Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 465ft.   3 / 317ft.   3 / 203ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Recently Played

2-4    7/2/2017   7/5/2017
Review By: LMendenhall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tons of elevation change to challenge your every disc or throw in the bag
-Well Maintained, and clean tee box areas. Trash cans every other or so hole
-Friendly people
-Each hole is unique, various routes to take from either tee pad, and exposure to the elements, i.e. WIND
Cons: -I did not see a current map (around the parking lot area), or could not get to one on the phone
-Signage, if it has gone from 21 to 18, refer to point above
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this DGC, I look forward to playing it again when I am back up there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

MIssing Baskets, Poor Signage

1    5/26/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: Calebexnihilo
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Some good elevation changes
- Some challenging throws thru trees and hills
- First half is open, second half is more wooded
- Was not busy (Friday evening)
Cons: - Missing baskets for holes 2 and 3
- Three or four other holes had hand make signage to help direct you to correct basket due to changes/poor planning
- Some holes are poorly laid out and is very confusing the first time played
- One or two holes throw through some truly terrible terrain
- Hole 18 I think was just asinine. Throwing parallel and barely across a creek with a large tree and a BRIDGE (yep!) blocking any approach other than throwing straight into the creek. Skip this hole or use the most beat up disc you have. It is a disc gobbler.
Other Thoughts: Get the baskets fixed and labeled clearly and this could be a fun course

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

sweet

5+    12/3/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 377  Reviewed: 201  Exp: 29.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads on all the holes
2 sets of tees on all the holes
multiple pin positions on most of the holes (that I noticed)
Very good use of the land, up and down the hill
wide open long holes and short technical holes
Cons: Well it can get pretty muddy, specially with the rain today.

Needs the new tee signs they are working on

some of the holes are sort of close to each other

Not a fan of Mando's.
Other Thoughts: I had not played this course in probably 10 years. Even the last time I played out here the course had been redesigned from the original layout. However, today all the holes were pretty different from back in those days, it is basically a different course.

In the tournament today, we played all the white tee boxes and most of the baskets were in the shorter position, considering the weather, this made for a fun round.

Several of the holes go up and down the hill that is on one side of the park. There are several holes going though the wooded area, making both hyzer shots and anhyzers.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of the best courses in the metroplex.

5+    4/8/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: Timebomb79
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Top notch new 18 hole design. Course pro and caretakers of the course do an awesome job keeping it clean and manicured (weather permitting) . The Crowley DGC is ran as good as any club anywhere and they put on tons of events and minis. Great course for new players to come out and make new disc golf friends.
Cons: Might be hard to navigate now for new players, but not for long. Crowley DGC is on top of it and there will be new signs and markers soon.
Other Thoughts: I encourage everyone to play the different tee pads sometimes. It's like 3 courses in one. Completely different lines and challenges for almost all holes from the different tee pads.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A day Trip

1    9/14/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: jbelt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course has by far become one of my favorites. permanent tees and signs. the locals are very friendly the helped my group navigate the course. has two different tee pads so if you et there early you can play two different course
Cons: its hard to navigate the map you can print off kinda helps but its best to ask a local

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: jlh900
Played: 23  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course between the white and the red tee pads there is basically two courses in one. lots of good tree placement making it a challenging course but also has some good open holes. all around good course for beginners all the way to advanced

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good challenging course for any player.

1    5/4/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: porkchop8228
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A well maintained course that has many obstacles that will be thrown at you. This is a good 21 hole course that will challenge even the best player from start to finish. It was a great course to walk and a very nice layout of the course.
Cons: The only cons that could say about the course is on 18 you have a bridge to contest with, that has people crossing over it. So would be kind of nice to not have to deal with risk of hitting someone while you play. The course has some low lying areas that if not careful after it rains can be a worse nightmare. Also the course could use a rethink on I think 3a or 3b not really sure. Looks more like a short par 2 with the basket surrounded by water.
Other Thoughts: Well for sure go back and play this course again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good challenge

1    7/23/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 11  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Shot variety
Cons: Tee pads
Navigation
Other Thoughts: Good course that can test your skills and requires many shots to score low. Good use of elevation is a plus (or a minus bc it can beat you up). Can be difficult to find your way, and even some baskets, if you have not played here before. Would recommend this course if you are up for a hike.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Potential

1    5/17/2014   5/17/2014
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.9 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Tons of elevation change
- Multiple concrete teepads on most holes
- Very challenging lines with three distinct tee options
- Great use of an idea disc golf property
Cons:
- Signage inaccurate, needs updating
- Could not find teepad or hole for #6
- High grass, burning nettles
- Difficult to locate pin location from tee pad, signs were usually misleading
- Some holes (#9 for instance) with impossible tee lines
- Several holes under massive power lines, feels cancerous
Other Thoughts:
- This course was very difficult to score. It has so much potential due to the great elevation, creek, and mature trees. Unfortunately, there were some big negatives as well. The layout was difficult to navigate in some places, and the high, stinging grass and general lack of grooming was uncomfortable. If properly maintained, this course could be on par with the likes of Veteran's, Z-Boaz, and Turner, but as it is, it's just not quite on that level. It's challenging enough, but needs some love from the city of Crowley to help it reach it's high potential.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding!

1    3/21/2014   3/23/2014
Review By: Nemmers
Played: 80  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 4.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Sweet layout! Set inside a spacious park in Crowley, this is a really well-designed course that incorporates the available landscape very judiciously. From wide-open bombs to threading needles through tight lines, this course has something for everyone. In addition to a big arm, you'll need flicks, anhyzers, hyzer-bombs, and (if you're feeling lucky) rollers to go home even on this par 3 course. The often extreme elevation changes require you to consider the line of every shot and the wind adds an extra degree of difficulty what may at first appear to be fairly straightforward (a.k.a. "easy") holes. Pin placements are easy enough for beginners, but the alternate (long) tees, foliage, natural OB, and man-made obstacles provide a huge challenge for experienced players trying to tame this course.

- Solid equipment! Baskets are in excellent shape and are pretty forgiving, teepads are grippy concrete, and the signage at both primary and alternate tees provide great point-of-reference. There are also restrooms, tables, and pavilions available for you to rest your laurels on should you find yourself beat down by this long par 54.

- Scenic! This course offers many picturesque holes set atop hills that run along a creek/mini-river. The course designers really did their job in providing an experience that makes you not only want to come back and do it again, but also leaving enough of an impression to cause any peanut-gallery non-players to want to join you on your next round. Bicentennial Park is really worth getting out of the house for.

- Plenty of parking and a score of alternative activities available for non-disc golfers and the kiddos to do while you're playing your round. Between soccer, picnicking, tree-climbing, and creek exploration, guaranteed your young'uns won't be bored here.
Cons:
- Windy. Texas can be really windy by nature and the wide-open holes showcase that by making errant shots pay dearly if not timed or thrown right. It wasn't too awful bad when I played but I can see it getting fairly ridiculous. Coupled with the elevation changes the wind can turn "an easy par" into a round-ruining double-par bogey (quadruple bogey) pretty easily if you go on tilt and can't cope.

- Navigation. Luckily I played with a local who plays regularly so it wasn't too hard finding where to go next, but we often found ourselves referring to the course map on DGCR in order to find the next hole. The alternate tees, while a nice option, sometimes make it a little confusing.

- Missing baskets. When we tee'd off on #14 we got up to where the basket was "supposed" to be only to find it MIA with no explanation. Not sure if it was stolen or damaged and out for repairs, but it certainly didn't provide any relief from our confused navigation.

- Weird pin placements. There weren't many of these, but #18 sticks out as one. Running parallel to the creek, you have to shoot for a basket that's all-but burrowed underneath a walking bridge. Seems not only odd, but a skosh dangerous for pedestrians. Chuckers need to be extra vigilant here....kids are plentiful.

- No topless Hooters girls frolicking along the #8 fairway.
Other Thoughts:
I was fortunate enough to have played with zbangerbeast, the local course wizard who was nice enough to come out and give me lessons on how to traverse my way through this gem of a course nestled just south of Fort Worth. Playing Bicentennial DGC made me regret even more the fact that I didn't get into disc golf before I got transferred to the east coast. If you're lucky enough to live in the DFW area (or are simply traveling through), I would definitely recommend making the trek to Crowley. It might not end up in your favorites (though depending on your experience it could be the bomb), I think you'll find this course not only challenging, but rewarding as well.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center