McCook, NE 
Kelley Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #16
3 / 230ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Must-play in Nebraska

1    8/19/2017   9/4/2017
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -excellent terrain with lots of great elevation changes and plenty of trees to shape fairways
-lots of fun holes
-creek and small flood areas that can present water danger
-holes laid out well to take advantage of the park's natural features; demands accuracy, shaping lines on a few holes, low ceiling drives on a few holes, and distance control up & downhill
-there are 1-4 holes that could be considered 2-shot holes, depending on your distance but hole 15 definitely requires a placement shot off the tee
-great concrete tee pads
-Mach baskets in good condition, 2 pin locations per hole
-nice signs at each tee but no indicators of present pin locations
-maps at the kiosk near hole 1, navigation is easy with the map
-plenty of parking
-lots of other park amenities
-park is beautiful and well-maintained
-nice staircase between holes 16 & 17
-not a lot of dense rough, few places to lose a disc
Cons: -i wish there were some more tough pin locations or long tees to challenge the advanced player but there doesn't seem to be much more room; the course is fun but not a complete test
-if you're not using the map, you may be confused as to where to go after holes 7, 10, 13; you need to cross a street in each case
-you also need to watch out after hole 5, tee 7 looks like the next obvious spot but tee 6 is on the hillside
-crossing to hole 11 there is a little bit of a blind corner as you cross the street; stay alert while you cross!
-the street can come into play on holes 1, 8-9, 11-12, & 16
-hope you aren't too tired climbing up and down hills after your round... because you'll have to walk back up the first big hill from basket 18 to the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Kelley Park is an awesome park with a great disc golf course. The park is full of large hills, many mature trees, some thicker tree lines, and a couple of creeks. The holes are well-designed to take advantage of the elevation changes and the trees demand accuracy, often creating low ceilings or shaping the fairway. There are a bunch of fun holes, especially the big downhills on 4 & 13, hole 15 that plays to a 90 degree, uphill dogleg right, and hole 17 that plays long and slowly drifting right with a creek to avoid on the left that will punish hyzers and big skips.

The course equipment is great: nice, concrete tees; solid Mach baskets; tee signs at each tee; kiosk with course map, each hole map, info, and scorecards & maps. The only thing missing is indicators for pin position on the tee signs but only two of the holes are blind. I only had to walk down the fairway to look before throwing on holes 10 and 15.

Since the course is broken up into different areas by the roads that run through the park, you end up with a few consecutive holes with a certain character. 1-7, 14 & 18 are in the main park area, 8-10 has subtle elevation and low ceilings, 11-13 are on a major hillside, and 15-17 play in or near a wooded gully. I liked the variety of different vibes each area has and the distinct challenges they pose.

That challenge is pretty manageable for players with some experience. The trees do shape the fairways but there are few instances of demanding a specific line. There is some distance required on a few holes and definitely some tricky greens with lots of rollaway potential. Hole 15 is the only 2-shot hole for even a longer arm, though scoring a 2 is not out of the question. It would be nice if there were some long tees or significantly different pin locations but there doesn't seem to be much more space to do it safely. I guess I'd call it a lower white level layout.

Kelley Park is a little bit out of the way but it has to be in the discussion of top courses in Nebraska. Cottonmill is more challenging but Kelley is more polished. Consider going out of your way for this one if time permits. It's a lot of fun and a beautiful park. Park on M St. near the corner of 5th for the course parking lot.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nebraska Elite

2-4    8/4/2016   8/4/2016
Review By: PETeach
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a ton of fun. I first played it close to 5 years ago when I just started playing. I've played more through the years, and returned back last week. I now appreciate the design of the course even more. The holes vary in distance and difficulty. The trees provide some difficulty. The course also provides a map on the first hole which you don't see very often. The course takes up a good chunk of Kelley Park which is a very well taken care of. When I was there it was being watered and mowed. Each hole also has nice displays of each hole and nice tee pads to go along with it.
Cons: I struggle to come up with any cons on this course.
Other Thoughts: I would say this is an elite disc gold course especially in the state of Nebraska.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 A nice challenging course

1    7/13/2015   7/16/2015
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 426  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice green grass that has been irrigated and well manicured.
Great tees that allow for a proper run up.
Adequate signage.
Great elevation and a good mix of open and park style holes.
Some holes have ace run opportunities.
Good mix on distances ranging from short-longer holes.
Low ceiling shots and tunnel shots as well.
Multiple pins and maps at the kiosk to assist in your navigation.
Dog leg L and R holes and a great mix of trees to provide in line shaping.
Other amenities like the pool, sand volleyball, playground, etc.
A good challenging course that will improved your overall game.
Cons: Long walk between some holes, 7's basket to 8's tee, 10's basket to 11's tee and 18's basket to the parking lot are a tad on the long side and slow the flow of the round down a bit.
Crossing the street to get to holes 8-10 and again to get to 11-13 might be a concern to some players. Just watch out for on coming traffic and you will be fine.
Kids from the pool and park area might cut across the fairways so be careful before you throw.
Could use a few more benches throughout the course as some players might be winded and need to sit down more frequently because of the elevation changes.
Other Thoughts: This is a solid course that offers a variety of shots. Some players might not like the way the course starts off, playing up and down the same hill for the first 6 holes, but it really bounces back nicely with holes 7-18.
Good lines to be shaped on many holes and there are places where you can rip a drive or two as well. There really is a good mix of everything on this course.
This is a quality course that Southern Nebraska can be proud of. I throughly enjoyed my round here and would play this course again in a heartbeat if I were in the area.
If you are close to the area, or would like to drive and play a quality course, then you owe it to yourself to play this course. I'm sure you will find it has a lot to offer.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Local review

5+    2/9/2015   2/9/2015
Review By: 7kNE
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of long, short, and technical. For big arm players there is a chance to let the arm out as well as work on placing shots. All player levels will have a good time on the course and the wind can add to the advantages if you can feel it out. Elevation shifts add to the experience. Hole 13 is a long downhill, there is a big dogleg on holes 10 and 15, 7 and 17 let you get a long drive in, 8, 9, and 14 offer a tunnel shot, and the shorts are 5,6, and 11.
Cons: Alternate pin placement only goes 10-15 yards for each pin. If we get more involvement, the local club wants to get sleeves and add more challenging alternates for each pin. So stop out and play, and if you are somewhat local head down on the weekends at 930 AM to play a round with us.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Impressed

1    9/20/2014   9/23/2014
Review By: Homer88
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is well kept and has some awesome holes that are very reasonably placed.
Other Thoughts: The course is a very nice one, there are a lot of trees and wooded areas but not too much that you cant work around it and its very Fluent and play flows rather smooth

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, but challenging

1    11/9/2013   11/9/2013
Review By: djros
Played: 35  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained park with mowed-grass fairways and nice amenities in the park, including jogging/bike paths, a swimming pool, and a nice playground. Surprising amount of elevation change for a course in Nebraska. Nice concrete tees. A lot of variety in hole shape - up, down, left, right, open, and tight. The trees add a lot of challenge to this course. Several holes have low ceilings, which force you to keep the disc low, while other holes are more open, giving more flexibility with how to throw the tee shot. The 14th was a challenging short hole that has either a tight tunnel shot, or a big swinging shot for a chance at birdie. Both would be tough, but it was a fun hole to try for birdie. There were a couple of fun, fairly open, downhill teeshots. Also, a couple holes play near or over a small creek.
Cons: Navigation was a bit challenging. Signage wasn't great, but adequate. A couple holes play a little too close to roads. The first hole has a big side slope that leads to a neighborhood road. If your disc starts rolling when it hits the ground, it can go into the street or into people's yards on the other side of the street (I know this from experience).
Other Thoughts: This wasn't a planned stop, so normally, I'd check the course map better beforehand, but navigation was a bit tricky. You have to cross streets a few times to get to the next hole. I parked near a practice basket near the 7th hole. I didn't know where the 1st hole was, so I started on the 3rd. The first hole is at the top of the hill, near the swimming pool. I'd suggest printing the map and carrying it with you if you haven't played here before. Be careful with the trees here. My disc got caught in the trees twice, which has only happened very rarely prior to my round here, so there must be something about the trees here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The best course I played in Nebraska

1    6/17/2013   6/18/2013
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Scorecards and course map at kiosk that doubled as a giant map.
Concrete tee pads, elevation, sections of good flow and navigation, and some signature holes.
So many good holes; Hole one starts off with a risky slanting hill by the basket. A putt that hits the basket could roll OB. Hole 2 was a big downhill with a creek behind the basket. 3 was a fun 375 foot uphill shot. 4 was a 400 foot downhill into the center of a small valley. 5 was a small uphill with the basket peeking out from behind a hill. This is another hole where a disc that hits the basket can roll away adding a stroke. Hole 13 was a big dog leg right 525 where you had to hit a gap 300 feet away. Hole 14 was a right to left downhill wooded slope. 15 looked like professional golf greens. It would have been a perfect hole if you could play across the creek.
Par is attainable for an intermediate player, but it is not given away as easy as many of the other Nebraska courses.
I played a dozen Nebraska courses and this was by far my favorite. It tested skill while maintaing the maximum fun factor. I remember walking by hole 14 earlier in the course and could not wait to play it. The course is broken up into little sections and there is some issues navigating from section to section, but it appears this land was used in some of the best ways possible. It is a great design for the land available and it is evident work is still being done to improve this course.
Cons: Same 6x6 signs as Cottonmill. 2 pin positions with no idea which location they are in on blind holes.
Some small navigation and flow issues. I needed the map to find holes 6, 8, 11, 15. Some took a while to find even with the map. Hole 6 seemed like a filler hole. Flow did not fit. From 5's basket you are closer to 7's tee.

Hole 8 was a bit of a safety issue, playing parallel with road.

While this course had some challenge, I would like to see a little more challenge for more advanced players.
Other Thoughts: This is a must play. I tried to play everything from North Platte to Kearney then south to McCook and this course was the best.


4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Kelly Park is a must

5+    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: discnebraska
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One of the best laid out course in the area, you will not be disapointed. It is both beginner and pro friendly, you will need every shot you have to pull off a good score and for those used to playing flat courses you better get those calf muscels in shape there are several hills lots of trees and several new trees which will make some holes much more challenging in the future. Do not miss this one.
Cons: They have alt pins but they haven't moved them in a long time. Can be a mosquito magnent at times, bug spray a must durring the summer.
Other Thoughts: I have played this course many times and it never gets old, wind is a big factor on most days so having a wind game is a must. Overall beautiful course well kept and a great time.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Fun

2-4    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 112  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 9.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well designed course in a well maintained park. The parks and Rece dpartment like having this course and do what they can to make sure the park is in greak condition. The Tru Line Customs guys and rest of the local crowd do a great job of keeping this course looking amazing. The tee pads are all concrete and very consistant from hole to hole. The design has a great mix of long and short holes. The design also makes really good use of the natural terrain. There are also some nice amenities in this park including a pretty spectacular looking playground and a very nice pavillion right in the middle of the course.
Cons: The tee signs are very basic and may not give you the best idea of what the hole is actually like. There are a couple of places where finding the next hole may be difficult without having a map. The trick is getting from 7 to 8 and then 10 to 11. The bathrooms in the park are run down and one doesn't even have a door on it, just in case you want to let someone watch you pee.
Other Thoughts: I had an absolute blast playing this course and everyone I have talked to that has played this course wishes they lived closer to the course. It honestly felt at times like I was playing on some private ball golf course with how well this course was maintained. I have to give props to the guys at Tru Line Customs again because they run quality tournaments and this is their home course. They run at least three tournaments here a year and you will not be disappointed when you play one of these events.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 McCook is McAwesome

1    5/7/2011   5/8/2011
Review By: Headbabe
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13
This review was updated on 5/26/2011
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: This course offers players a great park setting. You will throw a good mix of up and down hill shots. The parks and rec group does a great job of upkeep.
Cons: What you see is what you get. The alt pin placments do not offer much of a diffrence of play. Overall the course plays more on the short side.
Other Thoughts: Make the trip to McCook.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.