Holly, MI 
Holly Woods DGC Share
Uploaded By: DirtyMittenDG Hole #8 (Taken 5/2008)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8B Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 37
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
You’ll get abused… and like it!

2-4    5/27/2011   5/29/2011
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 225  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/2/2017
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Setting: Wonderfully wooded course set on rolling terrain in a peaceful, very scenic, well maintained state park. Course is completely isolated from other park activities. Except where the course comes near the road in a couple of spots, you can easily forget you are just 20 minutes from suburban Detroit.

Disc Play: Most fairways demand control and good shot execution. Plenty of shot variety with a nice mix of distances, several holes that work from left to right, many tunnel shots, a few rollaway greens that favor controlled upshots and solid putting. I like the way the course eases you into your round with a few moderately open holes, and seems to throw a few more trees into play on successive holes before it becomes heavily wooded for the majority of the course. Elevation changes ramp up the challenge as well as the aesthetic appeal on many holes.

Bonus holes (12-18) really change the look, feel and challenge of this course in a big way. Not only do they have tougher lines to execute, but they are some of the longer holes on the course, and can be quite humbling if you don't execute well, or take a bad bounce off a tree. Even with all the difficulty, there enough Ace and Birdie opportunities to help you get a few strokes back... because you're going to throw some bogies (consider yourself lucky if your worst hole is a 4).

Sprinkle in some blind holes, a few well-guarded baskets, and fairways with thick brush lining them requiring clever escape shots, and yep... Holly Woods is a pretty complete course: 24 holes requiring variety of discs, a host of shots and release angles, and a player who can use them to stay out of trouble, and escape it with minimal damage when it finds them.

Essentials and Extras: Course is well laid out, and flows nicely from basket to next tee. Throw in tee posts with hole # and distance for fairly painless navigation. Score cards with simple but effective maps provide even more assistance (if needed) for 1st timers. Cement pads were good shape (some were short), baskets were decent. There are even a few signs that elaborate on the wildlife in the park. Picnic tables and benches scattered on some holes throughout the course. Practice putting basket.
Cons: I'm stumped. No really -stumps a few inches in diameter sticking up about 2 inches or so are scattered about some of the wooded fairways. They can be tough to see if you're not looking for them. If you're wearing flip flops or lightweight running shoes... guess who wins that fight. A pair if sturdy hikers is the way to go here.

Stray from the fairway with caution: I'm no botanist, but apparently thorny brushy foliage is indigenous to the region (it certainly lines enough fairways of many area courses...along with Poison Ivy).
Foliage is dense in spots - disc loss is a real possibility, and with lots of leaf litter, fly-dies may be tough to find even if the shot isn't all that bad.

Bugs - bring repellent
Other Thoughts: Yet another disc golf success story for southeast Michigan!

Several holes will have you thinking about how you want to attack them ... or how to keep them from attacking you. But whether you decide to play aggressive or play it safe, this is a good round of disc golf.

Holly Woods would work well with Addison Oaks (new cement pads), Stony Creek, and River Bends (if dry) for a nice weekend disc golf trip (if you're inclined to do that sort of thing).

Some won't like the single day State Park entry fee, (must be at least $6 now) but for only $10, state residents can pick up the State Park Rec passport when they renew their tag.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    10/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great course, great layout. They have it set up with extra baskets in case people want to just play the front or back 9. Also its very well maintained by the local club and the county parks.
Cons: Extra 6 holes on the back are pretty tough and still need some trimming before they can get better.
Other Thoughts: No mosquitoes like goldenrod which is a plus.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 play no games

5+    9/20/2010   4/19/2011
Review By: intimadator
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: ive played this course more then 100 times no joke-this course rocks it is a new challange every time, well the first nine holes are good try to stay out of the swamp on ur right of number 9 on the 18 hole route, after that hole 10 has crazy picker bushes on the left side if u go right u will be fine and have a reasonable shot at the pin- the back 6 in thwoods if ur playing 26 holes suck try to throw long and consistant or u will gain strokes other then that the course is beautiful haveent found a course like it yet, it challanged me fo sho!
Cons: new players dont try the back 6 of the 26 holes u will lose a disc no doubt but u might find one, be carefull on hole 6 people might want to get down... and dont park off dixie hwy your car will get towed the state po's suck and on hole 7 dont try to go over the huge bushes on the left unless u can throw pretty hard or u will gain a few strokes! oh and if u see a group of old timers playing let them play threw they are the shit!
Other Thoughts: have fun i did...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Serious.

1    11/21/2010   11/21/2010
Review By: deezler
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 17.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Whoa. This is quite a course. Not too many open holes... at all. Take your birdies where you can on the short and open holes, because some of the longer ones will surely tack a couple points to your score. Not to mention the nearly guaranteed tree contact you will be making at some point, and subsequent likelihood that your disc will carom in a random direction.

The course starts from a cool vantage point on a bluff up high above a lake. In general this course is situated on a beautiful piece of dedicated land. I always love a disc golf course with its own dedicated parking lot and starting area... no random families getting lost on the course here. While many of the early holes are pretty wide open and short, they generally have enough features to keep them interesting. Some are downright pretty and very fun to throw.

But what might have been a somewhat ordinary 18 hole course really tests your limits with inclusion of the newer back 6 holes. These back 6 undulate up, down and over some serious hills, with some tee and approach shots across deep ravines and valleys. In addition to the extreme elevation changes, there is a thick grid of trees to contend with, though the fairways are pretty well defined. And oh yeah, four of them span distances of 544', 486', 454' and 424'... back to back. Phew! Very hard not to rack up a few 4s and 5s through the lot of them. But the scenic beauty and epic-hole factor are high here, with 3 holes playing around a large marshy pond. I got worked over pretty good by a couple of them, and loved every minute of it.

In general the course is in great shape. Great baskets, sucked up lots of long putts.
Cons: Course starts pretty dull with 3 wide open ~300' holes. Perhaps in a couple years the designers can take a look at some simple course flow and hole revisions to sharpen it up a little bit.

Stupid kids have destroyed several of the signs and benches.... why, people. Learn to respect things or stay home.

Yes, there are some stumps and ankle twisters on this course, but no more than any other recently added forest holes in Michigan, that's just how it goes. Keep your eyes on the ground and wear sturdy footwear just in case! Also, the rough has plenty of thorns. Typical stuff.

Several of the tee pads are too small, but the dirt is hard and level around most of them, so you can still play comfortably.
Other Thoughts: After playing all 26 holes (including the # 8 and 9 alternates that head back to the parking lot, just for fun), my buddy and I still had some daylight to work with. We jogged back over to hole 8 to play the final 17 again. I was pretty beat by the time we were emerging back out of the deep 6! This course is not a casual play, and that's a great thing, in my book. Our day of play was very cloudy but also warm and pretty calm, unusually nice for late November in Michigan. And yet, there were only 4 other cars in the parking lot the whole time.

While my 2010 disc golf season may be over now until the grasses emerge in April, I am already looking forward to returning to this course. It was a blast. The hour drive from Ann Arbor seemed a little further than I'm used to for disc golf, but it was so worth it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Top Notch Course

5+    9/21/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: sbrody44
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice Tee Pads. They even started putting tee pads on the back 6 so i can't even put that in the cons section.
-Nice Layout. Opportunities for a wide variety of shots. Be sure to bring your brain, because you will need to use some real skill at many different occasions.
-Great Location. The park itself is huge and has tons of different things to do. Trails, great fishing, etc. You can play a round, head out to the beach for a picnic, and then go right back a play another round!
-FREE!!! Other than the park fee of $6 daily. I would suggest the $24 annual pass. Its good in every Michigan State Park.
-Good People. I have never ran into anyone causing problems out there. Nothing but good people. Call backs on discs!
-Great terrain for a workout. The course has open fields and meanders through woods. Also has a good number of hills. I suggest a good sturdy pair of shoes.
-Information. The scorecards have instructions for the newbies. The course also has a Bulletin Board with proper etiquette for the game posted as well as upcoming events and information.
-Baskets. Chainstars are where its at!
Cons: -Stumps. Stumps everywhere. Watch your step. They like to hide from you.
-Trees. There are a ton of trees. Some unnecessary and some just aggravating.
-Signs. The course has signs at most of the holes, but only with information about the wildlife you may see throughout the course. It would be nice to have new signs with the hole layout as well as the nature info.
-Upkeep. I can say they have been doing better with maintaining the course, however there are some spots that need to be maintained a little better.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a great course. I would highly recommend making a trip if you've never been. This course has a great landscape and a good atmosphere. A great new challenge for beginners.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: mcphatty
Played: 40  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Challenging layout, lots of elevation changes and shots requiring good accuracy
-Not too busy
-Course is relatively well maintained. There was a "course cleanup crew" present while we were playing
Cons: -Short tee pads, sone holes have no pads at all
-Lots of hill climbing
Other Thoughts: Lots of hard shots followed by a couple redeeming holes. Relatively forgiving course, finished at par on my first game at the course. Accuracy is a must, there are a lot of heavily wooded shots.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid Course

5+    7/25/2010   7/26/2010
Review By: Ymeister19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging lay out, good use of terrain, a nice mix of shots that favor both forehand and backhand play. Easy to navigate and easy to rest occasionally as there are picnic tables and trash cans frequently.
Cons: There are a ton of stumps and stones protruding from the ground trip hazards a plenty on the back half of the course. One of the latter holes has a very steep hill to contend with. There used to be a tow rope to help you get down but no longer. I don't mind rugged terrain but for elderly players navigating that hole may pose problems. Only other problem is cement tees are very short and often muddy or dirty with bad footing.
Other Thoughts: Wear shoes with good traction for this course as this will help with the terrain as well as skid prevention on the cement tees. Make sure to bring something to drink as the course is long and difficult if you play the full 24. The first 8 holes are big arm friendly especially for Forehand throwers, where 9-18 are all about control and being able to throw both forehand and backhand. 19-24 are wooded holes that are very drivable in 1 shot if you can thread the wooded fairways.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great All Around Course

5+    6/1/2015   7/26/2010
Review By: kw83028
Played: 54  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Completely updated review since the original review in 2010*
-A nice course in a disc golf exclusive area in a state park
-Good variety of shots
-Original 18 is well beat in with well defined lines
-Easy turn offs to play 9, 18, 24
-Tables and trashcans at most tees
-The newer back 6 holes are a good challenge (also in cons)
-Original 18 is fairly simple, but good variety
-Baskets and pads are in good repair
Cons: -Idiots like to draw on anything and everything here
-New tee number posts got put in and then the idiots drew all over them or knocked them down
-Despite having tons of trashcans, people still find the need to just throw their garbage everywhere
-Upkeep on the fairways isn't the greatest
-Rough is usually 3ft tall
-The newer back 6 are completely out of place at this course. They are 100% different than the original 18. Lines are not well defined. Holes are very long. BUT, they are a good challenge and I don't have a problem playing them. It's just that they completely break the flow of the original course
-Can be very busy with chuckers in the afternoons/evenings and weekends
Other Thoughts: This course is my home course, and definitely still a favorite to play. There is still enough challenge to tick you off, or even make you feel good about certain shots. I avoid the course at all costs during the chucker times of the day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  played today

2-4    7/22/2010   7/22/2010
Review By: Keith_
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 22.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Planned out nicely, very nice walk in the woods, holly's hidden gem.Reminds me of Kensington about 10 years ago,in regards to I think I heard someone else on the course not one hundred percent.
Cons: pro tees needed, closer pro shop

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Grief

1    6/15/2010   6/16/2010
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 90  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: first of all, the land it's on. this park is massive. i'm not sure if i was even in the same state as i was when i entered in, but holy...

course is very challenging and daunting at times. you really have to bring your best when playing here. cement tees on the original 18, and well groomed (as to be expected). picnic benches to chill and trash cans to keep it clean. very aesthetically pleasing. cute signs about wildlife on the tee posts. heh.
Cons: stumps in the ground
stumps in the ground
lookin like a fool trippin on the stumps in the ground

no really. i stubbed my toe so much, it was bleeding through my sock by the end of the round. like, what the hell? it's a frakken minefield trying to walk along the "fairway". i played with two others, and we all tripped at least once, some of us more than six times. this may seem like BS to some of you, but my god it was bad. TOES!! BLOODY TOES!!

the signs just tell you hole # and distance. could've used a diagram, as there are several blind holes on this course. spotters recommended on about half. would rather have that information than info about rabbits and bluebirds and shit.

only one set of tee pads. i thought for sure by the looks of this course there would be pros and ams.

no cement tees on the bonus holes (12-17) also, just the bonus holes in general. ah, can't say their a con, because they're awesome. i'll put more in "other thoughts."
Other Thoughts: well, here we are at "other thoughts." let me say this. the first time you play here, just play the straight 18. play the bonus holes next time. they are long, they are tough, and they are damn near impossible to par. even if you can stomach the length, the amount of trees and brush and hills and ravines will test your ability to invent new swear words. if you plan on playing all 24, do your best on the first leg, and save your best for these six behemoths.

overall the original 18 are about as tough as rolling hills, though not as rewarding. the bonus holes are some of the toughest i've ever played through, but i would play through again.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.