Kalamazoo, MI 
Knollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #17 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 158ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Old Jeans.

1    9/5/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 46  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is that pair of old tattered jeans that your wife wants you to throw out but you refuse to do so.

There is a lot to like in my mind about small technical courses and that's what this is all about. I really enjoyed the mix of shots required to navigate the course. Hole 1 played the longest and is a 280 foot hyzer. That being said , you really don't need much more than a good midrange disc that you feel confident throwing on a variety of lines and a putter. I brought my entire bag and felt kind of dumb by the end of it because I didn't touch my drivers once.

Fairways are reasonable in terms of lines and there are enough trees to force you to hit your shot. If you do happen to hit a tree there isn't too much punishment except for the holes where the nasty brackish water comes in to play. So if you don't hit your line you're pretty much taking a 3. I couldn't see myself ever getting a bogg on this course unless I somehow hit the water.

The water really only comes in to play on two holes but I really like how it is brought in to play. The first hole in which water is present the basket sits on a narrow strip of land between two pits of nasty black water. This requires a really well controlled tee shot as well as testy putt.

The other hole on which the water comes into play is an approximately 190 foot semi open fairway with the basket at the top of the slope heading to the water. Again this requires a well controlled shot that is fairly testy especially considering the packed nature of the dirt at this course.

There is good use of the few hills in the park on the back 9 that require you to land and stop your disc on a down slope as well as a hole that uses the road going on to the park as an OB line.

There is surprisingly descent tee signs at most of the holes.

As you can see, I really liked this pair of jeans...and I'm sure at one point in time they were really nice...
Cons: And then the jeans got worn every day for years on end until they were torn up and the fabric became paper thin.

A lot of the baskets are sitting strangely high and it seems as thought it may be simply because the dirt around them has just taken a pounding year after year. The baskets themselves catch reasonably still but are showing their age and are covered with graffiti.

The dirt throughout the entire course is packed down so hard that nothing will grow. When your disc hit the ground dry dirt immediately kicks up all around it. You certainly have to play with the expectation that your disc will slide an extra 10-20 feet upon landing if it is hitting the ground at a flat angle.

The water that is present is pretty nasty looking and pretty stagnant in a few areas.

The trash cans haven't been emptied in a while and a few of them look like they've been tipped and bottles were strewn about.

In a few spots there was an excessive amount of broken glass from the nearby apartment complex. Their balcony overlooks the hole and it seems like they like throwing empty liquor and beer bottles at the basket instead of discs. A shame that people act this way.

The area surrounding the course and just the feel of the course itself is best described as scuzzy. It just didn't FEEL particularly clean or safe. It felt like a course that hadn't been cared for which is probably mostly true and considering no matter how much work you put into the course it would probably be quickly undone by the traffic from the university I can understand why.

I would say at one point the ceiling for this course was probably a 3.25 rating, but that time is no more and I doubt it every will be again.

You want to keep wearing the jeans, and at one point they were probably pretty nice jeans...but you know deep down that you have better jeans to wear...I'd play this course again in a pinch, but there are better courses near by that aren't so abused.
Other Thoughts: I really liked the course in and of itself. It has a fun variety of shots that are not overly punishing if you miss your line. It's certainly good if you only have time for a short round and are in the area...But if you're in the area and you only have time for one course do yourself a favor and play either Oshtemo or Spring Valley. Both courses are far superior in just about every way and are close by.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 just a mess

2-4    5/15/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short holes, easy disc lines, makes you effectively shoot a mid range game, no need for any champion plastic drivers here. quick rounds.
Cons: short course is an understatement, trash everywhere, downtown off of college dorms so they all troll around the tiny parking lot making hole #18 hard to shoot because people can be standing near the basket. alot of intersecting holes that zig zag all over the place so watch your face as you cross a path.
Other Thoughts: this course is highly laughable, and it would take alot fo keep it nice...between all the "hipsters" getting in your way, and the abundance of trash everywhere, id rather go to oshtemo dgc or airzoo for a quick but more fun round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Ace-tastic!

1    10/21/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 217  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 8.1 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Knollwood park is a fun little wooded course with nice touches of elevation and water in just the right spots. This is the definition of pitch and putt, as no hole stretches over 270 ft., but there are just enough trees, elevation, and water to make this course worth a quick play.
- Water. There's not a lot of it, and it can be pretty easily avoided, but the tricky "invisible green" on #11 looks deceptively dry from the tee. The entire right side as well as directly behind the basket is mostly stagnant water, something that doesn't become obvious until you've taken a few steps towards the basket after teeing off.
- Elevation. Nothing "wow" but the little bit available is put to good use, especially on #'s 17 and 18. Hole #18 tees off downhill through large mature trees' trunks towards the basket below. Several of the greens play fast because of the combination of short length and loss of elevation.
- Well-worn with heavy usage, but with enough trees to provide several different looks or allow various shot options, from a line-shaping standpoint.
- Ace-tastic! Come with a putter and/or mid-range and get to work on those ace totals! Not boring by any means, but plenty of short holes that reward hitting the obvious line(s) with birdies and aces.
Cons: - Terribly rutted natural tees (with the exception of hole #1 which if I remember correctly was concrete). The front of the teebox is marked with a wooden 4 x 4. The eroded tees often make the front of the box a
tripping hazard as the wooded markers stick out of the ground. Several of the tees were muddy and these have to be a nightmare in wet conditions.
- No real tee signs of which to speak.
- Not incredibly challenging. While it's fun enough as a putter/mid only sorta round, most experienced players would be served better by some of the other area courses.
- Pretty trashed, litter-wise.
Other Thoughts: - Unfortunately, the traffic this course seems to see regularly typifies the worst of the disc golf stereotypes. While I'm far from an opponent of cracking down on what people do in their free time in the public parks (so long as they do it in a discreet manner that doesn't infringe on others' enjoyment of the park), the sort of behavior I witnessed at this park in my short time there was certainly of the sort that
not only gets courses pulled, but is also often used as arguments against putting in new courses. /soapbox

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: we had a local show us the course, he even shot a round with us, without him we wouldnt of know where to go. Its a short course, so many chances for aces and birdies.
Cons: trash everywhere, beer cans everywhere, water hazards, high baskets, alot of traffic, but its near the college so I expected that/
Other Thoughts: Thanks again to the local that played discgolf with us, had alot of fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pressed For Time

5+    5/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good if you don't have enough time for a large course
Cons: Lots of people sometimes, dirt tee box, small parking area not spread out
Other Thoughts: don't go after its rained or has been raining a bunch because most of the course is dirty. however they have been trying to clean the course up with wood chips which helps

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and trashy

1    8/10/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: JaySeaAre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No fee to play and close to Western Michigan University for locals. Fairly short course good for those who don't throw far. Trees make for constant decision making challenges.
Cons: The course is heavily used and most of the fairways are dirt. Play can be slow as large groups of college kids take a while to move through. Signage is poor.
Other Thoughts: There doesn't seem to be much upkeep, regulations or maintenance by whomever owns the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner, quick and easy.

5+    11/23/2008   11/21/2008
Review By: landon77
Played: 63  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2011
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dog friendly, people friendly disc course.
If you want a good score or an ace this is the easiest course I have played in the Kazoo area to achieve one.
Densely wooded private area.
Good baskets!
This course is nice if you want to practice your short game and accuracy. If you are playing by yourself or small group your can play the course in 30-60 minutes. (Assuming the course is close to empty which is about half the time).
Cons: This park between the hours of 3 pm-dusk M-F can be very busy.
Since most players out there are new there really is no golf etiquette.
The park was built on a old drainage site to the Arcadia neighborhood. Therefore the water is disgusting. You might see people wading and looking for discs in it though!
Some holes have broken glass everywhere, with bottles and trash thrown about.
Residential apartment buildings surround the area.
There have been hornets nest in some of the dead logs that are right next to some of the holes!
Tee pads are natural.
The course is not marked, however it is so short it would be hard to get lost. This course has no room for long drives or any type of long play.
Parking can be issue if the course is busy. Beware of parking outside the course, the parking authority will ticket you if you do not follow the posted directions on where to park.
I have seen plenty of cars hit by discs. Some of the holes are right next to the street.
Other Thoughts: This is a great warm up or practice course. If you want to play fast come in the morning (by 2pm) when all the college kids are still sleeping. If you are visiting the area and only have time for a round or two, skip this course for some of the other courses that have much more to offer.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

1    9/6/2008   9/6/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 12.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good beginner course. Short distances, but with plenty of trees to challenge the better player. Some elevation changes, and a few holes come close to the water (but the pond is quite small). Some of the holes seem to have two tees, but both are pretty easy. If a concerted effort to clean up this park were made, and some signs were installed, this might be a nice little park.
Cons: Baskets are is poor disrepair and trash and graffiti seem to be a big problem here. No signs of any kind on the tees (nor on most of the baskets), but the locals seem to be pretty friendly and will help you find your way around.
Other Thoughts: About what you'd expect of a course stuck in a tiny green space in the middle of college residence living. Seemed to be a lot of police visits while I was there (and I noticed a speed trap on Michigan Ave, so beware).

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.