Floral City, FL 
Floral Park Share
Uploaded By: denny ritner Hole #13 (Taken 5/2009)
3 / 179ft.   3 / 301ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Open

2-4    9/1/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 46  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ease of finding course : 4
Fun factor : 4 All in all a fun couse. I really liked the Pro and AM tee pads for most of the holes.
Beginner friendly : 4
Lost disc recovery : 5
Cons: Layout : 2 From many of the tee pads it was difficult to determine which pin to shoot at.
Ease of finding next hole : 2 This course was difficult to navigate
Terrain management : 2 They really should cut the grass more and several areas were just flood ponds
Other Thoughts: Pin and tee box quality : 3 This course would greatly inprove if the pins had the hole number clearly marked on the top of them.
Variety : 3
Hole info : 3

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    9/1/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: treehuggr
Played: 22  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course - awesome fairways for beginners. I love the hills and the straight paths - made it easy to teach a newbie.

Good practice for me!
Cons: As noted before - a couple red pads were missing.

Hard to follow the course a bit without a course map.
Other Thoughts: I just moved to the area from Ohio. After playing Ohio courses, this was a breath of fresh air. Had a newbie with me so it was a very good course to start out on. Really could use a better course map though. It was difficult following the course not know where the next one began. Maybe also put some hole markers on the basket to better know which basket goes to which hole - or on the tee signs, do a map to the basket.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not a bad place to play

1    8/22/2010   8/24/2010
Review By: Daddy_Dragon
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 25.9 Years
Pros: Concrete tees for most. Found that there were three without two tees. I play off the pros, so that didn't bother me any. Great landscape, was well maintained when I played. This place had elevation (not mountains mind you) which was a surprise for me in Florida. No palms thus no chance of me losing a disk.
Cons: This place had no water or true hazards. There were various holes in which I had to back track or walk a distance in order to reach next tee. There were no marker indicating the location of the next tee. Lucky for me, I went with my brother who had played the course before.
Other Thoughts: A lot of walking for 18 holes due to back tracking, but was enjoyable. It was a nice park setting. Not fact there was a cute playground to entertain the little ones while I played.

 Great Course needs a few

1    7/23/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: poolsk8r
Played: 26  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 28.3 Years
Pros: Great course really well maintained. Tee pads are nice and wide and uniform in size
Cons: Needs hole maps at tee markers and alternate pin placements would put this course over the top and next tee markers would be helpful
Other Thoughts: The course is dry... no water hazards to be a well rounded course it would need one or two holes to play with a water hazard. But still one of the better courses I have played in Fl and will def be playing this again and again and again....

  Addenda to earlier reviews

1    7/19/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: Justin Woodall
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 7/22/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tees with colored stripe and hole number on the back portion of the tee.
-As previously noted, no water to deal with.
-Park is beautiful and well maintained, no palmettos or other predatory plant life.
-Some elevation change
Cons: -Layout of the front 9 is not entirely intuitive, and there are no facility maps. The back 9 is pretty straight forward.
-Other than the low canopy, there are not many more obstacles. There are a few manmade obstacles that may be in play on a couple of holes.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to do this as an addendum to the other reviews rather than a standalone. A few things I found to be aware of:
(1) The first tee is through the pavillion from the parking area. The second tee is on the fence corner on the opposite side of the shuffleboard court from the first tee, so you do have to backtrack.
(2) Hole number six doubles back across the open field, so the restrooms and pavillion will be on your left.
(3) Holes #9, #13, and #16 are missing the concrete tee pads for the red tees. There are square dirt areas instead.
(4) This course is an ego-booster. Distances from red are VERY short, for the most part. Even the par 4s are reachable in three.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course!

1    7/12/2010   7/12/2010
Review By: pastorfrf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not busy.
Great layout!
Beautiful Park.
No chance of losing a disc.
Shady.
Challenging holes.
Cons: No water or major obstacles...if you like that.
Other Thoughts: Great course in the middle of Florida. The Spanish moss covers the tall, old guardian trees and there are alot of "grip it and rip it" holes. There are also several holes where you hit the line or you hit a tree or two. I will be here more often!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    8/1/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Osotogari
Played: 47  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course for all skill levels. This course can be played with a small variety of discs and shots but has many paths to improve whatever you want to work on. No water hazards to loose your discs.
The park is maintained very well and has two bathrooms with cold water fountains, on the outside.
They have handicaps at 11:00am every Sunday...
Cons: Hole two was difficult to find; you have to backtrack around the fence by hole 10. The other holes can be found within a minute or two, but I had a local help me out.
The park is out in the boonies but that can also be a pro. (no crime?) Make sure you bring munchies ( I don't know where the closest store is)...
Other Thoughts: I will definitely be returning to this course. It's a fun course where I can try a few things without loosing my discs.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Floral City

1    6/19/2009   6/20/2009
Review By: FrolfHead
Played: 71  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is set in a small town park with alot of very old/large trees. Park was empty when I was there which was cool. Tons of spanish moss hanging from trees. I thought there was a good mix of short, long, and intermediate holes. Had 2 par 4's that were close to 600 feet long.
Cons: Only shade is provided by trees and it gets hot in Florida. While fun I thought the course lacked any real imagination. I only used a couple different discs and a couple types of shots.
Other Thoughts: Park has a real small town feel and seemed to be very well maintained.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Clean and open

1    3/18/2009   3/18/2009
Review By: Jones
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is open enough for beginners but still challenging. The park is well taken care of. Some holes had some fun elevation shots, up and down. Had 2 long par 4's.
Cons: Could of been a little more challenging.
Other Thoughts: This cousre was fun, I will play it again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 nice city park

1    12/25/2008   1/10/2009
Review By: biscoe
Played: 93  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice traditional city park course meandering through live oaks with lots of Spanish moss. No schule whatsoever. Decent elevation change for Florida- course designers have made good use of available obstacles/terrain. 2 legit par 4 holes, no tweener holes. Excellent place for a beginner to learn the game or for an advanced player to hone their shots.
Other Thoughts: Signage was a little off but that was due to recent addition of concrete pads according to a local. I would expect this to have been rectified by now. Low ceilings galore.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.