Holly, MI 
Holly Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #5 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Challenging course

5+    11/13/2016   3/3/2017
Review By: jmherman
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a tough course! You definitely need a map to find the holes if playing it for the first time. Challenging holes with a great selection. Course is maintained pretty good. Baskets are in good shape.
Cons: If you don't have a map, you will have difficulty navigating your way around. This is a challenging course, not really beginner friendly. I like playing this course.
Other Thoughts: This is a course you will struggle to master, if ever. It's a course you will continue to come back and play. It will frustrate you, it will make you happy!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyable Course

2-4    11/13/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: MisterJ
Played: 17  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 0.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenge - wide range of shots, with 4 420ft+, and a back to back 540/480. Lots of elevation changes, and technical shots that require forehand and backhand shots.

Signage - For the most part signs are decent, hole, distance. Not the greatest, but decent, would be nice to show layout of hole, but this is bare minimum.

Variety - I do like the variety; if you get bored you can opt out after 9, or even 18, or go for the whole 24. There is a group of shorter technical shots, and the handful of longer shots 420+. There are left and right hand shots, elevation. I've seen courses with much more variety.

Fun - This course is fun, with the changes in the terrain, and the length of the course, unless you're a regular, its kind of a wonder of what's coming next after each hole.

Locatability - there are a lot of maps, get one, it will make things easier, especially since there are ways to exit after 9 holes, and to cut out and do only 18 and not all 24. Some signs don't exist, that isn't so good. But I would say with as flexible this course is, and as little as they paid for signage, it is not the worst., actually it is relatively easy to get around, but having a map makes it easy, go see the links.
Cons: Aesthetic - Nothing overly pleasing to me. It's in the woods. No special little lake, or unusual glen of trees or anything. Not to say it's ugly, it's fine, just nothing special.

TeePads/Baskets - Teepads are concrete but are too short for each hole. I found them more of a hindrance and often wanted to do my walk-up on the side of the existing teepad. Baskets are fine, not marked the best and often had to walk ahead to identify where the basket was before throwing.

Congestion - This is a very popular course, even with the course and park fees. When I went in November, I let 3 groups play thru, we also played thru 2 groups, and were in-between 2 groups that were going our pace the whole time. There can be a lot of people on the course. But this is a pretty standard disc golf crowd, some have dogs, mix of men and women, young and old, families and not. But all are super nice and all let you pass or whatever you need, standard disc golfers like I said.

Maintained/Bugs - Grass was fine, but in fall the leaves are horrid, and in summer the bugs were horrid. I know, you'll think, of course there are leaves in the fall, but some holes, particularly the 12 - 17, almost all of them have a blanket in the fairway 2 to 4 inches deep. If your disc slides in, even on a perfect throw down the middle at the basket 350 feet, you could search 10 minutes for it. FYI, I did, and found it 4 feet past the basket, thought it was a little in front of the basket but it went and slide under and thru. FYI, I would still go back and play the course even with the leaves. It's a good course.
Other Thoughts: What's holding it back from higher rating - if there were no bugs in summer, or no leaves in fall I would give this a 4 rating, and I would visit more often, still like it a lot.

Kid Friendly - I went with 3 boys age 10 to 13 and all had a great time. None thought it was overly difficult and most wanted to stick it out for all 24 holes. Each played a one person scramble, but they did fine.

Rookie Friendly - Can show to be a bit of a challenge for rookies. There may be some frustration with all the trees strategically placed, and distance of some of the holes. This may not be the most friendly course for Rookie's.

Older/Less Active Player Friendly - There are a lot of elevation changes, some holes start up a hill to go down and then back up, kind of steep. But on the first 9 holes, it's good for anyone. If they liked it, try the longer course next time.

Average Player Friendly - I think this course is probably made for these guys. No water to drown your disc, the rough on the edges isn't that bad, just a bit of searching. Mix of challenge for the average player, work on some skills. You'll probably rock out on some holes, and just miss par on a few tough ones.

Pro Player Friendly - I think a pro player can find some interest here. There is a nice mix of challenging shots, when you miss the line, you'll hear it. It's such a long course, with a few different things to see. I would recommend stopping by at least once if you were in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    9/22/2013   9/23/2013
Review By: Gu5To
Played: 43  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.8 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great mix of long and short holes, open and obstacle laden. This was my first time playing and I didn't need to refer to the map once because it was so clearly laid out. The elevation change kept the round interesting. Garbage bins spread out through the course help keep it clean.
Cons: There could have been more hole detail at each tee sign.
Other Thoughts: Would love to play again if I'm in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 awesome

2-4    5/26/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: jptaylor86
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: love this course. the holes are well spaced out normally there's not a long wait at the tees. the course layout is pretty easy to navigate. although 40 percent of the holes are in the woods you can still get a decent shot off. its well kept. There is also a lot of variety of tee shots, its not the same shot over and over. Over all its by far one of my favorite courses.
Cons: if your not a fan of trees this probably isnt the course for you. There is alot of hills and drop offs to the side if your not a fan off off road style hiking you may not like it also. my only personal issue with the course is in some spots it would be nice if the cut down some of the brush.
Other Thoughts: i recommend that every one try this course its def a well set up and laid out course

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed Feelings

1    5/24/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 292  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 7 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Aesthetic-- Course plays through a state park but is exclusively DG. plays through rolling terrain and around swampy areas.

Teepads-- nice to have teepads but some are a bit short. the longer holes 12-18 are a bit longer tees.

Teesigns-- most of them are there, some of them have distances, most of them do not, or idiots have sharpied them to read the wrong distance. no layout on the signs which could be super helpful in places. there is one teepad that faces entirely the wrong direction.

Routing/Nav-- easy easy. nice to have the option to play 9, 18, or 24 holes by changing your routing at 7 or 11. nicely broken in pathways help to assure your routing.

Baskets-- Nice discrafts. could most certainly use flags to aide in visibility in these thick woods.

challenge/variety-- most of the holes from 1-11 and 18-24 are relatively short and unchallenging. please see the cons for holes 12-17. Plays up down over left right and every which way but loose, a nice variety here.

Cons: 12-17-- such a departure from the original 18 it almost doesn't feel like the same course. they're odd to be sure. overly long and overly complicated for this course. no definitive lines and no way to make par.

Rough-- Super freakin' rough, but again, we shouldn't be in the weeds to begin with.

Trash/upkeep-- there is a ton of trash here and a ton of deadfall from both planned tree removal and natural tree fall.
Other Thoughts: this was fun after playing toboggan but there were parts that were fun and parts that were just over done and punishing. the balance of this course is thrown way off by the middle 6...

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 First time I played it

1    3/9/2013   3/10/2013
Review By: todddarling1
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18 Years
This review was updated on 5/11/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice challenging wooded course (at least on the front 9 didn't play the whole course) I will update the review once I play the whole course.

5-11-13
Played the original 18 today and I have found a new course! The use of trees and the landscape is wonderful! Really challenging!! Lots of risk and reward holes (pin up on a hill that drops off not 10 feet behind, etc) Lots of blind drives and tree lined(covered is more like it) fairways that really make you work to find a clear path. Not a beginner course.
Cons: Tee signs didn't show the holes, just interesting facts on the trees and animals there. Maybe they didn't have them out yet but would have been helpful, most baskets are easy to spot so wasn't a huge deal but not sure all baskets would be as the course goes on. I will update the review when I play the whole thing after it dries up some.

5-11-13
Tee signs don's show hole layout (but did have distance to the pin info) Wish the tee pads were a little longer they seem short to me, but they are nice and level so you can start a few steps behind without much trouble.
Other Thoughts: Love the course it is very challenging can be frustrating but will really help you learn to take your time and find your lines. Also will help you learn control, nothing is really wide open for ripping (atleast on the original 18) I played in my first tourney on 5-11 and while I shot horrible I learned a lot and had a great time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great times at a great course

5+    11/16/2012   2/6/2013
Review By: donnyv
Played: 37  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 19.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hollywoods DGC is a large 24-hole course tucked away inside Holly State Recreation Area. The course is mostly hilly with holes darting in and out of the woods. It is a very popular course in the area and is heavily used.

A nicely designed course with a good scoring spread, especially in the longer 6 holes toward the back of the course. Definitely a must-play if you're in the area. I'd play there more often if I didn't live over an hour away. Options for 9, 18, or 24 hole play.

The course is probably closer to a 4.25 at the moment, but I can see it being 4.5 too. We always had a good time, even with my bad score days. Here are a few things that stood out when we play there...

PROS:
Quality of Land ~ The beautiful land dedicated to the DG course reminds me of some of the nice courses we have in up-north MI. There's tons of wildlife and woodland that is pleasant to the eyes. This is some prime DG real estate that you can't always find at the courses near the city! The course has pretty much the whole area to itself with 60+ parking spots and a pavilion nearby. There is good use of elevation throughout the course. The course doesn't appear to have any user-conflicts with the nearby hunting area. It actually feels like a disc golf course, not just a bunch of baskets around the playgrounds and walking paths.

Difficulty ~ While there are a handful of birdie opportunities, many baskets are near sloping terrain which adds some pressure to putting. They added 6 monster holes a few years back that many people seem to skip. They are the best holes on the course and give it a good ratings bump. I've played DG for many years and yet this course kicks my behind every time.

Maintenance ~ Course is pretty clean for as much use as it gets. Fairways were mowed and most of the fallen trees cleaned up. Rough is not too bad unless your way off course. All the baskets were in great shape.

Variety ~ Nicely designed with a good mixture of holes gives Hollywoods a high replay value. I used BH and FH shots pretty evenly off the tee's with some OH when possible to get me out of trouble. The wooded holes are unique and don't get repetitive. The more open holes are fairly mixed for LH and RH players. There are a few areas where water/swamp might come into play along the fairways on some bad shots. Otherwise, pretty much everything you could want in a course is there.
Cons: CONS:

Tee Areas ~ Although concrete, the original teepads are on the smaller side and might alter your timing or x-step. The newer 6 holes have the longer and nicer tees. Also a couple of tee areas are a little too close to previous baskets. On the busier days, it's best to keep an eye open for drives from the group behind you.

Navigation ~ A little tricky from the start. It's a state park so you need the park sticker on your license plate or you could be fined. Go straight after the info booth and go mile up and around until you see a large yellow gate. Keep going past the gate and down the hill and to the right and over the bridge. Then, to get to the spot where the course is at, you have to take another long road 1 mile or so that circles around some lakes and over wooded hillsides to one of two smaller roads that lead up to the course parking lot. Confused yet? While it's scenic and all, it can be frustrating for first-timers looking for the course, ESPECIALLY IN THE WINTER when there is a locked gate blocking the entrance to the ONLY road to the course. You can pay a couple bucks to park at businesses off Dixie Rd and cross over the busy HWY to get to holes 6-7, but it's kind of a hassle. The state troopers will FINE you if you park off on the shoulder near the shortcut to the course.

Tee Signs ~ There IS a nice course sign/map with scorecards near the parking lots, but some of the tee signs are either vandalized or missing. The ones that remained were not the best at describing the hole very well. They did have some cool tidbits about MI wildlife but that didn't really help my disc golf game. The course deserves better signage but I doubt they'd put new ones up if they'll just get destroyed. Hopefully it gets better if has not already.
Other Thoughts: Hollywoods is one of those courses you'll want to stop in and play whenever you get the chance. It might be short of the 5.0 rating now, but it has potential to achieve it if given the chance and respect it deserves. Check it out sometime. You'll like it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/21/2011   4/21/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: this was one of the best courses ive ever played, nice layout, baskets were great. Tee signs on every hole, very clean throughout the course.
Cons: dnt have any, had a great day playing
Other Thoughts: will return to play this course again, wish it was my home course

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Mix and Match

5+    12/26/2011   12/28/2011
Review By: Wolfpackdiscs
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hollywoods has a good mix of holes. The long six holes added in the back (12-17) are crazy. Shortest hole out there is 310 with one close to 600. The remaining holes have a some challenging holes but a lot of birdie opportunities for the average player. Signs on every hole and multiple lay outs for rounds of 9, 18, and 24! Great place to spend a day at.
Cons: Short tee pads, your first step might be from off the pad.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent course!

1    8/22/2011   8/22/2011
Review By: GoldenRakerRock
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 36.9 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I have to agree with all the comments by BogeyNoMore! Our sixsome today included: a World Champion, a very first timer, and two others at the start of their dg enjoyment. Extended family outing and we had a blast battling the trees,mosquitos and stumps. It was the first time playing Holly Woods for 4 of us.
Cons: Stumps are a bummer especially for those having mobility issues. It would be MUCH appreciated if some effort were put into removing those obstacles. Thanks!
Other Thoughts: Our only round on this trip into Oakland County and we picked well. Cya next time. Come to our course in Alabama, the Fairways of Fairhope. A loaned disc of mine was left behind today. If ya find a white Aviar with a custom hot stamp, ROCK of ACES, I have a local that would like to pick it up for me. Somewhere on the first 7 holes. Thanks again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.