Crowley, TX 
Bicentennial DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 340ft.   3 / 280ft.   3 / 191ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
 Some Challenging Holes With Good Elevation Changes

5+    8/5/2018   10/7/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 32.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Some nice steep elevation changes make for some unique holes.
Good use of water hazards on many of the holes.
Holes that really test different shot selections.
Good mix of open and wooded holes.
Several memorable holes on this course.
2 Warm up baskets
2 Concrete Tee locations on each hole.
Cons: Missing baskets compounded by wrong numbers on some of the others.
Several vandalized or missing benches.
Tricky steep hills to scale up and down, some loose footing and rocks in places to be aware of when climbing up and down the slopes.
Other Thoughts: Worth the drive out to the south of the city,one of the better courses around. This used to be a 4-4.5 course and it used to be 21 holes but now it has been cut back to 18. A few of the baskets were taken out and the last 4th of July bash here saw the park get trashed and heavily vandalized. I really like some of the steep uphill and downhill shots and the old #18th (not sure what that # is now) involves a tricky shot diagonally over a creek and under a bridge to a basket location right by the creek which adds some pucker factor towards the end of the round. This course needs some maintenance and fixing of the basket and teepad numbers to get back to being what once one of my favorites around town.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  First time? Go somewhere else.

1    7/1/2018   7/2/2018
Review By: dbaideme
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: With baskets and signage would be a pretty good course. You can tell that at one time this course was well thought out and cared for. Those days are long gone.
Cons: Missing baskets and signs.
Other Thoughts: If you have never played this course do not waste your time. If you do decide to play the course. Tee number one is to the left of the playground. Saying "right of the bathrooms" would indicate park by the bathrooms...not so.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a Visit

1    8/19/2017   9/8/2017
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 25  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 5.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hole variety is stellar. Uphill, down hill, long shots, hole shots. You want it, you get it.

Tees are all concrete pads with many having trash cans and benches. Alternate pads on several holes.

City park is usually well maintained.
Cons: Signage is lacking. Signs are in place, but outdated with the transition from a 21 hole course to an 18 hole course. Could use some updated tee signs, but also could use some markers at the pins (and alternate pins) to direct flow to the next tee.

Baskets are moved too often and scouting to find a basket before you throw is tedious and time consuming. I like alternate tees, but switching them around too often is frustrating.
Other Thoughts: For a less than average player like myself, this is a tough course where getting par on any hole feels great, and a birdie means you win for the day.

I like the challenge of this course. Specifically I like the elevation changes on the front 9.

I would 5 star this course for an intermediate player if there were a bit more consistency in pin placement and better signage. All in all though, this is one of my favorite courses and I'll keep coming back.

Good work Crowley!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Recently Played

2-4    7/2/2017   7/5/2017
Review By: LMendenhall
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Tons of elevation change to challenge your every disc or throw in the bag
-Well Maintained, and clean tee box areas. Trash cans every other or so hole
-Friendly people
-Each hole is unique, various routes to take from either tee pad, and exposure to the elements, i.e. WIND
Cons: -I did not see a current map (around the parking lot area), or could not get to one on the phone
-Signage, if it has gone from 21 to 18, refer to point above
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this DGC, I look forward to playing it again when I am back up there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 MIssing Baskets, Poor Signage

1    5/26/2017   5/27/2017
Review By: Calebexnihilo
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.9 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Some good elevation changes
- Some challenging throws thru trees and hills
- First half is open, second half is more wooded
- Was not busy (Friday evening)
Cons: - Missing baskets for holes 2 and 3
- Three or four other holes had hand make signage to help direct you to correct basket due to changes/poor planning
- Some holes are poorly laid out and is very confusing the first time played
- One or two holes throw through some truly terrible terrain
- Hole 18 I think was just asinine. Throwing parallel and barely across a creek with a large tree and a BRIDGE (yep!) blocking any approach other than throwing straight into the creek. Skip this hole or use the most beat up disc you have. It is a disc gobbler.
Other Thoughts: Get the baskets fixed and labeled clearly and this could be a fun course

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 sweet

5+    12/3/2016   12/3/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads on all the holes
2 sets of tees on all the holes
multiple pin positions on most of the holes (that I noticed)
Very good use of the land, up and down the hill
wide open long holes and short technical holes
Cons: Well it can get pretty muddy, specially with the rain today.

Needs the new tee signs they are working on

some of the holes are sort of close to each other

Not a fan of Mando's.
Other Thoughts: I had not played this course in probably 10 years. Even the last time I played out here the course had been redesigned from the original layout. However, today all the holes were pretty different from back in those days, it is basically a different course.

In the tournament today, we played all the white tee boxes and most of the baskets were in the shorter position, considering the weather, this made for a fun round.

Several of the holes go up and down the hill that is on one side of the park. There are several holes going though the wooded area, making both hyzer shots and anhyzers.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  One of the best courses in the metroplex.

5+    4/8/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: Timebomb79
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Top notch new 18 hole design. Course pro and caretakers of the course do an awesome job keeping it clean and manicured (weather permitting) . The Crowley DGC is ran as good as any club anywhere and they put on tons of events and minis. Great course for new players to come out and make new disc golf friends.
Cons: Might be hard to navigate now for new players, but not for long. Crowley DGC is on top of it and there will be new signs and markers soon.
Other Thoughts: I encourage everyone to play the different tee pads sometimes. It's like 3 courses in one. Completely different lines and challenges for almost all holes from the different tee pads.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A day Trip

1    9/14/2015   10/12/2015
Review By: jbelt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this course has by far become one of my favorites. permanent tees and signs. the locals are very friendly the helped my group navigate the course. has two different tee pads so if you et there early you can play two different course
Cons: its hard to navigate the map you can print off kinda helps but its best to ask a local

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/12/2015   7/23/2015
Review By: jlh900
Played: 24  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great course between the white and the red tee pads there is basically two courses in one. lots of good tree placement making it a challenging course but also has some good open holes. all around good course for beginners all the way to advanced

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A good challenging course for any player.

1    5/4/2015   5/6/2015
Review By: porkchop8228
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A well maintained course that has many obstacles that will be thrown at you. This is a good 21 hole course that will challenge even the best player from start to finish. It was a great course to walk and a very nice layout of the course.
Cons: The only cons that could say about the course is on 18 you have a bridge to contest with, that has people crossing over it. So would be kind of nice to not have to deal with risk of hitting someone while you play. The course has some low lying areas that if not careful after it rains can be a worse nightmare. Also the course could use a rethink on I think 3a or 3b not really sure. Looks more like a short par 2 with the basket surrounded by water.
Other Thoughts: Well for sure go back and play this course again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.