Shreveport, LA 
Ford Park Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #13 (Taken 6/2012)
3 / 266ft.   3 / 279ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White/Blue Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
It'll do just fine

1    4/3/2018   4/11/2018
Review By: blake833
Played: 55  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 8.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ford Park is situated by a lake on the Northwest side of Shreveport. 18 holes, and several tees on each hole, but I don't remember seeing multiple tees after the first few holes. The lake never comes into play, and you don't really get a look at it other than on the drive up.

Holes are a mix of long challenging pars, and short birdie-ace opportunities. There are a couple par 4's and 5's to really add some more advanced challenge. For being an open park, there aren't a lot of just straight open shots. If you want to get close to the pin, you really need to put yourself in position. But don't get me wrong- this is not a technical course by any means.

I did have a lot of fun playing this course. I never got the "same hole twice" feel. I got to use several drivers and a good range of shots to reach the pin on this course. There just wasn't anything super stand-out about it.

There are a couple holes that are unique, like one that's short, with a wall of short trees between you and the basket. You can't really throw through them, just around. It was interesting.
Cons: That's really the only real con, is that nothing about his park takes it to the next level. There's no significant elevation, there's no notable scenic holes. It just is.

Navigation can be kinda tricky at first, I couldn't figure out which tees lined up with which color on this app. So if you use the DGCR app to keep score, it's going to be a little difficult.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I almost rated it a 3, but I think on the strength of its variety it deserves a 3.5. I know that DGCR calls a 3.5 "Very Good," and it may fall just short of that, but it's definitely more than your standard average, or good course. Between this and Highland Park, this is the course with more intentionally designed holes, and longer fairways. It has an elevated basket! But HP, a neighborhood 9 hole course, has more elevation and shorter holes. They compliment each other well, and it's hard to say which I would play more if I lived in Shreveport, but I will play them both again when I return.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

What a course! THE TREES!

1    6/8/2015   6/8/2016
Review By: discgolfnovice88
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 3.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of hole lengths
Interesting baskets placements
The trees
This is a great looking park
It is decently maintained
Cons: The signs are not the greatest
The interesting basket placement can make locating your target a little difficult
Other Thoughts: We only played the front 9 due to time constraints, but enjoyed this course very much. Hole 5 is particularly fun with the row of small trees directly between the tee and the basket. The pine trees on this course are HUGE! We will play this one again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the trip.

5+    2/23/2013   2/23/2013
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2014
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The more that I play Ford Park, the more it grows on me. I also remember that I enjoyed the first time playing it.

This course is set in a municipal park with gentle elevation changes and mature trees, mostly tall pines. The first 6-7 holes wind through the pines and then the course opens up a little, with a few exceptions, and then ends up back in the large pines for the last three holes.

The standout holes in my mind are 2, 4 and 10. Although many of the holes are laid out very well.

Other park activities don't seem to interfere with the course. There is a good mix of very short, middle distance, and long holes.

The average level of difficulty is not all that high due to the lack of any underbrush to speak of. The large trees will punish errant shots and add strokes on longer holes.

Navigation is fairly straightforward. I didn't have a map, but never got lost after locating the first tee box (which didn't take long). The tee boxes on most holes are large and are wider at the rear which is very nice.

This course uses a lot of real estate and there are no cross play issues. Some of the holes have some added features to make them more interesting (one basket on a tower so that it can be see from the tee (but the tower cannot), one behind a hedge line, one shot between two rows of trees, etc.
Cons: Some of the baskets can be a bit difficult to locate from the tee and the signs are not the best. All of the signs are marked with a par of "3" which is clearly incorrect on a number of holes. Though there are multiple tees, only one set is concrete. The rest are dirt.

These are minor and certainly don't detract from this being a fun course.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Shreveport area, this course is close to I-20 on the western part of Shreveport and is a convenient stop.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 All Around Great Course

1    8/11/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: CTRobuck
Played: 49  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for all levels of players. Course is well maintained and provides 3 different levels of teeboxes that will make the course very playable for anyone. The course has short holes for Ace runs and birdie opps after you play the 500+ft holes. Very good use of the abundant park space. The course also flows pretty well from basket to to teebox. It wasn't a very busy day when we played but the course seems to stay outta the way of the park patrons so that the course and the park can be enjoyed by both.
Cons: Some of the hole signs seemed to be old or just wrong. It was my first time to play so maybe I looked over something I should have seen, but it was a little confusing on a few of the holes. I believe it was hole 4, that said that the hole was 300 or so ft, but there was no possible way that is possible. Mhy guess is that the locals may have changed the course up recentley but luckily DGCR had up to date distances to look at.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, and would love to have a course like this to play on a day to day basis. Good mixture of long and short holes and great use of trees, bushes and roads(OB) to create a good challenge. I am definitlely going to make the trip back to this park in the near future!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Love Ford Park!

5+    7/2/2012   7/17/2012
Review By: DavidRials
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you wanna bomb some drives this is a great park for it. Not overly technical but you still need accuracy and distance to score well here. This is the best park in SHV in my opinion.
Cons: Because of the length you need at least 2 hrs to play the course. Make sure and take a drink with you too, a convenience store is close by though.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a really good mix of holes, and has a great atmosphere & scenery with it being right off the lake.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Park! Will play again for sure!

1    9/28/2011   10/28/2011
Review By: Johnny_Crunch
Played: 128  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 6/19/2013
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice large trees everywhere with lots of shade. Nice spread out park with no real interference from the non golfers. Close to the lake with beautiful scenary. Long and short holes to challenge all skill levels.
Cons: From what I could tell some of the signage wasn't accurate but it was easy to figure out either way.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play. It is nice to look at and is very relaxing. I will play it again for sure when I return to town.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Stretch Ye Arm Out

1    6/20/2011   6/24/2011
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has many open holes, some sparce trees, OB, mandos, protected baskets and uses the entire park. With 7 holes under 300 feet and 4 holes over 600 feet, you can't go wrong with the hole length variety here. The OB areas are fair and can be considered tough. The road through the park has some parking sections that can sneak into play some. It made it interesting. The sparce tree holes had greatly placed trees allowing alternate routes and yet still made fun holes. The long open holes really let you open up your drives. The shorter holes are excellent with some great pin placements. The long tees have nice concrete tee pads. The baskets are older but were still in decent shape. The tee signs do have the length and hole map on them. Navigation here was not a problem. This place has picnic tables and a restroom.
Cons: The shorter, grass tees are marked by stakes with the tee numbers on them. The negative about the good tee signs is that they are put in the front of the tees and could get in the way for some people.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor for Ford Park is better than ok. Most of the holes are in the shade and the variety of hole lengths makes this place a real treat. The desire to tee off multiple times on these holes was not really there, but it was enjoyable just the same. The park is nice and clean and the golf was fantastic. I would certainly play this course again. I sure wish I had been staying closer to Shreveport, so I could have played the other courses.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Cource in Tall Pines

1    4/8/2011   4/11/2011
Review By: goodolrebel
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked the playing in the tall Pines. The Course has a good flow to it. Holes 1-8, 11 and 15-18 are played in the shade of the pines. 12-14 are long open holes.
I like how this course has cool things about it, #5 Basket is right behind a row of tall bushes/trees, and #6 elevated of the ground. Multi -Tee Boxes
Cons: Signage not so good, though the course has good flow to it, I found on a couple of hole looking for the basket after throwing the path show on the T-Box sign.(never found #3 Basket)
Other Thoughts: Beautiful Ford Park with the old Steam Train and Fire Engine right at the front of the park, there used to be an old Sherman Tank there but I guess they moved it. Very nice park will definatly play again when I'm in Shreveport. I like playing under those tall pines.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ford

1    3/26/2011   3/28/2011
Review By: DeadEye
Played: 43  Reviewed: 11
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Pretty good variety of shots. Fairly well manicured fairways. Short and long boxes, eating area, convenient store with decent food across the street.
Cons: Near the lake so there's a lot of cops around on the weekends. Not too many real hard shots, and the shots that have distance on them are really open.
Other Thoughts: Pretty good park, relatively well set up, good amount of shade. All in all a fun course

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/22/2010   8/26/2010
Review By: cullen50
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: amazing course by the lake. beautiful sights and holes. it has 5 6 and 7 hundred ft holes. definitely worth a drive. close to everything the city has to offer.
Other Thoughts: this is one of my favorite courses. professional grade.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.