Muscatine, IA 
Fuller Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscMo Hole #5 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 212ft.   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
  very good wooded course

2-4    11/30/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 433  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/12/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -nice concrete teepads and accurate signs that show both pin placements
-good length for a wooded course especially when all pins are long
-farways are fairly tight throughout which forced me to play many layup shots during the round.
-Nice shot variety here, the course has some super sharp hyzers, lazy and tight anhyzers and a lot of straight to S type lines.
-The prairie holes (16, 17) are nice, the fairways are cut out of headhigh prairie grass which shapes the holes nicely, although it's not so much fun finding your disc in it.
-Some elevation, 4 is a steep downhill, 9 has a nice fallaway green, 18 is a great hole that plays over a ravine and partially up the hill
-Mostly separate from park and there are practice baskets
Cons: -holes 2 and 3 are kind of boring holes, they are straight ahead shots with very little elevation and no obstacles. They don't really fit with the rest of the holes.
-the course is kind of ugly in the woods: there are a lot of downed trees all over the place, mostly off the fairways but it takes away from the ambience of the course. The downed stuff needs to mulched and put on the fairways, which they are slowly doing.
-The course is a mess when muddy, which will be alleviated when they mulch the downed wood.
-There has been a lot of local routes haphazardly cut by the locals. Hole 8 short is a good example. It looked like it was a nice sharp rhbh hyzer or a rhbh forehand roller, but some local came out and cut a line directly to the basket. This sort of activity just takes away from the course. And I am expecting this to continue as a local I played with told me his plans to take a couple "saplings" out on a couple holes.
-The park seemed to lack bathrooms and water
-I haven't played this course in the summer yet, just winter and fall, but I would imagine this course is overgrown during the dg busy season. A lot of thorns and thick undergrowth, an the prairie holes are probably a pain to find discs in the spring/summer but during fall it is just fine
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course, right now it is a 3 but in the future when they clean up the downed stuff, I'll change my rating to a 3.5. This is definitely a course to play off season.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Much better

5+    10/18/2010   9/21/2009
Review By: lazy42
Played: 40  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2012
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course dedicated to DG. Playground next to course. Walking path along side of park. Open shelter. Bathrooms during summer months. Small paved roundabout parking lot. Course sign with scorecards and map.

Nice tee signs with all needed information. Large tee pads. Creek comes into play on a few holes. Good use of elevation, usually comes into play near creek holes, noticeable on a few of the pin placements. Some hidden pins. Variation of long and short holes. Wooded course with a few open holes. Most of the wooded holes have very tight fairways. Multiple pins (they seem to switch them once a year).
Cons: Maintenance of the course is lacking. Seems that this course is only paid attention to twice a year, spring and fall. Those are the best times to play as the undergrowth isn't overgrown. Point being that the fairways shouldn't be as thick as the rough.

Prairie grass on hole 17 as an obstacle, just not a fan.

Excess trash at times. Would like to see a few more trashcans.
Other Thoughts: A couple of holes to note: Hole 4 is a great entrance into the woods. If the pin is in the short location, it is located at the bottom of the very steep hill, with the creek just beside it. Good opportunity for an Ace. Pin in the long position, it is located back up the hill on the other side, with no direct line as the trees line the fairway. Hole 18 is a fantastic hole worth writing home to mom about. The tee starts back in the trees, throwing through a tight opening about 50' - 75' up the fairway. The hole then drops down to cross the creek over a nice wooden bridge. The pin on the short location is just to the left after the creek 25' or so, in the long position the pin is 50' up and to the right of the bridge.

Looks like the pins are switched once a year. Half of the holes in the long and the other in the short.

I like coming here if I am in town. Kids can play on the playground when I warm up, and they like coming with me when I play and running through the wooded holes. They are my little spotters.

I am updating my review. I like this course as well as any other of the 4 disc courses I have played. The city and others have done a great job cleaning the course up, and maintaining it. Some of the overly tight fairways have been just slightly opened up over the last couple years, not by any means making holes easy, but giving the players a fair chance as long as the lines are hit.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Tight but fair

1    9/7/2009   9/10/2009
Review By: Gflap
Played: 360  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is within a nice city park however it is almost totally separate from park activities except for holes 1,2,3 and 18. Concrete tee pads with tee signs with descriptions of holes and their distances. Most holes with 2 pin placements. White posts noting pathway to next tee. Disc catcher baskets. Good variety of holes with a creek in play. Also, good use of elevation. Many "blind" pin placements add to the challenge.
Cons: Some very dense rough on about 1/2 the holes. Extremely narrow fairways on holes 16 and 17 with 5-6 foot grass on both sides. Hole 14 is a brutal double S fairway in tight woods with the long pin placement ( about 550 feet )
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed this course as I prefer nook and cranny type courses. Doesn't look as if this course gets much play as wooded fairways did not seem worn down from foot traffic, which is fine with me as this means less termites (casuals) in the way. It took about 2 and 1/4 hours to play as a single. Suggest playing with 2 or 3 others as a spotter would make for easier navigation.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  NEED A CHALLENGE

4/24/2008   4/24/2008
Review By: jmcareav
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: THIS COURSE STARTS OUT WITH A COUPLE OF HOLES IN THE CLEARING WHICH ARE EASY PARS. THEN ITS INTO THE WOODS YOU GO. FOR THE NEXT 14 HOLES YOU WILL SEE WHO THE TRUE DISC GOLFERS ARE. THE ONES THAT KNOW HOW TO TWIST AND TURN THE DISC THROUGH TREES AND OVER CREEKS. IT HAS A LOT OF VARIATION IN ELEVATION AS WELL. THIS COURSE HAS IT ALL.
Cons: A COUPLE OF VANDALS WENT THROUGH AND BROKE THE SIGN ON HOLE 10.
Other Thoughts: IF YOU LIKE TO PLAY MORE OF A SKILL TYPE GAMES AS OPPOSED TO A POWER GAME, THIS IS THE COURSE FOR YOU.

2 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.