Deerfield, IL 
Keller Park Share
Uploaded By: heywillard90 Hole #1 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Aveage course with some challenge

1    8/16/2009   8/17/2009
Review By: harr0140
Played: 947  Reviewed: 480  Exp: 8.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice new concrete teepads. They are nice because they are not slick, you can get good grip on your plant foot. The teepads even have a red square in one corner of the pad. I assume this means it is a red teepad . . . perhaps leaving room to add some longer tees? Not sure if there is even that much more room for longer tees. They are also a perfect width and length.

2) Nice main sign by the first tee. It has a nice layout of the course and distances listed (if I remember correctly).

3) Distance varies on a few holes which is positive. It forces you to throw some different shots. It also makes you use different discs. There is a hole under 200' and two over 400' with a good range of distances on the other 6 holes too.

4) Course uses some nice features to its advantage. There is a river that you have to throw over on #3. It is close to the tee but there is a gap you need to keep it in. I instead griplocked over to the tree on the right side and nearly went into the river. Man did it smell I am glad it didn't go in (ask me later about hole #4!).

5) #4 and #5 have that same river on your left that you had to throw over on #3. It seems like you are protected from the river by the dense trees but immediately inside the line of the trees is a severe slope going right down to the river. It is clearly a main drainageway during heavy rains. Well I was warned to throw it out to the right to avoid the water and I chunked it right into the woods and it ran down into the river. It was floating upside down and although I slipped in John was able to get the disc wih a branch as it floated down. THANKS JOHN.

6) #8 has a nice large mound that will come into play. The basket is about 8' up in he air on this mound. Although the mound is large you can still get rollaways especially on windy days where your putter isn;t coming in at the same angle as it normally would on a flat throw. (ASK Doktor John about the rollaways and the wind) Course also uses a nice row of large trees on the 6th hole to force a tight shot between the trees and private property on the left. I decided to try and go outside the row of trees and I chunked it right into the first tree!!! Doktor John launched his disc into the White Pine inside of a fenced in private property. He even went to the door to ring the bell and ask if he could go up the tree to get his disc . . . noone home and I am sure if they were they would have said no because they seemed like that type of people! Anyways he climbed the tree and got the disc.

7) #9 throws from the top of the mound on #8 basket down to the #3 basket. It has a backstop if you go past with the big mound that blocked you on #3 from seeing the basket.

8) Beginner friendly for the most part. Wide open enough to allow some errant shots but #3 and #6 may be tough on the beginner because of the river and the row of massive trees (cottonwoods or poplars if I remember right) on the right and the Private residences on the left.
Cons: 1) No tee signs which would be really nice to have on this course, especially for beginners and new players.

2) Baskets leave a little to be desired. They are old and some have only one ring of chains. Some of them have had a new top and basket put onto the post which is nice. The older ones have the chains painted brown . . . which truthfully I feel like it helps the chains catch better, so they don;t look like they are n good shape because the paint is chipping off. Some of the baskets are taller than others and we weren;t positive but it did seem like a few of them may have been higher up the chains making them inconsistant. This should be corrected if there truly is a difference. It changes how you throw at each basket and we all know routine and consitancy are important with putting.

3) #3 basket is not visible from the tee being difficult for a new player.

4) #8 basket and #9 tee are way too close together. The mound could be used for both but another 50' of seperation would be better.

5) Path winds through #3 and #9 and you need to have some etiquette for passerbys. We had to wait for about 8 family bikers that took a minute or two so we could throw on #9. Not seeing the basket and the path on its left on #3 is also a shot that could hit passerbys without even being able to see the danger. The soccer field is also slightly in the way on #8 drive. Noone was there when we played so we could take a straight line at the basket but other day you might have to throw a 45 degree dogleg around the field.
Other Thoughts: This was an allright course and was the 6th course on my 9 course day. It had some length that some of the other courses lacked. It had a slight elevation change by using the mounding on #8 basket and #9 tee. It has river that can come into play on 3 holes. It also has some nice placement of trees to force certain shots. There is a big willow on the right of #1 and a long 200' hedgerow with the basket tucked around to the right of the hedge. I enjoyed this course even though i didn't particularly play that well. Basket placement is pretty good and the concrete teepads are a plus.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Fun for begginers and pros

1    8/5/2009   8/6/2009
Review By: Seananagins
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: There is a nice curve on hole one. The third hole goes over a creek and you can't see the hole from the tee so it's pretty tricky. 4 and 5 run along the creek, so be careful to keep it to the right. Nice placement of trees on a few holes makes fo a little challenge
Cons: Fairly short course. Nothing exceeding a par three makes for a quick round of 9. The creek can eat you disk if you hook it wrong on 4 or 5 so try to stay to the right more.
Other Thoughts: Fun little course to keep my game intact. Don't go out of your way for it tho.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Grass!

1    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: clipnfly
Played: 60  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Amazingly well maintained grass. Might just have been my timing to visit, but grass was short and smooth. Great for rollers and skippers. Nice tee pads, but might be a bit small for shooters who like a bit more run up.. not that you need it here 'cept for on 8. Dog leg on 1 is fun. 3 had me worried as it is a shot over the creek and screamed "lost disc", but I made it. Amazing the mind game water plays. 4, 5, 6, 7 skirt the park and are easy to navigate. An unexpected hyzer can put you in the creek on 4. Garbage can placement on 7 in front of basket is not great (has since been moved). Needs to be relocated. 8 is a slightly different uphill longer shot and the wind around the school building can be fierce. Shared basket 3 and 9 can make for a wait for the others t finish. Tee off on 9 from on top of the hill is nice change. I keep finding different ways to play 6... Nice options. As of 5.25.12... Tee pads have been poured on NEW 2 and 3. Landscaping along new 5 and 6 changes things up a bit. New 5 is now a tight fall away on the left into the creek. RHBR tossers will be in trouble with the water willies. Many a disc will land in the drink on this one.
Cons: Move from basket #1 to tee #2 was not clear. (head dead east). A few baskets are a bit damaged 2, 4. Update 3.22.12 NEW 2 and 3 are added between old 1 and 2. old 3 is gone. Old 9 is gone. 4 is now 5, 5 is now 6, 6 is now 7, 7 is now 8. 8 is now 9. I am not crazy about the choice of tee pad location for new 2. I would have gone 40 feet east to make a harder hyzer out of this one... but it is still a bit blind and a fun hole. Pad for NEW 3 is O.K. I might have moved it back a bit to place the trees deeper into the fairway... But the trees will make this one a shot shaper with a few different playing options.
Other Thoughts: Shared basket for 3 and 9 requires good etiquette when others are playing. Info board at tee off for #1 is nice, gives distances, but not pars... have to make up your own. The more I play this course, the more I like it... if for no other reason than it is always deserted... and it plays a bit longer than my fave course by my house... and the more I play my arm is getting bigger and bigger holes are getting smaller. Other park improvements, path between 1 and 4 had been moved. 4 now shoots over path. new trees have been added to 4 as well... This will make 4 a better hole in that as trees grow in you will have to make different tee shot and approach choices. New changes as of 5.25.12 are overall improvements here. it is a better place to play than it was 1 year ago. Cannot say anything bad about that.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Mixed feelings

5+    6/18/2009   6/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/8/2010
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a flat park and around the ball fields of a school. There are only trees on three of the nine holes, but they are used well to make interesting holes on those. There is a nice mix of different lengths, from just under 200' to over 400'. Unlike many of the other local courses, there are a few holes where you can really open up and throw some drives.

This course has a nice mix of holes, and feels much less repetitive than other area courses. Holes 3 and 9 have slightly elevated tees, and 3 plays over the small creek. 8 is a long open bomb, but the hole sits on top of a small hill to keep it interesting.

There is a nice course map by the first tee, with accurate distances for all the holes. The tees are nice non-slip cement, and are basically brand new. The course is very easy to follow, even without tee signs on ever hole, and there isn't really any chance of getting lost.

The course is nicely maintained, with well-mowed grass throughout. Baskets have been broken or missing at various times, and are always replaced in a reasonable amount of time.
Cons: The tee signs, though nicely made, are extremely short. They just don't allow enough room to throw from, especially on the longer holes. There are no tee signs, though this isn't a major deal as the distances are on the course map and the course flows well.

Holes 4 and 5 play right on top of the 5th and 6th tees, so watch out for any players in front of you on these holes. Similarly, holes 3 and 9 share a basket, and you can't see the tees from one another, so careful of players on the other hole.

Holes 1, 6 and 7 play right along backyards of houses, and it's very easy to end up in a yard or right up against a house. Many of the holes play right over walking paths and sports fields, so other park users are often on the fairways. The last 7 holes are not playable during school hours.
Other Thoughts: This course is much more interesting than many of the other local 9 hole courses, but the conflicts with other park and school field users make it difficult to play at times. There are some easy places to lose discs in backyards or in the creek, but otherwise this is a good course to bring kids or beginners. More experienced players will enjoy the challenges of a few of the holes.

This course is worth playing if you're in the area, but just like all the other mediocre nine hole courses around isn't worth driving too far to play. If you do want to play, make sure you go during non-school hours, and times when the park is less busy or you'll spend a while waiting for fairways to clear.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 D+ = Doesn't have much happenin' for a 9 holer

2-4    4/19/2007   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 383  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 23.2 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- C-
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 One of my favorite courses

6/1/2008   6/1/2008
Review By: heywillard90
Played: 31  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 9.2 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 3 out of the 9 shots are long open fairways that will test your maximum distance. Easy to navigate.
Cons: Many different ways in which you can lose your disc. When softball or soccer is going on, it is hard to shoot some holes. People get grumpy when discs fly into their yard.
Other Thoughts: A lot of people dont like this course, yet I would opt it over most other courses in the area. You can play around it very quickly, takes about 30 minutes with two people. Their are few courses around here that have any shots over 360 feet, this course has 3 (holes 1, 2, 8). On weekends Baseball and soccer would go on anywhere from 9:00 to 3:00, although it is possible to play the course even if games are going on. I highly recommend this course.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.