San Francisco, CA 
Golden Gate Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: mike shoys Hole #15
3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 119
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12

1    10/28/2019   10/28/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 132  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 10 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A very iconic park with a lot going on. The course has a beautiful kiosk board with course map by hole 1. There's bathrooms to the left of the road before the disc golf course. The course itself has very easy navigation to follow and some really cool pin placements. It's a good course for all skill levels and is challenging enough for advance players yet easy enough for begginers. Good tee signs/ tee pads. Nice visible baskets most can be seen from tee pad and catch well. The layout is a good mix of holes and none feel the same. Great use of small elevation, and good saftey nets protecting other tee pads
Cons: I wish some of the pin placements were there year round and didn't change just the signature type ones. Couple par 4s in long should still be par 3s but no biggie. Some of the spinners marking pin location weren't in the right spot
Other Thoughts: I've heard this course can get very crowded we should up at 7:30 am and had no problem. Overall this course is great, just falls a little short of the super wow factor of some 5 star courses. Overall it should be on everyone's playlist and is a phenomenal course

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautifully designed course in an iconic park

5+    9/15/2019   9/15/2019
Review By: Peltier
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful iconic park. Easy parking. Relatively easy to navigate. Not overly challenging. Nice baskets and tee boxes. No wonky pinball / luck shots, though several holes will require methodical tree navigation. Lots of resting areas, so you can chill and play a relaxing round (see cons for how crowded it gets.). Location is fantastic and you could easily make an entire day out of GGP (much more than just the disc golf course.). Moderate elevation changes. Several holes with birdie attempts (great for someone with less than a 300' drive.). Great course maintenance. 3-4 pin placements per hole. Difficult to lose a disc on this course. Proper signage. Safety nets protecting tee boxes in danger zones.
Cons: Very crowded. Be patient. A few holes share fairways with each other. The spinning pin placement selectors on the tee box signs were not all accurate. They may not update these. A couple holes have very elevated baskets, these are ok as a novelty item, but more than one really are not necessary in my book.
Other Thoughts: Overall a great course for the area and certainly one worth going out of your way to check out. Could be on the easy side if you are really good, but not a basic course. Beautiful walk through the park. Friendly locals.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

1    6/20/2017   6/20/2019
Review By: huffoa4874
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Located in a fantastic park. A lot of activity and things to do. The course and the entire park are beautiful. Easy to access. You can spend all day in the park after throwing and never get bored.
-Its a really good challenge. Some narrow fairways and good distance.
-Great elevation changes throughout the course.
-Baskets and tee pads are great quality.
-Plenty of benches and trash cans
Cons: -It gets very crowded on nice days (which is expected). But folks are generally friendly.
-I had some difficulty navigating in spots. At one point I walked to the next tee only to realize that I had skipped 3 holes. Another group helped me out and showed me how to circle back.
-Some fairways are tight next to pedestrian areas.
Other Thoughts: Just an incredible area! Definitely worth the trip to see it. This park is huge. Check out the Japanese Tea Garden.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Diverse course in a beautiful and diverse park

2-4    5/9/2019   5/10/2019
Review By: Moose33
Played: 75  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/4/2019
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I had heard all of the buzz about Golden Gate park and how beautiful it is and how the course is well put together, so while in on business with a few hours to kill I made my way to the park and attacked the course.

At 2 pm on a Thursday it was already crowded which speaks to the popularity. The course plays through some great, enormous evergreens with well worn paths, many of which are lined with timbers.

The signs are mainly on low angled stumps on the ground with fairly accurate maps and a small wheel to show which of the three or four positions the tee is in.

Pads are decent sized and may of them are paved lined on the outside to prevent you stepping in a puddle when it's wet. It's not a new course so there aren't any of the modern 12+ foot long pads but plenty of room for a good run up.

There is also a good variety of elevation, nothing crazy but good use of up and down. A few blind baskets add to the interest as well.

The baskets are green banded which can make them slightly harder to find than the traditional yellow bands, but they are well maintained and balanced.

There are also some nets placed where there could be some danger of an errant disc hitting you.

There are also benches or logs to sit on for most holes, and since I was carrying all of my luggage for both rounds it was welcomed.
Cons: They cons are mainly those associated with older courses. Pads could be bigger, though I didn't knock it for that.

Despite the nets, there are still a few unsafe spots where the next pad is too close to the previous basket. I nearly decapitated a very nice couple with a drive that was only about 30 ft past the basket.(turnover shot went way further than I thought I could throw it). Think that was hole four.

They also use Mandos for safety reasons which while effective is not my favorite design choice.

There are also not a ton of long holes, but that makes it more accessible to the masses.

It's very good, make no mistake, but it doesn't have a true wow factor like I was hoping for.
Other Thoughts: Very pretty course, and definitely worth a play. I think that my idea of west coast courses was mildly ruined by the Portland area ones that are so fantastic, but this one is defiantly very good.

The use of the giant beautiful trees and elevation is very good. The park in general is fantastic. I spent 5 hours playing and walking around and you could could probably spend days in the park and never see everything.

The locals were all really nice, welcoming, and helpful. I had a good time hanging out with one group watching a heron by hole one eating some moles/voiles that he was snatching from the ground. Didn't know they did that, but was highly entertaining.

There is also a ton of great dining within walking distance just south of the park. Will be back for more disc golf and Indian food next time I'm in town!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Typical of SF. Holier than thou locals

1    8/5/2018   8/15/2018
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 87  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Playing in GG park is amazing. Great park with beautiful trees and abundant nature for being in the middle of SF.
- Course layout was unique and interesting. Not a lot of bomber holes but just enough to keep the High Speed Drivers at hand.
-Fun shots uphill/downhill.
Cons: - Groups of 6-8 playing together
-Waiting at every hole as there are none long enough to get 2 groups playing at once on a hole.
- Assholes who think they know better than you when it comes to your own shot.
-Never attempt this course on a Sunday. Lots of college students trying to impress chicks and DBags who have nothing better to do than sit behind you and talk nonsense.
Other Thoughts: While the course itself is excellent overall, the amount of people playing on a Sunday afternoon was absolutely ridiculous. Couple that with a tight course with little room to spread out made for a frustrating day with a lot of waiting. Took 3.5 hours to play./ Several groups of 6-8 playing together. F that. The locals didn't make it any better with their nonsense. Consistently telling my group when to throw and correcting us on if we yelled FORE or not. Dude Im staring at my shot and its nowhere near that group. Don't yell FORE for me and then chastise me on how "we do it here". Would only play here on a weekday in the early morning. SF needs more DG courses.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Disc golf Paradise

1    2/2/2018   2/5/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 90  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2019
7 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: -Great warm up area.
-Holes are open, with trees. That forced me to play in 3 dimensions which lots of courses don't do.
-The course itself is beautiful and you get the feel that this area was meant to be a disc golf course and not just some after thought.
- Course is challenging, but attainable, meaning there is oppurtunity for birdies, but also (with my skill) some necessary par or bogey.
-Almost all holes had a great use of elevation, mandatory, or both. Every hole had multiple ways to attack which makes every hole a new challenge.
-Excellent tee pads and signs
-Location in San Francisco makes it really easy to access.
-Many courses I've played are courses that should be played if you happen to be in the area, this course alone is a reason to come to San Francisco.
-Places to sit down by each tee
-This course gets a 3/4 on the new Shoe Index
-Baskets are great quality and also very visible from the tee, some tee shots are blind, but the tee sign helps indicate where the basket is
Cons: -Difficult to navigate without a map or kind stranger.
-Terrain can be hazardous to those who are not very nimble.
-Some assorted garbage on the ground near the beginning and end but that is pretty standard for a popular course in a big city.
-Also lots of pot smokers, which is nothing against the course really, but just unfortunate for those of us who make good decisions.
Other Thoughts: Golden Gate Park is a really cool park, outside of this course. So much to do! You could spend a whole day in this massive park. I saw some bison... what?

7 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice inner city course!

1    10/10/2017   10/24/2017
Review By: Ajampalm
Played: 94  Reviewed: 11
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Accurate tee signs, concrete tee pads, good fairways/lines to hit on most all holes.
Cons: As to be expected getting to the course for a non local isn't inexpensive (was $15 for a Lyft each way from only 2-3 miles away), and lots of homeless activity.

It is a blue level course without question, so if you are looking for a challenge this course is fun and fair, but it would not be hard to shoot into the mid to low 40's on a good day.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I have played in California. It was a blast, and having different scenery than in the upper midwest is always a plus.

I had a great time playing here, and would be thrilled to have this be my home course. The locals were very friendly and accommodating.

If you are in the area this is a must play. Patrick Brown was out there doing course maintenance when I was there. Talk about a celebrity volunteer groundskeeper!

From what I could tell if you are in San Francisco there aren't many to any other options that would compare to this course for the location and quality!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Meh....

1    9/25/2017   9/26/2017
Review By: adamtheviking5
Played: 94  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The course us well maintained. Folks are mostly friendly. Good quality baskets. Some variety of shots. Overall a pretty good disc golf experience.
Cons: Unless you live near by, this course is very inconvenient to travel to or park at. Not a whole lot of shot variety because of the lack of space. Holes are dangerously close together and close to lots of other activities going on in the park, such as adults playing kickball with a keg in the middle of the infield. I might look into this actually because ALL the participants were having a LOT of fun. Lots of vagrants and bums and just generally un- hygienic people walking and standing around.
Other Thoughts: I went to golden gate with the hope of playing a great course based on its rating but its really closer to a 3 than a 4. There just wasnt any WOW factor and the course wasnt that difficult.

5 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorites

5+    8/29/2017   9/7/2017
Review By: KMBreith
Played: 80  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great location in the middle of San Fransisco
Frequent hole movement, some have up to 4 placements
Tee pads are consistent and don't slip
Good variety of shots; short, long, left, right, etc
Multiple practice tees with log benches
Garbage cans at a majority of holes
Dogs are allowed
Friendly people
Cons: Busy on the weekends if it's nice out
Walkers and bikers frequent the trails along some of the course
Other Thoughts: This course will go down as one of my favorites for as long as I live.
Since the first time I played to the last; I am always challenged and I always have fun! Great place to play for visitors and out of towners.
Message me if you need a guide sometime :)

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of a Course, Well Laid Out, Decent Challenge, Nice Elevation Mix

1    7/21/2017   7/28/2017
Review By: Treeplant
Played: 91  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Beautiful, mostly wooded course inside of Golden Gate Park in San Francisco. Considering how tight real estate is in San Francisco, this is one heck of a course.

- Unless you air mail a drive into outer space, it's an open forest floor so there aren't a lot (though there are some) places to lose discs. Not nearly as bad for losing discs as other forested courses.

- Baskets were in decent shape, concrete tee pads in decent shape as well. Not brand new, but no complaints.

- Good signage, though it could be confusing to tell which pin position was in play. I got the impression that the club marked it properly then on a few holes people goofed around with the pin markers.

- Easy to navigate between holes with a course map, without a course map might be a little bit tricky.

- Nice mix of elevation and a few open shots in spite of the course mostly being situated inside the forested areas.

- Most holes had some sort of seating, which is great considering it seems like it would be impossible to play this course without waiting a bit.

- Intermediate players would play this at close to par (the average intermediate player would be a few strokes over par would be my guess), advanced players below par, though there aren't many gimme ace runs or short holes on this. Conversely, there aren't any major bomber holes, you're not going to be able to open up a bunch of wide open drives, but there are a few spots to rip 400'+ drives downhill. Overall a nice mix of distance, however, nothing felt overly repetitive.

- Okay course for a cart, but awkward in a few spots. If it were raining I don't think I'd play with a cart. There are some stairs.
Cons: - Flight paths are close to other tees and public areas. You really need to pay attention to where you're throwing and what's going on around you. They have netting set up in a few spots, but it's limited coverage and there are lots of opportunities to get hit or hit others if you're not careful.

- Possibly the busiest course we've ever played, though in fairness we did play it on a Saturday in the summer. I'm told the course is pretty much busy all the time, not a big deal though, it's worth a bit of waiting.
Other Thoughts: - If you're looking for local info, the club has a webpage at www.sfdiscgolf.org and also a facebook page that can be searched.

- We played five courses in California, this was a close second favourite behind Whale Rock.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.