Hitchcock, TX 
Jack Brooks Park - Gulf Meadows Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #9 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Rough and Tough

1    7/18/2017   7/19/2017
Review By: Superpolski
Played: 176  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There is a course map located at hole 1. There are a few technical shots but this course is mostly wide open. This course was very easy to navigate from hole to hole.
Cons: The concrete tee pads are very slick. When playing around the woods gigantic mosquitoes will swarm you. Bring tons of mosquito repellent.
Other Thoughts: This course is more begginer friendly than the other course on site. If it rains this course becomes very marshy and almost unplayable.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Solid Disc Golf Course

1    12/29/2015   2/10/2016
Review By: jason.soule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good Baskets
Good Tee Pads
Ok Signage
A Few Interesting Holes
Cons: Nothing that was outstanding with the course design.
Much of the course is WIDE open.

Other Thoughts: This is a good course that will be challenging for the casual player. It also has enough tricks up its sleeve to keep the advanced player entertained. So it's got a little something for everyone, but doesn't wow me.

I will definitely make the trip to play both Jack Brooks courses again.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jack of All Shots

1    8/15/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 205  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great Course.
Brings out all your shots.
Tight, technical, and big bombs.
Fairly good mix of Righty and Lefty holes.
Course map posted at hole 1.
Fairly good signage.
Pretty easy to follow.
New Chainstar baskets.(Not Pictured).
Fairly good teepads.
Trashcans.
Port A Jon.
Park near by with restroom.
Cons: Ants everywhere.
Few tees need repairs but still playable.
Cracks in ground. But nature what can you say.
Hole signs need updating.
Most Short to Pro tees were just longer not really changing lines.
Other Thoughts: Pretty tough for beginners.
Great line practice for more experienced player.
We really enjoyed playing this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  A lot has changed

5+    7/24/2015   7/29/2015
Review By: Argo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is an exciting and challenging course. Good combination of open and wooded holes. There are technical holes and holes where you can let it rip. it's a busy course and our locals are very helpful to visitors.
Cons: As stated before the mosquitos and crazy ants can at times be problematic. it's a busy course so sometimes your rate of play can slow down.
Other Thoughts: I decided to write this review in response to some of the other reviews that I've read about this course because there have been some improvements. The baskets have been replaced so the old rusty ones are gone, and there is now a practice basket for putting near the t box for hole #10

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite

5+    5/7/2014   5/16/2014
Review By: sageathor
Played: 29  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, the community has really shaped it up to be an outstanding course. It's been my favourite since i started playing a few years back. Great mix of challenging fairways and technical shots with some big open drives as well.
Cons: Sometimes the ants and mosquitoes get a little crazy.
Other Thoughts: Definitely a must play

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 JB Gulf Meadows

5+    10/2/2013   10/12/2013
Review By: uwdiscgolf
Played: 141  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 8.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The PROS:

1. Concrete tee pads

2. Course plays back to parking lot in triple play style ( Means holes 1/18 and additional hole..preferably hole 9 start/end at parking lot.

3. Alt tees on some holes that are clearly marked. Some are not. But nice non the less.

4. Port a Jon on site near hole 1/18/9/10. Its located clearly on edge of parking lot near the course map.

5. Course map layout.
Cons: The CONS:

1. Baskets are showing their age big time! Much rust on chains.

2. Course is pretty repetitive. There is a mix of wooded and open.

3. Design! You can not play this course after a rain, and most times if it is dry there are cracks so big you can fall knee deep in one. Standing water does not seep well here. i have played many a times with soaked feet after the front nine. Starting at the end of hole 4 thru hole 9 the standing water also provides everyone's favorite insect in the world a breeding ground.

Other Thoughts: Best holes: 9/16/17/18

9: Plays about 150-200 ft from an open tee to a wooded pin. The basket sits just on the other side of the hill.

16: Ace Run down a straight wooded fairway. 185' to pin

17: Plays down a left to right to left "S" curve with the pin protected by concrete blocks and tubes.

18: Plays down a LHBH dogleg the plays over a usually dried creek bed. There is a small bridge to cross over to end up back by the parking lot.

"BASKET 18" is the Practice basket for most locals . So please be careful and make sure you are ever mindful of anyone that might be trying to finish their round.

Gulf Meadows is a fun course that when the weather is cooperating is a chance to finish under par. I have adapted the saying " You can kick butt at Gulf Meadows, and then get your butt kicked at Cedar hills" as a very honest and true statement for JACK BROOKS. Some of the baskets that are in bad shape are being replaced. Hole 15 is a good example of one that needed to be replaced and now has a fresh DISCatcher basket. With Cedar Hills being on the same grounds, this double 18 feature is one of very few in Houston.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Ton of Fun With a Bit of Everything

1    3/28/2013   4/2/2013
Review By: bayouace
Played: 44  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 25.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gulf Meadows has a little bit of everything and was really fun to play. I am RHBH and a SRGM. Quite a variety of throwing skills are tested from wide open bombs to precise lines, over and under trees and more. #1 sets the tone by saying "Here I am, you don't need a big arm and if you can place your shots, you'll score." That's the truth with GM. Tight and wooded, wide open, woods to open, open to woods, flat, elevation - got it all. Only a couple of holes are kinda boring. For me the right lines and placement for next shots was the key. If you can't throw straight, you will experience gulf coast vegetation with scrub oaks and cedar trees. My wife,who is a novice, and I did not have a scorecard but we printed out the DGCR map and it was great. Benches are available on many holes. A nice parking lot is right there at #1, along with a porta-potty. Wooden bridges, steps and planks are placed for when rainy weather causes some obvious standing water, although the ground was cracked dry when we played. No mosquitoes that day. Have uphill and downhill putts to deal with also.
Cons: Most basket chains are rusty from the salt air from the gulf. Bring your own water. We had pretty good wind the day we played, and I imagine that is common, so you will have to deal with that.
Other Thoughts: No water to cross on #18 the day we played. After holing out on #7 you can go to the nearby pavillion for a nicer rest room by the tennis courts, then go on to #8. Favorite holes were 1, 3, 9, 16, and 17. Least favorite was 12, which is 500 ft into the wind and wide open. I will play Cedar Hills next time as well, but my wife was not up to that skill level. She did enjoy Gulf Meadows. But you know what, if only Gulf Meadows was available, it would be fun every time for me. Easy to get to off of I-45. Jack Brooks is a well-cared for local park. Good maintenance was very obvious.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/3/2012   11/26/2012
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 209  Reviewed: 146  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This is by far the easier of the two courses at Jack Brooks Park. It is more wide open but does have a few holes that are short and involve a careful, accurate shot to get close to the basket for an easy 2.
-There is little chance to lose your disc since there is no water in play. Just make sure you watch where your disc lands, as the grass can get long.
-There are a few blind tee shots, which in my opinion is a lot more exciting because you do not know how close (or how far) you are from the pin until you walk up.
-The pin placements on a few of the more open, longer holes are nestled into some trees which can turn a good drive into a disastrous 5 if you are not careful with your putts.
-Concrete tees are great and the tee signs are posts with the hole design, and length etched into the wood. The posts is something that this course has and Cedar Hills is lacking.
Cons: -The baskets are starting to show wear. Accurate putts can easily be spit right back out.
-The wind can be pretty insane. There is nothing to be done about this, just leave your understable and blizzard discs in your bag.
-The ants were terrible. Last time I was out here, my bag and my partner's bag was completely covered in ants and we did not even realize it. Be careful where you set down your bag
Other Thoughts: The two courses on site offer the best disc golf you will get in the area in my opinion. The other park with two courses on site (Tom Bass) does not even come close to the caliber that this park has to offer.
-The birdies here come plentiful and if you are bringing a new person to play this would be a great place to do it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variation

2-4    5/5/2012   5/5/2012
Review By: soonerpa
Played: 40  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variation - wooded, semi open, treeline, open. Shade for a hot Houston/Hitchcock day. Few to no water hazards.
Cons: Mosquitoes. Tall grass (found 4 discs in one day). Mosquitoes.
Other Thoughts: The variation of holes lets you try a lot of different shots and use different discs. Im newer to the game so this is a fun challenge.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jack Brooks Park

5+    7/25/2010   8/5/2010
Review By: whosnext
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course has great personallity. Has everything Hyzer's, Anny's Long, short, open, woods. Fantastic layout. Easy to shoot under par but because of the thick woods a bad shot can really become real bad real quick. All holes are birdieable except for hole 12 unless you can throw 500 ft. I have been playing disc golf for ten years in houston and this has been my favorite course the whole time. Easy enough for begginers but hard enough to challenge anyone.
Cons: some of the tee pads suck. Lots of Mesquitoes. "Bring the Deet"
Other Thoughts: The layout makes you use so many shots that it makes this course great for all levels of play. Fun Fun Fun

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center