Norman, OK 
Griffin Park Share
Uploaded By: Heathen Hole #13 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 281ft.   3 / 281ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
An oft forgotten gem in Norman

5+    7/7/2017   7/11/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 104  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 2.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-currently multiple tee pads on 11 of 18 holes (also, hole 8 has two baskets including one on a 10' mound, probably the course's signature hole)
-good use of available elevation, which is extremely rare in this part of the world
-very well maintained, including new benches that are way better than typically found on courses; very easy to find trash cans and seating
-navigation/flow is logical
-I'm a sucker for nature, especially Oklahoma trees & birds in the springtime; this is a beautiful park so it's a beautiful course
-little water danger
-includes a nice field with two baskets in addition to a separate putting area with basket
-the tee signs are generally temporary "tournament" signs, but they've continued to be up for over a year
-good baskets and good concrete tee pads

Some favorites:
1) Start tough with a wooded tunnel: early trees/mando and then some late guardian trees before a basket on a slope. Definitely favors RHBH or LHFH.
2) Everyone likes a good open distance shot on a wooded course, right? From red, this is only 460' across an open field. From gold, at least 550'. Don't forget the wind! Also, there's an annoying slope down from the basket that punishes hot approaches.
6) One of the holes where both Red and Gold are reasonably different but both good. From Red, it's a pretty standard RHBH hyzer. Just make sure to miss the early trees and get enough forward glide to get to the basket. From Gold, it's a very tough initial tunnel that requires a slight right turn with at least 200' after the tunnel.
7) The shot from Red is particularly good, with a left and right fairway, but plenty of tree danger for both. Plenty of shot options, just make sure you hit your line!
9) 330' to 350', with initially tight fairway opening bit before a slope down into a wooded green.
11) From Red, probably the most aceable hole on the course: a fairly tight, 180-200' shot. From Gold, forget about the ace! Long initial narrow fairway/tunnel with another slight right turn and continued fairway toward the basket.
12) Fairly straight tree-lined fairway, with late trees before opening up for the basket. There's probably a high line here, but it just begs you to hit your "straight shot."
18) Elevated tee, about 430' with tree danger off the fairway that can result in plenty of scramble opportunities after overzealous and errant distance attempts.

I've still never managed to score a two on 1, 2, 6 Gold, or 11 Gold. Challenging holes, but very fun.
Cons:
-no bathrooms - I might even be wrong about this, but I don't believe there's a port-a-potty or anything
-park users occasionally walk the fairways, even though the course stays away from the walking path in general; I haven't seen anyone hit or heard of it, but I could see it happening... please be careful, especially in nicer weather of Spring & Fall
-throwing over a path on 18 (not a big deal because it's so easy to see people from the elevated tee area)
-there's a significant walk from 18's basket back to the parking area and first tee (~3-5 minutes)
-could use better permanent signage
Other Thoughts: I've only been playing Griffin for about a year, but it's one of my most played courses in that period. Lions might still be the better courses of the two, but I've played Griffin more frequently for several reasons: 1) it doesn't get quite as busy, and 2) there's very little water danger at Griffin. I know I'm not really supposed to compare two courses here, but the fact that Griffin and Lions are so close together is a big asset to both courses. If there's any knock on Griffin, it's that it doesn't have the "intangibles" or "character" that some other OKC area courses have (e.g. Dolese, Lions, Noble). Nevertheless, I think it deserves just as much respect and requires just as much from your game.

To me, one of the biggest things about Griffin is the Red/Gold tee combination. The difference between the two is very significant on most holes, so playing both can feel like two very different (and both sufficiently challenging) rounds. Holes like 4, 6, 7, 11, 15, and 16 use totally different fairways for the two tees. From Gold, they require good distance but also very precise lines. As far as wooded courses go, this is a very good one, not so much for trees crowding fairways, but for tunnels requiring excellent shot execution. Other than a few more open holes (2, 3, 18), the majority require excellent golf shot after excellent golf shot. If you're on, you'll feel like your round was an accomplishment. If you're a little off, things can get out of control pretty quickly, especially from the long tees.

Griffin also benefits from the same Sooner Disc Golf Tender Loving Care that most of the Norman area courses enjoy, especially in recent years. During my last round, I was one of the only ones on the course due to heat, and I was surprised to see a pickup drive onto the course. My first reaction was that someone must be there to steal a basket while the course was quiet. Instead, it was a couple guys emptying trash and fixing a broken bench on hole 7's tee. My experience with this course is that when things get busted, they get fixed. Also, I've heard complaints about litter on Oklahoma courses in the past; but Griffin in particular has been very close to pristine in recent months. Thanks to the local disc golf association and local players for keeping it this nice!

Rating discussion: In short, it's a great course that's well-maintained and requires your best woods game. I might give it a 3.75 if I could, but I have no problem bumping it to a 4. One of Norman's best, and conveniently located close to Lions. It only gets better with repeated plays, so I'd recommend planning to play both Red and Gold tees if you can only visit once. Make sure to check it out if you're in the area!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Griffin Park

1    2/27/2016   3/2/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 175  Reviewed: 82  Exp: 9.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Griffin Park was a fun and challenging course that makes you use all shots in your bag. There are straight shots, right to left and left to right holes. The park makes good use of the elevation provided and has good basket placement to make the course challenging. There are good teepads and Mach baskets that were in good shape. The course makes use of a small creek on a few of the later holes as well. I really liked the elevated basket on hole 8 that others have mentioned. I really enjoy when a course has a "signature" hole/ shot and that is what hole 8 is.
Cons: I wasn't a fan of holes 2 and 3 as they are completely open shots across a big field. This course can be very windy so make sure to bring the appropriate discs. The course needs additional signage. There are painted arrows under the baskets to point in the general direction for the next hole. However, the signs at each tee should show the distance and a hole map to let you have a better idea how to approach the hole. As mentioned by others the walk from 18 to the parking lot was pretty long.
Other Thoughts: Griffin Park was a fun course but I prefer Lions and Noble. This is a long course that will test your ability to show disc control in the wind and playing next to thick woods and by a creek. I didn't bring a course map but I was lucky and was playing behind two people so it was easy navigating the course. If you have never played here before I would print off a map.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A nice sister course to NE Lions Park

2-4    12/26/2014   12/29/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 408  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes.
Many holes have lines that have to be shaped in order to score well.
Good use of the available elevation.
Epic basket placement on top of the dirt mound on hole 8.
Awesome finishing hole allowing you to rip a drive off of the elevated tee box on hole 18.
Lots of risk/reward shots.
2 sets of tees on a few holes.
Holes 14-17 have a small amount of water threat to keep you honest.
Hole 16 from the short tee will test your accuracy for sure.
Painted rungs on the baskets directing you to the next tee.
Trash cans throughout the course.
Cons: Signage is lacking or missing in spots.
Basket numbers seem to be off by one hole(example: 12 will have a 11 on its basket, etc). Don't know why that is the course might have been redesigned at one point??? Take the map to be sure.
Large groups will slow the flow of your round down a bit, but the locals were friendly and allowed us to play through so this wasn't a huge issue for me.
The walk from 18's basket to the parking lot is rather lengthy as others have said.
The holes with the dirt tees could be slick if there was a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a fun course with challenging lines to hit in order to score well. Depending on which set of tees you play from there should be a decent challenge here for all levels of players.
I enjoyed my round here and was challenged during my round but not frustrated.
This course is a good companion course to its older sister NE Lions across town.
The city of Norman has 2 quality disc golf course that they can be proud of. If you are in the OKC metro area or passing through, give this course and NE Lions a play. I think you will enjoy the quality of disc golf that is offered in Norman.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Tourney Course

5+    9/5/2013   9/16/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 54  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 6.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amenities:
Dual Tees on almost every hole.
Concrete tees for Longs (Gold)
Good Baskets
Practice Basket near entrance
Some Teesigns
Baskets marked for next tee (tape on basket)
Plenty of benches/trashcans
Well mowed
Nice Pavilion and Parking area for Tourneys

Play:
Great distance variety
Hole Variety
Some right/left/straight
Some open/technical/tight
Some up/down/flat
Awesome risk/reward on most holes

Feel:
A great course to test your skill set.
Some chances to Bomb and great to work on line-shaping.
Good for intermediate to Advanced/Pro
Very challenging almost frustrating

Favorite Hole(s): #13 red, #13 gold
This hole is very fun and totally different from each tee. Both are challenging and will make you play smart.

Cons: Dirt Tees on shorts (Red)
Few real, useful Teesigns
Several holes feel repetetive in the middle of the round
Dog Park next door (some people think the course is leash-free also.)
Trash not rare enough (C'mon people use the trashcan, there's one at the next tee.)
Could use navigational aids
Looooong walk from 18 to the Gate/parking
Other Thoughts: Overall, this course makes for a round of challenge, triumph, and frustration. Is set up well for Tourneys and will cause great scoring differences. Good to take a group to.

Its just missing something. This is a hard course to review for me. I base my "disc rating" heavily on fun factor and this course falls a little short of what it could be. Still a great course to play, but if I'm playing by myself, I will go to one of the more "fun" courses in the area. If I'm looking to challenge myself or see how I play against others in my group, we'll come here. I'll have fun in spite of the course instead of because of the course.

If you want the oppurtunity to play one of the most challenging courses in OK, swing by or make this trip. Make a full day of it and play the other Norman courses along with Noble for some serious DG Fun.

PM me and let me know how my reviews can be "more helpful."

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 NEEDS WORK

1    5/31/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: judealan
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Nice variety of different shots (open field, trees)
Cons: Fairways uncut
Tees and Baskets not numbered correctly
Easy to get lost
Trash everywhere
Other Thoughts: Overall a very frustrating coarse. Wont go back for a long time

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Griffin Park...

2-4    5/27/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: eye-ball-sac
Played: 67  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a challenge to a wide variety of players. There are a good mix of holes. There are some short, technical holes that would be tough for the power players, and then there are some long, open drives that would be tough for the players with just a short game. Then there are the holes that take aspects from both. It's a line that's tough to hit, and it's long. There's also a good variety in hole shape. There's a great balance between hyzer and anhyzer shots. I felt like I threw every disc in my bag those rounds. Even though there weren't any super short easy ace holes, there were still several opportunities to get an ace. Hitting the basket during a tournament can really bring your mood up from a crappy round. Hills were used very nicely. Hole 18 comes to mind. You're teeing off from the top of a big hill and it's a huge drive that you can really air it out. Besides the dog park in the early holes, disc golf is pretty much the only thing there. You won't have to worry about joggers or bikers at this course. Pin placements were very good at this course. Hole 8 was on top of a huge mound and made putting for a birdie very challenging. A lot of other pins were guarded by four or five trees, giving what would be an easy hole some challenge by requiring a good placement of your drive.

Long pads were concrete and short pads were natural. Both were very easy to tee off from. Baskets were Chainstar and worked great. No spit-outs when I played. There were a few water pumps around the course.
Cons: Signs were not very good at all. Some of the holes seemed kind of pointless and just trying to get you to the next hole. The walk from 18 to the parking lot was ridiculous. I don't remember seeing any bathrooms at the course. The rough was very thick and hard to get out of (or even get to your disc!).
Other Thoughts: This course is a great complement to Lions park. There are some open holes to air it out, but they were balanced by the short, technical holes. Overall, I loved this course. I had a great time playing there, and I would definitely play this again.

-------------------------
If you mark this review unhelpful or you find a mistake, please send me a personal message here on DGCR explaining what is wrong with it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasant Surprise in OKC

1    6/15/2012   6/15/2012
Review By: GT Chris
Played: 101  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a fantastic mix of holes. Open, tight, left, right, straight, uphill, and downhill. These holes flow together quite well, in that I never reached for the same disc or shot for more than two holes in a row. A number of holes had multiple routes, each with its own benefits and drawbacks to test shot selection and execution.

Cosmetically, the fairways were nicely maintained, most holes had dual pads and the long pads were cement on all holes except 18. A number of holes also had some custom seating, which was a unique touch that I enjoyed.
Cons: Signage was lacking, and many holes were mis-numbered. I certainly would have lost track if I hadn't been keeping score. I also failed to find the long pad on 4, and had to do a bit of walking to find a few more of the long pads.
Other Thoughts: Short pads were natural, but I played the longs so I can't comment on their quality. Standout hole is #8, "Mt. Kuhar" as I called it. The basket is perched atop a mound 15' tall, so any missed putt is likely to cost you. Run it at your own risk.

Overall, Griffin park is a fairly challenging and well balanced par three course. I would have preferred some longer, true par 4s and 5s, but I am not certain that would be feasible given land constraints. It is in my opinion the best course in OKC, and I definitely recommend stopping by if you're in the area.

Bonus - Turns out my brother put my putt on hole 8 on Youtube. That was my birdie putt, and I did get up and down to save four.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zkAgnXNEH8c

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice lines

1    4/16/2012   5/18/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large park with few distractions or conflicts with other users once you get away from the parking lot and dog park. Many of the holes play through fairly narrow gaps with small trees and thick brush waiting to punish errant shots. These holes offer a nice mix of left and right turning holes that felt pretty balanced. A couple holes have really creative layouts where a landing zone is available for safe par play and riskier lines are available with harsher punishment if you go for the birdie.

The more open holes offer longer distances including a couple shots where you can air out a long drive. The last hole plays down off a small hill, it's a great finishing hole where you'll want to throw a few drives and watch them fly. The dual tees offer a nice mix of hole lengths depending on what kind of challenge you're looking for. The long tees are nice concrete pads, and the baskets are in good shape.
Cons: There were a few holes where the grass was pretty overgrown when I played, it can be a little frustrating to have to search for a good shot in the middle of the fairway. The signs were ok, but it seems like there's been a redesign so much of the course had numbering off by one, especially confusing with baskets numbered differently from tees. A couple of the distances didn't match the hole at all.

The walk from 18 back to the parking lot is pretty excessive, and it's even longer if you choose not to cut across a couple other fairways on the way. Navigation can be a little tricky in spots, and the map currently available here doesn't exactly match the layout that I played. The short tees are natural, some looked to be a bit rough and others were a little tricky to find. A couple of the longs were tucked away from the obvious path and necessitated some backtracking to find.
Other Thoughts: There are some really nice lines to hit here, and the dual tees make it a great course to test differently skilled players. Beginners might find even the shorts pretty tough and punitive, with tight lines to hit and some long shots even from the reds. Experienced players will find a couple throw away holes, but for the most part the long layout will challenge and test a good variety of disc golf skills.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 great complement to NE Lions

1    3/24/2012   3/28/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 280  Reviewed: 218  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -nice concrete long tees, natural short tees
-chainstar baskets and tee signs in good condition
-great layout, challenging and fun
-great variety of terrain & distance, lots of shots required, lots of elevation
-well-maintained, grass is mowed, not a lot of trash
-pretty good navigation, mostly obvious, directional markers on the each basket to the next tee (some only have one marker, the gold and red are frequently in different directions from the last basket)
-great elevated basket on hole 8, fun elevated tee on 18
-plenty of parking
-dog park and sports fields
-across the street from NE Lions
Cons: -the rough is rough
-trash cans throughout the course would be good
-long walk back to the parking lot after 18
-no restrooms or water fountains
-poison ivy
-a few tricky navigation spots, signs should clarify where you need to be, a few "next tee" signs on the back 9 would be a big help
Other Thoughts: This course is a great complement to NE Lions across the road. Not only because they are so close but they also exemplify the old and the new. This is a much more modern course than NE Lions with longer holes and a different feel. However, like NE Lions the premium here is on accuracy.

I played the long layout but I saw some of the looks from the red tees and I couldn't believe how tight some of those shots are. This course really does play totally differently from the different pads.

Lots of elevation is used well throughout the course and it gets tighter and more technical as the course progresses. Open fairways with a park-like feel give way to tightly wooded fairways with lots of tunnel shots, left and right or both! (hole 14?)

Definitely one of the best in the OKC area. Very challenging and lots of variety. If you have time for only one course it should be this or NE Lions, depending on your preference of course type.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Enter the Dog Park

2-4    1/21/2012   1/27/2012
Review By: WoogieBoogie
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
This review was updated on 3/14/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First off if you are a noob or noobish at disc golf then i would recommend sticking to red tees not the concrete as these add about 100 feet on average to the hole. Not too hard to find your way around, however if it is the first time playing the course remember to turn into the dog park from 12th, not the park (park). The holes themselves provide quite a challenge. I would not recommend playing right after rain.
Cons: If you are new to the course it can be difficult to find some of the concrete tees however the AM (red) pads are much more fluidly connected to where its obvious, not so with the pro (concrete) pads. Water isn't really an issue unless its just rained in which case you may have to deal with a creek that runs through about 3 holes and gets to about waist height.
Other Thoughts: Really nice course, if your feeling frisky after 18 you can always drive the 30 seconds to Lions across the street and hit up another 18 there. If your not comfortable with hilly terrain (bum ankle,knee, or hip) then this may not be the course for you. *Update* There is now a practice basket a few feet from the first tee, should improve course scores.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.