Emporia, KS 
Jones Park - West Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #17 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 425ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Short Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
West World

1    12/31/2016   1/5/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 346  Reviewed: 231  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park West course is the first of two 18 hole courses on site. It has concrete tees, Dynamic Discs provided the targets and tee signs. There are two pin locations at each hole, and an extra tee at hole 17. All of the equipment is in place and looking good.

There are enough trees to give each hole character of its own, and the staggered pin positions do a nice job to change the look and strategy of each hole. Fairways are all grass, and there is water in play on a couple of them. Mild changes in elevation on a few holes also.

A great course for learning, there are not tight lines or a lot of heavy rough. Several of them are fairly long, and the wind ups the difficulty a notch when blowing. Many of the evergreen trees are thick and tall enough to make a stuck disc tough to retrieve.

My favorite holes were 9, 11, 16 and 17. 9 was placed in the position to the right, a bit downhill and protected lightly by a few trees around the basket. I made a tee shot that put me 10' away but I clanked the putt like a chump. 11 has the most crowded fairway, so a low line with the correct angle is crucial if you want to get close to the pin. It is on a slight downhill slant most of the way, but not easy to reach with the first throw even if you don't get interference from the trees. 16 is long, and is a tough par 3, but an excellent warm up for hole 17. There are two tees on 17, and water in play near the basket. Depending on the pin, you may have to throw across the pond. I had a good drive off the long tee, but turned it into the wind on the second throw, so I was happy to stay dry, but not in good shape to make petter than par.
Cons: Overall a very nice course, maybe a little ho-hum for the advanced disc golfer. I enjoyed it, but there are other courses in and around Emporia that offer a much harder challenge, or more defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: I did not get to play the East course on this visit to the Emporia area, but will probably play the West course again when I do return to finish the other half. It has nice balance, is well marked and fun.

It has a similar feel to a lot of the older courses I have played. Not too much clutter on the fairways, and lots of room for big sweeping turns.

This was my final round of 2016, and third course of the day. I scored better here than the first two, but was still several shots over par. Opened with bogeys on the first 7 holes, but got a couple of birdies on the back nine to salvage the round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Get It or Figure It Out

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a nice park that is very well maintained. It makes use of park features very well including trees and elevation. There is a good variety of different kids of holes and most holes offer a variety of options with similar degrees fo challenge. The tee pades are really good for the most part and there are brand new baskets in the course, presumably in place for Am Worlds. Tee signs are very helpful and lead you in the right direction to the next hole. There are two lakes that come into play on this course and they are used well to increase the challenge of the course while being fair and allowing shorter throwers a way around. The mental challenge on this course is much higher than most making it more of a mental course rather than just a throw it as far as you can kind of challenge, even if some of the mental challenges are long holes. There are other things in the park for the rest of the family to do including a very nice playground. There are some pretty nice bathrooms near the playground as well.
Cons: There are times when other park users will be in the way so please be patient. There are a couple of places where there is a long walk between holes. Specifically from 13 to 14 and from 16 to 17. Some of the holes are almost too easy and the sheer number of these holes brings the rating down a half disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course and probably a much better course for beginners to play in comparison to the course on the East park of the park. There is a lot of fun and I was really impressed with the mental challenge that is this course. Park in the furthest west lot in the park. The fact that there is a nice park and nice bathrooms in the middle of the park makes a big difference. This is a course that I would really enjoy playing again and again, even with so many other good courses in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough challenge

1    3/29/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many tough holes that required some planning. The course seemed to be well kept. Baskets were also in better shape than other places as well. There is a road going through the course but it seemed to be minimal, and the size of the park kept overcrowding down to a minimum.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to navigate. There were other tee pads for an alternate course, so it was easy to get things mixed up. The flow of the holes also seemed a little rough in places. In some places there was tall grass with some kind of skinny thorns. I'm sure it was just ob, but throwing a disc in there made it a pain to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: The course overall was put together well. The town of Emporia is a disc golf mecca. Dynamic Discs is based out of there and has a good store. This summer the PDGA world ams are being hosted here and after playing that course I could see why it would be a great spot for it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shorter Half

1    3/16/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice change of pace from the East side.
I prefer the distances on this course, more than the other. This is especially true when there are still some long 500 foot holes.
Water is utilized well here too.
I feel there is more shot variety here than the other course in the park, and a more technical side.
This course was more fun for me and my buddy to play then the East side.
Cons: I prefer East's baskets to the baskets on this course.
The final hole, when set to the location on the right is almost unfair with where the hole is compared to the water.
Going from hole 13 basket to 14 pad is really confusing. The pads for 16 and 15 are much closer than 14. It also feels weird playing so close to a cemetary.
Other Thoughts: This was the last of 4 courses I played in my day in Emporia. It was great to be done. I was tired when I played this though. I am glad I saved this for last, rather than the East as West is less tiring.
If I come back to Emporia again, it will be for Peter Pan, and these 2 courses will be a nice add on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.