Wrightsville, PA 
Klines Run DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 5/2019)
3 / 363ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Awesome, One-of-a-kind course

1    6/29/2019   7/9/2019
Review By: where'sfinn
Played: 25  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 0.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2019
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you played here before the redesign in 2019, you need to come back, this is a signature course now! The course navigates through park that has tall mature trees that provides awesome shade, but at the same time doesn't create pain in the ass obstacles. The course is never flat, you are always shoot up or down a hill, which creates really cool valley shots and across-the-creek shots. Most holes also give you different path options with risk/reward, which is really cool because it makes you play the hole (not just throwing the disc as far as you can and then repeat). It makes you think where to layup and plan for your next shot.
Signage was signature because:
a. Elevation Change for each hole
b. QR code to scan for each hole that gave a drone fly-over, and it actually came in handy!
c. Overall sharp, easy to read sign, with direction to the next hole on it
Turf tee pads.
New bright green prodigy baskets with flags on top.
Epic holes! - both holes 10 and 11 were truly awesome.
Great shade cover from the park trees.
Great elevation change from hole to hole.
Great direction for the next hole.
Very well maintained.
Beautiful views of the river.

Cons: No benches.
No water fountains.
Other Thoughts: Gorgeous park that looks like it has other activities other than just disc golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

First time

2-4    6/22/2019   6/22/2019
Review By: jonkira1
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: For anyone who has anything bad to day about this course they are probably not hikers lol.
I love this course. You have to have all the shots to play well here. You go from short par 3 to long par 4 then back and forth all the way through the course.
Cons: Hills! Get some!
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course! Job well done

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful New Course

1    5/29/2019   5/31/2019
Review By: weakazarminpa
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.1 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful New Course laid out on the side of a hill overlooking Clarke Lake on the Susquehanna River.
Everything is new here Teepads are level and astroturf covered, Baskets are beautiful Prodigy Baskets.
This was my first time playing this course but won't be my last.
Lots of elevation and not just up and down hill, really enjoyed the cross hill holes that require thought to where and how to land the approach.
Cons: Had to "find" the first tee, after that easy navigation. Hint park below the Pavilion, Hole one directly behind.
I didn't have a problem but i can see the creek crossing at #10 causing some folks a problem.
Other Thoughts: Very happy to see another high quality course in the Central PA area. This has easily made my short list of go to courses. Will bring my kayak along next time and take a post round trip

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Up, Down, and All Around

1    4/25/2019   4/29/2019
Review By: swatso
Played: 580  Reviewed: 378  Exp: 11 Years
This review was updated on 4/30/2019
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+Some type of (usually significant) elevation change on practically every hole.
+Many types of elevation changes.
+Teepads: 5'x10' astrograss, or whatever it is called.
+Sufficient signs at tees, useful directional arrows on baskets.
Cons:
-Too many, mainly early, throw up a hill/slope, walk down to the next tee, then throw up a hill/slope.
-Single tee/basket location per hole.
-Park roads could come into play on several holes
-Need a better way to cross the creek from #10's tee to basket
Other Thoughts:
Kline's Run is essentially a very, very big hill, with large hardwoods scattered throughout, a creek along the northside, and views of the Susquehanna. The disc golf course plays up (often), down/atop/across (somewhat), and along the creek/roads (sometimes). Elevation changes are the primary challenge, as the trees are most often fairly well spaced, with only a few denser pockets, and hole lengths (mostly) are not oppressive.

My (RHBH, ~315' max, ~285' typical) perspective of the holes:
#1 Short, steep uphill, open, a few trees late
#2 Short, flat, single tree at 2/3rds point, sharp drop-off right/behind basket
#3 Short, steep upslope, tree branches force low if right, wide if left
#4 Long, steep upslope, scattered trees throughout, two long slight left-turners
#5 Short, steep uphill, open, a few trees late
#6 Very long, rolling/flattish, multitude of scattered/dense trees, going right a bit more open
#7 Short, downslope, few scattered trees mid/late, straight with slight fade at end to find blind basket
#8 Mid-length, rolling, sparsely scattered trees
#9 Short, downslope, right-turner, ob-road left, basket semi-protected by flowering trees
#10 Short, upslope, moderate window late, left fade to reach basket
#11 Short, downslope, moderate right-turner, creek if too long/faded
#12 Long, downslope then flat, creek crossing with two possible windows
#13 Mid-length, steep uphill, open, a few trees late
#14 Long, cross-slope, scattered trees, choice of right-turning windows, basket well-guarded late
#15 Mid-length, flat, sparsely scattered trees, moderate right-turner
#16 Long, rolling, lots of scattered trees, right-side more open, but adds length
#17 Mid-length, valley, scattered trees, slight right at end
#18 Long, steadily downslope, scattered trees initial 3/4ths

The six (#'s 4,6,12,14,17,18) par=4 are challenging but obtainable. About half the holes should offer possible birdy opportunities - only a few holes will probably score practically only 3's.

This is a very solid course, and will well-complement the other courses being used for the 2019 AM Worlds. Comparatively short to the others, but the relentless variety of elevation changes and out-of-bounds make it stand out.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Run to Kline's Run!

1    4/28/2019   4/29/2019
Review By: Monocacy
Played: 163  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 19.2 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Kline's Run is a pretty, well-used park. The course winds up and over a large bluff overlooking the Susquehanna River. Elevation changes throughout, with a variety of uphill, downhill, side-hill, and valley holes. I don't think there is a flat hole on the course, and each 9-hole loop finished with a fun downhill technical bomb.

This is one of those rare courses where most of the holes are in the woods, but the fairways are mostly mown grass. I would describe the course as somewhere between wooded park-style and semi-open mature woods.

The course was brand new when I played. Even without a map or next tee signs, navigation from hole to hole was pretty straightforward. Just follow the white "next tee" arrow on each basket. Generally walks between holes were short. The longest walk was probably between holes 10 and 11 - follow the path up the hill, and then turn left on the gravel road.

Each 9-hole loop ends at the parking lot. Hole 1 is at one end of the long parking lot, and hole 9 finishes at the other end. Parking in the middle would facilitate stopping at the car between nines.

Level artificial turf teepads provide good footing on every hole (but see cons).

Beautiful views of the Susquehanna River from the parking lot and from several locations on the course.

Port-a-pots and trash cans distributed throughout the course. I don't know if these are permanent or for 2019 Am Worlds, but nice either way.

Playing this course made me smile, and I look forward to playing here again.
Cons: The first part of the course has several holes where you throw uphill, walk downhill to the next tee, and then throw uphill again. I would much rather walk uphill and throw downhill.

I wished the artificial turf teepads were a little longer and wider, even though I do not have a long run-up. On many holes the tees are built as raised platforms to provide a consistently level teeing surface on the hilly course. The disadvantage of raised platforms is that drop-offs at the ends and/or sides of the pad on several holes made the teepad feel constrained.

When I played the tee signs did not show hole distance or layout (see other thoughts), and the course map was not yet available. Sometimes I scouted ahead; sometimes I just threw down what looked like the fairway and hoped for the best. I expect tee signs and a course map will be provided as course installation proceeds.

A few holes had blind shots in areas where people might be walking. For example hole 9 is a blind downhill right-turning shot back towards the parking lot. I recommend scouting ahead to make sure no one is in the line of fire.

Hole 18 is a long downhill finishing hole. At about 1/3 of the distance the fairway was pretty congested and it seemed pretty random whether drives would get through or not. Unless I missed seeing a line, this hole would be improved by widening the fairway at this point.
Other Thoughts: Kline's Run was completely redesigned for 2019 Am Worlds. The original version was an object course that had apparently fallen into disrepair, but the new course is well designed, challenging, and beautiful. I played shortly after all baskets and teepads had been installed.

I rated the course based on the high quality of the holes and my high level of enjoyment playing the course. I assume amenities such as informative tee signs and a course map will eventually be provided. If my assumptions are incorrect I will probably downgrade my rating by a half point.

Course seems to be designed for someone who can throw 350' or more. As 300ish-throwing old fart, quite a few holes played as drive, short upshot, drop-in. Not the course's fault that I don't throw farther, of course.

Several tee marker poles on the back 9 did not indicate the hole number. In most cases the proper teepad was easy to figure out by following the "next tee" arrow on the previous hole's basket. I expect the poles will be marked as the course is completed.

There were a few places where steep grades would benefit from some sort of stairs. One example would be the uphill path between holes 10 and 11.

Hole #11 looked like an epic downhill tunnel shot across the creek. I threw 2 shots, and one made it across. Walked down the fairway to discover that the hole doglegs right before the creek. Whoops, guess I should have checked ahead on that hole lol.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Scenic. Hilly. Beautiful.

1    5/27/2019   5/24/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 43  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 16.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/30/2019
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm beyond happy to say - I'm now revising my course review, because this is now a new and very, very much improved and redesigned course definitely worth the visit.

First off, thank you so much to the York County Disc Club for adopting this course. Passion and labor involved is obvious to those of us aware of how much work is involved with bringing a course into the world.

At first glance, it just appears as though this course has always been here. This is something i point out, because that is usually my first indication of a very well thought out and designed course. There aren't any obvious stumps, or evidence of course-carving, and forcing a hole to exist. The land and objects were carefully observed, and the designers allowed the land to present the fairways to them, rather than forcing a hole where they thought one should be.

Planted along the Susquehanna River, This course treats you to beautiful views. Take a moment while playing and just take it all in.

Bathrooms, bathrooms everywhere! Suffice it to say, there are multiple port-a-john's on the course, and it would be a short walk to find one, which is good news for the lady golfers, and keeps the boys from peeing in the woods, or off the tees. (Don't act like you haven't)

On the day that i played, the course was well manicured with very little to no undergrowth. For the exception of a few holes, there shouldn't be too many issues of crawling into a bush and awkwardly throwing from a thicket. Even an off trajectory shot is offers redemption, rather than punishment.

Level and turfed teeboxes for all 18 holes. The effort for solid footwork on each hole is obvious.

The tee signs are extravagant! The normal hole information is there (map. distance. par.) but it also displays elevation. And the best part - is if you cant see the basket - there is a QR code you can use on your phone to take you to a video of a drone fly-by video showing you in first person view the hole from tee to basket.

Cons: I'm certain this can be revised in the future since the course was just installed at the time of this review.

If it's your first visit, nothing in the parking lot tells you exactly where hole #1 is. You'll see baskets, and tees - and rely on your deductive skills to zero in on where the first hole is. (pssst - its by the pavilion)

Benches don't effect play, but with more courses offering these amenities, the lack of a place to sit down at each hole, especially in a crowded tournament waiting for the next hole to clear, must be considered in today's state of disc golf.

Only one hole in particular comes to mind where two tees are close to each other. Again, this may be an issue in a tournament where groups are chatting and shuffling through bags while others are focused and trying to tee off.

Lack of a bridge on hole 10. You must rock-hop or get your feet wet. There are creative ways to cross, but as it stands (May 2019), there just isn't a practical way that makes sense other than just getting down into the creek bed and doing it. All alternative routes take longer, require you to walk on a road, or go entirely out of your way and backtrack.

All of the tees are on elevated platforms. Lots of effort were put into their construction, but i found myself not giving 100% on my throws in fear of falling or stepping down off the front of them...which i did, twice in the early holes.

Hole 12's tee sign (as of May 2019) displayed two positions, one short, one long. I didn't check the drone video - but i shot for long - only to find out two strokes later that long didn't exist yet.

Hole 18 is very well designed and exciting to shape a throw, but by the way the water run-off is designed in conjunction with the park road, depending on the weather on any given day, you are truly playing in a muddy mess.
Other Thoughts: Kudo's to the York County Disc Club once again. With their original success with Sam S Lewis park, and now Klines Run - the club has proven right out of the gate that they are more than capable of thoughtfully approaching land owners, pitching a course appropriately and professionally, and planting a course worthy of a PDGA Worlds event. I am not a member of the club or known them personally, but with this proven track record and success - i aim to become one.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.