Hannibal, MO 
Huckleberry DGC Share
Uploaded By: Charger440 Hole #5
3 / 200ft.   3 / 230ft.   3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
*insert Mark Twain joke here*

1    2/4/2023   2/7/2023
Review By: Surge5
Played: 131  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 8.7 Years
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Eighteen holes winding around Hannibal's city park with elevation and holes designed around and through some difficult trees.† Park was kept up very well, mowed and edged.†

Decently sized concrete tees on all holes, and 5, 6, and 13 have a long pad installed.† Six holes have alternate pins to keep the course fresh for those who play more often.

Trees are the obstacle of choice.† Bending around a tree halfway down (3, 14), beating ceilings (17, 18), or avoiding going into the thick woods around the park (6-11).

A very good balance of forehand and backhand holes.† 1, 7, 11, 17, and 18 favor the left-finishing shot, while 3, 4, 8, 9, and 14 are right-finishing friendly.† The rest can be reached with either shot.

Elevation is the other big positive factor of the course.† Long downhills on 1, 7, 14, and 15 are contrasted by big uphills on 12 and 13, with smaller elevation jumps added in by raised tees on 5 and 16, while berms cause rises on 17 and 18.† 6 is one of the flatter holes, yet if you don't crest the rise in the fairway you have no chance of making it to the pin... ask me how I know.

Hole 1 is very unique and a great starting hole.† Get around the corner to the left about 200ft down the fairway, through a 15ft wide and 40ft long downhill tunnel edged with 50ft tall trees, then stop short of the lake at the bottom of the hill and hope you have a decent long putting game since both pins will be tough to park.
Cons: The other unique hole designs are duds.† Holes 8 and 9 both go to the right.† 8 is nigh on impossible to get a 2, having a double dogleg that you can't beat without an insane amount of luck.† Getting into the tunnel is good, but will still be far enough back to require a throw in to deuce.† Hole 9's basket is just far too close to the treeline to have a decent angle at off the tee.†

Baskets are in poor shape.† Replacement isn't necessary yet, but given a few more years and broken chains it will be.

While the tee signs are descriptive, they show three tees on almost every hole.† I found an alternate tee on just three.† I'm not sure if it was planned and then got scrapped or if they're still in the works, but for now it's just misleading.† Stinks cause some of those long tees looked pretty dope!

Hole 10 has a mando that isn't for avoiding roads or other fairways... it's just there to make the course "harder," which I argue is mando misuse (this logic doesn't apply to double mandos).

Three holes play over roads (only the long pad for Hole 6) and seven more play near them.† Hole 7 encourages a big left-to-right hyzer over the tree which will end up in the road if it flips up.† Hole 18's pin is only 12ft from the road.† An unfortunate reality of setting up around a city park, but it could have been avoided a little better.† Maybe with some, oh I donít know... mandos?

Some very clunky hole transitions.† The walk from 1 to 2 is almost as long as both holes combined.† 11 back to 12 takes you most of the way back down 11's fairway.† But 16 is the worst.† First off it's a bland downhill hole, but the tee of 17... is right next to the tee of 16, so play the hole, then go right back up the fairway to play 17.

On hole 15 there's one visible basket that is about 480ft away.† Surprise!† That's Hole 9's basket.† 15 was hidden about 80ft to the left - not visible until after most people's second shot - with a tiny white utility marking flag on top.† It's very easy to play to the wrong basket, but I guess at least that keeps you from crossing the road again.
Other Thoughts: The distance is right within the standard city park levels.† One par 4 at around 480, one 170ft dogleg left, then everything else is right between 200 and 375.† Neither pro nor con, but nothing that will stand out.

The land was uneven in several areas. Not sure if it was gopher holes or dirt bikers, but ruts and ridges were common.† Those with weak ankles should be careful if the ground is dry... as I can attest to first-hand.

Reshaping a few holes and adding the tees shown on the tee signs would elevate this park to a must-play in the area.† As is, it's a decent course, but has nothing to set itself apart from any other city park with 18 holes.† Improvement would be nice, but a trip to the 9 hole at the University would be just as good of a use of your time.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Could Use Refurbishment And Updates, But Is A Decent Option For Newer Players

1    5/22/2021   7/6/2021
Review By: Tyler J
Played: 135  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15.8 Years
22 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huckleberry Disc Golf Course, also known as Done Crane Disc Golf Course according to the course map on site, is a recreational 18-hole course just outside of the heart of Hannibal, Missouri. This course snakes around otherwise little used parts of Huckleberry Park and is a good option for newer players to the game.

Location of Huckleberry is convenient, being just off a major arterial roadway in Highway 61, as well having access to Market Street, a road that leads to the town center. Interstate 72 is also just a couple minutes away, making this course straightforward to find. Highway 61 has a wide selection of restaurants, gas stations, and stores for disc golfers who need anything before or after their round. Just be careful of your speed in Hannibal; I've heard plenty of stories about how the police in town are bigger sticklers than usual for the speed limits. Between Hannibal and Quincy, Illinois, there are a few courses to choose from if you're wanting to make a day out of disc golf. There are six 18-hole courses within about a half hour of each other, including a couple up Highway 61, two in Quincy, and one in Barry down Interstate 72.

Park amenities at Huckleberry Park are nice overall, and the disc golf course snakes around most of them. There are 2 reservable shelters in the park, as well as bathrooms near the main one. There's a softball field not far from the parking lot, as well as four tennis courts that include pickleball nets as an option. There're also basketball hoops and plenty of benches and tables around the park. Next to hole 5, you'll find a skate park with concrete ramps, a nice touch that I wasn't expecting to find in Hannibal. There's also a great playground and learning trail for younger park goers.

Course equipment at Huckleberry checks most of the boxes the average disc golfer would be looking for. There's a practice basket and course map next to the parking lot, providing enough space to get some good putting practice in. The course uses DISCatcher baskets that looked older but are still in fine shape. The tee signs all have distances and pars for up to 3 tees and 1 to 3 pins per hole, depending on how many of each each hole has. The tee signs also include overhead maps that show OB as well as other information like the direction to the next tee and doglegs when applicable. The tees that I did find were concrete, and while some felt a little short, they're all pretty level with the ground for those that you might want more of a run up to. Pars on the tee signs are separated into novice and intermediate, which is fair given the difficulty of this course.

Course design at Huckleberry is mostly short holes that vary in terms of elevation and how each fairway turns. This results in a course that will not feel long to newer players, but will also challenge their accuracy and ability to throw different shot shapes. The course length plays between 5,000 and 5330-ish feet depending on what tees you use, so your arm shouldn't be too worn out after a round.

Variety is decent here in terms of what shots you will need for a good round. Plenty of holes play straight on from the tee but with different elevations in play. Holes 12 and 13, for instance, are straight and uphill, while 6 and 14 play more downhill. Some holes like 1 and 10 require sharp turns to the left, while 3, 8, and 9 have fairways that favor right turning shots off the tee. Holes 1 and 3 have water in play with the nearby pond, which adds a level of risk to consider when approaching 1 or teeing off of 3. Plenty of holes also play near roads and parking lots, which add OB to consider on several throws during a round. Plenty of holes can be ran for aces on the course as well, which can tempt players to juice a throw as well. This can come with minimal risk like on hole 5, or with some extra risk like on hole 4 which is near some walkways and has plenty of trees in the fairway, or hole 12 which has its pin on a hillside.
Cons: Course design at Huckleberry does the most with the land available, and some holes make it clear that 18 holes barely fit in this plot of land. Hole 10 was given a dogleg around a powerline pole in an open field to add some difficulty and variety to the course, but it comes off as gimmicky. I could also see plenty of folks spiking this shot, and while I'm sure the power line is secure, something about using this kind of obstacle feels off to me. Other holes like 4 and 12 feel like they are lacking too. Hole 4 has enough pathways and trees in the fairway to make it feel like a less than ideal area to throw through, and hole 12 almost feels overly simple given the lack of obstacles and how short the hole is.

Course Equipment at Huckleberry could use an overhaul. Some of the signage is outdated, with some of the overhead shots not matching how the park looks today. Hole 1, for instance, plays through a gap down a hill to an opening next to the lake, but the picture on the sign does not show this small gap, which could lead players to do like I did and throw more straight instead of a placement shot that's needed here. I also did not see many of the longer tees on the course; they might still be there, but by the time you get to the tee sign for the hole, you're likely past the longer tee. Other tee options are easy to find, like on hole 6. Some of the tee pads are also showing their age. Some of the tee pads felt pretty sketchy to run up on with the light rain that was falling during my round here, and others have some larger cracks forming. The course is far from unplayable, but some refurbishment would go a long way.

Safety and interference with other park uses will be noticed by many disc golfers during their round. At least half of the fairways on this course play either near another park function or near the street that goes through the park. While it's easy to see if cars are coming on most of these holes, it still comes into play more than is ideal, so make sure you look both ways before throwing. The long tee on hole 6 also crosses a street, and a griplock could theoretically hit the fire station. Hole 4, as stated before, plays around enough obstacles and walkways that it has the feeling of being shoehorned into the course design. Hole 11 plays near the softball field outfield fence but doesn't seem to come into play. That being said, a disc that is shanked could absolutely jump the fence, so be careful if a game is happening during your round.

Mud and footing was noticeably bad during my round. It was a wet day, but it looks to me like this is a course where the hillsides could stay wet and hard to get a grip on long after rain stops. The grass looked recently cut, and there were a lot of track marks from the lawnmower used that resulted in plenty of muddy tracks and areas with no grass. This resulted in plenty of muddy spots in areas that would typically just be grassy. It's nice to see that this park is taken care of, but it may not be fun to play for a fair amount of time after a good storm. Hole 1 especially felt treacherous, as the pin is down a hill with that same hill being the way to the next hole. This hill was purely mud, and if it was any wetter out, this would have been a challenge to walk up without getting muddy.

Navigation can be confusing at Huckleberry. I ended up throwing with the wrong basket in mind on two different occasions because it wasn't clear where to throw to. From hole 2's tee pad, hole 2's pin was not visible but hole 4 looked to be where hole 2 should have been. I did the same thing on hole 7, as hole 8 was visible and looked in line with what the tee sign said, but hole 7 ended up being to the left behind the tree line. If you don't have Udisc or a picture of the park map handy, some of the holes will be hard to find. Hole 2 is not close to hole 1's pin, as hole 1 in general feels disconnected from the rest of the course and requires a bit of a way to get to from the parking lot. Hole 5's location is also less than obvious despite an arrow on hole 4's tee sign. Plenty of other holes play close enough together in the back 9 that things could easily get a little confusing. Hole 12 is a decent hike from 11, with hole 16's pin being along the way. Hole 13 is also a decent hike from 12, and you need to walk back up 16's fairway to get to 17. I'm not sure what layout would work better with the land available but given how simple and short some of the holes are, a more straightforward layout has to be possible without sacrificing the current course quality. I believe you shouldn't need Udisc to navigate a good course layout, and that's the case in some spots at Huckleberry.

Course difficulty here favors the newer players to the game. This isn't a bad thing, per say; we need accessible golf courses for fresh players as much as we need elite destination courses. That being said, if you are intermediate or above, you will likely find yourself bored of this course with little desire to replay it.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Huckleberry Disc Golf Course will provide a decent amount of challenge and variety for newer players and is worth a stop if you're passing by on highway 61. The course generally is easy to play quickly, and I was able to knock all 18 holes out in about an hour. While many disc golfers may find themselves looking for something more challenging before long, Huckleberry contributes well to what is a decent selection of courses in this area between Hannibal and Quincy. If you're driving through Mark Twain's hometown, it's worth stopping if you're trying to bag courses.

22 of 22 people found this review helpful.

 Well Maintained Park But Mediocre Course Design

1    5/8/2018   5/13/2018
Review By: thepd2guy
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park is very well maintained - grass was cut - tee signs were readable (although not always clear), tee boxes and baskets were all in good shape

The scenery is beautiful - trees, rolling hills, etc.

There are multiple tees and pin positions available on each hole. Also each sign has a "Rec" and an "Intermediate" par for each of these.
Cons: The course is quite difficult to navigate. While there are multiple pins on each hole, the sign does not indicate which position the pin is in. Also, it was often difficult to figure out which tee was the one next to the sign and it seemed many of the alternate tees were either missing or tough to find. As such, it was tough to tell if we were playing the correct par (which changes depending on the pin position and the tee you choose to throw from). A fairly busy street is in play on multiple holes (at least 1 where you had to throw over it). We had to wait several minutes for the street to clear before we could safely throw. Navigation was far from a nightmare, since we had access to the course map, but hole 1 is a long way from the parking lot and many of the holes cross. As I walked back and forth across the fairway, I couldn't help but think the flow could have been given a bit more thought.

The course itself is... fine. I initially thought it was weird that the options for par were only rec and intermediate (usually there would be a pro or advanced option). However, after playing the course I understand why. Even from the hardest tee to the hardest pin locations, this course would never really challenge any advanced disc golfer. I am a high level intermediate or a low level advanced player (depending on the day and who you ask) and I shot a bogey-free -10 my first time playing the course even with 20+mph winds. The only holes I thought were challenging were because of their "gimmicky" nature. One hole played as a dogleg right through trees - a big hyzer over the top was available but mandoed off and there was no reasonable line to get the basket for a birdie - not enough height for a forehand or turnover to get right and the grass was too long for a skip shot. Another hole was basically in the middle of a field except for an added mando on a pole forcing a huge hyzer (with at least 100 feet carry back to the left). We had a left to right wind which made that literally impossible.
Other Thoughts: My dad and I played this course in the middle of a long road trip. The course was serviceable, we could get out of the car and play for an hour and it wasn't just a pitch and putt. I suppose the course is pretty decent for what it is - a small course set up in a small park in a small town, which probably doesn't get many pro or high-level golfers. It was fun to play once, but since it was tough to navigate and wasn't challenging, I can't see myself going back to play it again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Needs a refresh.....

1    8/5/2017   8/6/2017
Review By: mrbro855
Played: 320  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very scenic course with lots of trees, lots of elevation and a small pond thrown in.

Solid concrete pads, accurate enough signage, next tee markers all helping find the way.

Memorable holes:
#1 Throws from top of a hill with a visual of the breadth of the pond at the bottom of the hill, with the basket tucked ibn the trees to the left.

#3 Basket tucked in the left tree line along the side of the pond.

#8 Was a 90 degree dog leg right through the trees.

#12 Was a tantalizingly close looking basket at the top of the hill that was further away than it seemed.

Lots of others with solid mature trees as basket protection.


Cons: The flow: While #18 does finish up in the parking lot, you have to search to find #1 up in the corner across the entry road.

Then the flow got weird after hole 11....have to walk back around the ball field for #12, #13 is isolated up a hill, #16 comes back between 11-12??

Same designer of the Palmyra course must have designed this one too!!
Other Thoughts: There were no longer multiple tee pads and it does not appear that there are multiple basket placements. The course was totally fine in that way.... just need to redo the signage to accurately reflect how the course now is.

Also, the flow as cited in the cons could be cleaned up a bit.

This was course #1 of a Hannibal west into rural MO road trip of 4 courses. This was easily the best of the lot. Gave it a fun factor of 3.5 while the course itself is worthy of 2.5 resulting in my overall score of 3.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    9/25/2017   9/4/2016
Review By: Innovadgfan1
Played: 53  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean
-Easy to understand
-Variety of shots
-Some decently memorable holes (1, 2, 7, 9, 12)
-Pouring of new longer tees make the course much more appealing to players with 350+ feet of power.
Cons: -Nothing that stands out. A few baskets were moved to different locations that I can't say I particularly prefer over their previous spots but still a fun course.
-A few awkwardly shaped holes on the course. Some may dislike them, I, however, enjoy the uniqueness.
Other Thoughts: -Overall, this course is a very enjoyable one. Players young and old, casual to professional will all find something in this course they enjoy. Living only 20 minutes away, I plan on playing this course many times in the future as it has become a favorite of mine.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Community Park Course

1    5/14/2015   10/14/2015
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 103  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 22.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - In general, an easy, open course with a fair bit of length.
- Baskets in decent condition, good tee pads.
- While course flow isn't the greatest, navigation was just fine. Good signage on every hole that indicates where the next tee pad is.
- Decent amount of elevation on this course, used fairly well.
- #4 is a cool, simple looking hole. You may choose any number of flight paths or shot shapes, but all require you to come through exactly how you intended. Nice hole design.
- #12 runs along a very steep hill the whole fairway, as well as the pin locations. Very precarious, and really makes you think about matching your landing angle to the green angle.
- #13 for some reason is memorable to me, even though it's really just an ace run. Uphill, straight away, 180 some feet that plays more like 230. Still fun though.
- #14 is that longer downhill bomber hole that lets you choose any shot shape you wish to get up on the hole.
Cons: - Finding the start of the course may be difficult. The kiosk sign is located near what is probably the desirable parking lot, but closer to hole 12 than hole 1.
- It's very much a shame that the pond on site wasn't used at all in the course design. There are multiple pin and pad locations all over the course, but none bringing the pond into play.
- A few too many wide open holes for my liking, but they did what they could. Including a ridiculous mando on #10 that requires a shot not allowed by the laws of physics to get close enough for a deuce. I suppose a consistent roller might get you there, if the ground was more even and the grass mowed short.
- All sorts of chances for the roads and other park activities to come into play. Not an issue most times, but during softball games it's likely an issue.
- As with about any park pond, the ducks and geese are plentiful, which means the nearby fairways and greens were covered in droppings.
- #8 is designed as a cut-back hole, redesigned from what is on the course map. Short, and wonky, it's asking you to lay up at or near the apex, which is fine, but from there you're just laying up for a drop in par. No real chance for 2, not nearly long enough to consider being a par 4.
Other Thoughts: - Enjoyable round here, and obviously the course has been here a while and gets a fair bit of play. Good solid community course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Weekend away

1    11/22/2014   11/22/2014
Review By: Redleg
Played: 63  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in a well maintained park. Targets are in good condition, concrete tee pads, decent flow and good use of terrain. Not an overly long course so good for players with out a long drive. The use of elevation through out the course can make a short hole feel long or cause you to overshoot a average hole.
Cons: Goose Poop!!! Hole 8 seems a bit out of place with no chance to place one close. Wind in the area is inconsistant due to the hills and makes disc and throw choice hard to choose.
Other Thoughts: Was in Hannibal for a weekend get away and grabbed a quick round at this local course. I would not rank as a top course but I would love to have it close to play.
Worth the stop.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun but nothing special

5+    8/18/2013   3/14/2014
Review By: wfisher74
Played: 35  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, medium length, not to demanding, not to easy. Concrete tee pads. Has a decent variety of shots and drives. More of an open course, good for beginners and intermediate players. Makes decent use of land, flow is somewhat natural where possible. Park seems to be maintained well and there are only a few areas of high grass and they really dont come into play.
Cons: While its not that special, its also not that bad. There are a few wacky holes, and the layout can be hard to follow the first few times you play. The water area is littered with goose poop, so even if you dont land in the lake, your disc is impregnated with goose poop.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice First Course

1    6/6/2012   6/9/2012
Review By: Dan Ensor
Played: 62  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good use of space. Good elevation change. Some demanding pin positions (woods, lake, and dropoffs close by). Concrete tees. Signs, some that help locate the next teebox. DisCatchers. A tough mando (a lot of people are going to complain about it because it makes an easy pitch shot a very difficult hyzer). Good shot differentiation.
Cons: Very short. One hole plays over a parking lot, and a few play over a road. The woods could use some clearing out, but it's a newer course; I'm sure that will happen. It is a little confusing, but most of the more confusing parts are explained on the signs. Not many trash cans or benches, but that's not as big an issue on smaller courses like this one.
Other Thoughts: A nice course to work on your mid-range drives. It's not hard to keep it in the fairway. A nice walk in the park, broken up by some shots that don't make you face-palm trying to decide what shot to throw.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 windy sucks!

2-4    5/8/2012   5/8/2012
Review By: skyzer213
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: there are some bigger shots (350-400) that are great in the wind.
Cons: wide open and not enough variety. when it gets windy its tough to get anything to work. hole 8 is probably the stupidest hole i have ever seen. the layout is mediocre at best (tees and holes right nest to each other.
Other Thoughts: good course for kind of being out in the middle of nowhere. not sure who actually plays here since i have never seen anyone on the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.