Emporia, KS 
Jones Park - West Share
Uploaded By: scarpfish Hole #11 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 420ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
A great test of your abilities

2-4    4/14/2017   4/15/2017
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 426  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Jones West offers a nice variety of short, moderate, and longer playing holes on this park style course. There are multiple pin placements for each holes and the tees are plenty long allowing for a proper run up. The signage is top notch providing the player with all the necessary information need. Par, layout, distance, OB, etc are described and presented on the tee signs in vibrant colors and are easy to read. The Latitude 64 baskets are yellow and are visible from many tees.
Good mix of dog leg L and R playing holes as well as good use of the rolling hills to add some elevation to this course.
This course has had a bit of a redesign so hole 16 now has the elevated basket which will add to the difficulty of your putt especially when it is windy, as it often is in Kansas.
Many of the holes have guarded, or protected pins to test your shot shaping abilities. The lines here are excellent making the thrower shape shots in order to score well. There are a couple of holes that have a bit of a low ceiling to them, holes 11 and 15 come to mind. Also there is water threat that is present on holes 5, if you go long, 6 throwing across the pond, 7 if you go too far, 17 depending on the pin placement, and 18 especially when the basket is on the backside of the pond's dam.
The flow of the course is logical and the course itself is well maintained.

Cons: There are roads that might come into play around some of the perimeter holes on this course. Players should use extra caution for sure before throwing.
Don't recall many benches or trash cans throughout the course. Litter wasn't an issue but some players might want to sit down during their rounds.
The walk from 11's basket to 12's tee was a tad lengthy as was the walk from 14's basket to 15's tee. This slows the flow of the round down a bit, but honestly there's not avoiding it. It is what it is. These cons are minor in the grand scheme of things.
Other Thoughts: This course really has something for everyone. It is a fun play and is in a very well maintained park. This course doesn't have a ton of OB but it has some to keep you on your toes. It's not as long as its sister course, Jones East, but compliments her nicely. Both of these courses are must plays if you come to Emporia. Make a day of it and play Jones East and West, Peter Pan, and if you are lucky try to get on at Emporia Country Club.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

West World

1    12/31/2016   1/5/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 2/26/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jones Park West course is the first of two 18 hole courses on site. It has concrete tees, Dynamic Discs provided the targets and tee signs. There are two pin locations at each hole, and an extra tee at hole 17. All of the equipment is in place and looking good.

There are enough trees to give each hole character of its own, and the staggered pin positions do a nice job to change the look and strategy of each hole. Fairways are all grass, and there is water in play on a couple of them. Mild changes in elevation on a few holes also.

A great course for learning, there are not tight lines or a lot of heavy rough. Several of them are fairly long, and the wind ups the difficulty a notch when blowing. Many of the evergreen trees are thick and tall enough to make a stuck disc tough to retrieve.

My favorite holes were 9, 11, 16 and 17. 9 was placed in the position to the right, a bit downhill and protected lightly by a few trees around the basket. I made a tee shot that put me 10' away but I clanked the putt like a chump. 11 has the most crowded fairway, so a low line with the correct angle is crucial if you want to get close to the pin. It is on a slight downhill slant most of the way, but not easy to reach with the first throw even if you don't get interference from the trees. 16 is long, and is a tough par 3, but an excellent warm up for hole 17. There are two tees on 17, and water in play near the basket. Depending on the pin, you may have to throw across the pond. I had a good drive off the long tee, but turned it into the wind on the second throw, so I was happy to stay dry, but not in good shape to make petter than par.
Cons: Overall a very nice course, maybe a little ho-hum for the advanced disc golfer. I enjoyed it, but there are other courses in and around Emporia that offer a much harder challenge, or more defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: I did not get to play the East course on this visit to the Emporia area, but will probably play the West course again when I do return to finish the other half. It has nice balance, is well marked and fun.

It has a similar feel to a lot of the older courses I have played. Not too much clutter on the fairways, and lots of room for big sweeping turns.

This was my final round of 2016, and third course of the day. I scored better here than the first two, but was still several shots over par. Opened with bogeys on the first 7 holes, but got a couple of birdies on the back nine to salvage the round.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Extremely enjoyable

1    9/30/2016   10/3/2016
Review By: wannabepudge
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - Baskets were top notch
- Nice mix between easy and difficult
- Very well kept
- Short and Long holes
- Trash cans every few holes (seems trivial, until you play a course where you need them and they aren't there)
- Scenic
Cons: - A few holes took a bit of walking around to find.
- (this is a bit of a stretch) Knowing which hole placement was in play wasn't always easy given the trees. This is the case for most courses I've played, but given that it was the first time I've played this course, we had to walk some of the holes before throwing.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed playing this course and wish I wasn't an hour and a half away. It seems like the different hole placements could make the course seem brand new. I highly recommend playing.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

The West Side

1    4/25/2016   8/24/2016
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 61  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Extremely well maintained
-Great baskets
-Excellent pads
-It will challenge you
-Excellent use of the terrain
-2 courses in one park
-You're in Emporia
Cons: -Water will eat your discs, it's deep
-I did not see any restrooms, but I could be mistaken
-I'm trying really hard to think of bad things and I can't
Other Thoughts: Jones West was a breath of fresh air for this Texas Discer. The elevation changes were awesome. The course wasn't unreachably long, but had some very thoughtful trees in your way at times. I took the long way on a few holes and still managed to pull a par out of somewhere.

I played here prior to GBO as my first round in Emporia. It was awesome! The people here are great. You might run into Eric McCabe since he is a local.

The course plays friendly to smaller arms as well as the bigger ones. I would definitely make a trip to play West and East!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Local knowledge plus was 1 of 5 who put west in.

5+    11/6/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: Bstoney 12332
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is fun for anyone. It's got your longer holes#4, #11, #16, #17, #18, on long setting . But you can reach all the goals on short if you have a good arm. Watch out for the trees just waiting to clip your disc . When the course was set up we were all new too the game of Disc Golf but it has always been my favorite in town plus with baskets on all the holes how could you have a bad round here . It is big enough for pros and short enough for recreation players water for danger and enough trees too put a stop to any great round . Awesome course I've played it for over 20 years I've beaten it and it's beat me and that is what I feel is a great place too play.
Cons: The walk between 13-14 and 16-17 little long but a good time to get focused on the last five holes. Oh bring your own drinks the water fountains (2) are 100 ft apart and they don't work that well
Other Thoughts: This is a great course for any level of Disc golfer you might think it's to open to easy but I can tell ya this course will put you in your place. Come to Emporia and ripp it I'll be lookin forward too seeing you all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Jones West

5+    9/21/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: redwrath
Played: 34  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Jones Park in Emporia is a great asset to the community. There are also at leat two other Jones Parks in the area with courses (Olpe and Reading, KS). This particular course, at Jones Park West, has had 36 baskets, over 18 holes, in place all summer long. The east course, in the same park, has an additional 18 holes with one basket apiece. There restrooms, water foutains, trash cans, shelter houses with electricity and grills. Even a fishing dock has been installed on one of the three ponds. There is a playground area. Shelter houses are available for reservation at a fee if you call ahead. Plenty of amenities in the park.

The course has a good mix of difficulty and with the 36 basket format, a player has generally been able to do a lot of picking and choosing difficulty ranges. Often, there are multiple lines available to a player which opens things up. Kansas courses are generally open. Jones has enough trees, ponds, and slight elevation that you will not feel you are playing in a field.
Cons: This is a large park, if you do not like walking, it may not be the best option for you. With the number of holes and baskets in the park, I can see how a person might get confused. Locals will often mix holes from the East and west courses together and play a hybrid round.
Other Thoughts: This course doesn't close until 11pm and is great for a round of night golf! Less tiring/challenging than the Jones Park East course and often more challenging than Peter Pan. I would place Jones West as a medium difficulty course in the Emporia lineup. Probably the most trafficked course in town? I'm giving the course a half disc bonus for having had 36 baskets all summer long.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Get It or Figure It Out

1    7/4/2013   7/4/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits in a nice park that is very well maintained. It makes use of park features very well including trees and elevation. There is a good variety of different kids of holes and most holes offer a variety of options with similar degrees fo challenge. The tee pades are really good for the most part and there are brand new baskets in the course, presumably in place for Am Worlds. Tee signs are very helpful and lead you in the right direction to the next hole. There are two lakes that come into play on this course and they are used well to increase the challenge of the course while being fair and allowing shorter throwers a way around. The mental challenge on this course is much higher than most making it more of a mental course rather than just a throw it as far as you can kind of challenge, even if some of the mental challenges are long holes. There are other things in the park for the rest of the family to do including a very nice playground. There are some pretty nice bathrooms near the playground as well.
Cons: There are times when other park users will be in the way so please be patient. There are a couple of places where there is a long walk between holes. Specifically from 13 to 14 and from 16 to 17. Some of the holes are almost too easy and the sheer number of these holes brings the rating down a half disc.
Other Thoughts: This is a really fun course and probably a much better course for beginners to play in comparison to the course on the East park of the park. There is a lot of fun and I was really impressed with the mental challenge that is this course. Park in the furthest west lot in the park. The fact that there is a nice park and nice bathrooms in the middle of the park makes a big difference. This is a course that I would really enjoy playing again and again, even with so many other good courses in town.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tough challenge

1    3/29/2013   5/24/2013
Review By: DTB501
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Many tough holes that required some planning. The course seemed to be well kept. Baskets were also in better shape than other places as well. There is a road going through the course but it seemed to be minimal, and the size of the park kept overcrowding down to a minimum.
Cons: Some of the holes were difficult to navigate. There were other tee pads for an alternate course, so it was easy to get things mixed up. The flow of the holes also seemed a little rough in places. In some places there was tall grass with some kind of skinny thorns. I'm sure it was just ob, but throwing a disc in there made it a pain to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: The course overall was put together well. The town of Emporia is a disc golf mecca. Dynamic Discs is based out of there and has a good store. This summer the PDGA world ams are being hosted here and after playing that course I could see why it would be a great spot for it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Shorter Half

1    3/16/2013   3/16/2013
Review By: jayhawker737
Played: 52  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 8.9 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This is a nice change of pace from the East side.
I prefer the distances on this course, more than the other. This is especially true when there are still some long 500 foot holes.
Water is utilized well here too.
I feel there is more shot variety here than the other course in the park, and a more technical side.
This course was more fun for me and my buddy to play then the East side.
Cons: I prefer East's baskets to the baskets on this course.
The final hole, when set to the location on the right is almost unfair with where the hole is compared to the water.
Going from hole 13 basket to 14 pad is really confusing. The pads for 16 and 15 are much closer than 14. It also feels weird playing so close to a cemetary.
Other Thoughts: This was the last of 4 courses I played in my day in Emporia. It was great to be done. I was tired when I played this though. I am glad I saved this for last, rather than the East as West is less tiring.
If I come back to Emporia again, it will be for Peter Pan, and these 2 courses will be a nice add on.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My Local Course

1    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: bigboyjones
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: One of the biggest pros is that the course is well maintained and mowed so tall grass is not much of a problem. On most of the holes they have extended the tee pad about a foot which gives the player more room to get up to speed. They have made it easier to reach hole 18 from hole 17.
Cons: There are a few dead trees that need to be removed. Baskets have chains that have become detatched from the ring that make them fly all over the place. Because of geese you may step into poo some of the time.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great course. The holes all have two settings so you gain a little variety. I highly recommend this course.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.