Grand Rapids, MI 
Johnson Park Share
Uploaded By: FoleyT Hole #14
3 / 131ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Juicy Hilly Course Waiting For Your Call!

1    8/26/2017   8/27/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1167  Reviewed: 1115  Exp: 39.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Johnson Park, the former pole hole course, has recently (June 2017). been upgraded with baskets and concrete tee pads. There is also some great engineering going on. The baskets are Discatchers and the pads are nice sized. The tee signs are colored and show the route. But the star of this show is this wonderful piece of land with it's rolling hills and treacherous deep gorges. There are places where the rough is deep and foreboding but mostly there are these wonderful hills which are meant for classic disc golf holes.

The course is an excellent mix of tough uphill holes, very tight hysers and annies, fun downhill Ace Runs, throws over gorges and then finishes with this 487' yummy downhill blast.

I loved hole 12. What looks like a fairly easy little birdie opportunity turns very scary upon reaching the basket and seeing that it is set on the edge of 30' deep gorge that extends about 180 degrees behind the basket. This deep gorge is easily found off the tee or from your approach. And your putts can be terrifying, too. One of our group had his second shot slide all the way to the bottom. His SECOND shot trying to get out hit basket rim and rolled all the way back down again. He might have taken a 10 had his rollaway not rolled directly to him which allowed him to stop it from rolling completely to the bottom again. He admitted to an 8. We laughed our asses off.

As much as I liked # 12, I believe I like 13 more. # 13 is a great little 194' downhill requiring an sharp anhyser from a righty. Their is a route there but it's awfully tight. This hole has had some great engineering done with a flight of wooden stairs taking you down the very steep hillside.
Cons: Can get hot out here. Course does play out in the open quite a bit. Bring water.

There is a chance for lost discs or at least, some searching.

On hole 12, there is a Chance for the elusive 10. Not many disc golf holes are that risky.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. It's hilly but not exactly a exhaustive workout, just a comfortable fatigue building exercise. The treacherous gorges might get you or you might slide it up there for a gimme birdie. I can't imagine ever getting tires or bored with this gem.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Steep, Lots of Technical Shot-Making Opportunities

5+    6/7/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: dandther
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 42.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2012
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The design of most of the holes requires some clever shot planning and execution. Though relatively short (I assume all holes are par 3), it's quite challenging. There is about an even balance between "best" lines which demand either a left or a right curve, although the course does favor shots that curve left. These lines are the result of intelligently designed holes that use mature trees in a fair way. There is lots of room for good shots, there are no holes where lucky bounces off trees are the only way you'll end up close to the pole.
Cons: Hills. Steep hills. You'll get a real workout here. It's hard to call this much of a con, because the design of the course uses the hills intelligently, much like the trees. However, by the 12th hole I'm usually pretty tired of the continual up and down, no matter how well I think the course was designed. (Keep in mind I'm in my 50s and have been playing since I was 14). There are some spots where you could lose a disc in the tight woods, since you're throwing up (or down) hill blindly toward a pole you can't see. But the course is short enough that if your buddy spots for you you'll probably be OK.
Other Thoughts: The 18th hole is a real favorite of mine. Tee off at the top of a very high hill and you can really get a ton of distance, only to find a long second shot to get close enough to make it in three. It's a fantastic finishing hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Johnson Park

5+    10/21/2007   10/23/2007
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun, challenging, many terrain changes and trees come into play. Good variety of shots required. Secluded and lots of beautiful scenery. Outstanding view of the valley from the top of the hill. Sometimes deer and turkey can be seen here.
Cons: Pole course (would love to see baskets here, but I've heard that the secluded nature of the course made vandalism and theft a problem), The worst part about this course is the horrible tees, sandy with railroad ties surrounding them (twisted ankles can be a problem). The 'rough' can be rough on your ankles, wear sturdy shoes and socks. Mosquitos late in the day.
Other Thoughts: frequently overlooked due to the 'pole' nature of the course, but worth a look

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.