Grand Rapids, MI 
Garfield Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #4
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
The 'pole' on the fourth, with the infamous 'stump'



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Just to play it

2-4    11/16/2010   4/16/2011
Review By: worldbnice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.1 Years
Pros: Short quick course to play 18 holes. Nice park to walk in. Not too many hard holes to go with. More than gracious if you actually use the pars listed on the posts. I played it all at par 3.
Cons: Around busy streets, by playgrounds and ballfields, possibility of pedestrian traffic.
Other Thoughts: If you use the pars listed on tee's, you can shoot way under par for this course. Is fairly open so it is a nice beginner course to learn how to play at a post type course.

 Garfield Park

5+    4/5/2016   10/11/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 41.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/14/2016
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around the outside edge of the entire park. nice course to work on your approach shots and accuracy on putting since you are aiming at a post you don't have the luxury of the extra space where the chains might stop your disc. really hard to lose a disc unless you overthrow a hole or shank it badly and it ends up in the street. can play the entire 18 in less than an hour. tees have nice signs stating where the post is located. hole posts have number engraved at the top of the post as well as the par for the hole listed above. fairly easy to navigate your way around.
Cons: would normally list dirt tee pads as a con but since the holes aren't really that long there is no real need for any other type of surfaced tee pad. The pars listed for this course i would believe are if you actually used a frisbee and not a golf disc. not really in the greatest of neighborhoods. a couple of holes throw across walking paths or next to sidewalks but when i played there was hardly anyone in the park. the post for 18 is only about 10 feet from the parking lot. so don't overshoot the hole if anyone is parked directly behind the post. a couple of holes have fairways the cross each other.
Other Thoughts: Hole 1 any errant shot left can hit Burton street on the left of the fairway you have the parking lot and a pavilion that could come into play on the right side of the fairway..
#2 The only hole that doesn't really say it but it is a mando to the right of the building and then back left to the hole. The reason behind it is to avoid the beach volleyball court and what looks like a memorial grave site for who the park is named after.
#3 short hole shooting towards Burton street.
#4 post is over near the corner by the stop light on Madison.
#5 nice little hole with trees guarding the post.
#6 Anhyzer shot around the back edge of the ballfield
#7 straight shot with post just past 4 trees 2 on each side of fairway.
#8 Tee sign may look confusing but blue in this case is for the walking paths not water. shoot over one path post is just before second path.
#9 you shoot across old parking lot area to post near trees by sidewalk and back edge of park.
#10 they want you to shoot from access road to post just left of road.
#11 Shoot from access road again towards 4 big trees near shed post is between the last 2 big trees.
#12 Dogleg left post is tucked in by a clump of trees.
#13 have to shoot almost directly in front of the tee for 14 to get to post.
#14 you are shooting back across the fairway of 13 towards a tree out by the open field
#15 you are shooting back and just to the right of the post for #13.
#16 post is just to the right of the tree line. when i played there was a trash can within inches of the post. you could easily bank your disc off the post and have it land right in the trash can.
#17 straight shot post tucked in by trees.
#18 shooting back towards parking lot. don't overthrow.

All things considered it is not a bad little course. the neighborhood may not be the best but the course itself is in good condition. the sign by the 1st tee said the course was redone as part of a eagle scout project. I think it was done really nicely. just need to adjust pars to take in account for the distance a golf disc can fly. par should be 54 at max.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not So Much Fun

1    10/18/2009   10/19/2009
Review By: mambrose
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 26.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: New Signs, and the last 5 holes are fun
Cons: Some of the Shots are crazy, like on hole 2 or 3, they want you to throw around a building that is way right of you, then back to the left, it makes no sence. there arent really any tees, and you just throw from where ever you want (on alot of holes)
Other Thoughts: it seems like a good place to start out at, but after you get used to parks like riverside and johnson, you prolly wont have much fun here

being in the ghetto is kinda scary aswell as the little kids, im glad i played when it was cold out


Sorry to the people wholove this park, but after playing riverside park 6 days a week this park seems worse than riversides pole course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, challening, small

1    10/18/2009   10/18/2009
Review By: valkyrie
Played: 10  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/12/2010
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shot selection is great at this course! Also, if your good at controll shots and putting, you will love this course. No spots to loose your disc. Tee Sighns!
Cons: Small, no holes where you can really throw a long drive. Pole Course (i like poles, however i would still call it a con) Also, natural tee pads are not fun.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a fun course as a change from what i normay play. Definatly worth checking out!

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 better than nothing??

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Terry C
Played: 53  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/4/2010
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -good practice
-close to other better disc parks in the area
-cant lose a disc
-your disc golfing
- might get exercise running from someone shooting at you.
Cons: -pole course with shabby layout
-bad high crime neighborhood
-no tees
-no baskets
-no signs
-crowded with unsupervised kids running wild. Its the ghetto hangout spot, you will see the local gang bangers and crackheads giving you the evil eye everytime.
Other Thoughts: I would say install baskets but they would all just get stolen imediately. I guess discing anywhere is good but drive a couple miles from here and you got some real good disc parks instead. sorry locals if I hurt your feelings. Any course with no tee pads, no baskets and really honestly unsafe to even be playing disc golf there gets a 1 disc review from me. Honestly dont even waste your time this park sucks. Go to a better park, there are several close by.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Little and Loveable

2-4    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: rbrown87
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Logically flowing course (starting and ending at relatively small parking lot) makes posts and tees easy to see -- fantastic signs as well. Post are well maintained and easy to see.

The perfect course for true beginners, or even kids.

Simple, yet effectively satisfying. A great ego boost for the experienced disc golfer.

Park is clean and well maintained/mowed.

Good for a quick round to loosen up or just have some fun. Practically every shot is an ace run; who doesn't like that feeling once in awhile?

We played in the rain and still found the course more playable than, say, Riverside Park. In fact, after playing it in the rain, I will count on being able to go there when other courses are swamped.

No opportunities to "bomb" a disc.

Can a course be cute?
Cons: No opportunities to "bomb" a disc. Simultaneously not technical.

Course score is a bit ridiculous. With only a few holes more than 100 yards, it would make more sense to make them all par 3's.

Negligible elevation changes.

Holes, as I mentioned, are extremely short. If you're looking for a long, technical course, Garfield Park would be the polar opposite of that.

Occasionally crowded with innocent civilians and children who would rather not be pelted with drivers.

Dirt tee pads will collect water after a rain.
Other Thoughts: If I were rich, I'd donate baskets just for the heck of it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/22/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Adaven
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course uses space very well, the park can be very crowded with non Disc Golfers, but only a few holes pose any problem/delay to your game (Holes one and two). The course is very playable by even first timers. the trees in the park makes for some interesting shots and good pin placement.
Cons: The course uses natural tees that can get very muddy on some of the holes 1 and 10 get the worst. The course uses 4x4's as pins so there are no baskets. The course is short and easy and par is easy to hit for everyone, which can actually be great for newbies. Several of the hole are really close to the road and it can be busy.
Other Thoughts: I hate to rate this course so low, it was the first course I ever played in Grand Rapids and it made me feel like a pro. In fact this is the first course I play after the long Michigan winters to get back into the game. Over the past several years I have posted my personal best at minus 24 (marked par of course). All in all this course is truly great for anyone who wants to start playing and I suggest you take anyone who is learning to this course. When they get better take them somewhere else.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Overlooked Little Gem

1    9/21/2008   9/21/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 14.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For an older 'pole course' this is an amazingly interesting and challenging layout. Many mature trees and creative pin placements make for a challenging round and a good way to practice your short game. For a neighborhood park, it was amazingly uncrowded, and despite being a multi-use park, and the fact that a lot of the course winds around the outer rim of the property, I found little interference with other park activities through most of the course. Easy to navigate, and most of the tees and signs seem to be well cared for.
Cons: Dirt tees and poles. A few of the holes come uncomfortably close to either picnic areas, or sidewalks. Distances are short compared to some of the more modern courses, but are of a reasonable variety.
Other Thoughts: Avoided this one for much too long, and was pleasantly surprised at how much fun it was to play. This will definitely be a frequent stop for me in the future.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sweet Little Course Tucked in an Urban Park

1    5/16/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: dandther
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 44.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2012
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Several holes are extremely challenging, hard to pull off in a small park setting like this. Number 10 is one of the best designed holes I've ever played, the pole is perfectly placed in a clearing surrounded by huge old trees.
Cons: Many people in the park causing pedestrian hazards. It's easy to put a disc on one of the busy streets surrounding the park, I've got a couple of "road discs" in my bag just for use on those holes.
Other Thoughts: The Eagle Scout redesign helped and hurt the course. Number 3 used to be a 180 degree dogleg. Tee off to the southeast past the big tree, then turn and face Burton Street to reach the pole in the grove of trees. Some of the back nine holes are ruined by the redesign. The old 16, 17, and 18 used the trees perfectly. The new 16, 17, and 18 are simply target practice, the trees are irrelevant.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 not bad

2-4    6/5/2008   6/5/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Centraly located
- Even though it's a multi-use park there isn't much activity; you don't have to worry about hitting folks
- Good pin placement, uses trees effectively
- Seems like it would be a good place to take the family for an afternoon
Cons: - Very short, only two holes over 300 feet. No elevation changes and no water.
- Not much variety, trees can force you to get creative on a couple of shots, but there's nothing groundbreaking here
- Pole course
Other Thoughts: A local told me that this is the oldest course in the Grand Rapids area - approximately 30 years old? Not much challenge here other than avoiding hitting trees, you can probably get by with just a mid-range. The biggest threat for me was throwing my first shot past the pin while trying for aces. If you're in the area it's worth the stop just for the novelty but don't go out of your way otherwise.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.