Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Beaver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7 (Taken 3/2013)
3 / 485ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 53
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 09 review.

5+    4/11/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great layout with beautiful scenery all throughout this course.Nice big concrete pads on every hole with maps to direct you to the next teebox. Nice mixture of open shots with a few trees to navigate around.
Cons: Sometimes course seems crowded since holes 1,2,4,5,7, and 8 are all pretty close to the parking area.
Other Thoughts: This next to the "coyote" are my favorite courses in the dfw area. If you are close i sincerely recommend you swing by and enjoy this course.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 unique course

1    3/31/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: wolito
Played: 87  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 11.6 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The best aspect of this course is the variety of holes. The fact that when you step up to each hole, it is different from the one before. All types and variety of shots are needed. Great use of trees and elevation. Some holes are very tight with trees. You definately feel like you are in a natural setting playing disc golf. Very quiet and secluded feeling. Park is very clean. Unique in the fact that this park is pretty much entirely used by disc golfers as there is no other activies on site, beside fishing.
Cons: Signs could be better, seem old and a couple were missing. Shorter teepads on some holes than others.
Other Thoughts: I drove two hours to get here and play and it was probably worth the drive. Each hole is unique and playing in such natural environment makes for a relaxing fun disc golf experience.

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Beaver DGC

1    3/21/2009   3/22/2009
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The fun factor is off the charts. Holes of all types: wooded, water hazards, open, dog-legs, climbing, downhill shots...you name beaver has it. It gets pretty technical, but provides a good mixture so you don't piss yourself off on every hole. Multiple pin placements on most holes.
This was the most beautiful park I have visited.
Great signs and tee pads, plus there was a porta-potty in the parking lot.
The park was extremely clean, and there were trash cans everywhere. Places to sit were all along the course.
Very friendly locals. There was never any down time; we let a 2 man group play through us, but after that, no problems with traffic for the round.
Cons: The only cons I can come up with are a few tees were a little short, which wasn't even a problem, and the pond is misleading...I took one step in to fetch a disc 3 feet from the shore, and I sank in mud up to my knee.
Other Thoughts: Always keep the trees in mind, and you are golden. You don't even have to play to enjoy this park. If I didn't live an hour away, I would play one of the two at least once a week and probably more. I would make it a 5 disc, but I am reserving my perfect ratings until I have played more courses. That said, there is nothing like this course and its sister in the DFW area. If you are halfway decent at disc golf, you better play both of them, or you're missing out huge.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sweetness

5+    2/6/2009   2/19/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 131  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 17.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2009
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Sweet, this course tests everything you got, both in your bag and your body. Lots of different shot ranging from short to long and tight to open. You need alot of shots to score well here and have some endurance as well. Not alot of places to lose plastic. Great tees and baskets as well. Alot of elevation that is rare around here and its used very well. There are shots here that you can birdie one round and next get a 5 or worse, you can get into trouble quick if you find yourself off of the fairways that are very well taken care of. Accuracy is a must here. Consistancy will reward you with a good round too.
Cons: Long walk. Can be lots of poison ivy. Can get hot even now but really in the summer. Not alot of cons really, except for the fact that is a long drive for me but well worth the drive!!
Other Thoughts: 2 courses right here which make it worth the drive. Didnt get a 5 just because I think that there are very few perfect courses but these are VERY close!

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 A "Must Play" in the DFW area.

2-4    2/6/2009   2/6/2009
Review By: Joshua1972
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 10.3 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The pro's on this course and is co-located sitser course Coyote are many... There are wide open shots, tight shots through wooded areas, blind shots around corners, and awesome elevation changes you don't often get in other DG courses around DFW. The signage was excellent, the Tee pads were concrete and in great shape. One of the best things I liked about this course was that there was little to no trash, thanks to the abundent trash cans on nearly every tee box... There was even a sign on the bulletin board near the #1 tee to show you what Poison Oak, Poison Ivy, and Poison Sumac looked like.
Cons: The only con I could even think of for this course was the density of some of the under brush especially on some of the tight holes through the woods... I played in the winter so this really wasn't a big issue, but I could see how it could be with the trees and brush fully greened up.
Other Thoughts: A Phenomenal course, one that I will definately return to as often as possible. This course reqires the DG'er to use nearly every shot in his/her bag!!!

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Fantastic Course

2-4    12/28/2007   1/28/2009
Review By: cc0049
Played: 153  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 15.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/7/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This a very fun and challenging course. There is a great variety of holes here...a few that are somewhat open, a few that are densely wooded, several that are just wooded enought that you have to combine both power and great technical accuaracy to score well, and a few holes that incorporate elevation change. The variety offered at this course is rarely paralleled by other courses in the DFW area. The course gives you a lot of different challenges to think about throughout your round. There are quality concrete teepads. The baskets are in great shape. The fairways are well maintained. The course is very pretty and could be enjoyed by just hiking around. Holes that stand out in my mind as being particularly great are holes 1 and 17. Hole one is a long uphill shot through a reasonable smattering of trees that requires a well placed long drive. Hole 17 is a really fun shot across the pond to a basket that is up a hill behind the pond and guarded by trees all around it...a rare treat.
Cons: There aren't really any cons that I can think of. The only reason that I don't mark this course as a 5 is that I think that there are better courses out there from what I've read on the rest of this site. Still, one of the best that I've ever played.
Other Thoughts: This is a very fun and very challenging course to play. It is over an hour away for me to get to, but well worth it when I do make the trip. I'm jealous of the players that live nearby and get to play it all the time. Someone needs to replace the Texas flag that used to be at the top of the tree on hole 14.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Must Play Course

1    1/25/2009   1/25/2009
Review By: strain
Played: 42  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/9/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Where should I start? This course is awesome, it has a great variety of everything from nice long open shorts, short shots with plenty of chances of hitting some Ace's. There are slight elevation changes throughout most of the course adding a challenge. There are multiple pin positions and nice concrete tee pads with good signs showing you all the hole information. Be sure to look at the signs for the arrow that directs you to the next hole. There are bright red hole numbers on both tee box and basket making it easier to know which basket your throwing at. The park is clean and very well maintained, with plenty of trash cans and benches throughout most of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and challenging course and is a must play if you are in the Dallas/Ft. Worth area. This course has it all and is fun from the beginning to the end.

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging!

1    12/18/2008   1/2/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 10.2 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Put your game to the test!
Perhaps a bit easier of the two in this park.
Tight fairways.
Water, Woods, Sharp turns...
Elevation (up hill / down hill)
Cons: Some holes are almost unreachable under par if you are unable to drive more then 250 ft.
Other Thoughts: The park is beautiful. Well worth playing or just spending time enjoying the scenery.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the DFW

5+    9/19/2008   10/24/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 78  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 14.5 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Both of the courses at Lorch Park are top-notch in my book, but the Beaver (front) course offers a little more variety than the Coyote (back) course. The park itself isn't too far from the Cedar Hill commercial district, but is far enough removed that it feels very secluded. The best part about Lorch Park...DISC GOLF ONLY (and an occasional fisherman)!

Hole 1 on the Beaver tees off near the parking lot, and is one of the toughest (if not THE toughest) par 3 holes on the course. The next 4-5 holes are slightly technical and bring some elevation changes into play, but are short enough that a well-placed 300-375 drive can yield a birdie 2. As you walk over the ridge past Hole 7 you're welcomed by a beautiful man-made pond with a large beaver dam in the middle (hence the name). Holes 8, 9, and 17 bring this pond and the adjoining creek into play. Holes 10-13 are tight wooded shots, one straight, one to the left, one to the right...great mix! Hole 14 is simple shot, but is one of my personal favorites due to the TX flag flying from the tip of a large evergreen in the middle of the fairway. The course finishes with an over-the-pond shot and then a pretty straight-forward easy 3 hyzer shot.

All in all, Beaver offers a lot of scenic beauty coupled with a good mix of difficulty and different types of shots. Although most of the course is open, the tougher holes can be VERY tough and evens things out through the course of 18 holes. I love the fact that even though the course plays fairly challenging as a whole, there are still plenty of chances for birdies to keep it interesting.

Each hole has a concrete tee pad, nice signage, and several have large trashcans and park benches (donated by locals). There are also several holes with alternate pin placement that get changed a few times a year. Last time I was there, the city left 2 permanent port-o-johns in the parking lot...which is something this course needed badly!
Cons: Honestly, the only bad thing I can say about the Beaver course is that the tees for holes 5 and 6 can get pretty muddy after a rain...but that's really it!
Other Thoughts: Lorch Park is my former home course, and even though I've played many other great courses, the 2 at Lorch Park remain my absolute favorite. Rain or shine, this course is ALWAYS fun to play!

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The Eager Beaver at the Lorch-ness Monster

5+    4/14/2010   9/17/2008
Review By: Donovan
Played: 239  Reviewed: 186  Exp: 31.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/31/2010
17 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The two Lester Lorch courses are the bomb! Beaver is the front course. This course has it all! There are technical holes, shots over water, woodsy maneuvers, and beautiful scenery! The shot over the pond near the end of the round is just amazing. There are multiple cement tee-pads and baskets on many of the holes. There was hard work in making the tee-pads really nice. This course has metal-poled tee signs with directions to the next tee and the multiple footages clearly marked. There were trashcans on almost every hole and some even between holes (so very clean). There were seating areas along the way and stumps to set your bag down on. The beauty and layout of this course is incredible.

Update: They now have a bathroom on site by the parking lot.
Cons: There was also a hole that requires you to carry a marsh like pond area. It is said that they used to raise snakes in this area at one time and the locals say this marsh pond is home to a few of them. So clear that one! ;) However, I must tell you, I never saw a single snake. Some of tee pads could have been longer. The chances of you losing a disc here is probably not bad, but we escaped with all of ours.
Other Thoughts: The Fun Factor here is awesome! This is such a fun course; you will finish and be begging to play it again. I just hate that it is a drive to get here, or I would be playing this one all the time. Lester Lorch is just what the Disc Doctor ordered!

17 of 18 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.