Lamoni, IA 
Graceland University Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 254ft.   3 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee A

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Lamoni Zamboni

1    2/8/2018   2/10/2018
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 357  Reviewed: 255  Exp: 14.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Graceland University has an excellent course. It's got 18 holes and is very challenging. There are plenty of elevation changes, water in play, and the woods are thick in some places.

There are two tees on each hole. the longs are paved with concrete, and have illustrated signs with distances marked on the posts. The short tees are natural and marked with numbered posts. There is also more than one pin location on each hole. I love the mach 2 baskets.

I love the opening hole. It is long, but plays down a big hill. There are a few trees along the way, but they leave a really nice line to the pin at the bottom. Hole 2 is also fun. It plays next to the first pond, and flexes around some bushes and mature trees. Hole 5 plays over a smaller pond if you aim for the short pin, which I did. There were baskets in both locations on this hole, it was the only one with dual baskets. Hole 6 is another large run downhill, but with more trees tightly packed restricting airspace. There is a pond behind one pin, and a large cluster of trees and bushes hiding the other.

The back nine starts with another fun downhill drive that is shorter and fairly open. It still takes a great drive to get close to the pin. 11 has a tricky line that is more woodsy as you near the pin. 12 is a long open fairway that hooks sharply to the right at the end of the tree line, with the pin on a slope before the trees thin out. 13 is the longest hole, flat and wide open. There was a wire fence at the far end of the field, adjacent to the pin.
15, well it's just crazy. There is a tunnel straight down a big hill in front of the tee. A wire fence lines the left side all the way down, and thick trees on the right with lots of branches that create a low ceiling. You can try a line drive through the tunnel, or play over the fence to the left and risk going OB. I went tunnel, because I didn't trust my left to right throws enough to make it back over the fence. It didn't work out for me. 16 is another tough hole, with trees crossing the fairway that create difficult lines.
Cons: There are roads, sidewalks and some campus buildings near holes. Hole 18 tees in a really weird spot right in front of the library. Be on the lookout for pedestrians. The layout is kind of choppy. I was glad I printed the map and brought it along.

The length is formidable, and everything is par 3. I used the long tees, and would say some of them could be reasonably called par 4. Windy conditions would make it even more difficult.

Campus is tobacco, alcohol and drug free. Some fun is permitted.
Other Thoughts: When I reached Graceland the sun was shining, and there was hardly a breeze. It was only 32 degrees, and there was an inch of snow on the ground. But I had a wool hat and hand warmers in my pocket. The frozen pond saved my plastic on hole 2. I was able to walk on water to retrieve a disc that would have been a goner most days.

I managed not to slip and fall down during the round, but had a couple of close calls. Obviously, my game suffered some effects of snow golf. Drives were not as long and putting was very unreliable. I shot a 76, and only made par on six holes. No birdies.

The campus grounds were nice and clean, and were nicely manicured under the snow I imagine. I was surprised that the only tracks in the snow beside mine were from animals. None of the college kids appeared to even go out and throw a any snowballs.

I had waited too long to play my first new course of 2018. I enjoyed this course, even with the snow. I would recommend it, but I'm sure it is better if you wait for more favorable weather conditions.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great time every time

5+    7/4/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: air show
Played: 143  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 18.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/3/2016
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful course with great turf. Four or 5 holes to empty the bag on. Tight and open holes alike. A great course to work on distance. Course is always tranquil and never busy. Bring the big gun.

+ Elevation change on most holes.
+ Ample Concrete tee pads and mach 2s.
+ Hole one may be the prettiest hole in Iowa.
+ Course map and score card in mailbox at hole one.
+ Course loops back to parking lot after tee 9.
+ Nice balance for right and left hand throws.
+ May be the most friendly and peaceful course I have ever played.
Cons: Mach ll spit outs ( so take care)
- Course flow becomes hectic mid round. See course map
- l pack two water discs for a few water hazards and trouble shots.
- May be a little open for the technical crowd.
- One walking path and a few roads may halt round momentarily.
Other Thoughts: 130 mi from my front door. Have been there around 15 times in 6 years and have never been disappointed. I would give Graceland 8 out of 10 on course maintenance.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/21/2011   6/21/2012
Review By: DjKilliQuik
Played: 57  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Love this course. A great mix of tech and long holes. Only played it a few times when i was there for a tournament last year. And fell in love. Cant wait to play it again.
Cons: Gets pretty windy on the wide open holes on the south side of the course. Not a big fan of hole 7 i think it is? with the lake on the left.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Border Town

1    5/13/2012   5/13/2012
Review By: walker139
Played: 167  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2013
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, and plenty of risk/ reward shots. Signs were well illustrated. The front is more open and long, the back nine gets tighter. OB and water are in play throughout.
Cons: Some holes play close to campus buildings and roadways. No (Next Tee) signage. Took a while to find hole 6. Never found hole 18 but found a sign leading to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a top notch course that plays around the Graceland campus. The rough was rough but a well groomed course that requires an accurate shot throughout... and remember students aren't awake at 8:00 on Sundays.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Graceland

1    6/7/2010   6/10/2010
Review By: scarpfish
Played: 348  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 14.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredibly challenging college campus course. Spacious and well maintained. Lots of variety in terms of length, woodsiness, and elevation. Several of the holes have varying left versus right pin positions which make you consider a completely different strategy for the hole. Some on the front nine precariously located near the campus lake. Others on the back nine near dense woods or other OB. Despite the length, finesse is required. Maps available at Tee #1. (Trust me, get one). Good lefty-righty balance.
Cons: Not particularly good signage. Only the hole number displayed in some cases. The Am tees marked only by posts can be hard to find, (note, they are not marked on the map). Hole #15...I've seen some precarious tees before that were near OB, but the tee here is brushed up against a fence guarding a sewage lagoon, and the only way to really make a decent shot is going over the fence or being really conservative.
Other Thoughts: Definitely not for beginners. Even the short pads have some danger. I've heard the legend of the Lamoni courses before and for whatever reason, I've never had the chance to stop into town and play them. It was well worth the wait. Not much else between Des Moines and Kansas City, so definitely stop by and play if you're passing through.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 On Campus IS On Course

1    6/25/2009   7/15/2009
Review By: Donovan
Played: 238  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2010
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is literally all over the college campus. There is some elevation, 2 holes with woods, good mix of long and short, water, OB, and a few well placed pin placements. There is scorecards/maps in a mailbox at hole #1A. The "Shorts" play as all par 3's well. The grounds are well maintained and are really beautiful.
Cons: The 3 to 5 feet tall grass rough on a few of the holes slows play down with little challenge added. There are people and streets coming into play here constantly, so be careful. #16 plays through a volleyball court. The tee signs only mention the hole number and not all of them are in place. Not all the tee pads are concrete and some are part of the sidewalks. I did not find bathrooms available during summer hours. Parking is limited near the first hole at the library. You will need the map for navigation.
Other Thoughts: The fun factor here was just ok for me. This was an average course and I felt it was a take it or leave it adventure. Keep in mind; this is a religious clientele college, so best behavior should be observed since they are allowing the public to play here.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Campus Course

5+    9/20/2008   3/11/2009
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 97  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course on a college campus. From the first hole to the last, you will be challenged. You will use every shot in the bag on this course. It does favor the big gun to score well here. This course does have par 3's, 4's and 5's. It also has two sets of tees and two sets of pin locations. Overall a very enjoyable course.
Cons: None really.
Other Thoughts: You can make a day of it for disc golf as there is a pay-to-play course in Lamoni(J&B Rolling Hills) that is top notch as well and 18 holes.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The course that got me started.

5/20/2007   1/16/2008
Review By: jclepa
Played: 35  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 16.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/24/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: An excellent course that will really stretch out your arm. The front nine center around two ponds surrounded by rolling hills. The back nine feature flatter Iowa prarie with a scattering of woods. This course will use every shot you have in your bag.
Cons: Baskets are only in either the gold or blue positions. It would be nice to have both on the course at the same time. Am teepads are only grass
Other Thoughts: The course is only an hour or so south of Des Moines and has the same quality that you will find in the course up there.

Other than the 2 courses, there's nothing else in Lamoni.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.