Peru, IN 
Honey Bear Hollow Campgrounds Share
Uploaded By: kingjames1014 Hole #18 (Taken 6/2012)
5 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun Classic Course

1    5/30/2020   6/17/2020
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 756  Reviewed: 379  Exp: 28.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Parking for the course is at the mobile trailer looking building near the entrance to the grounds . The people that run this campground are friendly and helpful I paid my fee and took the map to where the course was with me . Once on the course , you won't ever need to look at a map . Except for a couple of dropped trees , the course was in good shape when I played . There were some older benches at some of the holes .and big trash cans all over . The course ( ca. 1978 ) plays very short through the woods for the original 18 , but has some elevation to it .
The equipment for this course consists of large cement tee pads ( some cracked ) , Some fun old school signage , and these orange baskets ( Mach II ? ) that are rusting out but work fine . I doubt that you could get lost on this course because of all of the people playing on it . The first hole is to your left after you enter the woods . It is a double mando to start you off . The next 2 holes are short but are risk/reward as the right side of the fairway drops was off , especially where the basket is located . The course winds kind of clockwise around this woods , which is nice , because the woods is very captivating looking . Some interesting basket placements on the course . One of the few Ed Headrick course left in the world , it plays tight and technical . Most experienced players will only need a couple of midranges and a putter for this course , but challenge is not what this course is all about . You are playing on the oldest course in Indiana .
The people that run the campground added an extra 6 holes just down the road and to the left of where you exit the woods . It is open and a couple of holes might be fun for you (B & C ? ) . One hole has a basket lower than the tee and guarded by some small trees and the other has a treeline running on the left , wide open on the right , and some trees near the basket . All the rest are open and easy .

Disc Risk : Very low . Unless you leave your putter in the basket or you throw a disc that's color matches the dirt or is camouflage , you aren't going to lose one .
If you do happen to lose one , or just want to look at some up to date discs , the trailer doubles as a pro shop that they say is well stocked . I can't really say that there is a signature hole here , but a lot of fun throws . Bet your friends on closest to the pin drives . There is a hole around 9 that drops down to a basket where the green is flanked by a creek that also sits behind the basket . Would be perfect for an island hole . The course ends with an uphill par 5 , 282' .drive . The pars will make you laugh , but remember that most were throwing Wham o Frisbees and coffee can lids at these baskets . Just think . You can brag to your friends that you aced a par 4 or 5 hole . This is an ace or at least birdie fest . Many people congregate at the parking lot after their rounds .
It took me a little over an hour to play the full 24 holes , only because of the human traffic jams at the tee pads . Figure a group of 4 about 2+ hours . especially during peak times .
Cons: Safety : with many first time players , camping families and one disc wonders out there on a crowded course , I can see someone getting hit pretty easily . Remember where you are and be aware of your surroundings .
Some are griping about the equipment , mainly cracked tee pads and especially the rusty chained baskets . I personally think that it adds that much more character to the course .
If I had a problem with the course other than too many players on here at once , it is that it will get muddy after good long rains . On a mostly dirt course , this spells sliding and maybe falling . Wear boots if you have them while here .

Other Thoughts: Any time you play the oldest course in the state , it is historic . The woman at the pro shop that took my money ( uh oh . I hope she wasn't just a camper ) was telling someone that even though they weren't around for the beginning of this course , it hasn't ever been altered . WOW ! If you like seeing almost exactly what players saw and threw to in the 70's , this course is a must play .Challenging ? Uh , No Accommodating ? Not that either . They should make a vine tunnel going into and exiting the woods to make you feel that you have been transported back in time to play a course that was designed by the man that invented the disc golf game just 2 years prior . Special thanks to Steady Ed Headrick and the people that run Honey Bear Hollow Camp Grounds for designing and preserving this disc golf relic .Make sure you stop by the pro shop if you have time to check out the disc line and talk disc golf with the owners .
My Recommendation . I won't even divide it up . This course shoul be played by every disc golfer living in Indiana , and many just camping or in the area from surrounding states . Play This Course And Enjoy The History Lesson

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Overrated but classic.

2-4    10/15/2019   5/15/2020
Review By: Kaselier
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: ---Very beautiful property
Lots of woods and a nice walk. There is a nice amount of terrain.

---Decent variety
As any older course, a lot of holes demand a very specific line. This is no exception. There are no long holes (I'll touch on that later). If you are handy with a putter and midrange and have a few angles under your belt you wont be having much trouble. Most variety comes from interesting hills, not shot shape. But overall lots of fun, short little holes.

---Pro shop
You gotta love a pro shop. I love to support the disc golf scene and i'm glad to have a pro shop around. Serious bonus to the north central Indiana DG community.
Cons: ---Terrain
This course has no grass, and can definitely get unplayably muddy in the spring. I don't recommend a cart because of some annoyingly steep hills and lots of ruts, although it's definitely possible.

---Back 6
The back six aren't necessarily a joke, however I would not recommend playing them more than once. They are completely different feel than the rest of the course, and I have never heard anyone say they really enjoy them. Play them once and don't bother more than that. I'm never in the mood to play 18 tight wooded holes and then play 6 wide open holes.
Other Thoughts: This course isn't bad, but it's not amazing. I'm not trying to downplay the amazing history of the course. Regardless of the quality of the course you should absolutely visit for the history and pro shop alone. But that being said, I think it's just good. Some locals who grew up playing this course come to others in the state talking like this is a 5/5 course and every other one sucks, but I just can't agree. The course and equipment is old, and it just does not play like a modern course.That isn't a bad thing, but having played a lot of different courses I just can't say it exceeds expectations.

Nobody takes the back 6 seriously, so I did not factor it into my score. You should definitely play this at least once, but I wont blame you for feeling fully satisfied afterwords. But please support the pro shop, they deserve it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Idlewild of 1978?

1    9/17/2019   9/18/2019
Review By: dr.chainslove
Played: 243  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 22.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If you haven't noticed, this is one of the coveted historic Steady Ed courses and the first course installed in Indiana circa 1978. I had some preconceived notions coming into this after playing several other Steady Ed monuments. I expected 18 holes of putter/mid-only fun ace runs through the woods. Nope! Despite its short length, Honey Bear has all kinds of challenge and was most likely even more difficult in its earlier days (curators said fallen trees in the last several decades has opened it up). Overall, I enjoyed the drastic elevation changes and tight lines I found here.

There's a well-stocked pro shop for starters. The folks that run this place took over in 1991. They told me that the original layout has not been altered (awesome!) with the exception of the aforementioned occasional fallen trees. You'll have plenty of danger to encounter like steep drop-offs near baskets (ex, holes 2 and 3), early trees to miss, and elevation to manage. Yes, the modern 900ish rated player should expect to finish under posted par here but carding a few 4s or 5s are definitely possible. Compared to many of the late 70s, early 80s courses I've played, Honey Bear seems like it was extremely technical and tight for its time. Dare I say it was Idlewild-tough for the 1970s frisbee throwers!
Cons: If your time is short, I'd pass on the extra holes after the original 18. They're OK but are largely open field shots with just a few obstacles.

Although fairways are pretty wide and clean, any big tree kicks will toss you into some poison ivy zones.

It was nice and dry here for me but I'd imagine some waterlogged, soupy fairways in the low spots after a heavy rain.

There are several original Mach baskets here (history!) and also some newer incarnations with chain/basket upgrades spread throughout. Certainly not a consistent standard across the board. I love the old-school signs but they're absent on some holes.

Hole 3 has an active beehive in the tree directly next to the tee (character, right!?). I elected to throw a little to the side to avoid.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who appreciates disc golf history needs to play here. I was pleasantly surprised that this course, despite it's short length, still challenges the modern disc golfer to this day. I often stood at the tee wondering what kind of strategy the 1970s disc golfers would employ on each hole.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Historic Course

2-4    5/24/2014   5/24/2014
Review By: ajbova
Played: 109  Reviewed: 92  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Intermediate course that is playable for any skill levels. I consider this course 2 separate courses. 1-18 is a course, and 19-24 is a 6 hole course. Completely different feel and play between the two.

Baskets - 24 baskets at the course that are painted orange. They are old but still catch great. Some of the baskets are shallow, some are not. Two different styles.

Tees - 2 tees per hole (holes 1-18). One is large and concrete, the other is natural (see cons). Natural tees are typically harder. They are marked with 2 orange stakes.

Variety - Major elevation changes on holes 1-18. 19-24 still have slight elevation changes. No two holes were the same. All of the holes 1-18 very wooded with many thread the needle shots. Good shots are rewarded. Most holes are short but require placement. Some water hazards in the form of shallow creeks. Holes 19-24 are in the open with some hills. Many blind shots due to elevation.

Signs at each concrete tee. Orange arrows can point to alternate tees. Slightly faded. Original sign at start of course explaining disc golf.

Benches and trash can at almost every hole (1-18).

Pro shop with tons of discs and snacks. Workers know their discs. Very friendly.

Challenging and technical course, especially if you are having an off day. High risk/high reward.

1-18 are under a canopy. Lots of shade.

Easy to navigate.

Amazing nature walk.

Scorecards available.

Peaceful.
Cons: Lots of poison ivy in the rough.

Tees for next hole are very close to the basket or fairways for previous hole (dangerous when busy).

Alternate tees are so natural and rarely played that vegetation has grown in them. Concrete tees would greatly improve the course for these tees. The ground they are on isn't flat.

Some regular tees need replaced. Hole 13 comes to mind.

A few stairways would help with the steep climbs. A bridge or two would help after a rain.

Short holes. Easy to overthrow if you miss the trees.

Holes 19-24 have natural tees marked by orange cones and have no signs. Hole #s written on cones and baskets.

A course map at start of course would be nice.
Other Thoughts: This is a great historic course. It's playable for all skill levels. The holes are short and technical. I played with my girlfriend and she loved the course although she hit almost every tree. I saw many families playing this course and everyone seemed happy.

Dual concrete tees for every hole (1-24), signs for 19-24, and maybe a bridge or two would make this better. I would recommend this course for everyone. It has a historic feel to it and is a great location.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old Treasure

1    5/18/2014   5/19/2014
Review By: bglrabbit
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was designed and created in the mid-1970s as one of the very first disc golf courses in the world, and it is still very enjoyable and challenging! Concrete tees, clean tee signs, and good, solid metal baskets on all 18 original holes. The heavily wooded course has very strategic changes in elevation, with good hole designs on all 18. The extra 6 practice holes out in the open are a great bonus!
Cons: All 18 original holes are under 300 ft, and they are all very heavily wooded. The terrain is somewhat challenging to walk on quite a few of the holes due to elevation changes, so players will want to be moderately athletic.
Other Thoughts: $2 to play all day, and after 10 plays, you can have the next two free! The pro shop is very well stocked. i have never seen such a great selection of bags and accessories!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 HISTORY!

5+    1/1/2012   3/5/2012
Review By: chuckdisc
Played: 38  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-Cement tee pads at every hole plus alternate tees marked by orange stakes.
-Nice mix of left/right shots with some elevation shots as well.
-Tee sign's with par, distance, and basket location at every hole.
-Intersesting shot on hole #4 throwing across a ravine.
-Nice transition from hole to hole.
Cons:
-Shallow, small baskets seem original to the course. Chains are rusted.
-Mostly short holes, none over 300 ft.
-Worn path throughout course can be very muddy at times.
Other Thoughts:
-$2 to play all day.
-First course in Indiana designed by "Steady" Ed Headrick.
-Benches and trash cans at every teepad.
-Pro shop on campgrounds with a variety of discs, snacks, drinks and more.
-Extra six holes at end of course with straight open shots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/4/2011   9/10/2011
Review By: notapro
Played: 550  Reviewed: 282  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is mostly set in a forested area of the campground, with no interference to be found. Last 6 holes in the open are pretty close to the camp areas, so there can definitely be some conflict there.
- Holes in the forest provide a good variety of lines. There are obvious hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots, of varying length. Most of the lines are dead ahead, but there are enough trees to keep these interesting as well.
- Constant elevation changes to be found in the forest, which really makes things interesting. A lot of fun downhill shots, as well as some blind uphill shots that make some holes play a lot longer. Off the fairways, some treacherous gulches are present to punish errant shots. Some of these are pretty deep and present the biggest challenge.
- Good variety in hole length, albeit all are on the shorter side. A lot of ace runs to be found here, for sure, but some of the longer uphill holes need some decent length for a good chance at a deuce. Holes outside of the forest are longer, overall, and allow for some longer rips. Still nothing that would challenge bigger arms.
- Signage is pretty good other than some questionable distances. Baskets are good, teepads can be a little slippery but work fine. Navigation pretty easy, finding hole #1 and #19 might be tricky (#19-#24 don't have signs, just cones).
Cons: - Old school design means old school hole lengths, so this place is primed for some putter rounds or true beginners. Extremely fun for superclass or putters though! Not too much challenge other than the occasional gulch, pretty much.
- Holes in the open are pretty brainless, basically zero or one tree to contend with on any of them.
Other Thoughts: - Course definitely values fun over challenge, usually it will boil down to whether you got a 2 or 3 on the hole. Real beginners might find some of the shots tricky, but any experienced player should be able to hit almost every line. Grab your slowest discs and relive the good old days!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

1    8/6/2011   8/15/2011
Review By: cadmaker
Played: 53  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I found Honey Bear to be a very fun course with some interesting eleveation changes and challenging lane shots. It would be a great course to introduce someone to disc golf.

The pro sho in the camp store was awesome and the owner was quite knowledgeable about the different discs.
Cons: The first 18 holes were all similar and could easily be played with a midrange or putter. The six added in the field were all open shots out in the field to temporary baskets.
Other Thoughts: I found the folks at Honey Bear to be very friendly and the course to be quite fun. I can't wait to get back down to the area to play again.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Old School Cool

2-4    7/31/2011   8/4/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 281  Reviewed: 232  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/4/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Honey Bear is an old school Steady Ed design from the late '70's. As such, most of the course is comprised of "pitch and putt" style shorter holes, although six open grassy holes have been tacked on at the end, giving it a bit more length and variety than the original design. Even on the shortest holes, lines through the many mature trees must be hit to score well.
- The first 18 holes play through woods with mature trees. A dry creek ravine twists and turns throughout much of the course, offering some good potential for rollaways. Moderate elevation changes throughout provide enough risk to keep things fun. The last six holes are temporary layouts with cones denoting the tees. Flat and open, these aren't very fun or challenging, but props for at least trying to mix things up.
- Concrete tees in decent shape. Am tees shorten the distances but don't really provide different looks. Signage provides hole number, distance, and a basic hole map. Many also have Yogi Bear themed stickers!
- A decent mix of up/down/left/right turning holes, although nothing too out of the ordinary.
- Located on a property with camp grounds and a pro shop with decent disc selection.
Cons: - Variety (or lack thereof) is the major drawback to Honey Bear. Even with the added 6 open holes, the course is basically comprised of two types of holes: short, wooded holes with moderate elevation and
longer, wide open, yet flat holes. The wooded holes don't necessarily feel repetitive, just give lots of variations on the same theme.
- Older baskets are slowly decaying with time, but are still serviceable.
- Hole distances on the signs seem suspect in one or two places.
Other Thoughts: - $2 pay-to-play. Definitely a reasonable amount for this course.
- Something about the old school Steady Ed courses are very appealing to me. Maybe Steady Ed just had a good "eye" for designing around the existing trees/elevation, or maybe it's the fact that the older courses have such a time-worn feel to them. In any case, while not the most technically challenging, Steady Ed courses are always a blast to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Shaping Up

1    6/11/2011   6/15/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 659  Reviewed: 399  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Well-stocked shop. Plenty of shade from the tall trees, which also minimizes the undergrowth.
Cons:
Overflowing trash cans.
Other Thoughts:
The core eighteen holes are set on the ridges, in the furrows, and on the slopes of this gently-rolling landscape, which is covered with large, old-growth trees. With an average length around 215', topping out at 285', control, vice power, is needed from the tee. Two tee locations per hole - one with a long-n-wide concrete teepad, the other natural with two small posts in the ground.

Nothing extreme here - the lines to hit, for the most part, are fairly generous, and errant throws are not overly punished, as the shule is minimal and the ridges not very long nor steep. Even-blend of left/right/straight shots needed from the tee, with a fair mix of slight down/up/no elevation changes.

The extra six holes are open and flat, and only take a few minutes to play on the way back to the car. Look for the white cones designating the tee areas, and the day we played, basket-20 was to the left - the basket straight ahead was #23.

Bombers and/or uber-technicians can't scratch their particular itch here, but the course is well-suited for players to work on their shot-shaping, without severely punishing them if they fail.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.