Sparta, WI 
Justin Trails - Classic DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 165ft.   3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
simply the best

1    6/25/2017   6/26/2017
Review By: JLHJLH
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 0.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I've played maybe a dozen courses in Wisconsin. My home course is Estabrook in Milwaukee. This is the best. This course is groomed (they planted hostas at the base of some of the baskets) and the pictures (I didn't take any) do NOT do it justice. A few of the baskets are down parts of a Cross Country trail which is maintained even in June. Directions (once you find the first tee) are clear and accurate (everyone says this) including the "mando" signs to keep you honest. Water and wind are the obstacles other than the layout which is extreme, and extremely well thought out.
Have spotters, on a couple of the narrower fairways.
Cons: Not near anything . . . . closest town is Sparta.
Where long pants as the rough in the woods is a tough go (raspberries and nettles) . . . . just don't go there.
Other Thoughts: Go out of your way to play this one . . . . .
The "resort" rests on an ancient farm, now fully rennovated and beautiful . . . . the people there are very very nice and there is a great bar two miles away.
We only played the "classic" course . . . twice . . . . there is a second course which is, I hear, a real challenge, not for the feint of heart.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun and Beginner Friendly

1    12/26/2016   1/26/2017
Review By: recca68592
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained, multiple pin placements, and definitely beginner friendly! This course has a decent mix of open and wooded holes with amazing views of the valley.
Cons: Some of the wooded holes have fairly rough roughs but other than that, the only thing I would change is the details of the hole signs. They are good enough, but could be better on both courses on the property.
Other Thoughts: This course is good to play year around, but in the winter it is best to play Big Brother as a majority of the Classic fairways are groomed for cross country skiing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice appetizer for the big course...

1    10/10/2016   10/14/2016
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 320  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Classic is the shorter course on the Justin Trails property. This is disc golf/bed and breakfast exclusive property. The course has been redesigned since the pictures were uploaded here. Many of the holes are the same, but not all.

Concrete tee pads, one per hole. These are all good to go. Long, wide and grippy. No problems whatsoever.

Mach 3 baskets...the older type. They still perform well, and are mounted well. Several spots with hillside baskets, so lots and lots of rollaway opportunities. From what we could tell, there were dual pin placements on several holes.

Once you figure out where hole 1 is, navigation is pretty simple. The signs are very crude, just hole number and distance, but nearly all baskets are visible from the tee.

Classic is not nearly the butt kicker that Big Brother is. There is a nice mix of open and hilly, and tight wooded lines. Nearly every shot has some sort of elevation involved, as well.

This isn't the longest course around, but it has plenty of distance for the amateur player. A couple spots to let it fly, but plenty of spots that require smart decision making as well. Even most of the short holes have some danger involved on errant shots.

Cart friendly, for the most part. There's a few hills that a bit sketchy, but they're maneuverable for the most part.
Cons: There aren't really a lot of cons for this course, outside of it not being super difficult. There is some openness to it in a lot of spots.

The wayward tee pads from the original design can throw you off a bit.

Searching for discs in corn fields...meh.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic partner/warm-up course for Big Brother. I can also see this being a super fun glow course if you're camping/bunking on site.

On its own, due to location, this isn't a course I'd drive long distances for. With its partner in crime, however, it makes for a true destination. At some point, I'll be camping, carousing, and groovin' for a weekend here...and you probably should, too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

My Favorite Tournament Experience

2-4    9/15/2007   1/21/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 24 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Justin Trails is a course that is fairly open in many parts, owing to the farmland it is situated on, but offers startling and breathtaking elevation changes (you can see for miles). Once you graduate from the first few open holes, you will face a variety of tunnel shots that are complicated by severe slope in both R to L and L to R orientations. There is a pond to navigate from an elevated tee, which makes the disc choice difficult for determining distance, not to mention that the pin is plopped only 15 feet past the water.

The slope is what makes the course so fascinating in most cases, a mere consequence of the elevation.
Cons: While many courses tend to challenge the right handed player by creating a lot of anhyzers, this course is far more righty friendly than most and was a bigger challenge to the left handed player.

That's not really a con, but I AM left handed!
Other Thoughts: It's one of the best places because this old soybean farm--the older couple who owns the place spotted in the soybean field on the 5th hole and encouraged me to pick some to eat throughout my second round--is also a bed and breakfast. They now have a second course that is supposed to be far more challenging (called Big Brother).

I can't think of a better way to spend a weekend than to stay with your loved one and play disc golf.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Lovely Place to Play & Stay

2-4    8/28/2015   9/10/2015
Review By: tonyroberts
Played: 80  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Justin Trails Classic is a beautiful, well kept course in a delightful setting -- the rolling hills of a former dairy farm turned B&B and destination wedding venue. The owners are friendly and helpful, and they work hard to maintain a first-class operation.

The course is mowed regularly and includes, concrete tees, trash receptacles, good signage, and ample restrooms along the way. The "Lodge," just off the parking area, offers maps and course information and makes snacks and beverages available.

The course includes a mix of open and wooded holes, has plenty of elevation to contend with, and a pond to throw over.
Cons: A minor flaw is that the course can seem a little repetitive. For example, after starting with four open, hilly holes, you have three open flat holes, then three holes with tight-wooded fairways.

A few of the holes are bordered by cropland, which can make finding errant throws a challenge. However, in most cases there's plenty of room to stay out of trouble with a reasonable throw.

The course is listed as having a set of short tees, and the course signage shows them, but they are not readily apparent. I was told they were marked by flush-to-the-ground landscape timbers, but I didn't see many of these along the way. I was happy playing from the concrete long tees as I suspect most would be. This doesn't seem to be the course where you'd take new players to introduce them to the game.
Other Thoughts: Though this course was challenging for me, some more advanced players might consider it tame and/or short. If so, they have the option to play Justin Trails Big Brother just across the valley where they can really air things out.

Although I played for free while staying as a guest at the B&B (which I highly recommend), the $5 fee for use of the course by non-guests would be well worth it. It's a pleasure to play such a well cared for course in such a peaceful setting.



2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course with great scenery

5+    5/22/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: Bogie Bee
Played: 8  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views, variety of looks, elevation changes.
Cons: Somewhat easy.
Other Thoughts: Given the land they have to work with, this course was very well constructed. Considering the lack of good courses in the area, this is the best course nearby. I play this course every time I'm in the area and love it.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 meh

1    9/5/2014   9/5/2014
Review By: blazerico
Played: 246  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 12.2 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Course is on a great piece of land and the owners are super friendly and helpful. since there is a b&b on-site, there are really good amenities in the "clubhouse". the classic course is very well maintained and is easy to follow.
Cons: tunnel shots. one or two or maybe even three is cool on a course, but there were, I think, six of them here. I'm sure this was a great course when it was put in the ground, but it is really outdated and not much of a challenge now.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 fun casual course

1    5/28/2014   5/30/2014
Review By: IHearChains
Played: 137  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is another course onsite that provides the big par 4 and par 5 golf, and it's a destination course. This course is more about par 3 birdie golf. Almost every hole can be parked by an advanced-level or intermediate-level player. Still requires a few throws over 300 ft. There are some interesting greens built up on manicured grassy knobs or slopes, leading to rollaway potential. A lot of tunnel shots along old road, mostly straight, a few slightly right or left finishing. One throw over a small pond, but it's a midrange shot, downhill and wide open. This hole would be way better if the tee were moved way back and up on the ridge to the left (facing from tee to basket). Hole 14 was a downhill tunnel shot that opened up at the end, fun shot.
Cons: The course is definitely unbalanced and favoring right-hand backhand. I usually throw about 30% forehand from the tee on a typical balanced course, and I only had one hole that called for a forehand on this course. It isn't a great challenge to play, but it still has a fun factor. I wouldn't make the trip from out of town for this course alone, but it's definitely a fun casual course. Play it if you're in the area. We had fun playing it after getting fatigued from challenging the bigger course onsite. But if this were the only course onsite it would've been disappointing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Outstanding

1    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: Blair
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of hills, close in wooded fairways, and open power shots. ( a novice myself, but still fun to just let the disc rip) Family owned and operated (Extremely nice people) and they take alot of time and pride in both of their courses. Very quiet countryside with no traffic. oh and Lama's, a new standard for every disc golf course.
Cons: Have you ever seen the picture of "the impossible stairs" keeps going up without raising elevation? LOL, somehow this course seems to accomplish that.. Maybe it was the rum and beer..
Other Thoughts: I believe they have an Open Tournament in Sep. I strongly recommend checking it out, you wont be sorry... Unless you find yourself fishing a disc out of the pond.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Intense Course

2-4    4/22/2014   4/30/2014
Review By: M_Bortz
Played: 76  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I think this is one of the greatest courses here in the La Crosse Area. This course will challenge you on all levels.

Holes are very well designed, which make for some interesting shots, through the trees and especially over water (hole 11 I think).

Amazing views and rolling hills. Just a beautiful place to play!


Cons: WIND!
Since it's located in a valley, it's terribly windy. Both times I've played there it's always a huge factor in how my scorecard turns out and how I throw a disc.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a beginner course!!!

Took me about an hour and fifteen minutes to play alone.

Lots of hiking involved.

Has a nice shop providing scorecard/maps. Food and refreshments. They have discs for purchase and even loaner discs to borrow.

Also has hiking and XC trails here throughout the farms property.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.