Walkersville, MD 
Heritage Farm Park Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #13 (Taken 11/2012)
3 / 378ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Will Definitely Be Back!

2-4    1/15/2011   2/11/2011
Review By: Jimb
Played: 101  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 10.7 Years
This review was updated on 9/30/2011
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Relatively short drive from all of the eateries and shopping in Frederick. Lots of other nice facilities on site (Walking trail, soccer, ball golf course, playground equipment, etc.).

Practice basket on site near tee #1. And there are two "bonus" holes, #19-20, available. (See Swatso's review for details.)

I had two excellent hosts when I played, which made navigation a breeze. However, if you don't have the benefit of such gracious hosts, the course is pretty self explanatory once you find #1 anyway. And the map makes things even easier.

Two sets of excellent black-top tees, clearly identifiable with wood posts painted red or blue on top with hole numbers. The tees were big enough with good grip. They are also level to the ground, so even if you need a bigger run-up, you could have one. The flags on the pins are the biggest I've seen and are extra helpful on the back 9 where some pins are close together.

Nice variety of holes... on the front 9 especially. There's not a lot of elevation change available, but the course takes advantage of it where it can. Holes 3-8 really make you think about hitting a good line and each can be played with several different tee shots. You can get creative on these holes with anhyzers, hyzer-flips, overhand shots, etc.

And even though the back 9 holes are really open, the pin placements help keep it interesting. Several pins are close to the edge of a hill. This make roll-aways a serious possibility and puts a premium on accurate approaches. Plus a couple are close to OB areas, again, making accuracy very important.

From the blue tees, there are 7 holes over 375' so there should be enough distance to keep many players' needs for Big D satisfied.
Cons: The nature of the property itself causes about half of the holes to be almost completely open, just playing over lightly rolling, grassy hills. If this course were just about holes 10-18, it would be a big disappointment to anyone other than the complete novice. And it might not encourage the novice to keep playing, either.

When I played, it was January and the park was empty other than the group I was playing in. So I didn't experience any issues with people interfering with the course. I can see, though, that it could be an issue as holes 3-11 basically parallel a walking path. And the soccer goals on hole #1 make for interesting obstacles, as long as there's nobody playing soccer.
Other Thoughts: Considering its' shortcomings, this course is a lot of fun. Here are my highlights.

Hole #2, as simple and straightforward as it is, is made interesting by a dug-out/drop-off area just to the left of the pin. Stay above the pin and you may have a good birdie opp. Fall over the edge, though, and you'll be working for your par.

#3 plays down-hill to a nicely protected pin, surrounded by evergreen trees and having other trees in the fairway. Don't go long or right, though, or you're OB in a hurry.

#6 is a great right turning, down hill shot. It's protected by OB short of the "green" area. If you go too far right, or end up short, you're OB in the adjacent farmland.

#7 is a fun, "across the valley" shot, playing to a pin nestled in behind a big row of mature trees.

#13 would be a pretty uneventful, straight-forward hole, if not for the backdrop of the old red barn immediately behind the pin along with the drop-off created by the driveway "ramp" running up to the barn. It's just a simple, but pretty hole.

And bonus hole #19 is a great disc golf hole... Long, tight, low ceiling and mean.

As mentioned in my title, I will definitely be back to play Heritage again. I look forward to getting the play the long tees when the weather is better. It's not a great course, but it's definitely worth checking out. And it does have a few outstanding, individual holes.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Driving Range

1    7/19/2010   7/19/2010
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm going to try and be as fair as possible, as I tend to gravitate towards the wooded/technical courses. With that being said, I had a very good time here!

Some of the things that help the course are:

- Dual sets of asphalt tees. Nice for run-ups, and both tees cater to rec and more advanced players.
- Maps and scorecards provided
- Not a bad commute from I-70, but parking for first-timers may be tricky (park as close to the football field as possible)
- Intuitive navigation from hole to hole. Once I found the first hole, I didn't have any issues going to subsequent ones. The signage helped, too.

- As I said, the course isn't entirely flat, and some elevation changes is evident. Some shots are blind as well as require a sharp hyzer or anhyzer angle, which can be fun, but you also have to watch for other parkgoers. Hole #6 comes to mind as such a hole, and the basket is well-guarded with trees.

- For being a municipal park, it's really pretty -- kind of has that Civil War Battlefield feel to it.

- Love hole #19! It's so out of place here with its long length and heavy presence of trees from tee to basket. Kind of like one of those "gauntlet" holes you see on the world class courses.
Cons: The back nine holes kind of run together and start to seem like a broken record over and over. Whereas the front nine have anyhyzer/hyzer doglegs and some tree obstacles, the back nine is pretty much a series of straight-line drives to the basket.

For being a wide-open course, I was kind of disappointed at some of the hole lengths. I'm not saying they all have to be 700 feet -- nor am I scoffing at the several 400+ ones, but a handful of loooong bombs would be fun and spice the course up a little.

Other cons include:

- Criss crossing holes. This seemed especially true on the front nine, but the heat may have detracted from my focus on the latter ones. Doesn't seem like much of an issue unless you were to have a tournament here, but a consideration nonetheless.

- Lack of technical holes, mandos and obstacles on many holes.

- Walkway, road, and sidewalks come into play on many holes. Be aware of this!
Other Thoughts: I'm not going to lie; when I first arrived, I thought to myself: "is this really it? A bunch of flat and open holes? Sigh." And while that's true, there is some nice variety within these holes, even if they aren't super challenging. A driver will help you here, of course, but you won't be needing your Nuke, Destroyer, or Katana -- that's for sure. Seems like a cool place for glow golf, although I'm not sure when the park closes. All in all, if you like wide open courses, this place will be perfect for you. Personally, I'd like to see some more trees.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 It's groovy

5+    5/11/2011   7/19/2010
Review By: Mr Mojo Risin
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I live about a quarter of a mile from this course so it's very easy for me to get out and play here a few times a week (I'm the guy with a beard and always wears a maroon ball cap, hit me up). The pavement tee off pads are great and they have recently added additional tee off spots for each hole, now providing pro and amateur tee offs. The front 9 provides some challenge, especially the 6th hole with a wicked dogleg. Also the new tee off for the 7th hole is a challenge now as you'll need to get a decent hyzer to provide you with a good second shot.
Cons: A common gripe about the course is that the back 9 gets to be pretty boring as it's mostly (98%) open field. I spoke with one of the guys who maintains the course and they are looking to add some trees in this year which will be a huge bonus. If they get some more hazards on the back 9, this could easily become one of the best courses in central MD. UPDATE: Eric added about 30-40 baby trees to the back 9....unfortunately he placed all of these trees on a arch behind every basket...so unless you are bombing it over the basket, the trees don't ever come into play. I don't know about you guys but I approach the basket from the front, not the back. So the time and effort and trees used were a total waste. Not only were these trees put in irrelevant locations, but they were placed in the same irrelevant locations on every basket. These trees should have been planted in various locations with some hazards, not BEHIND every basket. WEAKSAUCE!!!!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great holes on a decent course.

1    6/19/2010   6/19/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: : Front 9 holes are some of the best disc golf in Maryland, intelligently designed holes that require a mixed bag of tricks for success.
Concrete tees
Giant numbered flags on baskets to prevent shooting at the wrong basket.
The young trees give this course so much potential for the future and the land the course is on is attractive and maintained.
Nice variety in distances from 225-523.
Nice scorecards and maps available at Kiosk.
Hole 13 is up by a barn, with a drop off on the left to add some challenge if you go to far left.
Cons: 3 and 4 are blind shots that could really use tee signs.
All holes could use tee signs to give the distance and basket position.
I nailed a soccer goal on hole 1, this would not have been playable had little kids been playing soccer.
Long walk from 18 back to the car.
Other Thoughts: I liked the mound that basket 2 was on and thought that was as good as it was going to get. But hole 3 was an intimidating shot behind an army of young trees and hole 6 was nicely designed to require a high shot or nice hyzer shot. After hole 11 the course feels like the same hole over and over.
I would give the front 9 a 4-4.5 rating, but the back 9 would get a 2-2.5.
Course is vey similar to Middletown with more character.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  New player POV

5+    5/25/2010   5/25/2010
Review By: Jester
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Front nine is fun and different.
Difficulty increases as trees fill in for the warmer seasons.
Score card with distance, and a map on the back.
New practice basket by first hole.
Cons: Back nine is all long drives and repetitive.
Often a crowded park.
Other Thoughts: This is the course that I'm learning to play on, so I truly love it. The back nine is indeed open, but it is a literal wind tunnel. Walkersville itself is always very windy, and the back nine is just an open field. Look NW (I think) and you will see nothing but corn fields separating you from steep, sloping mountains. For me, this negates the 'openness' of the 9. The ground slightly slopes, and playing to the wind can be a challenge on its own. If you're experienced though, it does not pose much threat other than a bad annoyance, and an extra throw here and there.

Also, they are in the process of putting in a new set of tees for Pro/Am. This should change the back nine quite a bit. Some of the existing tees are now just the Am tees, and you're down that little hill or whatever now.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very pretty front 9

1    9/7/2009   9/7/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Front 9 is on very pretty picnic-like grounds. The holes are different from each other, and some are challenging due to distance or trees.
Cons: Back 9 is in an uninteresting open field.
The rough for the front 9 has banks of poison ivy -- be particularly careful if you go down the bank on hole 9.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, and would enjoy playing the front 9 again, but will not go out of my way for it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spacious

1    8/8/2009   8/8/2009
Review By: GroundHog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Asphalt tees are better on leg joints than concrete.

Hole 19 is thoughtful concept.
Cons: Some difficulty finding start. Extra sign(s) along drive into park would help.
Other Thoughts: Reminiscent of Middletown.
Glad to discover another course in my vicinity.
Growth of numerous saplings will enhance the experience.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pedestrian Walk Way

5+    4/12/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: DWill
Played: 238  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 39.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: In a very nice and well maintained multi use park. Nice big yellow flag, with the hole number, identifying each hole. Very helpful and easy to see from a distance. Each hole has a good size, flush with the ground, asphalt tee pad, and a post identifying the hole.

Majority of the holes are open, with a few playing in newly planted trees, which, in a few years, will make these holes much more difficult. Slight to moderate elevation changes, with well place pin positions to add more difficulty. Course is fairly easy to follow with out a map, with a few exceptions.

The grass is cut on a regular schedule, plenty of parking, with tot lots and bathrooms on site.
Cons: Pedestrian sidewalk weaves in and out of some fairways. Some baskets are blind shots near the sidewalks, so be very careful. A lot of pedestrian traffic, especially on really nice days. On these days, the park is very crowded with joggers, dog walkers, etc. Some holes near soccer fields, with hole one having soccer goals in its fairway, makes playing these holes unpractical, if a game or practice is happening.

When other events, like football, soccer or baseball games are going on, parking can get harder to find, and a lot of people roam aimlessly on to the course.

There is some confusion on holes 6, 7 and 8. On tee 6, it is hard to see it's basket if you don't have a map. You will think basket 8 is it, so, pay attention. Some baskets on the back nine are close together, so make sure you are aiming for the correct one from the tee.

As mentioned, hole 18 doesn't end close to hole one, so there is a medium walk back to restart.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice course that most players will enjoy. It offers a lot of open holes that new players can build their skill and confidence on, and some long holes pro players can show off their distance skills.

It is often very windy at this course, so even the easier, open holes can be challenging, depending on the direction of the wind. The course is also near farmland, so the wind can bring in the nearby smells of the cows.

The rest of the park is very nice. There is an old barn and gas station that are cool. On the other side of the ball fields there is a ball golf, par 3 course. Park patrons are very friendly, even though they are not quite sure what you are doing with those Frisbees.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Begineer Course

5+    9/1/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: dtwo
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 24.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with one set of asphalt tee pads.

Many holes with 350+ distances.

The holes that finish near OB areas require good accuracy to get a duece and not a bogey (#3, #5, and #6).

The #19 hole is a blast!

Dogs are allowed on this course. I had one person tell me that unleashed dogs on the perimiter of the park are ok too!
Cons: Many of the back 9 holes require an accurate 380' drive to duece (#10 uphill 323, #12 - 382, #13 - 385, #14 - 360, and #18 - 347).

#19 is sometimes water logged.

Park closes at sunset (not dusk)!
Other Thoughts: #18 finishes far from the parking at #1, but there is a #19 down in the valley.
Some people play it to #8s basket, and some people play it to #6s basket. You can stay in the valley, or cut out to the hill on top; makes for a fun finish to the rounds.

This course is roughly as difficult as Middletown Blue Tees, but it has better tee pads.

Course Record from Monday Singles
Erik Grolton: 43

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Mostly Wide And Open

2-4    11/8/2008   11/8/2008
Review By: swatso
Played: 529  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 2/12/2011
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Two asphalt tee pads per hole, wooden vertical posts with red (or blue) numbers on them. Big, yellow flags on top of each basket. Easy-to-follow flow. Scoresheets with suggested handicaps! Practice basket. Close to 9-hole course at Woodsboro.
Cons:
#18 basket "far" from parking lot". Minimal elevation change. Kids soccer fields come into play early. A much-used walking path, oft-times blind from the tee, is near/comes into play on holes 3-11. Some tee positions potentially interfere with one another or too close to previous basket.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a very large public park which has a wide variety of playing fields available.

Holes 3-9 offer a variety of obstacles (trees, mostly) to throw around/over, while the back nine is wide/nearly-wide open, with some interesting exposed, but low, rock formations pushing through the grass - must have made farming very difficult!

Favourite hole: #9, one of the longer holes with some trees early and a narrowing approach, dropping a bit at the end amongst the rocks.

Blue tee-12 is near the walking path, next to/under a group of hardwoods, ~150' away from the red tee.

Blue tee-19 is down and left from red tee-18, so you'll need to re-trace your steps after finishing basket-18 if you want to play blue-19.

Unofficial hole #20: For blue-20, tee from blue tee-9, and play to the practice basket - about 630'. For red-20, tee from blue tee-8 - makes it about 380'. Play the road/parking lot on the right as OB.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.