Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16 (Taken 3/2013)
4 / 510ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Basically a perfect natural beauty

1    6/23/2017   7/22/2017
Review By: armiller
Played: 117  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 2.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -beautiful park! (I'll upload some pictures at a later date. timg's are great but this course was much greener--with tighter lines to hit--than those pictures show)
-impeccable course "hygiene" w/ fairways and golf lines in good shape
-concrete tees, decent custom signs, good course flow overall with some arrows and such
-hole 17 is as much of a signature hole as I've ever played
-port-a-potty near parking area

Favorite holes: 1, 5, 8-15, 17!
Cons: -at least two of the first 4 holes feel like "filler," maybe because you know the best is still ahead
-I'm 80% certain I got some chiggers and poison ivy here (it was a long day of disc golf, so it could have been somewhere else)
-navigation isn't perfect, especially finding tees for 10 and 11
-one set of tees (fine by me)
Other Thoughts: This is the kind of no-frills "au naturale" disc golf that I've come to love and even prefer. At the same time, the lines aren't exceedingly raw or undeveloped. Lester Lorch is a beautiful nature preserve with a nice mix of terrain: denser woods plus more open fields with large trees, as well as some decent ups and downs. It lacks some features that seem ubiquitous at most great courses, such as multiple tees or fancy signs, but it makes up for that with multiple (and challenging) pin placements. More importantly, it manages not to sacrifice the park's natural beauty while offering a great disc golf experience. Instead of hacking away to carve a course out of this property, it feels like the designers simply followed the park's features in creating two courses full of unique and interesting holes while leaving the inherent beauty intact.

When we played here, all the holes on Coyote and Beaver were in long positions. I tend to view that kind of challenge as a positive. The holes also struck me as very fair and consistently fun. On Beaver, hole 1 starts off a pretty nice long 480' with mature trees in the fairway. Holes 2-4 were somewhat underwhelming, but the course started to pick up quickly from there. 5 was memorable for its green. 8 was a nice shot over/around the pond. 9-13 were a very nice collection of tighter woods shots (some of which were still quite long) with challenging but manageable lines to hit. I'm surprised most of the reviews have not mentioned hole 17, and that makes me think it's been recently improved upon. As it was when we played, this was one of the most interesting and memorable holes I've played recently (and we played Selah/Trey/Harry Myers earlier in the same trip). The basket was placed in an elevated position across the park's beautiful pond, and the tree canopy had a nice opening to tempt some risky but fun lines over the water. As I had already lost plenty of plastic on the trip, I played a cautious shot to a lay up zone and had a relatively simple uphill approach for par. But shots to that kind of basket placement are the stuff disc golf dreams are made of.

I made it to Lester Lorch while in the DFW area after visiting Selah and Trey Ranch. It was hot and humid and we had already played two difficult rounds in Rockwall/Fate, so exhaustion was definitely an issue. My only regret is that I played Coyote and Beaver but once, and neither course got my A-game like they deserved.

Rating discussion: I was between 4.0 and 4.5 on this one, and would give it a 4.25 if that were an option. Nevertheless, both courses at Lester Lorch were in perfect condition when we played, and we had a great time, so I'll go with the more generous 4.5. The whole course (minus holes 2-4) was quite memorable, and 17 was a blast. It's definitely worth going out of the way for this one.

***As always, please let me know if you have feedback or suggestions on how to improve my reviews!***

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Decent course

1    2/12/2017   2/13/2017
Review By: jeffp
Played: 70  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good mix of shots. Some wooded holes, some open holes, some low ceilings, good mix of left and right turns. Different pin positions for some variety.
Cons: Tee boxes are a bit short. Some of the fairways make no sense and you just have to throw at a bunch of trees and hope you miss them all (#6 and a few of the wooded holes, I think maybe #12 was particularly bad?). Was kind of hard to find #16 after #15. No par 4/long holes. A couple of the longer holes are in that weird distance range where no one can reach them in 1 shot but they're super easy to reach in 2 shots (#1, #7 unless you go straight at it and get insanely lucky, maybe #16 but somehow I managed to put my drive inside the circle for the 2). #1 would be a great par 4 if the basket was back another 150'. None of the holes really stood out as amazing.
Other Thoughts: Way better than the coyote course at the same park

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Overall A Good Course

1    1/20/2016   1/21/2016
Review By: heebs_4
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Back 9 and the holes over the pond are fantastic.

Challenging, bring all your discs because they all serve a purpose here.

The park being almost exclusively used for Disc Golf is great, you don't have to worry about other pedestrians using the park for anything else.
Cons: The Front 9 is very lackluster in my opinion with the exclusion of holes 8 & 9. 1-7 Are all just positioned right next to each other next to the parking lot, and when compared to the Back 9 or the other course on site, it's just not as appealing.

Holes 1-7 are super muddy right now.
Other Thoughts: Overall it's a good course, just not as good as it's sister course in my opinion.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Open Twin Course-Homer

5+    7/20/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: snunnone
Played: 59  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great variety of trees, elevation and a little water. Concrete tee pads. Two other courses next to it. Well maintained. Challenging. Not very much of a chance to lose a disc.
Cons: Heard of snakes but never seen one. Thorny vines in rough areas. Some vandalism.
Other Thoughts: Yes this is one of my home courses. This course has just about everything. You will use every shot on this course. There is uphill, downhill, short, long, over water, old growth open areas. Tighter tunnels turning in different directions.
Bring a bag with variety because you will use everything you got to play this course as well as you can. Best in DFW with its sister course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lived up to expectations!

1    4/28/2014   4/28/2014
Review By: Slimrn
Played: 18  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great use of terrain and water.

-Not much non-DG traffic out there.

-Nice signage.

-There is a portapotty!

-Beautiful mature trees and secluded location make this a wildlife haven.
Cons: -Poison ivy and thorns.

-Hole 9 is unrealistic as par 3 if in the long position- you literally have to have 2 perfect throws to hit it in 3.

-Apparently "MELK" was here.

-Grass could use some cutting.
Other Thoughts: -Lots of people commented on the tee pads being too short. I found that the holes that have short pads were short holes (do you really need a giant run up to throw 200ft?)

-This pair of courses is the best I've been to in DFW.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good for beginners

5+    7/29/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: EL WORM
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Best park I been to... Havent been to many courses but best one so far
Cons: one hole has tall grass.. Easy to lose disc... Lost a yellow sidewinder first time I threw on this hole
Other Thoughts: Could have more beautiful women playing.. ;) lol

1 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great Newbie Course

1    5/25/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: aktmjcor
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.1 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Tee Pads, signs, baskets with #s on every hole. Good mix, at a par 54 it isnt a gimme. Some birdie holes, some tough 3's. Ive been playing for 5 years and I feel I could par this place after 10 or less tries. Pros would find it too easy. I brought a new player, he had fun without too much play from the rough. You will need most of you discs here. A forehand shot will prove beneficial too.
Cons: Poisonous Snake territory. One hole over grown.
Other Thoughts: Fix the few tees that are too short. Otherwise the place played well and was fun and challenging for a 880 rated player.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/26/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 87  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Clean and maintained course. Concrete tee pads. Every basket has the coordinating hole number on top of the basket so you don't have to guess which basket to throw to. More open holes and dog legs left and right.
Cons: More area to park. A better way to determine which holes go with coyote and which holes go with beaver. The signs on holes are faded and need to be redone. If you miss and land in the rough you will be looking for about 10-15 minutes and hope you find your disc.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the course, I liked Beaver better than Coyote. I enjoyed the more open and variety of shots on the course.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Solid, not amazing

2-4    2/23/2013   2/25/2013
Review By: Notorious21
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2013
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros:
- Nice variety of open and wooded holes, right and left dog legs
- Clean, not overly crowded park
- Equally challenging both in accuracy and power
Cons:
- Some teepads are too short
- A little frustratingly tight. Many holes just feel like "chuck and pray" - requiring as much luck as skill
- Thorns!
Other Thoughts:
I probably had too high of expectations based on the ratings of this course. It was fun, but not that much better than many other courses in north Dallas.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice challenges

1    4/13/2012   7/3/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of two courses in the park, the Beaver course is a bit longer and a bit less technical. There are some longer shots that offer a chance to air it out with large grassy fairways and lurking brush. The rest of the course plays through the woods with a mix of shorter ace run chances and some longer shots that test your shot making ability without being too tight.

The rough is thick enough to cost strokes if you miss your line, but not so thick that it eats too many discs. The three holes by the pond are a nice way to mix things up with more open holes that still offer some tricky risks if you go for the birdies.

The concrete tees are in fine shape, as are the baskets. Tee signs are color coded to show which course they belong to, a nice touch in the area where the two play near one another. The alternate pin placements change things up nicely, if they're moved regularly it could offer some extra variety.
Cons: The signage is faded and damaged, many are difficult or impossible to read. That gets a little frustrating, with some longer holes and some blind shots in the woods. The ones that are readable don't have the current pin position marked, so it doesn't always save you the walk to figure out where to throw.

The tees are a bit small, and some were covered in mud washed over them in a previous storm. The fairways were all dry when I played, but a few showed evidence of being pretty muddy when wet. There are a few of the wooded holes that feel a bit repetitive, there was room for a little more creativity in lines with this much wooded property.
Other Thoughts: I had a great time at this complex, with two very fun courses that complement each other well. I played the Coyote course after the first 16 of this course to save the extra walk to and from the parking lot.

Beginners might find this course a bit long and tough, and the rough could get frustrating for a player without good line shaping skills. More experienced players will find this course a good test, with some length and a few tricky lines, and the two courses combined offer a great balance of different challenges.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.