Grapevine, TX 
Bear Creek Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #2
3 / 300ft.   3 / 345ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee: Beautiful shot over a wide gorge (big creek) on the first hole.


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 96
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Gone to the Dogs (Literally)

5+    9/5/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: dgaficionado
Played: 195  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nicely accommodates beginner to advanced skill levels.
+ Demands variety of shots thanks to obstacles (mostly water and trees) and layout.
+ Good shade throughout.
+ Alternate tees and pin placements.
Cons: - Often crowded at peak times.
- A few blind drives with hard to find baskets off the tee for players unfamiliar with course.
Other Thoughts: INFO
Course sandwiched between highway and neighborhood in city park with deep creek running through its middle dividing holes into two sections, #1-12 and #13-18. Long and short concrete tees play to variety of mostly flat long/short, left/right, open/wooded holes with alternate pin placements and many trees and other casual water obstacles throughout. Creek comes into play prominently on #12, backs up against green on #15 and runs alongside trees on #16-18 to catch errant throws, especially at openings near baskets. The creek crossing on #12 requires traversing steep banks, and the walk between holes #12-13 is a bit of a hike. Walking trail skirts edge of dedicated disc golf area near start, and parking lot shared with nearby youth ball field.

EVAL
Centrally located in the metroplex near DFW Airport with accessible yet challenging holes for multiple skill levels, it's fair to say Bear Creek is a much beloved area course with well worn paths and greens that attest to it's popularity. Obstacles appealing to advanced skill levels may intimidate beginner/recreational players but still prove exciting for all: short and scenic #12 is a perfect example as it plays across a winding section of the creek with very steep banks and plenty of trees to knock down shots. The course does an admirable job of offering good opportunities to test advanced players while still feeling approachable to lesser skilled ones. Though often crowded, the layout through wooded areas and across creeks keeps groups separated enough to feel secluded through much of the course.

NOTE
Bear Creek started as a nine hole course and grew over the years to first twelve and then a full eighteen holes. The previous configuration for hole #1 threw across the creek to start. This course has gone to the dogs (literally). The city of Grapevine closed the course Sept. 5, 2017 after 21 years to make room for a dog park.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Solid Course near the Airport

1    3/6/2017   3/12/2017
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Intermediate level course set right off the highway in a mixed use park.

Baskets - 18 grippy mach 3 baskets. There were two pin placements per hole.

Tees - 2 large concrete tees per hole. The short tee typically has a direct path to the hole while the longer tee is the more difficult of the two. The alternate tees drastically alter the hole.

Signs - Map at the start of the course. Two signs per hole (1 at each tee). Although some were missing, the signs were pretty helpful. Map, distance, par, as well as next hole locations. There were a few signs pointing to the next hole but could have used more.

Variety - Although this course is 90% flat, there are a few holes with elevation changes, particularly around the creek. The creek was in play on half of the holes, although when I played, water levels were down so they were not deep with exception of hole 15, 16, and 17. Course was open for the most part but a few holes had a tight fairway. There were a few blind shots due to trees. In terms of distance, holes were medium length. There was nothing overbearingly long yet nothing too short. Every hole seemed to be just right.

Course was clean. The trash cans help.

With exception of the walking path on a few holes, disc golf has its own area within the park which was nice.

Trash cans and benches at almost every hole.

Easy to get to and easy to navigate for the most part. Course was right off the access road.

Room to expand.

Nearby options for food and drink within a 10 minute drive.
Cons: It appeared that this course recently had several trees removed but I still enjoyed the course. Was not as difficult as I thought it would be.

Several holes had missing signs. I would say about half of the holes (and tees) had missing signs.

A few spots could have used next hole arrows to point you in the right direction. After 5 I went to the tee for 8. After 12, there was one sign but after crossing the bridge, I had to look around a little.

The walk from 12 to 13 was very long. Maybe add a hole to shorten it?

Hole 12 could use a bridge or steps. Seemed a little dangerous, especially if it were muddy.

No way to determine which pin placement was being used.

I did have a few spit outs that were in the center of the basket. I will take the blame for that.
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course, however, I played two on my trip to Dallas. This was my second favorite of the two. I am from Indianapolis and this course reminded me a lot like many of the courses in town.

If this course had a few more signs that helped with navigation, a few more bridges, and maybe a few more holes, I would give it a 4 out of 5.

If traveling to DFW and staying near the airport, this is the closest course and easy to get to. I would recommend it to anyone in the area. If you have a little more time, you may want to venture further out.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very pretty and enjoyable

1    2/5/2017   2/6/2017
Review By: jamminbales
Played: 30  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Good variety of shots
-Not too long of holes
Cons: -Would be frustrating for beginners because of all of the trees that can be hit
Other Thoughts: Difficulty (2.5/5): I found the difficulty of this course to be perfect for my skill level. Hole 1 was definitely too easy since they have cut down most of the trees on it. But most of the other holes were a good mix of distance and obstacles. On most holes, a perfect tee shot could give you a chance at a birdie, and average tee shot an easy par, and a shanked tee shot would land you in the woods and give you a tough rest of the hole. In my opinion, that's the ideal difficulty spread. It rewards good play but doesn't punish average play. Of course, there was a handful of extremely crowded woods shots that didn't play that way, but not so many that it was frustrating.

Maintenance (4/5): They had good tee boxes for both the advanced and beginner tees, as well as signs for both. The signs had fallen off on a couple of holes, but whenever they were present they were top notch. There wasn't any out of control brush anywhere, and the baskets were in great shape. Unfortunately, as many others have stated, the process to convert part of the course into a dog park is well underway so a lot of trees have been cut down.

Variability (3.5/5): This course is pretty biased to RHBH. About half of the holes have some kind of hyzer off of the tee. But there are a few dog leg rights, and the tree cover really forced me to take lower lines than I usually do.

Flow/Experience (4.5/5): It was extremely easy to navigate this course, it's laid out very well. The only conceivably difficult to find hole would be 13, but there's plenty of signs to direct you where to go. The course was beautiful, and I'm very sad that the full thing won't be around much longer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

I LOVE this course

5+    11/10/2015   11/18/2015
Review By: sommelier73
Played: 34  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - mostly generous fairways
- lots of obstacles, but only one or two mandos
- plenty of shade, but bring water -- only one drinking fountain, and it's by hole 1
- good mix of long and short holes, tunnel shots, hyzer bombs, technical shots, carry-the-water, thread-the-needle
- multiple pins/tees
- signage shows distance, alterate holes/tees and next hole/tee
Cons: - signs not always accurate, there is no distance shown for alternate hole positions, and there are some new hole positions that are not on the signs
- distances wrong on some holes, due to the new positions
- unforgiving water hazard 10 (if you turn it over too much), 15, 16 -- there are a couple of people that will fetch your disc out of the water for a fee
- lots of poison ivy (!!!)
- tee pads are a little small, but there aren't a lot of monster run-ups needed
- gets pretty busy, so go early -- particularly on weekends
Other Thoughts: This is the course where I learned to play disc golf, so I'm a little biased. That said, I have explored a bunch of other disc golf courses around and this is still one of my faves. The many trees cause you to get creative with your shots, and the risk/reward factor is high. The rough is really rough, and I've lost lots of discs in the underbrush, or the water. Most of the people that play here are pretty cool, and will help you look for a disc. And there are ALWAYS people playing here. From sunup to sundown, the only time that I've seen the place empty is when the weather is absolutely awful (like Texas ice storm bad.) This means that you'll run into some slow playing groups, which usually will let faster groups play through. The only people that may not like playing here are giant bombers, since there aren't many opportunities to throw 300+ ft. I would recommend this course for good beginners and intermediate players, or anybody that wants to work on shaping shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 Different Courses for sure

2-4    9/22/2015   9/23/2015
Review By: Trex530swanson
Played: 53  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course always has shade which is needed to play those hot summer rounds in Texas.
-I love that this course has two different tee pads per hole, playing the shorts for the casual round is quicker and tons of fun, But if you want to have a great challenge then play all the log tee pads.
-End of summer not really any water to worry about except on holes 15 and 16.
-Walk between hole 12 and 13 is the longest walk on the course. not long at all I will take that any day of the week
-there are a few holes with different basket locations also
Cons: - It can get really crowded on certain days and almost every evening
-there are a few blind shots that you can lose your disc if not careful
- The signs need a little work, some are hard to follow and a couple I didnt not know which was the long and which was the short. same distance just different angles and lines to the basket.
Other Thoughts: -getting to the course can be a little tricky the first few times you go there, I think it depends on which way you are coming from because its of 360 but you have to stay on 11 to get off at the right exit if you are coming from the north

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I Aced Hole #4 > Flick w/ an APE- witnessed BJ Hansen

5+    9/1/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: Rodmon
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 23.6 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Any course that gives me an ACE, I gotta love.
Well laid out for the terrain.
Dry now but could be muddy after a rain
Several right hook fairways.
Hole 12 is the signature Hole,
with a deep ravine to fly.
Whole lotta trees break up the wind on a windy day.
As anywhere else, follow the path from the basket and you should find the next Tee.
Cons: Dry now but could be very muddy after a rain.
Watch for any men playing with a new disc, (sticker still on the disc) and wearing polo shirts, they are prolly cops.
That deep ravine was very tough for my 2 wheeled cart. It was easier to carry it because path was too narrow and ravine pretty steep. Throw Hole 12 to the left, lay up then go for the hole.
Other Thoughts: I've played Bear Creek at least 7 times, and had no big plans yesterday. I stepped up to Hole #4, ripped an 175 gram Red Innova Ape in my normal flick. Felt a great release, when BOOM! The APE caught the air, bowed for the S-curve, rose a little higher on the wind than I had planned, then cut through the last few leaves of the tree & SLAMED the CHAINS! I was silent for 10 seconds not believing what I saw. BJ started dancing and howling like a wild man. It felt good to be ARES, the GOLDEN GOD of WAR for just a few minutes. It felt like 17 again, and that why we all play disc golf.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

2-4    7/11/2015   7/14/2015
Review By: jbeezus
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 1.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging. Easy to follow from hole to hole. Allot of shade on summer days and very clean.
Cons: Not many, can get a bit crowded.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course for a beginner. Allot of hole that play to the right.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Course by the Creek

1    3/17/2015   3/24/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 424  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good mix of short, moderate, and longer holes. There are multiple tees and pins placements as well.
Plenty of trees which provide good lines that need to be hit in order to score well.
Good use of the creek and water hazards.
There are some low ceiling shots and a good mix of dog leg L/R holes too.
Good signage and tees.
There are a couple of practice baskets and trash cans and benches at several holes.
Plenty of shade for the summer months and there is a good balance of risk/reward on several holes.
Favorite holes for me were 2,12,15 and 18.
Cons: The transition from 12's basket to 13's tee is a bit lengthy and slows the flow down a bit.
This course gets heavy play so you might have to wait to play, however many of the locals were friendly and offered to let me play through.
Can get a bit sloppy after a good rain.
Pay attention when you are leaving 12's basket and walking on the path to 13's tee. You will pass pretty close to 1's basket and might experience an errant shot so heads up.
The walking path is close to 2's fairway so look before you throw.
Crossing the ravine/creek on 12 could be difficult for some players especially if it has rained a lot.
Other Thoughts: This is a really good course that is fun to play in the DFW area. I enjoyed my round here and was challenged by the lines that are here.
You will need to use all the shots in your bag on this course from BH to FH, Hyzer to Anhyer etc., they will all come into play somewhere.
This course will test your shot shaping abilities and make you think about your shots but its not overly technical to the point of frustration.
If you are in the area you should stop and check this course out. There is a little bit of everything here for all types of players.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course but often crowded

1    10/14/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: dfw-hucker
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun course, lots of fun shots, hole 12 is a blast, helps with your putting/short and mid range, presents several tricky shots.
Cons: Tons of traffic, often large groups, lots of graffiti, people often walk through the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Be careful here, there are a lot of blind gives and I have had people steal my drivers.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Memorable course

5+    3/31/2014   4/5/2014
Review By: tbsox
Played: 40  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good variety of holes

12 - This hole is stuck in my disc golf memory for sure. I played this course a lot when I lived in this area and it was the one I was most interested in seeing again to see if memory met up to the reality as my game as improved. It has. This is a tough hole and the deep creek is still imposing. It felt a lot less imposing though from previous plays.

15 - Tough little keyhole shot across a creek and through many trees. Lanes are clear but the shot is challenging. If you don't make it somewhat deep on throw one its a very tough recovery.

18 - This is a good finishing hole. If your throw is accurate your in for an easy 3 but a mistake is costly. There is a risk reward for those needing a stroke which makes it interesting as a birdie is possible with a good throw.
Cons: Not a very pretty course. Vegetation is plentiful and the pond that many of the mid holes play around is more sewage like than one would hope. There is an overwater throw on one holes long tee. While its an easy toss across if you square up and hit a tree you go in at your own peril. I would suggest using a retriever if you do.
Other Thoughts: Its a good course on par. Lots of shot variety and hole to hole feels very different. Having not played this course in a while it plays very similar to how I had remembered it. Most holes are tight shot shaping holes but there are a few long throw opportunities such as 14. Its not the most friendly beginner course as the trees are very thick and tight in some areas but it will definitely help you improve your game for intermediate players.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.