Floral City, FL 
Floral Park Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #12 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 182ft.   3 / 273ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

1    8/21/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 90  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/4/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course reminds me of an 18 hole version of Limona. This is a very unusual course for Florida. There is lots of elevation (particularly on 5, 6, 7, 8, 12 & 12a which is uncommon down here and is a welcome challenge and great learning opportunity. The course has plenty of length without getting ridiculous. I really liked the pin placements with guardian trees that aren't crazy plentiful but are enough to make you shape your shot. Anhyzers that you really have to put some juice on it to get it to the pin. You also have two almost completely different courses playing from the reds and the blues that make this a course that is friendly to both beginners and more advanced, even pro, players. Course loops back to the parking lot, pavilion/water fountain and bathrooms at hole 9, a huge plus. Super hard to lose a disc and also super hard to score real far below par unless you are advanced am or better. The course is very well maintained, would be a great place to work on rollers. This is a must play course in Florida!
Cons: Lack of water. Many holes are pretty wide open which is fun to air it out but often lacks having to be very accurate to get par.

Need updated tee signs (would help in understanding what is OB, where the next tee is, etc).
Other Thoughts: I can't wait to get back out to this course and will play it any chance I can get. There is enough room in this park to add 1-2 more holes, especially between 6 & 7.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Shady Treat

1    7/6/2013   7/6/2013
Review By: davmer2303
Played: 25  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 4.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: * Course has a good variety of hole lengths including two very worthy par 4's.
* Each hole has two sets of tee pads with a very different challenge, and varied lines off each pad.
* Course contains sporadic, but consistent live oaks. These trees are well used by the park designer so as to make quality obstacles for the shotmaker.
* Most holes contain multiple lines that are possible. Although not a "hard" course, poor shots will be swallowed by the oaks.
* Course makes good use of some hills and elevation changes. There are some lovely downhill and uphill holes.
* The trees provide ample shade and there seems to be a consistent breeze. I played in Florida's July weather and found it to be quite comfortable.
* Teepads were solid concrete, had mostly good signage, and baskets typically contained arrows to next holes.
* Navigation was easy and usually logical with the course starting and ending at the pavilion.
* Fun factor was high. I would love to play here again!
Cons: * the red tee pad for 13 does not seem to exist, There was a marker for red 13 on the ground but no pad.
* The red pad for 9 is on the edge of the basketball court bleachers. Its easy to find once you know what you're looking for.
* Pretty much a con free course. There were a few missing arrows around 7 and 8 but the pads were easy to find. I didn't have navigation issues and the architect clearly maximized the resources of the park.
Other Thoughts: I have eyed this course for a few months as one to play, and I was not disappointed. As I walked and threw, I found myself in a nice peaceful zone. This park brought me back to my childhood before things were fast and crowded. It has beautiful shade trees with rolling hills, and the fact that the disc golf is quality makes it just right. The park has a nice walking path, basketball courts, playgrounds, bathrooms, and grills. It would be a nice place to bring the family, and the people I ran into were nice and courteous. Floral City may be a relaxed town known for its fishing, but in this case give Floral Park disc golf course a try. You wont be sorry!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun in Floral City

1    4/21/2013   4/28/2013
Review By: lordbag
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Concrete Tees
- Arrows to Next Pad
- Distances were marked for red and blue
- Good practice course
- Won't lose any discs
- Great course on a quite day
Cons: - Tees and Baskets are some times too close to other tees and baskets, which can be interesting if there are players out.
- Walkers can interrupt play.
Other Thoughts: This is a great place to get some practice in when no one else is there because there is little walking between baskets and tees. The conditions were pretty good for a local park. I will be going back to sharpen my game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tour Del Sol Finals

2-4    9/22/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: scottgopre
Played: 37  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads for pros and ams
-Arrows on baskets to designate next pad location
-Well maintained course
-Long holes are a mix of open and technical
-Two bathroom buildings in case you gotta go
-Great for testing mid-range ability
Cons: -Out of bound areas not clearly marked
-Walkways may have slow pedstrians crossing in front of flight path
-Few am holes that require higher than a mid-range
-No desginated practice basket (used hole 10's basket to warm up)
Other Thoughts: This course is great for a beginner wanting to learn the sport. Combine holes 12 & 12A for a more challenging. Watch where you step. I stepped in dog poop because some people don't know how to pick up after their dog.

I would love to come back and play this course again!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/2/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: MaxUFC
Played: 87  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Neat course
- Direct sign under the basket for next tee.
- Restrooms and water fountains
- Plenty for a parking
- Grills and tables
Cons: - Some tees closer too closer each other.
- Not many trash cans.
- Walking people cross the paths around nearby tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: I like to come back there any day.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Didn't Disappoint

2-4    9/28/2011   3/22/2012
Review By: Oruatyrim
Played: 67  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete Tee Pads. Holes are marked well, for the most part. Not crowded. good use of the sparse amount of trees in the park. Short course from either set of pads which made it easy to get multiple rounds in from both pads. Good facilities at the park; restroom, picnic area, play areas, walking trail. Good place to take the family and turn them loose if you wanna get a few rounds in.
Cons: Confusing to navigate the holes between 9-16. Better placed directional signs would help, or the print out of the course made available at the Pavillion near hole 1. Not much variety when it comes to scenery, or varied shot selection. Found myself throughing the same disc on a majority of holes even after playing multiple times from the different pads
Other Thoughts: It's a typical course set up in a local park. Very slight change in elevation for the most part. Most holes are ace-runable with the exception of the 2 bombers.

Was worth the 1hr drive I had to make while visiting parents in The Villiages.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 open yet technical

1    3/8/2012   3/8/2012
Review By: GrEaTeRNaTeR
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a great grip'm and rip'm course seeing as its a wide open municipal park with mature trees with plenty on spanish moss. The low hanging spanish moss comes into play on many holes which will make you keep it low and fast to accomplish the distance you need.
Cons: nothing really showing where the next hole starts but not much of a con if u know how to open your eyes and look around
Other Thoughts: this is a really nice course to play at to get in a fun round if your on vacation in the area. i liked this course for its beautiful landscape, technical nature and freindly locals. met up on the back nine with one of the locals who had given me and my brother the low-down on each hole.... thanks for the fun round Bill!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Florida Fun at Floral Park

1    12/19/2011   1/9/2012
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 15.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upkeep, appearance, hills
Other Thoughts: Floral Park is a well maintained, well laid out city park style course, but oddly, in a mostly rural region of Florida's Gulf Coast. This mostly open course features concrete teepads, good signage, some excellent trees, a couple of longer than average holes, and unlike most Central Florida courses, a legitimate bit of elevation to enhance your round.

Country roads lead to Floral Park no matter which way you come, yet when you arrive you'll see it's a classic municipal park, with bathrooms, a ball field, walking trail, and other typical amenities, so a bit of a disconnect, but in a good way. The course starts off right next to the parking lot with a good sign and a nice concrete teepad. It has two tees, and typical of the other Florida courses I've played, regular and beginner might be a better way to think of the choices than pro and am. The course maintains the personality it sets on hole #1 throughout in terms of tees and signage, and straightforward and mostly open holes but with enough live oaks (some of which are truly impressive) and other trees to make you think. Most holes are in the usual 250 to 400 foot range, but there are a couple legitimate par 4s out here, from the long tees at least. Disc loss is not a concern on this course; there's no water, and none of the palmetto stands that sometimes make Florida disc golf a special challenge. Unlike any of the other courses I've played in Florida, there are some little hills on this course, and this is one place in Central Florida where you can get at least a taste of a bona fide downhill chuck, and an uphill grind. Wayfinding is also not too tough, but painting the basket rungs to indicate which way to the next tee would make wayfinding much easier.

Overall, Floral Park is one of those courses that is just a nice experience throughout, and leaves you with a spring in your step. A bit lacking in terms of length and varied challenges, but above average in terms of tees, signage, upkeep, overall appearance, and that intangible relaxed Florida sunshine vibe. Overall, a Good course, and worthy of a roadtrip if you're anywhere nearby.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 An Interesting Florida Course

1    3/27/2011   3/27/2011
Review By: rhelt100
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Very well maintained. Short course is good for beginners or more experienced players looking to practice their short game.
Cons: The course could use some directional signs to the next tee although we didn't have any major issues. The setup of 12 and 12b was a little confusing and the lack of a red tee on hole #9 confused us for a bit. Might be a good idea to paint a red stripe on the tee pad as well so it's obvious where it is.
Other Thoughts: This was a fun course to play. Although most of the holes were short, they were well designed to present a challenge even for those who are used to longer courses.

 Fun Day Trip

1    10/3/2010   10/3/2010
Review By: sasquach
Played: 12  Reviewed: 8
Pros: Course was in great shape today. Well mowed and clear of downed limbs ect. Nice to play in a wide open space. Our home course has a lot of brush.
Good for your ego. Not a long course from the pro tees. Every once in awhile it's good for you.
Great place for beginners to try some shots.
As usual we met some nice locals.
Cons: There were pick-nickers under a tree in the 10th fairway. It's a multi-use park and you have to share.
Not really a con so much as something to watch out for.
Did not need my mid range discs all day. Drivers and short discs were it.

Other Thoughts: A fun day trip from Ocala for us. We got in 3 rounds and were home by 5:00. A nice short course.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.