Lewiston, NY 
Joseph Davis State Park Share
Uploaded By: MattK Hole #2
3 / 242ft.   3 / 295ft.   3 / 349ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
a solid day's golf

5+    3/18/2019   3/22/2019
Review By: LeftyRob
Played: 43  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Let's start with the basics. Free entrance to the parking is always a good thing ( in the winter month's you have to take the BACK entrance, but still open, and still free). I can't speak to weekends as I've only played on weekdays, but I've only occasionally seen someone else playing the course, and other than the odd dog-walker no one else is around. 27 holes is a plus for me, and the grass is always well maintained. A decent number of tricky holes to go along with all the open baskets, and if you're newer to the sport, only one hole longer than 400 from the mid tees, and 5 from the longs.
Cons: No terrain changes so it's a very flat run, which is a plus for pulling a cart, but I enjoy elevation changes on a course. A LOT of standing water due to that flatness, and the closeness to the waterway. Unless it's the dead of summer, the water is always present in some quantity, so it can alter shot selection. Some of the pars set out for the holes seem fairly generous. There are a couple of par 4's that really should be par 3's. To my memory, none of the long tee's has a pad, only the middle tee's.
Other Thoughts: A fun trip out to play 27 holes in one spot. Needed both the forehand and backhand off the tee. Print the scorecard for the distances, as the info on the signage at the tee's has mostly faded out over the years, and don't wear any shoes you're worried about damaging with water.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

A Fun Park Experience

1    6/10/2018   6/10/2018
Review By: jjmill
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 10/1/2018
Pros: **This review is from a beginner's perspective**

A fun, no drama course to play. Wide open enough to experiment and let loose a bit, but there are enough obstacles to avoid to keep it interesting. As others have said its very hard to lose a disc on this course, the rough isn't very dense. Baskets and tee pads are in great shape. The various pines, weeping willow trees, etc. made for a visually pleasing experience in some areas.
Cons: A few basket locations were on flat ground and out in the open, it'd be nice to see some of them spiced up a bit, eg raised baskets, big stones nearby, etc.

Other Thoughts: It looks like some new foot bridges and tables/benches have been installed and they are plentiful, that was nice to have on a longer, busier course.

 27 Holes!

1    8/6/2016   9/8/2016
Review By: The Don
Played: 18  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It's great to play 27 holes in a row. You can really get a good round in if you play all 27. If you like open holes this course is nice and parking is always free.
Cons: Course can get a little boring as the holes start to blend together. No wooded holes and nothing particularly difficult.
Other Thoughts: A great course to play a long round of 27 with your buddies!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 One of the oldest DG courses in North America

2-4    6/23/2016   7/24/2016
Review By: Habtacular
Played: 21  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 3.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very well maintained course in park setting. Some challenging and fun holes. Nice scenery and a great walk
Cons: A couple of crazy long holes. Plenty of trees to snag errant drives.
Other Thoughts: Fun course in national park. Free parking

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Joe D

5+    6/21/2016   6/22/2016
Review By: CBeck
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Solid course 27 holes makes the longer drive worth it.
Not too tough or easy middle of the road.
Good use of existing trees, brush and roads/paths for ob.
Very minimal park use besides disc golf.
Cons: Can be wet in the spring as with most course in the area.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good change of pace

2-4    10/17/2015   10/17/2015
Review By: RobA
Played: 29  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Virtually a disc golf only course
- Very well maintained, clean, grass neatly trimmed
- Good mix of shots, course makes good use of available trees and bushes to make shots challenging but fair
- Good beginners course, also good for advanced players to go old school and throw mids and putters.
-Zero chance of losing a disc. Fairly wide open, and brush is very manageable
- Benefits of being a state park without the entrance fee.
Cons: - Location, long drive from almost anywhere
- 27 holes. Some may see this as a pro. For me it is too many holes, I like to take a break between rounds and by the time I hit hole 27, I am ready to call it a day.
- Could use new baskets. Although they are in good shape, the DGA baskets could definitely use an upgrade. Too many spit outs and too many discs slipping through the chains.
Other Thoughts: A piece of disc golf history. This course has been around 35 years, one of the original Steady Ed courses. Remnants of ancient pear orchard on hole 21 helped tide me over until I got back to my car.

There are the original 18 holes designed in 1980, then the additional "modern" 9 holes designed around 2000.

If you have reasonable expectations of this course you should have fun. Some reviewers have been overly unjustly harsh of this course in my opinion.

Careful of the pheasant hunters in the fall.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Relaxing Course

2-4    5/24/2015   5/25/2015
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 128  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 13.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads
- mostly open holes with good use of bushes to add challenge
- 27 holes on site
- large area kept well mowed (at least when i was there)
- course flowed quite well (The group I was with played through without a map)
- good mix of anhyzer and hyzer holes
- not a great risk of disc lossage
- 27 holes with enough variety so that it does not get boring
- At least two tees. We played from the white where the cement tee pads are but there is a well marked longer blue tee option as well
Cons: - for some the length of the holes might be a con because they are on the short side (most hole between 250 and 350). However there are blue tees (no cement pads) for those who want a longer course
- No real way to play just 9 or 18 if in a hurry
- not much elevation
- no real 5 star holes that make you say wow but they are all pretty unique and fun
- can be really wet at times
Other Thoughts: If you get a chance to play this course on a dry day it is pretty fun. This course would be pretty good for beginners because it is pretty forgiving. There are some thick areas but we had no problem finding any discs that found there way in the brush. The course is just fun to play, not extremely challenging but there is some challenge to it. Basically it was just fun to be out there and play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    11/27/2014   11/27/2014
Review By: Timeetyo
Played: 41  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 27 holes of fun
- 3 sets of tees. The blues are a bit harder to find but generally right at the tee sign. For most of the holes the blues just add distance and don't change the hole otherwise.
- Ample cement tees on the whites. Natural tees on the reds/blues.
- Decent signage. Sufficient tee signs. The flow is pretty straightforward without a map with only 1 weird transition (near 9).
- Picnic tables at a few tee pads if you need a quick break.
- In my 2 trips, very few non-DG activities going on (a few dog walkers), its almost all DG in the park.
- Park is very clean, well maintained, and nicely mowed.
- A few ace runs, and a lot of birdie opportunities.
- With well marked short tees and little punishing rough this makes JD a great place to bring a beginner. Very little chance of a lost disc.
Cons: - A few holes have the tees too close to another fairway which can impact flow if full (as it was for dubs event today). For example, a normal RHBH line on 2 goes right over 3's tee, so I won't throw on 2 if someone is on 3's white tee. Then on 4, in 3 rounds I've seen 2 discs end up closer than I'm comfy with to 4s white tee. Granted you shouldn't be there, but if your RHBH drive doesn't flip like you intended you'll be on / near 4s tee.
- Although there are very few weak holes, a lot of ok/good holes here, I struggle to pick one or two GREAT holes.
Other Thoughts: JD has you playing 27 holes through a typical park setting. Most of the holes are rather open but do require you to do some shot shaping - it's not just a hyzer bomb fest like some more open courses. I found myself (primarily RHBH) throwing hyzers, S-curves, anny's, flicks, and a few straight shots as well. Playing with a partner that threw RHFH I didn't notice a bias for FH/BH.

This is a course I struggled with on my review and wanted to wait until I had an opportunity to come back. I can see why there is a bit of contention over the rating here. If you are looking for a bunch of memorable holes - you won't find it. But you will find a lot of decent / good holes that add up to a good course, IMO. It just depends on what you are looking for and what you expect in a course. Perhaps if they cut it down to 18 and put in a few par 4s it may be better, but I'm not sure the obstacles are there to work with to make that happen.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cluster of mediocrity

1    7/4/2014   7/5/2014
Review By: prerube
Played: 256  Reviewed: 226  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Not very crowded, concrete tees, and thats about all the positives I can say.
Hole 12 is only memorable hole with the fake island.
Cons: 27 holes is not a pro. This could be an epic 18, instead is is a clustered mess of 27 less than average holes. Tee 18 to basket 19 would be a great hole, instead 18 is a dinky.shot that rewards you for missing the hole and 19 is a tiny open putter hole.
BASKET 2 IS DEMOLISHED AND UNUSABLE.
Course flow was an issue, tees were often behind previous baskets or crossed other fairways. If you took a handful of paracord and tossed it into the air, the way it would land probably resembles this layout. From basket 8 to tee 9 you cross 18s fairway. Other close holes would make a tournament here very uncomfortable.
Tee signs are 30-60 feet from pads. I would.bet if I searched the 3 inch grass I would find a brick buried at ground level denoting "alternate pads" but to be honest this course is one basket one tee.
Hole 15 is uncomfortably close to the road
Gimmick holes are plentiful here. Hole 22 has brush 3 feet in front of tee on both sides. This hole provides no challenge for experienced players, but severly punishes novice players. another hole that screams gimmick would be 25. This hole is a joke with large brush directly infront of the tee 15 feet infront of you, forcing a massive anny, long flick, or for the novice a risky blind tommy.
Many holes are high disc loss for lower level players, the course beats up the weak while bores the experienced.
Other Thoughts: I can imagine the discussion for this course, "we already have several nice 18 holes, so why make another, lets make a crappy 27!"

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Like

1    10/25/2013   10/25/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2014
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good tee box signs
-Nice baskets
- 27 holes!!!!
- 3 different tee boxes on every hole
- This course had a flow to it

Cons: -The signs are far away from the tee box
-Some holes were hard to find
-The out of bounds was harsh
Other Thoughts: This course was great because it was 27 holes. It had a variety of holes

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.