Atlantic Beach, FL 
Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Boyer Hole #3
3 / 140ft.   3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
And that's why God invented the machete

1    9/28/2019   9/28/2019
Review By: paul2432
Played: 107  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 40.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I wanted to play a quick 9 and for the most part this course offers that. Each tee has two sets of concrete and a useful tee sign showing that the pin could either be in position A or position B. ( in reality - if the basket was on the left or right side of the fairway.) The fairways were narrow but each gave you fair shot from tee to green. And if you wanted to play 18 holes, you simply threw from the second set of tees your second time around.
Cons: Remember in the movie "Apocalypse Now" when the chef was looking for mangos in the deep, deep jungle and from out of nowhere a tiger jumps from out of nowhere and scared the guy half to death? Well, if your shot goes off of the fairway, you're not going to come across a tiger, but the tropical brush and undergrowth are so thick, a machete would be needed if you went way off line. The undergrowth did make you feel like you were in the deep jungle at certain points.
You can't see any of the baskets from the tees, so each tee shot is a blind shot until you walk down the fairway to see which position the basket is in. Each hole is basically the same length and you end up putting on 12-year-old Innova baskets with slowly corroding chains that aren't getting any better being so close to the Atlantic Ocean air.
Getting answers out of the gate attendant where the course was brutal. After about 6 questions, he was finally able to give me decent directions to find course. And the course was only marked by one small sign. I could still be there if not for that.
Disc golf is definitely an afterthought at this park.
Other Thoughts: The park itself is amazing beautiful with an abundance of breathtaking scenery and wildlife. It was $5 to get into the park, and seeing the park was worth that. If that wasn't the case, I'd want my $5 back. It's an ok course to throw some discs and putt to at some fairly weathered baskets. Beyond that, not much to offer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Picnic time

1    3/8/2014   8/8/2015
Review By: PumaPaws
Played: 28  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mostly shaded
Small but usable tee boxes
Beach and lake nearby
Enjoyable for a DG/Picnic event
Need to mix up the shots, some technical challenge
Cons: Fee to get into the park
short course
lots of trees down and stumps to be careful of
Only 9 holes
Nothing on the course to draw you back to play again.
Other Thoughts: If you come just to play disc golf, go elsewhere.
If you want to have a nice pleasant park, with swimming and picnic areas and have a fun game of disc golf, then this course will work.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tight Placement Course

1    5/25/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: Tom Caldwell
Played: 53  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 41.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2018
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Enjoyable tight course in a Florida tropical setting just a walk to the beach and a lake visible right nearby.All holes are well shaded. Good use of the terrain with a nice mix of lefty straight and right shots. Somewhat challenging with several blind shots. Nice course for a recreational round without the need for very long throws.
Cons: The only cons I could find were spider webs and some writing with a sharpie on one of the baskets. It was also hard to find hole 1 but it is right there through a path where the sign is and a bulletin board. After that it was not so bad once you figure out the other 9 holes utilize some of the other baskets and are tees placed further back or in different areas.This is a different type of course in that it is in a tight wooded setting. Nothing wrong with that. Nobody wants all courses to be the same. Some may not like having to pay the $5 entrance fee but this is a large recreational park with beach access.
Other Thoughts: After reading some of the reviews I was expecting a shabby course that was run down and "unplayable". I like to think that most if not all disc golf courses are fun and enjoyable whatever the circumstances, so I was willing to give it a try. If it's that bad why not see if your game is up for it? Well I'm glad I did! Hole 1 is through a short path right where the bulletin board and disc golf sign is. This course is fun because it challenges your accuracy in a tight very wooded setting. A few holes off the tee pad are straight 250 to 275 ft. shots that require you to throw arrow straight down a trail that doesn't leave much room for error with the canopy of trees on both sides which I found to be fun and rewarding when you are able to "place" the disc in putting range. And your disc is still quite easy to find if you do throw an errant shot. Mostly using a midrange disc (Roc) and approach disc or putter it was challenging to navigate your way down tight fairways using a nice mix of straight challenging lefty and fun righty shots. After the first nine holes the course gets even more challenging and even though I only managed a -3 under I thought I played ok for the first time here. Some shots are downhill some slightly uphill and others take more finese with s shaped fairways into interesting pin placements which I saw 2 placements on each hole which were quite different from one another. All in all I have to say if you get a chance to play this course do so because besides the shorter game technical skill you need to play here the layout and tropical setting make for quite a different course than most you are likely to play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Definately Gone

2-4    7/19/2014   8/14/2014
Review By: FlickMobster
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: In a great setting and a beach across the way.
Cons: Definitely gone down hill! They park refuse to tend to it because it is not there for them to manage.

The people that installed it do not keep up with it any more and it is growing brush all over, so good luck. Hardly ever see anyone out there playing and that could have a lot to do with why.
Other Thoughts: Would be nice if it were cleaned up, Shorter than average holes, definitely ace worthy on a lot of them.

Good Luck!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Bordline Playable

1    9/14/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Cons: So this is supposed to be a tight, technical course. It may have once been. It is not now. It is tight, in the sense that the fairways are wide enough for people to walk down them single file, but its not technical. The "obstacles" or "rough" can be thrown over. Nothing inhibits your throws. The only thing that matters is where you land. And besides that foot-and-a-half wide fairway, the only places to land are thick, dangerous rough and rusty baskets. Again, if you do land in the rough, and manage to find your disc before being attacked by the various things that lurk there, (signs warn of gators and feral cats) your shot is not impacted at all by your previous poor shot.

I guess they meant it to be a course where the landing spot is more important than the path of the disc, but what once may have been landing spots are overgrown. That type of course also is dependent on knowing where to throw, and here, every throw is blind.

It's just not a course worth going too. It's nice that there is a course essentially at the beach, but there are two real courses within fifteen miles. I'm guessing, based on the pictures, that this course has grown to its present state, and that it might have been a much better course at one point. Maybe it could be again, but time would be better spent starting from scratch somewhere else.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tight, shortish and fun

1    1/12/2013   2/5/2013
Review By: Rossome
Played: 222  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tucked away in a wooded section of a natural park in north Florida. Being right on the coast, there is constant wind, but this course through the woods offers protection for a challenging round of shaped shots. Reminds me of some of the wooded courses in the Northwest, but instead of ferns you have palmettos covering the ground. Fairly well marked out and intuitive to follow. Adequate tee pads, and signage. Blue tees play longer and add to the challenge.
Cons: Keep and eye on your discs as they can be hard to find once you hit trees. Having a spotter on several holes can really help. A little tricky to find the first hole, but ok once you get going. Several blind shots (pro and con) with dense undergrowth.
Other Thoughts: If you have time for one or two courses in the Jacksonville area I would recommend either Ronnie Van Zant or Ed Austin park over this one. However, it can get windy and this course was well protected. I was fun playing a wooded course in Florida with its variety of flora compared to the pacific northwest.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 THE SPIDERS!!!!

1    8/10/2011   9/25/2011
Review By: Jim West
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.4 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Secluded 9 hole course with some technically challenging holes, some blind tee offs and with a decent amount of challenges from the surrounding forest.
Cons: The holes were hard to find sometimes #2 is on a Handicapped parking space. The #8 pad I NEVER found and quit after 20 minutes. There are banana spiders up above and be careful of the snakes laying under the saw tooth pimento leaves on the ground. If you throw your disc off course be prepared to fight the Spears, Spiders, Thorns and Snakes! The lay out can be down right confusing at times and I had to go to see the basket and to check the number to make sure what I was throwing at. The signs at each tee off pad were confusing in that they state there are multiple NONEXISTENT secondary baskets to throw at. There were downed trees and signs of very little maintenance on the course.If there was an association looking after this it would get more care I think.
Other Thoughts: After paying 3 Dollars to play I felt ripped off. The course has Uber potential to be even a 9 hole course that would be great to play while on vacation or even as a break from the norm course in Florida. This course was my FIRST stop in Florida and was massively disappointing. Go to Ed Austin Park if you are near by its only a little further away and is a delight.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/29/2011   6/1/2011
Review By: StPaulie
Played: 113  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great park right next to the beach with abut everything you could ask for. The course is fairly short but plenty of technical challenge. The space given to this course is relatively small but well thought out and designed. There are only nine baskets but double tees on each hole. Both the
"A" and the "B" tees have signs, this was a nice touch. The change was enough to keep my
interest for all 18 holes. There are also multiple pin positions for each hole. You definitely know you are in Florida with the palm trees and other tropical foliage. There are definite lines on each hole most are pretty tight and will require accuracy if not much power. The tees were 2 X 2 cement blocks but played well. The baskets were in good shape. Very fun course.
Cons: There were quite a few spiders and webs to dodge, however if you stay alert they were not a problem. A few next tee signs would have been helpful since I didn't have a map.
Other Thoughts: What other place can you get in a round of disc golf and walk on the beach and camp all at the same place? There is a newly fallen tree across hole 6 fairway. Adds challenge but I thought it added interest too. I thought the "handicap"
entrance at hole 2 tee box was humorous. Don't know how a truly handicapped person could navigate the rest of the course. I will return to play again next time I am in Jacksonville.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Fun course in the woods

1    5/8/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: specialk
Played: 37  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.4 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Mostly short course. Its a good thing considering how wooded it is. The two different tee positions change some of the holes drastically. Plenty of shade. Definitly a few holes you could ace.
Cons: The spiders. They are everywhere. No real way of knowing what position the goal is in. I had to walk down to check it out. No water holes.
Other Thoughts: The course is in a park with beach access, lakes, play grounds, picnics and camping.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Better now, but beware...

5+    2/21/2011   2/23/2011
Review By: Thizzle J
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Makes you work on the more technical side of your game rather than power, Shade from the hot Florida sun, Usually if you are playing there you are the only one/group.
Cons: Short, If there happens to be people outh there at the same time it can get a little bit jammed up and potentially dangerous, No trash cans on the coourse so there is some litter that you can tell has been there for a while.
Other Thoughts: This is a kind of lost course here in Jacksonville... It needs quite a bit of grooming and TLC to make it a really good or even great course, but unfortunately it sits on the backburner. On another note it was nice that there weren't any spiders in the "winter" because I would stay away in the summer when they come out because they are everywhere... Can't walk through that course in the summer without getting a face full of webs on every other hole....

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.