St. Simons Island, GA 
Gascoigne Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: JMONEY Hole #2 (Taken 4/2011)
-- / --   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A good vacation stop But not a destination course.

1    7/10/2017   8/14/2017
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.1 Years
Pros: -free parking
-smooth flowing layout
-unique looking scenery with cool Spanish moss and palmetto trees.
-good use of obstacles and trees
- Completely flat course with no elevation change.
-the loose sand on the course makes for a unique game with many roll and skip shots out of play.
Cons: Just 6 holes and all par 3
Signage could be better.
next tee signs could be better (but it is pretty obvious)

Other Thoughts: A great little course for and Disc Golfers that are on vacation and want to take a break from the beach and all the other great parts about SSI but I would not drive more than an hour just for this course.

South Georgia Defined

2-4    3/21/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 43  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 3.6 Years
Pros: It may be small, but this place is absolutely stunning. the mixture of the live oaks, spanish moss, and light breeze made my time out here very enjoyable. The course sits in a small park next to the river right when you get on St Simons Island. There is plenty of parking right by hole 1 (in the shade to boot).

The course itself is only 6 holes, so you can do like I did and just play it three times for an 18 hole round. You'll throw backhands and forehands here, but keep it low. The trees catch anything high. Each hole is a little different from the previous.

One of them (I think it was 4), puts you right in front of a massive live oak with a face on it. The basket sits directly behind this oak forcing you to make a decision about which side to attack, but the face was very memorable on it's own.

While I was out there, a few people showed up to play some kind of painted rock game. It was pretty cool and led to a few friendly conversations about disc golf and rock hunting.
Cons: Well let's start with 6 holes. It stinks. This place is a beautiful destination for disc golf, and I wish there were more holes to play. Like I said you can play it three times, but it's the same six holes three times... and that get's old.

Second because of the nature of the park, there were many non-disc golfers out and about completely oblivious to what I was trying to do. I get the impression that disc golf is not very popular here so many people just haven't been exposed to it yet. Dog walkers walking their dogs without leashes, kids running around fishing, people parking their cars right in the middle of the course... I saw all of that during my one 18-hole round.

The teesigns and teeboxes need some love. Most of the teeboxes were sand pits. I consistently had to drive next to them just to avoid hurting my ankle.
Other Thoughts: I'm somewhat torn on this review because it's so beautiful and I understand there's only so much you can do on a property like this, but the course is really limited. I would not go out of my way to play here, but if I'm close and I'm bored... I'd hit it up. I could also see this course being a great place to get juniors into the game. It's very open and forgiving (under the canopy anyway), and with the shade and breeze... it should be easy to play.

If you're in Brunswick and looking for one course to play, check out Honey Creek. It's similar to this one, but 18 holes and quiet.

 Gascoigne Bluff

5+    6/18/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: Iriezista
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 12/16/2016
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: scenery
usually private
New tee boxes
challenging low shots
restrooms
on River
Shade
Breeze
Cons: only 6 baskets
Other Thoughts: Built on a Historically Profound area of Saint Simons! The Park is Covered with lots of Oak and Cedar Trees, with low hanging moss. Worth checking out for any skill level.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Mossy isolated 6 holer.

1    3/26/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: scenic surroundings with nice views, walking trails, and quality bathrooms.

benches on all holes.

Plays very quickly for course collectors who are mid-drive
distances marked on tee markers. Hole #1 had a nice rubber pad.
Cons: 2-6 were missing pads. pads were where leaves were raked into a rectangle shape around where pads were.

Small area limits course to single tee/single basket.

Walk over hole 5 to get to hole 2.

Lots of pedestrians, cars parked on the course, and dog walkers.
Other Thoughts: 1: straight 229 (car parked on fairway) deuce or die hole.
2: 285ft, 2 paths. semi tight straight or wider hyzer route.
3: wide tunnel shot to the right.
4: 170 ft novelty hole with a giant tree in front of the tee.
5. 284 ft. open right shot.
6. No sign, mostly open straight shot.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Quaint and Pleasing

2-4    2/6/2016   2/14/2016
Review By: ebasch
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Compact
Easy to navigate
Marked Tees
Pleasant location
Cons: No Tee Box boundaries
No hole boundaries
Only one set of Tees
No maps on the Tee markers
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, and my group shifted ourselves around to try and diversify the course for some 18 hole play. It appears the local DGC enthusiasts have placed paper signs up to try and create secondary tee boxes. This course, with a little fund raising and TLC could be greatly improved upon. Lots of potential.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 could be a nice course

1    7/1/2014   7/6/2014
Review By: Warmoth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful living oak trees, decent challenges.
Cons: needs upkeep, some of the tee plaques were missing, people let their dogs run free, had 2 pitbulls run up on my 4yrd, they were nice but scary at the same time. Only 6 holes but its a small area its setup in.
Other Thoughts: If your in the area its worth a stop for the beautiful trees.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty, but not Special

1    8/12/2013   3/3/2014
Review By: Moose33
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful live oaks right off the intercostal waterway in a picturesque setting and Spanish moss draping down every branch.

It's a beautiful place and the layout isn't bad. There is very little under brush and almost no chance to loose a disc.

The trees are a special sight.
Cons: Just 6 holes, no signature holes though there is opportunity for it. Most holes are 300ft or less. The oaks are gorgeous but leave no headroom your not throwing any high bombs or Tommy's here.

No elevation at all, bad tee boxes that are just gravel in a wooden frame.

It would all be okay I'd there were signs on the course, finding the next tee is almost never easy.

Pretty buggy in the summer too, bring some bug spray.
Other Thoughts: Overall I had a good time, but as special as this place is the course just isn't.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Live Oaks Alone

1    12/21/2013   12/23/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It's impossible to overstate the grandeur of the live oaks at Gascoigne Park. The course plays around and under them. The canopy of sprawling branches draped with Spanish moss is alone worth stopping at this six-hole disc golf course. The course may not be anything special but these trees are.

The course at Gascoigne Bluff is standard, beginner-level stuff. Nothing too difficult. There is a little bit of length, with hole three checking in at 38 feet to the pin. There's no brush, the fairways are pretty open and it'd be a frustration-free, first course for someone.

The best hole for for me is 4. I've seen holes the put a clump of trees and brush in front of the tee, giving players a left and right option. This one uses just one, very wide tree with thick branches jutting out to either side. (check the photo)

While there is not a ton of challenge, swooping around these massive trunks is both fun and aesthetically pleasing. The baskets are well placed, and maybe one out of six drives will want to be straight, the others will want to execute a curve. They may not be tough lines to hit for the veteran but they are fun lines, and pretty lines at that.
Cons: I think the limitations are obvious here. Challenge is very low. There are only six holes. The tees are abysmal. (Outlined in wood, but they're natural and all dug up.) Worse, it's tough to find a flat area anywhere near the tee.
Other Thoughts: These aren't canopy holes. This is a canopy course. Even if the discing isn't great, it's a cool place to just be. It's not too far off of I95 and it plays quickly. ( I got in 18 in about thirty-five minutes.)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Boring "course" and layout

1    11/30/2012   12/30/2012
Review By: lukejones
Played: 67  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Has 6 baskets and some pretty awesome Live Oak trees.........better than nothing! Without the cool trees, I'd give the course a failing grade.
Cons: Even as a solid beginner player, I found this course quite easy and unmemorable. The sand tee boxes seemed more like tripping hazards so I teed off to the side of them.

Several random cars, trailers and junk sitting around just off the course took away from some of the view.
Other Thoughts: I highly recommend making the drive to Honey Creek if staying in the St. Simons Island area. It's a far better course and challenge.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than nothing

2-4    5/26/2011   5/27/2011
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 34.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2012
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice signs. The live oaks and setting make it a pretty course. A good place to try for a hole-in-one. Canopy not so low that you can't go the whole distance with a nice drive, so there is some technique practice.
Cons: Only 6 holes. Tees are sand pits so I played in front of them to avoid filling my shoes with sand.
Dog walkers. Parked cars. Low canopy.
Other Thoughts: Very short holes, but since you'll likely be the only one there (other than parked cars and people walking their dogs) you can easily recreate your own layout.

I don't recommend going out of your way to play this course, but St. Simons is its own destination so give it a try when you're on the island but don't expect much.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.