Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #H
3 / 235ft.   3 / 235ft.   3 / 395ft. Par / Distance:
Hole H Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 59
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Brent Hambrick

2-4    8/19/2018   8/20/2018
Review By: ad166809
Played: 39  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has really nice baskets that catch a lot.

I really like the nice concrete tee pads. Any place with concrete pads gets a little bonus for me. I also like that they have two pads on a lot of the holes.

This course has tons of benches and trash bins.

There are some epic holes out at Brent Hambrick. My favorite is probably #14. It winds through the woods and opens up at the pin. I much prefer the woods holes on this course other than the open front 9.

Restrooms were right next to parking. Much needed at a park course.

I think there was running water at the bathroom. Not completely sure but Im not going to give it a con because I dont know.

Great variety of hole distances at Brent Hambrick. This might be this courses best quality. Most the holes at out at Brent are actually birdieable which I like. These are not easy birdies though. The course will make you do some work to score low.

Lots of shots required here. I used XXX Opto, Shark, Buzz, Thunderbird, Krait and Nuke OS. I found myself driving with the Opto on almost every hole except a few with the Nuke. Shark if I was in a tight window, buzz if I needed to curve in the woods, thunderbird for forehands in the woods and a blizzard krait if I needed to do some extra driving in the woods.

Great mixture of tight technical and open bombs. I find the back 9 to be much more challenging in this aspect.

Brent Hambrick is an overall challenge. It wasn't as much as I was expecting but this made it actually much more fun to play. The shorter distance holes will make even all discers have a fun rewarding time out at Brent.

Parking is perfect and right next to #1. After #18/27 you will end right by your car.

This course is very pretty, especially the wooded holes. I like the dam right next to the course as well.

This course has tons of events from what I can see.

Locals have been very nice out at Brent.
Cons: I honestly am not a big fan of the tee signs/maps. I think they could be better. I think the C locations are marked sometimes and the distances are off. I looked for hole #8 for at least 10 minutes before finding it.

Course design could honestly be better. I don't like that it goes on to the extra holes after hole #14.

I'm usually picking with my ratings now. I have played so many courses I expect a lot. This grass could use a cut on the front 9. I was surprised at how long it was being a park course.

Not a great use of elevation changes at this course. There are some holes that I think they intended to be elevation changes with drop down pins but I just felt it unnecessary.

I do not think there is camping?

This course is usually super crowded which is kind of annoying. I really don't like Hole A and Hole I. There are always people biking and walking on the road I always have to be aware when playing those ones.
Other Thoughts: Brent Hambrick is a really nice course. It is a must play for anyone visiting Columbus. It usually doesnt take to long to play and will offer some nice scenery.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great old school disc golf course

5+    7/5/2018   8/5/2018
Review By: Bub2010
Played: 82  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Lots of shots required to master.. especially from the longs. Great new mach X baskets. Always maintained to an excellent standard
Cons: A couple of tee pads can be slippery when wet because they are getting aged, but that is about all.
Other Thoughts: Some pros might complain that it isn't tough enough.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Still Looking For A Really Good Columbus Area Course

1    8/1/2018   8/1/2018
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 104  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Brent Hambrick/Hoover Dam boasts 27 holes that wind through a large park setting, beginning right next to Hoover Dam. It was packed on an overcast Wednesday morning, so I can't even imagine what it's like on a Friday night. It's really popular with the locals for sure.

+ The obvious pro is the epic course amenities. Every hole is equipped with a Mach X basket, multiple tee signs, concrete tees, benches, trash cans, etc.

+ There's a few really well thought out holes within the design. Those that require you to ponder multiple lines with some risk involved.

+ A few holes have some cool pin positions, mainly on the front 9. There's an elevated pin on a pyramid, and a couple below ground level.

+ It's maintained really well. All of the wooded holes were clear of any undergrowth. Grass was a little long in spots, but for the most part there was no issues.

+ There's a solid mix of open holes, as well as some holes in the deeper woods. I'm a sucker for holes that with grass fairways in the woods, it's just fun and easy on the eyes.
+ Huge parking lot with a great practice area right by the first tee.
Cons: - While there were a few really solid holes mixed in, I felt like there wasn't enough "wow" factor to keep me interested for a full 27 hole round. Many felt kind of crammed into the space, with several holes playing on the narrow strip between road and woods. The run from 4-7 was very bland and too compacted in to an area that should've had 2 holes at the most.

- Navigation may get tricky in a few areas, since there's no navigational signs and no numbers on the baskets.

- Was hoping for a little more elevation, There's a couple of fun downhill shots but most of the course is pretty flat.

- I played mostly the long tees and didn't feel like there was enough challenge to consider it a "Championship Course". It can be tough at times, but pros wouldn't have an issue with this one.
Other Thoughts: I'm not one to lowball courses, my average rating is over a 3.0, but I feel like my rating is fair with what's given here. The amenities are awesome and there's a few fun holes in there, but not enough to make me want more.

I only have a few more Columbus area courses left on my list, and I still haven't found anything worthy of traveling too far to play. Lobdell remains on top for now on my Columbus-Area courses.

Still searching for that gem in the Columbus area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hoover? I Hardly Know Her!

1    4/14/2018   4/15/2018
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 89  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 3.2 Years
6 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The Brent Hambrick Memorial Course is a historic place when it comes to disc golf. It's held many tournaments catering to Professionals and Amateurs alike, as well as served hundreds of thousands of disc golfers over almost 30 years.

BHMC has two concrete tee pads on every hole as well as up to three pin positions where the basket is moved often. The tee pads were nice, concrete tees and the tee signs accompanying them were nice for someone like me who played the course blind.

Newly installed silver Mach X's were amazing as per usual, and were a nice touch and addition to the course, as Mach X's are often regarded as one of the best baskets in disc golf.

Navigation was fairly easy, with most of the tee pads a short walk from the last basket, and if it wasn't, there was a sign leading the way. The park was in aimmaculate condition as well.

The front nine plays wide open, where, from the shorts, distance control is key, and from the longs, throwing bombs would help a bunch. A lot of the holes were well designed, and they provided different lines, even with the open nature. It also took use of more elevation than you usually see in Ohio.

The back nine is another animal, where throwing through the trees, and missing branches is the key to carding birdies. The lines are sometimes tight, and well defined, giving a great amount of challenge for those who excel of at throwing far and hoping for the best.
Cons: While there was a good bit of shot variety from the front to the back nine, I wish it was more intertwined, rather than going from open to wooded in one switch, it could go something like open, open, wooded, open, wooded, wooded, etc.

From the short tees, I think every hole is definitely within the two range for a great player, and it is definitely a par 54 course. While the longs play a bit longer, I still think it's mostly a par three layout, which makes sense due to how old it is.

Some of the open holes on the front nine run together, where during a tournament, there was a large backup around hole 5, and out card had to wait about 20 minutes.

Some holes were good holes, but then there was an added challenge that made it less great, like a weird basket position, or an extra tree in the fairway, I like added challenge, but not when it can be forced onto a hole so it gets harder.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course is a classic and a must play when you are in Columbus. With the amount of work that goes into the course, the beautiful park, and the wonderful golf holes, there is no reason not to play here.

Hopefully one day there are more courses in the area that take notes after the original great in the area. Thank you for being an amazing experience and a great host for my first tournament in Columbus!

**Edit: I did not play the additional letter holes, but I did walk them over, and they seemed on par with the other wooded holes on the course. Thank you for your feedback!

6 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Just ok

1    11/25/2017   11/25/2017
Review By: Christopherj
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice scenery,
Multiple tee pads
Cons: Front 9
Other Thoughts: I thought the front 9 was underwhelming. I would have scored the course a 2.5 had the back nor been so nice. I did not get a chance to play the extra 9, though I think these are like the back 9.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just a guy

5+    8/7/2017   9/1/2017
Review By: MickFNasty
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 24 Not
Pros: It's on the National Tour... So there's that. They just got new baskets... multiple pin placements
Cons: Not a very technical course, aside from 3 or 4 holes. Mainly for bigger arms. Birdie or bust course with little to no skill needed to play well.
Other Thoughts: It feels like it's Blendon Woods for bigger arms. Nothing exciting about the course.

1 of 25 people found this review helpful.

Brent Hambrick

1    2/21/2017   3/21/2017
Review By: tonyfaurot
Played: 17  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I am a big fan of this course, baskets are old school but i believe they are going to be replaced with new ones soon. great layout, love the woods holes, nice tee pads, tricky basket locations
Cons: no complaints here
Other Thoughts: it is a very busy area as lots of people use the park for walking, running, lots of bikes rolling through.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Hooray for Columbus day

1    2/26/2016   2/26/2016
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 130  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.1 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes, simple to follow, good mix of holes, great views of Hoover dam, the long tees on the back nine are a lot of fun(great two shots holes and fair)
Cons: 2 holes currently pulled, the lettered holes feel forced (180 ft crapshoot?) Course could use new baskets.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play when it is dry and warm

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A True Disc Golf Course

5+    8/15/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: jcf5083
Played: 47  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC is a true disc golf course. Rarely do you get to a park where the first priority is disc golf, but Brent Hambrick Memorial is that course. The course features a solid variety of distances and calls for all types of shots. Almost every hole has a long tee and every hole has an alternate basket position which is changed regularly. Fairways and shrubbery are always in pristine condition, thanks to locals and the parks department.

There's a reason this course is featured on the national tour. All 27 holes use the land as best as possible.
Cons: -Joggers can come into play on holes along the road.
-Closed holes are sometimes an issue, so it's oftentimes hard to get the full 27 in
-The course is popular, so it tends to get crowded
Other Thoughts: A quick breakdown:

-Holes 1-9 are in the open and tend to favor LHBH/RHFH shots
-Holes 10-14 are in the woods tend to favor RHBH/LHFH
-A-I are half in the woods and half in an open field. The wooded holes are short and technical and the open holes are longer and tough to hit off the tee
-Holes 15-18 feature three tough wooded shots and a long, open 18th hole to finish

If you're lucky enough to dedicate your entire day to disc golf, I'd recommend also playing Blendon Woods to tune up your short game. If you're even luckier and its one of the 3 days/year the west course is open to the public, it is truly the perfect compliment to Brent Hambrick.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated but still a good course

2-4    5/15/2015   6/9/2015
Review By: zetterbeard
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Good signage, distances are clearly marked. Although pictures of the signage are posted only for the extra holes, all 27 have signs similar to those pictured from the extra holes, making them easy to navigate.

-Pin placement appears to change frequently. I played this course twice in a span of a few weeks, and the second time I played it the pins were moved. Perhaps I just got lucky, but it's nice to see they move things around to change it up.

-A few holes are very scenic both with the dam and the woods. A few of the wooded holes have a very steep drop off to one side that is also kind of cool to look at and check out.

-Longer tees make this course much more interesting, especially in the open ones (more on that later). I've played this course four times, and the one time I played from the longer tees it seemed much more interesting than the shorts.

-The course location itself is a plus. It's close to the 270 belt and is easy to get to. If you live in northern or northeastern Columbus, I bet you could get here in about 15 minutes. Even if you live more central, it's nice to have a course of this caliber within 25 minutes.

-The wooded holes are some of the best I've ever played. Good combination of turns, doglegs, and conveniently-located mature trees. Even on the holes that are heavily wooded, there's a defined fairway that you pretty much need to or should follow.
Cons: -It's been said about this course many times but it needs to be said. The open holes are so. darn. open. It's basically like throwing up and down a field, maybe along a tree line here and there, but they're so open. I don't know anything about course design, but if they could have somehow made the open holes more interesting, this course would be amazing, sadly, at least in my opinion, it's a significant blow against this course.

-Partially due to the open nature of the front half of the course, a lot of holes come very close to one another. When you or another group inevitably throws off target, you could be standing in the middle of the fairway of another hole, causing all kinds of unintended backups.

-As also previously stated, the course gets a lot of non-DG foot traffic-- dog walkers, joggers, etc. Unfortunately, similar to Griggs, the path runs alongside a large portion of the course, which may cause you to wait awhile before you can throw.

Other Thoughts: -I rated this course a 3.5 because of how open it is. I love the wooded holes and highly recommend you come play this course so you can play them but, unless you're a complete novice, you'll probably be bored and left wanting more on the first 9 or so holes. Looking at the course map, it looks like you can walk down the path and hop on 10 and do 10-18 and the extra holes, perhaps that's your best bet. It's disappointing to have to suggest that, especially if you're driving in from further then 10 miles, but you may as well throw up and down a soccer field to get the same effect as the first 9.

-I called this course overrated because I think it gets a better reputation than it deserves, partially due to it being on the national tour. That's cool and all, but it doesn't make up for its shortcomings. 3.5 is a fair assessment, in my opinion.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.