Columbus, OH 
Brent Hambrick Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: gcoghill Hole #E
3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft.   3 / 160ft. Par / Distance:
Hole E Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Fun but needs work

1    6/6/2010   6/6/2010
Review By: jammydee
Played: 46  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 27 holes is great! 9 holes is never enough!
Good drop-offs on the front 9
Some wickedly wooded holes towards the end.
Short and Long teepads on most holes and multiple pin locations.
Cons: Holes 1, 2, and 5 were down for maintenance when I was there. Course was crowded and some of the teepads are located pretty close to baskets for other holes, leading to lots of cries of "FOUR!!!" After playing Gulley and Monroe down near Cincinnati, I wish there were more variety of holes. For a 27-hole course, I only feel like there were 9 or so unique holes. Many are pretty much just straight ahead or slight right or left. Not much elevation change either, just some rolling of the terrain. Could've made use of the land a lot better. No water fountains so bring some water with you! It's a long trek! This course is also badly in need of some wayfinding signage.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing this course, but it just feels like it isn't up to its potential. It could be so much better if it was better taken care of. Having 3 holes unplayable right off the bat kinda started the day on the wrong foot. The teepads are pretty nice and don't get me wrong, I'd go back, but I'd rather play others first before I go back and play this one again...

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

3 the Hard (fun) Way

1    4/3/2010   4/5/2010
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/24/2017
14 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes in a beautiful park. Great variety with an open front 9, a wooded middle 9, and a back 9 that would make a great 9 holer in itself in that it has very finesse oriented, short, wooded holes and some open holes to flex the guns. Two pin placements as well as a short and long tee for most holes. Nice cement tees and signs on every hole, benches, adequate use of elevation and "proper" wooded holes (none of that tractor-cleared path through the woods type of crap). Beautiful reservoir and dam next to course. Good hole variety and length as well, you don't feel like lugging 12+ discs at this course is overkill compared to many others. The front 9 has some nice drop-offs near the basket. Trash cans and a portajohn.
Cons: There is a little confusion on where to go after hole 5, a next tee sign would be great. I would have liked to seen better use of the park's elevation and water, especially the water. I'm not saying have a hole that tees off from the top of the dam (although that would be awesomesauce) but some holes ending near the river/reservoir's edge seem doable. That's it though, great course.
Other Thoughts: Really fun, the 27 holes are a breeze to play through and the extra 9 is nice because they're neat holes and they dump you close to the parking lot for nice flow. As an NC disc golfer, this was what I was expecting in an Ohio course with the nice rolling fields and verdant woods. Definitely a repeat play as it feels like three 9-holes combined into one, a venerable smorgasbord of disc golf pleasure.

14 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Worth the road trip

5+    3/31/2010   4/3/2010
Review By: thebuckeyeguy
Played: 125  Reviewed: 17
This review was updated on 7/24/2012
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is quite simply an above average course. You have everything from open shots to wooded shots, long bombs to short placements, elevation changes (though not too drastic), a bonus 9 holes that wrap around (A-I, starts after hole 14), 3 parking lots, good signs and great tees, plenty of OB challenges...all of the "essentials" that we look for in a good course.
Cons: I wish there were a way for water to come into play. The only problem is that there are no little lagoons or outlets to throw over; all options are really unfeasible. I would like to see 9 more holes put in the woods, either in the ravine along side 10-14 or in the woods beyond G, H, and I. Only restroom is a port-a-john and there aren't water fountains; plan accordingly. Also, the big bummer, due to erosion issues it seems that some holes are often closed. I can't remember the last time that I played this course in its entirety (outside of a tournament).
Other Thoughts: I might have given a higher score if it weren't for Hoover being my home course; unfortunately, playing it often makes me take it for granted. But if you're looking for a disc golf road trip, the Columbus area offers Hoover here, Gordon Holton (technical), and Lobdell (long and strong) as diverse, challenging, and memorable courses that'll make your trip. And we have plenty of warm-up courses, too (Blendon or Griggs), as well as new courses slated for 2010.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 I thought about this for a long time

5+    3/21/2010   3/21/2010
Review By: NatiBuckeye
Played: 26  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 3/24/2010
17 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: General everyday play this is a great 3.5-4 disc course
During tournaments, when played from long tees, with rope fairways and OB's in play this course moves up to a 4.5

I typically include hole-by-hole descriptions of a course however one of the best attributes about The Hambrick Course is how adaptable it is. It can be played many different ways and will remain fresh after being played many times because of the great time and care given to this course. True disc golf minds get this course ready for a National Tour PDGA Tournament and it shows.

Pros

- Long tees add over 1600 ft and a completely different monster.
- Two tee's and 2 basket placements for most holes
- Holes C, D, and E are beautiful and very technical.
- Multiple basket placements with some on higher or lower levels to make approach shots and putting challenging.
- Great scenic views of the lake and Dam on holes 1-3 and 18, appealing views of the river on hole 8 although it can be a Con see below.
- A very appealing wooded layout with holes 10-17 with lots of mature trees and some beautiful walks through pine tree trails.
- With the wooded portion of the course and the majority of the letter holes you will very rarely play the same shot twice.
- Most of the holes do not play to just one shot or style of play..
- The largest tee pads I have ever played for most holes.
Cons: Cons

- Short tee layout is not challenging for advanced-high level players
- Can be very muddy and does not drain well
- Certain basket placements can result in obstacles coming into play that normally are not. Such as hole 8 when the river is up.
- Holes 5 and 6 are very dangerous and essentially play in several other fairways.
- Holes 1-9 are very simple.
- Not enough holes with open distance. The long tees change this in some aspects, however most drives are in a controlled fashion and can lead to a constricted arm feeling. Everyone once in awhile I like to be able too just bomb away.
- Parking can be a hassle at this course and require you to walk a long way.
- No good restroom facilities. How can a National Tour Course not have a good restroom setup?
Other Thoughts: Memorable things to add:

- I truly love the views and scenery of this course. In Cincinnati you just don't get to walk from one basket to the next tee through a large patch of mature pine trees.
- Hole 15, throw the spike hyzer, thumber etc... don't try the tunnel
- Holes C, D, E are absolutely frustrating and beautiful at the same time for players of all levels
- Real Disc golfers need to ask about OB's and other rules which make this course a lot more challenging on certain holes.
- I really appreciate how diverse in line shaping you need to be to play this course. If you're a RH BH player a FH is a must.
- If the parking lot looks full park somewhere else but don't leave... 27 holes spreads out the local traffic and eliminates wait times.
- A lot of the recreational locals don't play the wooded or letter holes so start there if you want a more personal experience

17 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 brent hambrick

5+    9/15/2009   2/28/2010
Review By: kyle420420
Played: 14  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -great layout and use of the land
-good variety of open and wooded holes
-The PDGA National Tour Runs through it every year
-pro and am tees
- multiple pin placements
-27 holes to play
Cons: -severely crowded most of the time
-many none disc golf pedestrians walking or jogging so be carefull of where your disc go
-No water hazards
Other Thoughts: this is a great course but way to crowded. i would definitly recomend this course to any one that is in the area and want to get a good game in.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Columbus and top course in America

5+    11/22/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: DPOW
Played: 80  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.5 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: +Great course layout
+Excellent variety (front 9 open, back 9 wooded)
+Pro tees
+Long drives and short drives
+Hyzer shots and anhyzers shots
+Great elevation changes
+The PDGA National Tour Runs through it every year
+Clear flight paths for every hole
Cons: -No water hazards
-Can get really crowded
-Holes 1 & 2 have been closed for way too long now
-Pedestrians/people who don't know what disc golf is can get in the way
-Some new tree placements don't make a whole lot of sense (5 and 18)
Other Thoughts: I'm born and raised in Westerville, Ohio (Annehurst to be exact) and this is by far my favorite course in Columbus. If you are driving through Columbus and you want to play a round on disc golf GO HERE!!!! The fact that the PDGA National Tour stops here annually should be convincing enough to come here, plus Valerie Jenkins, among many other pros, lists it as one of her top five favorite courses.

Although a street pretty much splits the course in half, it doesn't begin to take away from the natural beauty Hoover offers. A combination of tough approaches, up-hill and down-hill putts, and monster drives makes this 27-hole course one of the best not only in Ohio, but America.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 hoover dam dgc

1    11/9/2009   11/9/2009
Review By: andrewkh
Played: 54  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 10.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good shot selections and some very unique pin placements. Nice rolling hills with shots both up and down hill. Fairly well maintained with plenty of trash cans around course so i only saw a few pieces of trash around the course.

Cons: Somewhat difficult to navigate your first time threw. When i threw this course, holes 1 & 2 were closed when i was there. Several holes seemed to be wet even though it hadn't rained in the area for several days which suggests there could be some drainage issues. Very busy even during hours most courses would dead
Other Thoughts: Would like to throw this course again, possibly next time with some locals that throw this course well. maybe i'll chack out sunday league here sometime

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Columbus

5+    10/5/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 153  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 15.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent Shot Variety
Very Well Maintained
Always Expanding
Beautiful
Great mix of Wooded/Open Shots
Great for both Novice and Advanced Players
Cons: Crowded
Holes down by the Dam can be Buggy
Wind
Other Thoughts: Columbus Ohio and it's surrounding area is a great place place to live if you like Disc Golf. We have lots of great courses but this one is the best.
It has every kind of shot a Disc Golfer could want and they are always looking to add on more. The only problem with this course is it can be overcrowed.
Hole 16 is my favorite, and hole 17 always kicks my ass
On a side note, this course easily has the highest percentage of hot girls I have ever seen on a Disc Golf course

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Versatility

5+    9/14/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 29.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2012
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent versatility. This course has all the shots. From the longs, you will use most of the discs in your bag. Good mix of hyzer, anny and strait shots. Good mix of long and short holes. Good mix of tight and open holes. The park is somewhat small, but gorgeous. The course is always well manicured and clean. Home of the BHMO. One of the elite NT's.
Cons: The course gets slammed on beautiful days. If the weather is perfect you need to get there early or you will be waiting for pads.
Other Thoughts: I love this layout. The course just has all the shots. I play some courses where I only need a back hand throw and a versatile driver with a putter. Not here. This course will challenge any level of player.

The course is broken into a distinct front and back nine.

The front nine is open. Generally easier to get your deuces here. The back nine is tight and wooded. Many various hazards, including a deep ravine to the right side of a few holes. Several of the baskets are blind.

The difference between the short tee's and long tee's are also considerably different form front to back nine. In the front, you may get new angles on some holes, but mostly, you just add distance and minor additional hazards. In the back, the longs are like an entirely different course. They will test your patience. Very narrow gaps where placement is more important than distance. The rough can be very unforgiving.

There are nine additional holes that break off after 14. They loop around a separate part of the park and bring you back to 15. These holes are OK. Personally, I would rather get a couple rounds in from the original course, than take the time to play these 9. If you haven't played them, give'em a go. However, I find they lack the style and design of the initial 18.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of variety

1    2/15/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.6 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park that seemed mostly devoted to disc golf, with lots of elevation changes and a mix of open areas and dense woods. Many of the holes had good uses of elevation to add some interest and challenge, especially on the more open holes. I liked the mix of longer open holes where elevation and wind along with tricky basket placements provided the challenge along with technical woods holes. The wooded holes called for shot shaping and accuracy, and punished errant shots with ravines and dense trees.

There was a really nice variety of long and short holes throughout the course, that called for a nice variety of different shots. It felt like many different shots were necessary to score well here, with lots of right and left turning holes mixed in with the straight shots. The wooded holes were varied between really tight narrow fairways and more open and longer woods shots.

There were nice concrete tees on every hole, and multiple tees on many of the holes that add a nice option for tougher or easier shots on the holes. There were nice tee signs for the holes with the hole layout and distance that made the course easy to follow and navigate for the most part. The park is nicely maintained, and very scenic with little trash and well-kept fairways. There is a nice practice area near the beginning of the course.
Cons: There were a couple weird spots in terms of navigation. Between 9 and 10 the walk is not well marked, and we had to ask a local player where to go. The new 9 holes are a great addition, but also aren't obvious if you don't know where they are. The alternate pin positions were nice, but it wasn't obvious which position each hole was in.

I played on a cold day with lots of slushy snow on the ground, and there were still a bunch of people out playing. I could easily see the course getting crowded on a nice warm day, and making it so that there were waits throughout the round. The people we ran into were all friendly and helpful, though the weather made it so that it was mostly diehards out playing, so I can see there being more of an issue with inexperienced players in the summer. There were some spots where roads were in play, and occasionally we had to wait for traffic to clear before we could play a hole.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course with enough variety to interest just about any player. The signage and the open holes make it pretty beginner friendly, though there are plenty of places to lose discs in the woods. More experienced players will find lots of different challenges here, and I can see why there are successful tournaments held here.

This is a great course, and well worth the stop if you're anywhere near the area. I would recommend playing this course to just about any level of player, the alternate tees give lots of options for different skill levels.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.