Sparta, WI 
Justin Trails - Classic DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 155ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
This is What Pay to Play Should Look Like

5+    8/25/2019   12/21/2019
Review By: XC_Eddy
Played: 30  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My family stayed at the Justin Trails B&B for a few days in August 2019. We stayed in one of the farmhouse rooms. Beautiful property, great facilities, all you could ever ask for in amenities. Life doesn't get much better than waking up, eating a gourmet breakfast, and playing a round on a well manicured and maintained course. The owners are lovely people.

-Practice basket by the clubhouse
-Helpful map provided at clubhouse
-Loner discs available.
-Good culture of returning lost discs
-Nice concrete Teepads
-Open mowed fairways. Course needs to be mowed constantly, and it is.
-Elevation present and used. Uphill shots, downhill shots, valley shots.
-Tee signs exist. There are some next tee signs where applicable.
-2 sets of tees is always a plus. Reds are great for new players. I mostly played whites and was happy. Pins are reachable from both tees for experienced players.
Cons: -Some of the rough is terribly rough. I got all torn up trying to retrieve a throwing putter on 18. Only went about 50 feet deep of the basket and my disc was nearly impossible to get. Blackberry bushes, stinging nettle, and other thick thorny bushes were all tangled up together only about 10 feet deep of the pin. It's also a downhill blind shot, so going deep into the junk is very easy. I know that the course owners let the goats eats the mess back there sometimes. It's likely a constant battle to keep the tangly mess in the rough under control. Large property is hard to maintain, so it's understandable that not every patch of rough is under control at any given time. BUT being a pay to play course, I'm willing to hold Justin Trails to a higher standard on maintenance. Overall, they do a very good job maintaining the large property, especially the fairways. The rough is tougher to keep up with. It is worth noting that I was there in August: Peak overgrowth season. They did host a tournament a few weeks after my visit, so I imagine a lot of it was cleaned up for their big annual event.

-The Classic Course does not have a ton of distance. No par 4's or 5's. Only one hole over 400.

-Tee signs could be more clear. I heard them talking about new tee signs. They may be in by the time I've gotten around to writing my review.

-The 2 courses on the property are mostly separate, but the first time I played the classic course I accidentally ended up on Big Brother at about hole 12. Definitely user error, but I could see others making the same mistake.
Other Thoughts: -You can kind of tell the course was designed in 1998 based on the hole distances. That being said, this course is SUPER FUN. Maybe my favorite par 54 course.

-If playing in the morning, prepare for the grass to be dewy and wet.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great hidden gem

1    11/24/2018   11/24/2018
Review By: faasda01
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Requires multiple shot types
Good mix of distances for par-3 only course
A couple ace-able holes
Beautiful scenery
Rewards well executed shots
Cons: A bit hilly if you arent prepared for it
Some of the rough is very wooded and tough to get out of
Not the best tee-markers
Pay to play course
Other Thoughts: This course is close to family so I checked it out over thanksgiving weekend. The owners are great and friendly the course is very well maintained although it was rainy when I was there so things were a bit muddy. This is a fantastic course for those who arent expert golfers or are warming up for the Big Brother course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/1/2017   3/1/2018
Review By: cbyroni
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 22.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Classic Course at Justin Trails is the type of course you can play everyday, alone or with a group. It is a straightforward par 54, and all the holes are "deuceable."
A 1000-rated round is generally around -8 (48).
The course offers excellent shot variety, with uphill, downhill and flat holes. An experienced player will be required to throw drivers, midranges and putters for their tee shots.
Even with the elevation changes, this course is cart friendly.
Other Thoughts: The property itself is absolutely gorgeous and is maintained beautifully.
The campsites provided in the valley around the hole 7, 8, 9, turn is a secluded and spacious. There are also cabins available to rent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Kinda boring

2-4    8/11/2015   2/11/2018
Review By: deadbody
Played: 152  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 16.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice course. Nice tees and pads. Interesting layouts. Shot variety.

Elevation and tunnels. Open bombers and short shots.

Very well maintained.
Cons: Kinda boring. Especially after big brother.

It's a nice course but nothing really special.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I love a good Meat Loaf

5+    5/1/2017   2/1/2018
Review By: Martin Dewgarita
Played: 1383  Reviewed: 95  Exp: 11 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun warm up course for Big Brother - or plenty of fun on its own with a decent mix of wooded and open shots, mix of elevation, and some fun water shots.

Unique Amenities that you might not find at other courses -
Camping or lodging on site.
Breakfast available in the morning.
Barn for hosting events or getting out of the rain.
Cons: Not a lot of variety of shot shapes, you're either looking at open with elevation, right to left, or tunnel shots.

Not a lot of variety in distance.

A little rough around the edges - some places it can be a pain to venture off the fairways.

Other Thoughts: Maybe not a destination course on its own, but pair it with big brother, and you have 36 holes worth traveling for, make a weekend of it, go for an event, make sure you stop by and play both courses if you ever have the opportunity.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Classic course

5+    12/1/2017   1/23/2018
Review By: ChuckHeiam
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: It has elevation, side slopes, a drop shot over a pond, open and wooded holes, in general a fun mix but still friendly to newer players too.
Cons: Can't think of any unless all you want to do is throw long. The rough has really been cleaned up other than blackberries on one hole that they pick for canning in the fall.
Other Thoughts: This is just a plain fun all around course that is a great warm up to play their Big Brother course or a as a stand alone round since it offers you a little bit of everything. It is also fun to play glow rounds on this course. On site camping with free firewood and hot showers and a second more challenging course on the property make it a fun place to stay. If you aren't into roughing it they are also a Bed and Breakfast.

 Driftless Area Epic for DG

1    9/18/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: Dr.Smooth
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Their is a lot you could write about on this course review. This area of Wisconsin is the driftless area. Meaning extremely hilly with deep valleys. The lay of the land beckons one for autumn drives, hiking and yes- a great dg experience.
When you put a great course on a great piece of land you get an Utopian like setting. An epic disc golf experience awaits.
The classic course offers a basic pitch and putt type layout that utilizes the bottom of a valley here on the farm. So much fun to play!
Big Brother course works its way up a ridge. The extra work of elevation increase is rewarded with amazing views. Best views of any course I have played in the Midwest. Twenty plus years of playing random courses so don't take that statement lightly.
Big Brother will challenge you with long holes. Major elevation changes and greens that can be unforgiving.
Cons: Very little. I haven't given a course a 5 rating yet. Well, I have realized every course even the great ones will have flaws.

The only flaw here might be if a player has preference leaning towards tight and wooded. The course leans more towards open but defined fairways.
Other Thoughts: The course is located on a farm slash bed and breakfast. Lodging options exist from economical to lavish.

This is also a place you can take your non disc golfing friends along for the epic views, hiking, etc.

A must play for anyone in the Midwest!!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 simply the best

1    6/25/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 3.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played maybe a dozen courses in Wisconsin. My home course is Estabrook in Milwaukee. This is the best. This course is groomed (they planted hostas at the base of some of the baskets) and the pictures (I didn't take any) do NOT do it justice. A few of the baskets are down parts of a Cross Country trail which is maintained even in June. Directions (once you find the first tee) are clear and accurate (everyone says this) including the "mando" signs to keep you honest. Water and wind are the obstacles other than the layout which is extreme, and extremely well thought out.
Have spotters, on a couple of the narrower fairways.
Cons: Not near anything . . . . closest town is Sparta.
Where long pants as the rough in the woods is a tough go (raspberries and nettles) . . . . just don't go there.
Other Thoughts: Go out of your way to play this one . . . . .
The "resort" rests on an ancient farm, now fully rennovated and beautiful . . . . the people there are very very nice and there is a great bar two miles away.
We only played the "classic" course . . . twice . . . . there is a second course which is, I hear, a real challenge, not for the feint of heart.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun and Beginner Friendly

1    12/26/2016   1/26/2017
Review By: recca68592
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, multiple pin placements, and definitely beginner friendly! This course has a decent mix of open and wooded holes with amazing views of the valley.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes have fairly rough roughs but other than that, the only thing I would change is the details of the hole signs. They are good enough, but could be better on both courses on the property.
Other Thoughts: This course is good to play year around, but in the winter it is best to play Big Brother as a majority of the Classic fairways are groomed for cross country skiing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nice appetizer for the big course...

1    10/10/2016   10/14/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 680  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Classic is the shorter course on the Justin Trails property. This is disc golf/bed and breakfast exclusive property. The course has been redesigned since the pictures were uploaded here. Many of the holes are the same, but not all.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. These are all good to go. Long, wide and grippy. No problems whatsoever.

Mach 3 baskets...the older type. They still perform well, and are mounted well. Several spots with hillside baskets, so lots and lots of rollaway opportunities. From what we could tell, there were dual pin placements on several holes.

Once you figure out where hole 1 is, navigation is pretty simple. The signs are very crude, just hole number and distance, but nearly all baskets are visible from the tee.

Classic is not nearly the butt kicker that Big Brother is. There is a nice mix of open and hilly, and tight wooded lines. Nearly every shot has some sort of elevation involved, as well.

This isn't the longest course around, but it has plenty of distance for the amateur player. A couple spots to let it fly, but plenty of spots that require smart decision making as well. Even most of the short holes have some danger involved on errant shots.

Cart friendly, for the most part. There's a few hills that a bit sketchy, but they're maneuverable for the most part.
Cons: There aren't really a lot of cons for this course, outside of it not being super difficult. There is some openness to it in a lot of spots.

The wayward tee pads from the original design can throw you off a bit.

Searching for discs in corn fields...meh.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic partner/warm-up course for Big Brother. I can also see this being a super fun glow course if you're camping/bunking on site.

On its own, due to location, this isn't a course I'd drive long distances for. With its partner in crime, however, it makes for a true destination. At some point, I'll be camping, carousing, and groovin' for a weekend here...and you probably should, too.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.