Delaware, OH 
Gordon Holton Memorial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 260ft.   3 / 311ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Red Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 30
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 An "all day" course

5+    4/20/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: discmasternuke
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: First hole. 3rd hole. 9th hole. Entire back 9.
2 bonus holes
Excellent maps and tee pads
Excellently placed foliage
Cons: tiring because of elevation changes and pace of play
LOTS of thorns
Large tree on 4 makes ace or 2 almost an impossible score
Other Thoughts: This is an amazing course with every obstacle available; rocks hills trees water and thorns
This course can be played all day and will never get boring
This course is fun to play with a large group because of all the different shot shapes that players are forced to create

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ohio Meet 2011 with RTS FTW!

1    9/24/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: Brall
Played: 43  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 9.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Very pretty and scenic park. Lots of old trees and lush green vegetation. The terrain is easily traversed and mostly flat. Good place for a disc golf cart.
- Extremely nice mixture of open air shots and a lot of technical shots around objects. The fairways on the more technical shots are thin enough to challenge the better player but still allow a lower level player to not feel overwhelmed. This course has left and right turning shots, under and around obstacles.
- The overall distance is good but seems low even though there are 4 holes over 400'. I will add that even though there are 4 holes below 250', those holes are mostly well balanced with trees to get around. Even the 170' hole is a challenge!
- Multiple Tees
- Concrete Tees are in excellent condition
- The Tee Maps are done very well and also give the direction to the Next Tee
- Baskets are in excellent condition
- Delaware Lake adds a nice water hazard, especially on Hole #1
- Excellent upkeep on the park. The grass is well mowed and even the wooded areas are kept clean and clear.
- Low traffic from non disc golfers and most likely from disc golfers alike. The course is secluded away from most other activities.
- Lots of benches!
- Entrance is marked by signs leading you to the disc golf course
- Very nice Kiosk with a map and scorecards
- The map is accurate and helpful
- Practice basket by the Kiosk also doubles as the basket for Hole #20
- Trash cans are located throughout the course
- Multiple parking lots
- Picnic tables to meet and greet throughout the course
- There are 3 bathrooms located throughout the course
- Amenities. The course has a playground and sand volleyball. But the park is HUGE. The park has kids nature events, camping (cottages etc...), laundry, basketball, horseshoe, lots of playgrounds, rental for about anything including golf discs, boating, fishing, swimming, hunting... The list goes on. So bring the family for a great day and play a round.
Cons: - The numbering system for the holes can be confusing. It would be much better if this could be redone in a complete numerical order.
- The course flows decently. You can park at Hole #1 and end Hole #20 right at the parking lot. But navigating the course can become difficult at times so bring a map. This will come in very handy around Hole #G.
Other Thoughts: - There are only a few elevation changes on a few holes but this certainly does add to this course. A few to note is that Hole #1 starts off with a slight downhill grade and Hole #12 throws uphill over a water hazard that is zigzagging back and forth on the fairway.
- This park has a very natural setting in beautiful Delaware State Park but it is located a decent drive from the highway.
- I hope that someone gets some new photo's up on DGCR for this course. It really looks MUCH different than the current pics.
- Many, MANY of the very nicely located trees that make some of these holes have so much character and challenge have a big red 'X' on them. I guess these are Ash trees soon to be cut down. This will GREATLY affect how this course is played. I can only hope that the state can afford to replace these trees. If the state cannot do this I foresee a few baskets being moved at the minimum. Very sad.
- This course certainly had some very challenging holes but this was offset by some very nice open holes with only a few trees to get around. Just a great mix.
- The most challenging hole is #12. Any errant hit in this tight fairway could drop you into the O.B. that is the water hazard all along the center of the fairway.
- My favorite hole is #14. I love the beautiful view over the water from the Long Tee!
- This was a fantastic course but I do not label this as a course to travel a long way to play, however, this course combined with some of the other courses located nearby would certainly be worth a long drive and make a great full day of disc golfing.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Well Rounded

1    7/23/2011   7/24/2011
Review By: tsqrd
Played: 32  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
[Baskets]: Excellent condition, well maintained.

[Tee Signs/Maps/Markers]: Basic signs at each hole. Signs are decent; including hole number, direction, distance, and next tee location. Par has been hand written on the post. There is a map online and informative bulletin board near the first tee. I did not notice a map at course though.

[General Course Design]: Course flows well from hole to hole. Course starts and ends close to the parking lot.

[Foliage Maintenance]: Areas around the baskets were clear. Wooded areas were clear of debris. Trees are nicely trimmed and grass appears to be cut regularly.

[Benches & Trash bins]: There were benches at each tee box. A few trash cans available and I did not notice any trash on the course.

[Elevation]: Great use of mature trees and elevation changes. The course uses the open and wooded areas of the park to the fullest extent, alternating in and out of the woods every couple of holes.

[Signature Holes]: Several potential signature holes. A variety of hole distances requiring many different shot selections. The course offers a good mix of tight, technical shots and a few opportunities for open bombs.

[Tee Pads]: Concrete, good condition, both pro and amateur tees, and in some cases even a third, all concrete.

[Restrooms]: I noticed a couple restroom facilities throughout the course.
Cons:
[General Course Design]: There was an extra hole in between 11 and 12. Although this is not really a bad thing, it did add some confusion not knowing this beforehand. I do not recall seeing anything about this before we played.

[Foliage Maintenance]: There were a lot of downed trees through the wooded area. This added to the hazard of the elevation changes, so you had to be careful walking up and down the hills through the woods.

[Tee Signs]: Some of the tee signs were missing the map/information. Perhaps they were damaged and being replaced? The only other thing about the signs was a glare from the sun. Several of the signs would cast a bright sun spot toward the tee pad and on a couple occasions, it would hit my eyes right as I was in the middle of my tee shot.
Other Thoughts:
This course was fun to play, and not so tough that beginners will be discouraged. As a beginner myself, the course was challenging enough to force me to consider my shots before throwing.
There is plenty of parking available with a short walk to the first tee. Several picnic tables near the beginning of the course and a few shelter houses scattered throughout.
The nicest state park course I have played, and in the top 5 overall. Definitely worth checking out if you are anywhere close to Delaware.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great course!

5+    7/9/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: JSdisker44
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: All tees are marked and holes are easy to find. but, i have probably played this course about 100 times, so a first timer may have some trouble. has a phenomenal variety of long, short, left curving, right curving, open and wooded holes. Course is challenging, but not frustrating. i, being thirteen can still achieve even par or better. my favorite hole may ctually be number one. 17, 18, 2, and three are also exellent
Cons: not many cons on this course. some people may say there are too many trees, but overall a great course
Other Thoughts: give this course a visit, it will be worth the trip!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course after the Worlds Prep

2-4    6/29/2010   8/4/2010
Review By: ERicJ
Played: 224  Reviewed: 154  Exp: 9.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Gordon is a complete course located on a expansive section of Delaware State park. The course has lefty and righty holes, elevation, and water shots. There are some long bomber holes and some shorter more technical holes. The dual sets of tees are both concrete of adequate length. The baskets are top quality. The course appears to be very well maintained. A lot of the wooded holes have tight lines to hit and low ceilings to stay under... these holes will frustrate less players, challenge better players, and make everyone's game better in the long run. The course went through a pretty major facelift to prepare for PDGA AM Worlds in the summer of 2010. The long concrete tees were installed and a slightly tweaked configuration was created (15 short tee played to 16's basket, and 17 had a new shorter tee position). Brand new tee signs are being installed as of Summer 2010. Restroom facilities are available by hole #1, as is a practice basket and course info board. The practice hole actually has a small concrete tee pad after hole #18 and can be played as the 20th hole on the course if desired.
Cons:
Can be difficult to navigate in a couple spots your first time, so print a map and you shouldn't have any trouble. Transitions between some of the holes is somewhat long and you'll cover a decent bit of distance between holes. This really is a well designed, and it's a personal preference, but I wouldn't mind seeing a bit more bomber type holes vs. the technical ones.
Other Thoughts:
The course goes by a couple different names, most commonly referred to as "Delaware" by the locals. The holes are numbered as #1-11, "G", #12-18, and lastly the practice basket hole "#20". The pictures on DGCR as of Aug 2010 that show the course without foliage are misleading for anyone playing in the Spring or Summer... it looks a lot different when the leaves are in. After the recent facelift I'd say this course probably qualifies as a destination course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/5/2009   3/20/2010
Review By: Zigzaggler
Played: 42  Reviewed: 14
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Amazing layout !! Beautiful park that is well maintained. Plenty of variety offered here for all skill levels. little to no wait for tees as the course is spaced out well. One of my all time favs. !!
Cons: a few of the tees were hidden away pretty well, took a little walking to find them. Other than that not a hole lot going bad on this course.
Other Thoughts: Loved to see all trees growing crooked with funny knots, do to disc impact ! Some tees are placed directly behind trees. Added a few marks on a few trees out there myself.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A challenging course

5+    12/12/2009   12/22/2009
Review By: reanthon
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads (long and short on most holes)
-Great variety of shots
-Very challenging
-Good Baskets
-Never crowded
-Rustic
Cons: -Need more permanent signs
-Hard to follow if it's your first time
Other Thoughts: This course will make you throw everything in your bag and every type of shot. It was on this course that I was forced to learn how to throw rollers, flick and tomahawk shots. The course is well maintained. As mentioned earlier, tournaments are on Tuesday (singles) and Sunday (doubles) and usually bring in a fair number of pros, including Tyler of team Discraft. So expect this to be more of a five dollar lesson instead of an opportunity to make some cash. None of the holes are really pure luck, as some people have commented. Each hole has atleast one clear route, you just need to watch the pros, play the course a lot and really know your plastic. This course is not beginner friendly, but will force intermediate players to take their game to a new level as well as challenge advanced players. There is some poison oak on the course, put after playing it dozens of times, I have yet to get any on me. This is a beautiful and challenging course and deserves a look if you are in the Delaware area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Underrarted but not by much

5+    11/4/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Bikinimower
Played: 153  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 15.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Variety of shot types and distances
Good mix of open field and wooded shots
Low traffic
Well Maintained
Easy to find
Cons: Navigating the course can be tricky
Some of the wooded holes are to dense
I've seen skunks the last few times I've been out there
Other Thoughts: This course is easy to find and it's located in a public park. That's always a good sign and almost guarantees that it will be kept in good condition

I like that the course goes in and out of the woods a lot. Some of the wooded hole are my favorites on the course But some of them are to dense. I find myself just winging my disc and then hoping that luck or tree love will do the rest.

Unless your with someone who knows their way around then this course can be tough to find your way around. After hole 3 turn right and follow the path to your right around the 2 ponds. Hole 12 is impossible to find if your new to the course. After hole 11 turn right, cross the street and look behind the sign that says "Buckeye Grove" there you will find hole 12.

Every Tuesday for 6 bucks they have a tournament. The guy I got paired up with was a gigantic asshole who spent the entire time bragging about how good he was. He was real obnoxious and thought he was all rad but really he was just a huge turd. Don't let him stop you from playing though because every one else there was good people and I had a lot of fun. Sunday at 11 they play doubles

The last few times I went out there I saw skunks. The ranger told me that there is a big skunk infestation everywhere East of the Mississippi River and no one knows why. I thought that was fascinating. An enormous one lives under the bridge on hole 10 so look out. I swear it was big enough to whip a dog.

All in all it's a fun course. I hear a lot of bad things about it but I really like it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 snug fairways

5+    4/5/2010   10/29/2009
Review By: culinarywiz
Played: 202  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 29.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/6/2010
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park

Very technical layout

Nice flow from basket to next pad

Nice Pads

Long and Short tees
Cons: Some fairways are too tight

Course doesn't drain well


Other Thoughts: OK. My initial impression of this course has changed significantly.

During my first round here, I had zero tree love. In fact, I had tree hate...and lots of it. The fairways are VERY tight on most holes. After being on the losing end of many ricochets, I left in a sour mood - vowing never to return.

After seeing and hearing consistently positive reviews of this course over the past year, I decided to give it another shot. Glad I did.

This course has a good mix of shots. It has length. It has a few somewhat open holes. It has right, left and strait shots. There are some mild elevation changes. Water comes into play on a couple holes. And the course is certainly challenging.

Some folks seem to think there are navigational issues, but I found none. Just take your time and keep track of what hole you are on. The only time I saw a tee that I considered playing out of order was #17, when I actually wanted #15. One look past it though, and the proper tee was in sight.

It truly is a solid course, worthy of tourney play. You just have to understand that it is a "MOOD disc golf course" and they like it tight.

My recommendation is this...play it a few times before you pass judgment. Good and bad rounds will come and go with this style of layout.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

1    10/11/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: gcoghill
Played: 71  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 17.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice concrete tee pads
- Beautiful scenery
- Secluded
- Easily accessible/easy to find
Cons: - Hole-to-tee can be confusing at times
- Tee signs have laminated paper that was missing or severly damaged on quite a few holes
- Hole layout hugs the roads a bit too tight for many holes
Other Thoughts: Overall a solid course, and worth a round if you are in the area.

Primarily a technical course, but a few holes are open enough to get a good long drive in if your accuracy is decent.

A few great holes in the woods. The course hugged the park roads and parking lots a bit too tight for my taste, especially considering the expansiveness of the park. When the holes meandered though the woods, the course was top notch. Too often though, holes were in more open areas (although still lots of trees) alongside roads with baskets placed in difficult locations. Wasn't so keen on those holes, which was about half the course.

The transition from hole-to-tee on quite a few baskets was frustrating, I even had a copy of the course map on my phone and still had difficulty navigating at times, particularly from Hole 11 basket to Hole 12 tee.

Definitely a fun course and worth a play if you are in the area or if you live nearby. I was visiting friends in Columbus and having already played the excellent Brent Hambrick course, I wanted to try a new course.

Hambrick and Holton are the only two Columbus-area courses I have played as of Oct. 2009, but if I had to choose between the I would go with Hambrick for sure. If you can play both, they're both worth a round.

Also, the photos for this course are a bit misleading as the trees get quite full with leaves and increase the beauty and challenge of every hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.