun course

1    2/3/2017   3/24/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 105  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.737 Rating) The perfect place for the after work happy hour round.
- FUN FACTOR - Floral park is the perfect place to bring three friends and a six-pack. There are ample opportunities for birdies. Errant throws are not further punished. The odds of losing a disc is near zero and for the most part, no searching in overgrowth areas. The course flows pretty smooth as well.
- ELEVATION - Compared to the 56 Florida course that I've played as of this review, Floral Park is well above average for Florida in elevation usage. A good six or seven holes introduce as least 10 feet of grade difference. The best two examples are back-to-back holes (7) and (8), probably each of these shots slide down about 25 feet. Another example is hole (12) which plays up at least 15 feet up. Still however, some parts of the country may consider this course flat.
- NAVIGATION - I downloaded the course map before coming here and my phone died just as I arrived. Despite this and also not finding a course map on site, I still had no issues navigating this course. All of the tee pads and baskets are marked clear. There are great homemade color coded arrows (blue and red) below the baskets to direct you to the corresponding tee. I find it truly amazing that I got turned around zero times solo and first time thru without a map. That's excellent navigation in my opinion. Also note, this course is perfect for disc caddie strollers.
- CHARACTER - Slightly above average. Multiple tees and with an appropriately spaced separation between the two tees. More than half of the tees are shaded. There is hole signage at most of the tees. There is some seating, but it is located at odd locations in relation to the tee in many instances. There's a great end of round picnic shelter with big tables and nearby restrooms. If I could add some things, i'd add more appropriately located seating and some new pin placements.
- NIGHT GOLF - I think floral would be an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few areas of overgrowth and no water hazards in play.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Due to the low overgrowth and the absence of a water hazard, this would be an ideal course to bring beginners to. The course is probably also great for rec thru intermediate players and beyond depending on personal tastes.
- QUICK PLAY - I personally completed a solo round here with a near empty course, in about an hour. Groups of 4 should probably finish in about of two hours in normal conditions.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds appear to be constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured and there is a proper amount garbage cans.
Cons: No major issues with Floral Park, but when comparing this course to other top regional courses, Floral comes up a bit short.
- UNIQUENESS - Other than a little bit of elevation for a Florida course, Floral Park feels the same sometimes, hole, after hole, after hole. Every tee shot is generally straight and little is done to protect many basket locations. There's only a couple of times where it feels you need to skip into a pocket. Tunnel plays are for the most part non-existent, and there is no water on site to force a line. 16 of 19 holes play between 250 and 350 feet from the back tees as well. If I were to call out a standout hole it would be hole (8), which is 450 foot downhill shot that plays over a line of 40 foot tall trees.
- DIFFICULTY - Due to mostly open plays and lack of hazards, shooting below par from the blues should routinely occur for advanced and perhaps intermediate players as well. The red tees should give the rec players the chance to crack par as well.
- RAW BEAUTY - Perhaps it was the time of year I played (February), but I found the park beauty to be average among the state courses I've played. The grass was dead in many areas and it was dusty and sanding in areas as well. The tree coverage is light to moderately spaced and the trees are generally younger in age. There are however a few nice sized oaks along the west side of the layout.
- SPACING - Although in general about average, there are a few times that you'll stand at the tee a wonder what basket to throw at. I only made the guess wrong once (12). Fairways are also generally spaced adequately but an errant grip lock will still have the potential to find the wrong fairway in many instances.
- MAINTENANCE - I saw lots of trash along the Westside of the course adjacent to the highway. Not much of a factor in my rating but worth noting. The rest of the grounds however, appear good.

Other Thoughts: Floral Park is a nice city park with a solid disc golf course. I'd definitely want Floral in my backyard, but i still however would not call this a destination gem in the greater region.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic Am/Rec Course

1    2/25/2017   2/25/2017
Review By: thrembo
Played: 127  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 41.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a Grandmaster Rec player I really liked this course. Nice large concrete tees (red and blue) that share one informative tee sign, often between the two tees, nice baskets, nice big trees, nice minor elevation changes, nice mowed grass with zero rough, and nice easy navigation. Easy enough for beginners/rec to have a good time from the reds and Intermediates will like the added distance from the blue tees.
Cons: Advanced/Pro players will probably find the course to be a little short and vanilla with several holes of the same distance/look variety. There is much harder course around 10 miles away if need be (Whispering Pines).

There is a heavily used walking path that winds through the course. We had to wait several times to let people pass by.
Other Thoughts: Nice, clean, friendly and pleasant. Those of lower skill levels will like this one!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Long and Long and...did I say Long?

1    3/18/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: Jaysauls
Played: 74  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 3/21/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First I want to say that this course is in a beautiful park, with tons to offer for the non-golfer. So you really have to watch out for walkers. As for the golf, in my humble opinion, for the short-arm throwers, it's not the best.

If you like throwing really long, mostly low shots, this is the course for you! If you like dodging Spanish moss and not having a ton of variety, this, again, is the course for you!

Now there are a few nice aspects of this course. The tee pads are fantastic - wide and long. The trees are gorgeous - nice old oaks with swinging beards of Spanish moss. There's also a nice pavilion and playground for the little ones. And its soooo easy to navigate that Stevie Wonder could do it blindfolded!

But as for variety, it ain't got a whole lot. It's either a long anhyzer shot around an oak tree, or a long hyzer shot around an oak tree. Some of the shots are long hyzer/anhyzer shots up hill, and some are long down hill hyzer/anhyzer shots. Sigh. But it is a big, wide open park with tree interspersed through out. There is some decent elevation and a couple of cool down hill-slope shots. But for the most part it's a 2-3 disc course - putter, stable driver, stable fairway/mid-range driver.

One of the plusses of the course is the wind...and today there was puh-lenty. So it was an excellent test of you full power wind shots. And since there is -0- brush, it didn't matter where you ended up, you had an angle back to the basket.
Cons: Lack of variety...just not much you can do with a wide open piece of property.
Other Thoughts: If you need a place to practice the art of gripping-and-ripping, you've found your home.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent

1    6/20/2015   6/20/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Navigation and flow are splendid and be prepared to grip and rip. Signage is perfect, tees are well pronounced, and 9 and 18 land you in the same area if you need a bathroom break or a quick rest.
Very friendly people playing in the park; always a plus
Cons: The only true challenge stated by other reviewers are the low ceilings
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners and others to work on shot making .First timerswill never have issues with course navigation

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Classic Public Park Course

1    12/27/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: markmcc
Played: 174  Reviewed: 162  Exp: 5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic city park DG course with acres of mowed turf and scattered mature trees. No brush or low-growing stuff to hide your disc.

There are two good concrete tees for each hole, with hole number and distance stenciled on the pad. They are color-coded red and blue to confirm which pad you are on.

There is one simple sign per hole. Sometimes it is at the blue tee, and other times it is somewhere between the two tees. No map or diagram, just par and distances.

The red tees add up to quite a short course, while the blues stretch it out pretty well. On Hole 8 the blue tee more than doubles the hole length.

Most of the drives here are pretty open, with just a tree or two to work around. On several holes the upper branches of the trees create a ceiling that you'll need to stay beneath. There is enough elevation to have some decent uphill and downhill shots, though the "Mostly Flat" label still applies.

Hole 6 (573') and 16 (594') offer a great opportunity to really air it out.

Large parking lot with restrooms. Hole 9 finishes back near the lot so you can take a break or stop by your car before the back nine.
Cons: With the exception of changing hole lengths, there is not a lot of variety or challenge on the course. From the blue tees, 16 of the holes are between 250' and 350', so even the distances don't vary much.

This is a mixed-use public park, and on the Saturday afternoon that I played there were plenty of walkers and others that had to be accounted for. The walking path winds through the course and I had to wait to drive a couple of times. There was a hole (7?) where you are throwing at/over a picnic table located about 75' in front of the basket. It that table was in use the hole wouldn't be safely playable.
Other Thoughts: This course is pretty much the exact opposite of the Whispering Pines DGC which is just 8 miles away. Where that course is short and extremely tight, this one is open and has some decent length.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Floral park

5+    1/18/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 141  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 22.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very large clean & safe park. Great variety including more hills than usual for Florida. Makes good use of the large hill with some up hill & down hill shots. long & short tees for all. Restrooms for the ladies by parking & all the way in the back along course route.
Cons: some may find a little short on challenge as some of the long tees are close in length to the shorts & no water hazards.
Other Thoughts: Most of the challenge here is the form of distance or the mature oak trees with old mans beard. Great grip & rip course & one of my favorites on the route to my "cabin in the woods"

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 On the Low

1    2/1/2014   2/3/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 5.8 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you haven't played Floral Park, you have probably played one like it. There's a lot of them. A big public park with lots of activities. A lot of open space. Enough so that the holes don't intrude on one another. A scattering of large trees across a mowed playing area.

It's an easy place to pick up the game. It's not going to challenge veteran players but it's not really meant to. New players should find it fun and free of frustration. It's a nice, clean park and the relatively few obstacles and complete lack of rough means that even first-timers aren't going to be spending time looking for discs after shanks. And while there are a few long holes, most of them are under 300 feet from the short pads. It's really perfect for new to slightly experienced players.

There is also enough distance from the blue pads to make it fun for experienced discers. There is some serious length gaps between the two sets of tees. But merely being able to the long drives doesn't attract most players. What should keep the course interesting for veteran players is the canopy of live oaks and Spanish moss that hang over most of the course. Keeping it low will be the biggest priority for those who want to score well at Floral Park. The lines themselves are rarely difficult. There are typically a few thick trunks between the tee and the basket but the space to move the disc is more than generous. Having to keep it under those sprawling limbs and branches is what will keep discers interested here.
Cons: Beyond the limitations inherent to this type of course, there really aren't many cons here. It's good at what it does, but most traveling players are likely looking for courses that attempt to do more. More challenge. More obstacles. More elevation. Interesting, or signature holes. Hazards. Rough. Water. There is an absence of all of these.

Also weird: the tee signs are often placed somewhere in between the red and blue tees. This makes them inconvenient for pretty much everyone. On the other hand, they don't offer any information besides distance, so it's easy to pass on reading them.
Other Thoughts: In summation: It's worth playing. It's especially nice as a counterpoint to Whispering Pines. I believe they are about eight miles apart and represent vastly different visions of course design. They make a nicely contrasting combined experience.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Good and Bad

1    12/23/2013   12/30/2013
Review By: Horsman
Played: 116  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 10.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Easy to get to with a decently big parking lot.

- Very very very easy to navigate this course if you play blind. There are arrows on the bottom of every basket that point you to wherer the 2 teepads are.

- 2 sets of teepads on every Hole

- A nice mix of every type of shot, straight, hyzer, anhyzer, thumber, forhand, backhand. It has it all.

- A good mix of short and long holes
Cons: - CEILINGS. Almost every single hole has a very low cieling and the only really option is to throw the one shot that has the cieling. This might just be me being me though because Im 6'6"

- There were a few holes that had a tree or 2 very close to the tee right in front of you, which is really bad but it takes away from what the hole could be.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing this course from the shorts but struggled through the longs. I think it is a beautful park with every thing in place for it to be a great course it would need a little work to make it really great.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Open Park

5+    12/20/2013   12/20/2013
Review By: WholeLottaWampum
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.9 Years
Pros: This was the first course that I played when I started about a year ago. There are several aspects to this course that make it the great course that it is!
-The park is very well maintained
-There are two tee pads for each hole
-The next hole is pointed out on the previous basket.
-A variety of shots can be used
-YOU WILL NOT LOSE A DISC

This course is perfect for both beginning and skilled disc golf players. There are several ways that a player can approach the basket which make for a fun play!

This course does not take long to play through.
Cons: This course is in an open field that offers limited to NO shade. If you are sensitive to the sun please remember to bring sun block, or else you may not have as much fun as planned!
Other Thoughts: This course is surrounded by several other park amenities such as: Basketball court, tennis court, racket ball court, baseball field, a sheltered park bench, and a playground for children! This can offer everyone in the family something to enjoy! Pack a lunch and make a day of it!

 Another Great Florida Course.

5+    10/14/2013   10/14/2013
Review By: Charbachuk
Played: 40  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Located in the middle of nowhere in comparison to other courses in a small town.
- Nice big parking lot; I'm real big on accessibility.
- All Tee-Pads are in great shape; double sidewalk panel style. Each pad is also painted with the color of the pad (Blue for the Pro, Red for the Am) and the number of the hole.
- Tons of shot variety; multiple ways to get to the pin on each hole.
- Tons of course diversity; no two holes play the same on this course.
- Not overwhelmingly difficult or long. The majority of the distance on this course is on 3 holes and this isn't a course that will kill you with difficulty.
- Nice baskets with next hole indicators underneath.
- Signature hole in my opinion is hole #16, longer par 4 that throws downhill at first, then under low ceiling to basket in corner of park.
- Great elevation, especially for Florida. Some definite up and downs without having to bring your hiking boots.
- Course plays completely different from the Blue pads than the Red pads.
Cons: - Tee-Signs; I have no idea why, but the tee sign for each hole is located in between the Blue pad and Red pad which is annoying if you want to know distance and have to walk halfway down the fairway to see the sign. Also, these are probably some of the most boring tee-signs I've ever seen; just plain ole metal with stick-em numbers.
- No real signature finishing hole; hole 18 is a pretty lame 300 footish shoot down a little hill moving left to right in between two trees.
- The potential for the signature hole, hole #16 in my opinion, is not fully met. I feel like the distance and elevation makes it awesome, but when you get to the basket and see its barley perched up on some clay surface surrounded by old wood. A hole like that could use some nice plant life around the basket and possibly even a more elevated pin.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, this is one of my top 5 favorite courses and top 10 in difficulty. This is such a beautiful area and the course does not disappoint. Some small improvements could be made to take this course to the next level, but I'm not complaining.

- I would most certainty take a day trip to play this course, play the blues in the morning and the reds in the afternoon.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.