Yankton, SD 
Gavins Point DGC Share
Uploaded By: bales.jd Hole #6 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 287ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Lewis and Clark Disc-overy

1    9/3/2017   12/6/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gavin's Point DGC is pretty fun, and it is set in a really nice park on Lewis and Clark Lake. It is an 18 hole course, with concrete tees, with signs and the baskets are sound. Par is 55, with only one hole over 400' that is a fairly open par 4.

The first 3 holes and the last 3 holes are in a fairly open grassy area near the parking lot. Hole 1 is the only one near the water. The middle portion of the course takes on more of a links feel. There are some small changes in elevation, more trees, and the fairways are mowed out of knee high grass. The length is not demanding, especially in this middle section, but there are some doglegs and tricky gaps between trees on several holes.

This course would be a nice place to learn the game. While it does not have extremely difficult holes, there are some good throws to practice a few fundamental techniques and shaping shots. The rough is not ultra punishing, usually a disc that leaves the fairway isn't too hard to find.
Cons: It cost a few bucks to enter the park. There may be other people who are not disc golfing milling about or riding bikes. Hole one is near the swimming beach, and I think there was a boat ramp there, too.

Printing a map isn't necessary, but might be helpful as there are a couple of strange transitions.
Other Thoughts: I headed to Yankton on day 3 of a road trip to get in my fourth South Dakota course of the day, and maybe find a spot to camp for the night. The park was packed full for Labor Day weekend, so I had to settle for a quick round and head to the KOA.

It is a quick and easy course and a pretty lake. I was glad I decided to pass through. I was under par, 2 birdies to 1 bogey. Nothing to write home about, but ended the day on a positive note. There isn't really an extremely memorable hole, but it is fun and could be a good place to camp out and chuck a few, then go for a swim.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice mix of everything

1    11/12/2016   11/12/2016
Review By: jschreier18
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very nice, long concrete tee pads.
- Every hole was marked, and there was zero confusion about which hole you were playing.
- Very well maintained fairways.
- Good variety of holes, with the middle half of the course playing through a very wooded area and the beginning and end being wide open, with the wind coming off the lake as your primary obstacle.
- I threw literally every disc in my bag.
- Roughly equal opportunity for backhand and forehand players. As someone who generally throws RHFH, I appreciate that.
- Other than a sparsely used walking trail, no external obstacles or crowded areas to throw around.
- Nice scenery in a state park, with your $4 park pass allowing you to play at least two other nearby courses.
Cons: - Every hole was par-3, save for a short, wide-open par-4.
- Wind coming off the lake can be very strong, making the first few and last few holes very difficult.
- Lots of tall grass in the rough. The fairways are mowed nicely, but they're narrow -- and you'll have to hunt if you miss at all.
- Pay-to-play, which I know turns some people off. But, like I said earlier, your state parks pass is good that day at courses very close. I played 45 holes in total today because of it.
Other Thoughts: The reviews on this course were pretty good, and I think the course seems to have improved since then, based on what's previously been written. I'd never played here before today, but I'd definitely return if I were in the area again. I wish it had a few longer holes, but it does a pretty good job at testing your strategy and skills.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice area

5+    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: blink
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2013
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very beautiful area along the river. It has the most elevation changes of any course in the yankton area. It is now a challenging and very fun place to play. This is by far the best course in SE South Dakota now.
Cons: Long Course
Other Thoughts: It is the most unique place to play in yankton.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Expansion... Granted!

5+    9/5/2013   9/3/2010
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 366  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2013
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice baskets. Discatchers
-Decent use of available elevation.
-Water is somewhat of a hazard on hole one. I have found a few discs in the lake over there.
-Tees are marked by wood posts and the signage is very good.
-Scorecards with map, par, distance are available at tee one.
-Plenty of parking, garbage cans, bathrooms, etc. This is a very nice and cleanly place.
-No holes are too short or too long. Good varied distances throughout.
-Layout is pretty easy to follow, especially with map.
-Course has a good fun factor, not too hard and not too easy. There are definitely a few ace runs here.
-This course can be played and enjoyed by all. There are fun shots.
Cons: -Park can be busy so you might have to wait or keep your eyes open for people.
-Could lose a disc in the lake on hole one but that would take a decent overthrow or too far to the right.
-Pay to play may be considered a con by some but not by me
-Some of the holes on both halves of the course seem to blend together a little bit.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course in a good place. The recreation areas in the area are awesome for many activities and I'm glad disc golf was thought of too.

As of September 2013, this course has been expanded into 18 holes and is a much better course. The course actually goes into the woods and incorporates more elevation. They also poured 18 concrete tees and updated signage. They took out a few of the bad holes from the old 9 and made new ones that are better and safer. This is now Yankton's best course by far.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.