Fort Pierce, FL 
Gordy Road Share
Uploaded By: tnadkins Hole #3 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 344ft.   3 / 405ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
The Gordy Road 18 Hole Course Receives A Lot Of Love From The Club!

1    3/30/2019   4/3/2019
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1418  Reviewed: 1365  Exp: 41.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a 18 main course plus a little additional 9 which should be labeled a separate course. It's separate from the 18 and plays more of a pitch and putt. The park area is so very typically Florida. It's filled with tropical plants and trees, has the mandatory water throughout and is flat.

At the start you'll find a kiosk complete with course map. There are two concrete tee pads for each hole and the two metal signs on each hole with both listing both the Blue and Red distances. The Blues are longer and usually give you a totally different look. They're not just longer. The signs also show the next tee. You just have to remember where it was.

# 12 has a nice raised basket and is dedicated to a gentlemen who served as kind of an unpaid groundskeeper here. It's well done and impressive. And speaking of groundskeeper, this course is spotless. You won't see cans or bottles discarded into the brush.

At # 3, there is a very cool professional looking mailbox, lost disc return box. I thought I was going to mail a postcard to my friends in Indonesia. I didn't have ant lost discs to put in there. It was so cool, 5nat I was feeling guilty about not finding anyone's disc that I was going to donate one from my bag. There was also trash and recycling containers. Sorry, I didn't have any of that either.

The course is definitely tight and technical. You're throwing down a lot of narrow fairways bordered by jungle. Throughout the course, you'll be sitting on the previous tee signs. They have now been used to reinforce the benches.

The Blue tees have several water carries including # 1 which doesn't appear to have a fairway to me.

By vote for signature holes goes to # 14. It doesn't quite fit the norm here as it's longer at 300' from the Reds and over 600' from the Blues and much more wide open. It plays into a lovely park like area.

The extra 9 holes are called the Backside 9. These holes have concrete pads, small signs and shorter distances, overall. It's a little tighter, a little more technical and less broken in. I would list it as a separate 9 hole course because it really plays as one. I think the active club has plans of expanding it to 18 holes. Don't think this club won't get it done.
Cons: I almost hit this guy with an overhand on 18. He was the only other one here and was practicing putting on 18. I was throwing blindly over the tall bushes.

Too tight and technical for some people's taste.

You can never escape the nearby freeway noise.

Great chance of losing a disc in either the water or the jungle.

No place to really stretch out your arm.
Other Thoughts: The Treasure Coast Disc Club really impresses me. This course is well planned, clean as a whistle, has great amenities and friendly members. What they've accomplished here and at the small Rotary Park is beyond great. Congrats on your good work gentlemen! Keep rolling it out!

This is just your prototypical Florida jungle course. It's tight and technical. It's filled with all these tropical plants. Naturally, it's flat and you'll have to deal with bugs, water carries and a whole Florida swamp full of really fun disc golf.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Advanced Destination

1    2/24/2018   2/26/2018
Review By: macfleming1
Played: 70  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 36.4 Years
This review was updated on 2/28/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gordy DGC has just about everything you could want except elevation. Advanced players will appreciate the long tees, which create bomber distances on several holes including three water carries (1, 6, and 7). Short tees save the day for recs and older players like me, both taking away the water carries and lowering arm fatigue. Gordy is in a beautiful park setting with few non-golfers and has numerous technical tunnel challenges (near, far, ceilings, even all of the above). Pretty balanced in terms of right/left/straight finishes. Nice baskets (one elevated) and tees (nicely textured concrete); benches at many holes. Excellent tee signs! Practice basket, photo-ready course map, and picnic table at parking lot. Nine bonus holes, which I didn't have time to play, but that's certainly another "pro."
Cons: Flat flat flat. With tighter-than-average fairways on many holes, Gordy DGC could be frustrating for newer players. I was having trouble throwing straight vs. my brother's consistent drives during our round and lost by 8 strokes as a result. While I was severely punished and knocked off fairways, scrambling wasn't super difficult and the risk of a lost disc seems unlikely. **This could change during the rainy/growth season depending on the frequency and extent of mowing potentially tall grasses. While conditions were excellent during our round, I hear standing water can be an issue on several holes (7 comes to mind). It's a long walk out and back (NOT nine hole loops), so be prepared hydration-wise. Gordy is pretty far from any major population center and you must drive across a pretty rickety wooden bridge on your way to the park.
Other Thoughts: We wanted to play a casual round on a road trip from Orlando to Jupiter. There weren't many choices in this area of FL (mainly a few nine-holers) and we were almost scared off by the supposed difficulty and potential for lost discs cited in earlier reviews. SUPER GLAD WE PLAYED GORDY RD. Maybe the course is more "beaten in" now, or maybe it was the low-growth time of year, but conditions were perfect. Wish I had this course nearby for regular play because of its awesome challenge and variety.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Recently overhauled and features 27 total holes.

5+    11/3/2016   11/3/2016
Review By: rogerico101
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very challenging course featuring a variety of unique challenges. Arguably one of the toughest courses in the area. This course has recently been expanded to 27 holes. The rough has recently been mowed and a lot of work has been done in preparation for an upcoming PDGA tournament. Treasure Coast Disc Golf and Saint Lucie County's Environmental Resources Department has done a great job revitalizing this amazing course.
Cons: During the rainy season this course does hold water and the rough tends to be difficult to navigate.
Other Thoughts: This course will challenge you and has several blind shots. Use a spotter on blind shots to save time. Be mindful of wildlife.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Don't Let Her Good Looks Fool You

1    5/31/2016   5/31/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 189  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 44.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a tough course, Scenic, but unforgiving. This course will test you. It has all of the standard features. Very nice tees, nice baskets, etc. A lake and plenty of trees around it.
Cons: The rough here can be very brutal, with tall thick grass that seems hungry for plastic. Standing water seems to be a problem after heavy rains.

Navigation can be a little tricky. I would recommend using a map or playing with a local the 1st time through.
Other Thoughts: An interesting course, but I would caution new players. Spotting is required on many holes or discs will be lost.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/26/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The first couple of holes here gave me second thoughts about planning a day around a trip to Gordy Road. (to be fair I did not notice that the first hole had a blue tee until I found that the following holes had two tees each and looked at the map) Straight shots down a road for the most part, with water to the left but not really affecting play. I remembered a squarish lake from google maps and was thinking, "eh, another around-the-lake course?" Then I got to 4 which blew away those doubts. What a beauty. Gracefully curving fairway, edged by some tall grass and then dense brush just beyond that on either side. As the path lists to the right, the basket is just at the end of the fairway. It's a hole I want to throw a hundred times before going back to the first three holes.

5 is nice too. A similar look to 4 but a bit shorter with a late gap before a sharp left hook. Then I found out that the pond isn't a square as I thought. 6 is a hell of a carry. It is a long way across, (estimating 370) especially as it will force RHBH players to finish right to avoid ending up in the brink. That leads to 7, in my opinion the best hole on the course. It's stunning from either tee. The blue is another carry, though shorter than 6. Over water, over marsh and onto a wide peninsula. I might actually prefer the red tee. Straight down the peninsula, with marsh to the left and thick woods to the right. If there was ever a time to throw a straight shot, it when stepping up to 7 red.

The remainder of the holes don't match up to that four-hole run but it's solid gold from 8 to 15. Quite challenging golf from either tee from the most part. The tees often present a significantly different look but don't provide a huge disparity in difficulty. From any tee, this course is not for the timid golfer.

New signs that are really fantastic stand near tees that one could have few complaints about. It's all on a really nice piece of land with surprisingly scenic terrain give how close to the highway it is. Located right on the junction of I95 and the Florida Turnpike, it's a great place for an experienced player to stop and play a round.
Cons: The course could be considered a jack-of-all-trades, but it's really more a master-of-none. It's not a great destination course, because, well, it's not. It doesn't have that feeling of awe. You won't walk away thinking, "can't wait to play there again. There are some good holes but nothing truly memorable and it doesn't play well enough for first-timers.

It's also not a great travel stop. Again, it doesn't play nice with first-time players, and it's a bit too long and a bit too heavy with lost disc potential to be a quick-and-easy, get off the highway and play a round course. Shame since it is so close to a highway.

And though I think it plays better with experience, it's not really an everyday course either. Twice a month on league day? Sure. But I wouldn't want this to be my go-to local course that I play most of my rounds on. The rough is too rough and the inevitable disc searched would get tiresome.

In any case, while I felt the course had some great holes, as an entire course it didn't really pull together. I mentioned 1 and 2 above but 17 and 18 were even more disappointing. I realize that the course had to get from the parking lot to the main section and then back but that's a high percentage of holes that don't work.

But even in that bulk section of the course that sports solid holes, the course as a whole is awkward. There is no flow. Constant backtracking to tees that aren't in obvious spots. Blues and reds with odd spacial relationships. 14 and 15 stuck in that corner where you have to sorta cross part of the front nine. It takes away from it, especially as a first-timer. The navigation could generously be described as spotty. It's just tough to find your way around at times which will leave many a player frustrated.

That won't be the only source of frustration for players on their first trip to Gordy Road. These fairways, though accurately mapped have a lot of places where seemingly good tee shots will leave a disc in tall grass or thick shule. It barely needs to be said that this also not a good place for inexperienced throwers.

The far position for the baskets are often less than excellent. A lot of courses have this issue. The local players want alternate pin locations and of course they want the new locations to be harder. So they put them about thirty feet further along and maybe stick them into the woods a bit. And most places, but especially here, the new pins are worse. They turn holes into tweener holes. They introduce more luck. More than anything, they ruin the flow of a hole. The fairway leads to a logical place and then boom, no basket. It's just over there. I can't count the number of unused pin locations here that made me think, that's a nice basket spot. When alt baskets are added to a course, really they should stay in the standard locations for the majority of the time and be moved for league play and kept there for maybe a week per month. Basically, if the new pin placement is so good, why didn't the designer just put it there to begin with.
Other Thoughts: Finally, are there any locals on here? Hole info and pictures are incorrect.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Gordy road

5+    3/23/2014   4/2/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 163  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2015
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: So many pros where to start. First the challenge & variety of shots is unmatched by the courses in Ft. Lauderdale/Miami area. Long & short concrete tees on all 18, new signs & baskets for new 18 layout, no crouds, watter holes, fairways that look like a ball golf course (winter) with manacured grass fairways that transition to short, then longer/taller rough.
Cons: Can be a disc eater. Weeds very tall on 17, 18 & 19. No return to car until 18. A bit in the middle of nowhere for a south Florida resident. Can be standing water aound by 10-11 after rain. Not an easy flow & hard for first timers to negotiate even with signs. This was to preserve some of the original layout. Not mowed frequently enough so a gamble to visit if conditions are not updated. Can range from super nice when mowed to a mess when overgrown.
Other Thoughts: If you are driving north to Disney or down to south Florida on I-95 or Turnpike this is a don't miss in winter when rough is usually down. It is only 2 minutes off the highways. The palm trees, weeds and water can eat discs. Bring some sacrificial lambs for first time. As you can see from the pictures taken in July, the rough is very tall in summer. Restroom by parking lot for the ladies. Picnic tables by parking area. Since it is far from home bring lunch & spend the day. Trash cans by rest room only so pack in-pack out. Dont be a dirty disc-r. This is a hard course that is not for beginners. Some of the Reds play like White or Blue level. The Blue tees here play like Gold level with the long water carries & rough.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not for beginners!

1    9/6/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: TiVo713
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's a beautiful course, with great teepads, new baskets, and very well laid out. On the course map it doesn't look like an impossible course...
Cons: ...however the fairways are wayyyyy too narrow, i'm talking like 5-10 ft wide mowed grass with knee high grass everywhere else. It hadn't rained in a few days and the course was pretty wet with areas flooded. If you're a beginner, i would not recommend...
Other Thoughts: While I'm a halfway decent disc golfer, i was going up to a tournament with my ultimate team. I provided loaner discs for everyone. By hole 6, they had thrown 7 discs either into the water, into trees, or lost in rough grass never to be seen again even with a teamwide manhunt. Would it kill you guys to open the fairway up a tiny bit? Being a ft lauderdale player, i'm used to more open spaces like tradewinds, easterlin and indian hammocks.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 a VERY challenging course

5+    2/17/2013   2/18/2013
Review By: Bocephus_Moonshine
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/14/2013
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This 18 hole course has two concrete pads per hole and multiple pin positions on most holes. This course will challenge you to become a better player.

With three water holes, the league gives you the option of taking a two stroke penalty to throw from the short pads, which don't cross water.

The new signs have been installed, making it easier to navigate the course!
Cons: With narrow fairways and tall grass on both sides, you can spend a lot of time looking for discs, especially when you play alone.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the area because it's made me a better player. If you come out for the Saturday morning handicap and play in a group, it's not so bad. The course has recently been expanded from 9 to 18 holes, and every hole has a pair of concrete pads (blue and red).

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Gordy Road DGC

1    12/25/2012   12/26/2012
Review By: craigd
Played: 140  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 11.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Together Gordy Road Park and the Up The Ten Mile Creek Disc Golf Club have put together a very fun and challenging course. The course has recently been upgraded to eighteen holes from the previous nine and is a welcome addition. Highlighted by the lake with its water carries, some tight fairways, and the punishing rough, there's plenty to test golfers of all skill levels. Two tee pads per hole, perfectly sized with a nice rough finish provide a couple of options with the multiple pin placements that keep things fresh. The baskets are in newer, in great shape, and of course they catch well.

Not unlike the few Florida courses I've played, there are not many elevation changes throughout the course. Instead, it relies on the other natural characteristics of the land. Namely, the before mentioned lake that not only asked for the couple of water carries from the longs but it'll also show it's face on a couple of holes where a bad drive will have you flirting with the water too. Demanding fairways and thoughtfully placed baskets tucked in areas guarded by trees and a variety of palms will add to the challenge. Overall I felt like the holes favored left handed back hand or right handed flick throwers so that can add to the challenge if righty anhyzers give you trouble. An elevated basket was also a nice touch for a change of pace midway through the round.

The course itself is in its own area of the park with seemingly no chance for other park users to interfere with your round. Ample parking with bathrooms available make for a nice touch. Eighteen's basket, being near the parking lot, doubles for a practice basket. Finally you'll find a nicely trimmed course with the grass cut to define the fairways and paths from hole to hole.
Cons: A lot of the cons here will go away with time . At this point lack of signage would be the biggest complaint. But as mentioned by a couple of locals this is on the to-do list. Secondly, and this is purely a personal preference, I thought there was way too much shule when you get off the fairways. It could be very easy to lose a disc on errant shots or bad kicks off trees. At times even a decent shot can be unfairly punished in some cases.

The nearby landfill stinks pretty bad and the smell found its way to the course on a few of the holes.
Other Thoughts: I'd suggest playing with locals your first time out. Because of the lack of signage (as of 12/12) and the opportunities to lose discs, someone guiding you around and the added convenience of having a spotter will save you a bit of frustration.

If you're passing through, it's a quick stop off the turnpike or I-95.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

1    8/14/2012   8/17/2012
Review By: Hitman
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well groomed, multiple tees and baskets. The course was mowed down the fairways and it was marked fairly well. I had no trouble navigating to the next hole my first time out. Tees are concrete pads.
Cons: Tall grass to the sides can easily hide a disc (and a snake) causing a pause in the action. Keep it on the fairways. It is only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: This truly is a nice little course to play for everyone. Me3t some nice people while I was there, very helpful and informative. Hopefully they will add some more holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.