Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: A.Mutt Hole #E (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole E Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 56
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Hoover? I Hardly Know Her!

1    4/14/2018   4/15/2018
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 70  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 3.1 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Brent Hambrick Memorial Course is a historic place when it comes to disc golf. It's held many tournaments catering to Professionals and Amateurs alike, as well as served hundreds of thousands of disc golfers over almost 30 years.

BHMC has two concrete tee pads on every hole as well as up to three pin positions where the basket is moved often. The tee pads were nice, concrete tees and the tee signs accompanying them were nice for someone like me who played the course blind.

Newly installed silver Mach X's were amazing as per usual, and were a nice touch and addition to the course, as Mach X's are often regarded as one of the best baskets in disc golf.

Navigation was fairly easy, with most of the tee pads a short walk from the last basket, and if it wasn't, there was a sign leading the way. The park was in aimmaculate condition as well.

The front nine plays wide open, where, from the shorts, distance control is key, and from the longs, throwing bombs would help a bunch. A lot of the holes were well designed, and they provided different lines, even with the open nature. It also took use of more elevation than you usually see in Ohio.

The back nine is another animal, where throwing through the trees, and missing branches is the key to carding birdies. The lines are sometimes tight, and well defined, giving a great amount of challenge for those who excel of at throwing far and hoping for the best.
Cons: While there was a good bit of shot variety from the front to the back nine, I wish it was more intertwined, rather than going from open to wooded in one switch, it could go something like open, open, wooded, open, wooded, wooded, etc.

From the short tees, I think every hole is definitely within the two range for a great player, and it is definitely a par 54 course. While the longs play a bit longer, I still think it's mostly a par three layout, which makes sense due to how old it is.

Some of the open holes on the front nine run together, where during a tournament, there was a large backup around hole 5, and out card had to wait about 20 minutes.

Some holes were good holes, but then there was an added challenge that made it less great, like a weird basket position, or an extra tree in the fairway, I like added challenge, but not when it can be forced onto a hole so it gets harder.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is a classic and a must play when you are in Columbus. With the amount of work that goes into the course, the beautiful park, and the wonderful golf holes, there is no reason not to play here.

Hopefully one day there are more courses in the area that take notes after the original great in the area. Thank you for being an amazing experience and a great host for my first tournament in Columbus!

**Edit: I did not play the additional letter holes, but I did walk them over, and they seemed on par with the other wooded holes on the course. Thank you for your feedback!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

1    11/25/2017   11/25/2017
Review By: Christopherj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice scenery,
Multiple tee pads
Cons: Front 9
Other Thoughts: I thought the front 9 was underwhelming. I would have scored the course a 2.5 had the back nor been so nice. I did not get a chance to play the extra 9, though I think these are like the back 9.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just a guy

5+    8/7/2017   9/1/2017
Review By: MickFNasty
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: It's on the National Tour... So there's that. They just got new baskets... multiple pin placements
Cons: Not a very technical course, aside from 3 or 4 holes. Mainly for bigger arms. Birdie or bust course with little to no skill needed to play well.
Other Thoughts: It feels like it's Blendon Woods for bigger arms. Nothing exciting about the course.

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Brent Hambrick

1    2/21/2017   3/21/2017
Review By: tonyfaurot
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of this course, baskets are old school but i believe they are going to be replaced with new ones soon. great layout, love the woods holes, nice tee pads, tricky basket locations
Cons: no complaints here
Other Thoughts: it is a very busy area as lots of people use the park for walking, running, lots of bikes rolling through.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Columbus day

1    2/26/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 130  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 12.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes, simple to follow, good mix of holes, great views of Hoover dam, the long tees on the back nine are a lot of fun(great two shots holes and fair)
Cons: 2 holes currently pulled, the lettered holes feel forced (180 ft crapshoot?) Course could use new baskets.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play when it is dry and warm

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A True Disc Golf Course

5+    8/15/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 47  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC is a true disc golf course. Rarely do you get to a park where the first priority is disc golf, but Brent Hambrick Memorial is that course. The course features a solid variety of distances and calls for all types of shots. Almost every hole has a long tee and every hole has an alternate basket position which is changed regularly. Fairways and shrubbery are always in pristine condition, thanks to locals and the parks department.

There's a reason this course is featured on the national tour. All 27 holes use the land as best as possible.
Cons: -Joggers can come into play on holes along the road.
-Closed holes are sometimes an issue, so it's oftentimes hard to get the full 27 in
-The course is popular, so it tends to get crowded
Other Thoughts: A quick breakdown:

-Holes 1-9 are in the open and tend to favor LHBH/RHFH shots
-Holes 10-14 are in the woods tend to favor RHBH/LHFH
-A-I are half in the woods and half in an open field. The wooded holes are short and technical and the open holes are longer and tough to hit off the tee
-Holes 15-18 feature three tough wooded shots and a long, open 18th hole to finish

If you're lucky enough to dedicate your entire day to disc golf, I'd recommend also playing Blendon Woods to tune up your short game. If you're even luckier and its one of the 3 days/year the west course is open to the public, it is truly the perfect compliment to Brent Hambrick.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated but still a good course

2-4    5/15/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signage, distances are clearly marked. Although pictures of the signage are posted only for the extra holes, all 27 have signs similar to those pictured from the extra holes, making them easy to navigate.

-Pin placement appears to change frequently. I played this course twice in a span of a few weeks, and the second time I played it the pins were moved. Perhaps I just got lucky, but it's nice to see they move things around to change it up.

-A few holes are very scenic both with the dam and the woods. A few of the wooded holes have a very steep drop off to one side that is also kind of cool to look at and check out.

-Longer tees make this course much more interesting, especially in the open ones (more on that later). I've played this course four times, and the one time I played from the longer tees it seemed much more interesting than the shorts.

-The course location itself is a plus. It's close to the 270 belt and is easy to get to. If you live in northern or northeastern Columbus, I bet you could get here in about 15 minutes. Even if you live more central, it's nice to have a course of this caliber within 25 minutes.

-The wooded holes are some of the best I've ever played. Good combination of turns, doglegs, and conveniently-located mature trees. Even on the holes that are heavily wooded, there's a defined fairway that you pretty much need to or should follow.
Cons: -It's been said about this course many times but it needs to be said. The open holes are so. darn. open. It's basically like throwing up and down a field, maybe along a tree line here and there, but they're so open. I don't know anything about course design, but if they could have somehow made the open holes more interesting, this course would be amazing, sadly, at least in my opinion, it's a significant blow against this course.

-Partially due to the open nature of the front half of the course, a lot of holes come very close to one another. When you or another group inevitably throws off target, you could be standing in the middle of the fairway of another hole, causing all kinds of unintended backups.

-As also previously stated, the course gets a lot of non-DG foot traffic-- dog walkers, joggers, etc. Unfortunately, similar to Griggs, the path runs alongside a large portion of the course, which may cause you to wait awhile before you can throw.

Other Thoughts: -I rated this course a 3.5 because of how open it is. I love the wooded holes and highly recommend you come play this course so you can play them but, unless you're a complete novice, you'll probably be bored and left wanting more on the first 9 or so holes. Looking at the course map, it looks like you can walk down the path and hop on 10 and do 10-18 and the extra holes, perhaps that's your best bet. It's disappointing to have to suggest that, especially if you're driving in from further then 10 miles, but you may as well throw up and down a soccer field to get the same effect as the first 9.

-I called this course overrated because I think it gets a better reputation than it deserves, partially due to it being on the national tour. That's cool and all, but it doesn't make up for its shortcomings. 3.5 is a fair assessment, in my opinion.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Columbus Metro Area

5+    1/16/2015   1/20/2015
Review By: Derek B
Played: 208  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 16.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/21/2015
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) On the NT
2) Good mix of open and moderately wooded holes
3) Good mix of lefty and righty-favored holes. Many holes have multiple routes as well.
4) Generous concrete tees
5) Excellent signage
6) 27 holes
7) Good scenery
8) Long tees are awesome
9) Highlight holes: 8 (I think A position - side of hill) short and long, 10 B short and long, 13 B long, 14 B long, B short and long, I long, 17 C position
Cons: 1) Front 9 is way open
2) Only 3 heavily wooded holes (C,D,E)
3) Very muddy when wet
4) Crowded during summer months
5) Lots of foot, bicycle, and car traffic while waiting to throw on A,B,I
Other Thoughts: This is the famed Brent Hambrick Memorial course, which is on the PDGA's NT. The course is monstrous and covers almost the entire east side of the park. It's my home course. I play here more than any other course in Columbus, as I only live 15 minutes away.

The course starts off in the open. Holes 1-9 are way in the open, as a matter of fact. There are a few trees on some of the holes, but some of them have no trees at all. Even though this is true, the club made some changes to increase the difficulty, such as building platform system on the side of a hill for hole 4 (B position) and 8's (A position) basket and a ziggurat structure for hole 5's basket.

Hole 2 is very scenic, with the dam and overflow right behind the basket. Hole 8 is scenic as well.

Holes 10-14 play in the mature woods. The fairways are very well defined. There are a few trees in the fairway, but not so many as to disturb your disc if you have a good drive. If you go off of the fairway, you might have some trouble as the trees and brush are fairly thick.

After 14, you can either turn left from the basket and continue to 15 (to just play 18 holes total) or you can turn right and play holes A-I, and then come back an play 15-18, for a total of 27 holes. Holes A-I form a loop that brings you back around to hole 14's basket.

Holes A-I have some interesting holes. A,B,and I all play alongside the park road, which is OB, and adds some difficulty. Hole I, especially from the long tee, is probably the hardest hole, as it has a narrow fairway with OB road on the left and thick woods on the right, combined with a continuous and gentle curve to the right the whole length of the fairway. Holes C,D,and E are heavily wooded, and since the club moved holes C and E's baskets, they are no longer gimme birdie holes. Holes G and H are fairly boring, with no obstacles or anything interesting about them. I've seen a lot of people skip those holes and go directly from F to I, but I play them.

Once you complete A-I, you head back into the wooded holes, but again the woods mainly line both sides of the fairway, with a few trees in the fairway - you're not playing "in the woods", per se. When you get to hole 18, it opens back up. There are no trees on 18 at all...just the OB road on the right of the fairway, which goes all along the length of the fairway and curls back behind the basket.

The course has a lot of character to it. It is fun to play from the shorts, but the real appeal has to be the long tees. The course is way fun from the long tees, because it's challenging, and because the hole shapes are more interesting than from the shorts. If you have intermediate experience to advanced/pro experience, you should play the longs.

With all of the positives, there are a few negatives. The front 9 is just way too open.The best thing to say about it is that it is scenic, but you'll have way more fun on the rest of the course. It's a good thing that the worst holes are the beginning third instead of the last third.

Also, this course gets a lot of traffic. There isn't another championship level course around (except for Alum Creek, which does help a little bit, but it's a good 20 minutes away from Hoover), so a lot of people play it. Further, there are a lot of park goers that use it too...especially, bicyclists and joggers/walkers. It slows the game down quite a bit in the summer.

The last complaint is related to the former one. Because of the heavy dg traffic, the grass is gone or thinned in quite a few spots and makes for a muddy round of dg after a rain, or in the spring when the ground is thawing out. Wear boots, not tennis shoes, if you even think the ground may be wet, or be prepared to have muddy, wet shoes when you're done.

All in all, this course is one of the best in central Ohio, and, I dare say, one of the best courses in all of Ohio (at least from the longs), so do not miss this one! I highly recommend it for a road trip. While you're here, hit up Blendon Woods, which is 10 minutes away, for a birdie/ace fest, if you need more dg.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety at the Hoover Dam

1    10/4/2014   1/13/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 159  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 5.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brent Hambrick Memorial is a very popular course, evidenced by its hosting a NT and the many crowds that were out when I played even on a cold, rainy day. The course is spread largely throughout the Hoover Dam Park and for the most part is secluded from other park activities. There are plenty of benches, trash cans, parking space, a porta-potty, practice basket, and club/tourney info at the beginning of the course. The course comes right back to the parking lot at the end and passes by it at least one other time.

One of the best aspects of the course is the opportunity to play a variety of different hole types. With 27 holes, the course offers both many open and tightly wooded holes. There are also a few holes that are more moderately wooded in the middle of the course that offer multiple lanes to the basket. Here you will get the chance to throw a bunch of long bombs that test your distance game in the wind, while also getting the opportunity to play thick woods holes that test extreme accuracy. You will use your distance drivers, mids, and putters all off the tee. I also enjoyed how these holes were mixed, playing from open-tight-open-tight etc.

The open holes give different looks, while the wooded holes are unique from a lot of the wooded holes that I have played. The wooded holes are definitely the highlight of the course for me, offering many different challenges to contend with. For example, hole 10 is a turnover shot that has a narrow fairway and steep drop-off potential on the right. Holes C-E are very tight shots among dozens of trees that reward accurate drives kept on the fairway. Finally, hole 16 offers a blind hyzer (RHBH) shot from the open into the woods to a tightly guarded pin. These wooded holes make the course.

There are two tees offered which give a good variety to the different levels of difficulty for the course. The long tees add about 2,500 more feet to the course, so it allows both seasoned and rookie players to enjoy, which is essential for a course in a populated area. The concrete tees were in good shape.
Cons: Simply put, there are way too many open holes for my liking. The wooded holes are great, and it's nice to have the variety between open and tight holes, but over 1/3 of the course are completely holes that are open and flat with not much to contend with other than the wind. The course would be at least disc of a higher rating if there were less completely open holes. Just my personal preference.

Some of the fairways run close together on the front 9, especially holes 5 and 6. There are also times when the basket of one hole lies dangerously close to another hole's tee. This normally wouldn't be too bad, but is a hazard since the course gets crowded and this part of it is open.

The long tees didn't usually have signage, which caused some run-ups to spot the pin. This also is a bad attribute of a very crowded course, since players may not think anyone is directly in front of them, especially in the woods.

There are some long walks and the navigation is confusing at times. It would be nice to have more signs pointing you in and out of the woods.

There is the occasional wait for joggers and cars since the course plays along the road multiple times.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course that I would recommend to anyone to play. Its variety allows players of all skill levels to enjoy it and offers some difficulty without being too taxing. Having 27 holes here is a major plus, but the amount of completely open holes really got repetitive for me. If some of these open holes were even slightly more imaginative and challenging, I would definitely bump this course's rating up. Still, it's a course worth checking out for the wooded holes alone and along with Simsbury is head and shoulders above the rest of the courses in the Columbus area.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 classic fun

2-4    7/16/2014   8/26/2014
Review By: W7amf
Played: 10  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 13.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: good combo of long and short holes, great scenery, good people, lots of fun
Cons: can be crowded sometimes, ticks in the woods!
Other Thoughts: I enjoy playing this course on week days. It rained on us one time when we were in the woods section of the course and the pine trees kept us almost totally dry while the rain passed over. quality course!

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.