Layout Extinct

Quitman, MS 
Towering Pines DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 200ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Towering Pines (lots and lots of Pines)

5+    6/20/2019   6/21/2019
Review By: aclay
Played: 262  Reviewed: 165  Exp: 38.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2020
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Elevation is well used, and the walk through the woods is pleasant. All of the holes are in the woods, so you have shade you will appreciate in the summer. Just about every hole can be birdied (longest hole is 240 feet with six holes under 200 feet), but bogey or worse is also in play. The risk/reward factor is high. Park office has cheap discs for sale but limited variety. Never crowded. In dozens of times on the course, I have only once seen another group playing. Restrooms and snack bar on site. Other things to do like water area for kids, fishing etc. make it good for a family trip. Two pavilions (near 1 tee/6 basket and 9 basket) offer a place to sit. There is a water spigot near No. 1.
Cons: It doesn't appear that much is done to maintain the course. Baskets still catch well. The underbrush off of the fairways is thick, but you can see the ground, so losing a disc isn't likely. However, several fairways, already tight, have vines hanging 3-4 feet off the ground. It appears they were cut so that they no longer grow out of the ground, but they are so tangled with the trees above that you can't pull them down. Navigation isn't the best, and there is nothing to direct you to the next tee. Tee signs only have the hole number, and several signs are either missing or leaning against a nearby tree. Some of the white stones in the ground to mark the tee box are missing.
Other Thoughts: If you can hit your lines, you can score well here except for No. 1. That hole is definitely throw-it-and-hope. All of the other holes have fair (if tight) lines. Long throwers will be frustrated. A recent controlled burn helped clear some underbrush (especially on No. 2), but there is more that could/should be done.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pray For Some Tree Love

1    4/17/2019   5/31/2019
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 582  Reviewed: 570  Exp: 9.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (1.854 Rating) An extreme technical course with no chances to grip and rip it.
- TREES - The highlight of my stop was the trees. Yes the pines were no doubt towering for a Mississippi course. A monster pine 5 feet in diameter is behind (6). A monster scraggly genetic defect pine takes up the backdrop view on (9). My only issue here is that there usage was regulated to backstop duty.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In addition to the trees, the overall beauty is way up there. I personally rated the course 80 percentile. Every shot is a heavily wooded with light elevation movement.
- ACEABILITY - Chain music is going to be heard here slightly more often than normal. Hole (7) is a 173 foot uphill putter run. Hole (5) is a 135 foot tree love kick away from an ace.
- FACILITES - Like many state park courses, good facilities. There's a general store, playgrounds, cabins, camping, restrooms, showers, boating, fishing, hiking trails, etc, etc. So a good destination if disc golf is not the drawing factor, but rather, disc golf is the bonus feature.
- SHOT SHAPING - Magicians Pen and Teller would struggle to hit these lines and then you'd here Pen mutter expletives.
- QUICK PLAY - I was in and out as a solo in 25 minutes.

Cons: The course needs an overhaul.
- MAINTENANCE - Large branches in several fairways and the overall upkeep is lacking. The park probably hasn't even invested a dollar into the course in several years.
- UNREALISTIC LINES - Some of the tightest lines I've ever seen. Hole (1s) best lane is less than 3 feet wide, a 100 feet down fairway. That's flawed in my opinion. Hole (3) is a poke and hope shot for the last fifty feet. Hole (8) is a narrow subtle double move line with no realistic possibility to get it close. The other six holes I'd label as heavily wooded, with 4 to 12 foot wide lanes.
- MISSED OPPORTUNITIES - The land looks good enough to produce an epic beast. Monster trees, heavy woods, substantial moving elevation and water. Only the heavy woods were used.
- LOCATION - In the middle of nowhere.
- PAY TO PLAY - I paid $4 for my park entrance fee. Seniors is $3. Too steep for this course if this is a players only reason to be here.
- NAVIGATION - Sub-par. No course map and tees are only marked with a simple numbered sign, of which several are falling apart. I walked around aimlessly once between (2) and (3), and also questioned a few other transitions. A few holes have intuitive transitions. The course could really benefit by adding navigational markers.
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor navigation, the basics and extras are the bare minimum to produce a course. The baskets are older DISCatchers that still work great. The tees are bad. with uneven natural ground, protruding roots and 2 painted stones for a tee edge. There are also a couple shelters located at tee (6) and at the finish of the course. That's it.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Tight lines, but so short that I never reached back for full power on any tee shot. I finished 2 down over 9 holes as an Intermediate with one bogey. I did use a dialed back driver on a couple holes as the sweeping nature on these short shots needed significant movement.
- UNIQUENESS - All short, heavily wooded technical shots. 20 feet in elevation change on 4 or 5 holes was nice. Holes cut mostly to the left, but hole (9) cuts right.

Other Thoughts: When the best aspect of a course are the trees you know something is up. I enjoyed it for what it was, a short highly technical course. No need for those outside an hour away to check this course out unless they are a course bagger like me.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 First Impressions

1    6/24/2014   6/29/2014
Review By: Geek13
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Close to parking.
-Sells a few discs
-Can rent discs
-Plenty of shade
-Short holes for weaker arms/newer players
-Trees cut down wind
Cons: -Some tees are hard to find as the markers have been broken and kicked around.
-Markers are small and can be obscured by leaf litter
-Short holes for experienced players
-9 holes only
Other Thoughts: This course is very much like the course I learned to play on, Wall Doxey SP. Lots of trees and hills. The risk it seems is just throwing a disc because of all the trees but reward comes into play for a well aimed throw. There are no wide open shots here. I will say there does seem to be a lack of "options" when picking a path to throw but that didn't diminish the fun for me. Good course to play 2 rounds of 9. Nice to stop by before or after Archusa Water Park course. It isn't a pro course but it does alright for a 9 hole course that isn't the main attraction of the park. Lots of trees and shade so bring your bug spray.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Towering Pines DGC

2-4    6/28/2013   6/28/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 20.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/2/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The course is laid out well enough that you shouldn't have any major navigation issues (A.K.A. - flows well)
-Elevation comes into play on every hole
-Very tight and technical, which helps make up for the short holes.
-All 9 holes are in the woods = shade & little to no wind
-The DISCatcher baskets are old but in good shape
-Parking next to Hole #1
-Restrooms in the lodge
Cons: -No Trashcans
-No Benches
-Natural Tees
-Several tee signs are broken (they are all there though
-Little risk/reward, none of the holes have alternate throwing lanes.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun little course, where the real challenge is threading your disc through the abundant trees on every hole. There may be some confusion on where the tee is on #3 but otherwise all of the holes were easy enough to locate. The baskets are old but in decent condition.
I wouldn't recommend making a trip for this course alone, but if you're playing Highland Park in Meridian it may be worth the trip (30 mins.). If you're playing Archusa Water Park, I would highly recommend stopping by.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2012   6/18/2012
Review By: jtblount2
Played: 71  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Not crowded at all
Not too hot since it is completely in the woods
Cons: Grass tees
very poorly marked, had to look for some holes
Cant see most baskets from tee
Way too many trees
Other Thoughts: This is probably the worst course I have ever played on. It is really just some trails in the woods. The only way I would play this course is if you were already there for some reason and needed something to do. Definitely not worth $3 dollars

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Clarco

5+    7/23/2007   7/23/2007
Review By: magictenor1
Played: 284  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 22.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/1/2014
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice terrain with many hills. Just about every hole can be birdied, but bogey or worse is also in play. Classic risk/reward. Park office has cheap discs for sale but limited variety. Never crowded.Restrooms and snack bar on site. Other things to do like water area for kids, fishing etc. good for a family trip.
Cons: Not well maintained. There were 2 holes where trees had fallen and not been removed. Only 9 holes which could be a con for some.
Other Thoughts: Very short,but with narrow fairways and thick trees and brush. Need precision throws to score well. Long throwers may be frustrated here. Not that good for beginners even though the holes are short because it is easy to get into heavy undergrowth. You really wouldn't want to clear it out because the course would be defenseless.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.