Kalamazoo, MI 
Knollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: landon77 Hole #1 (Taken 2/2009)
3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Fairway


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Fun, Quick and Birdies!

1    6/6/2017   6/14/2017
Review By: ForearmGalore
Played: 156  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This is one the easiest courses to follow that I've ever played. Check the map before your round to understand Holes 10 and 15, other than that you gotta try really hard to get lost.
-This is definitely a good course to learn the game on. Little danger except on holes 4, 11, and 13 for water. There's danger on 12 as well, but I'll explain that in the Con section.
-Hole 11 is an island / peninsula hole right next to the pond in the middle of the course. Shot from the tee is a RH forearm or slow anny backhand. Walk up the fairway your first time to see how quickly it drops off, because it's quick. The reason this is a PRO and not a CON is that they've covered the ground surrounding the basket with sand so it will catch your disc instead of letting is skip. Sand extends about 30 feet or so each way where there is ground. Still probably want to look at this closely before you throw. Sand saved my favorite mid-range.
-Playable for either the forearm only or backhand only players. There's normally a better option, but the lane is there if you want to try something squirrely.
-Many of the other reviews say this place is a dump, but when I went there was barely any trash. None that I noticed anyway.
-Concrete pads, always a plus.
-Great course for Ace race
Cons: -Hole 12 has some of the weirdest ground cover I've ever played disc golf near. The issue spot is BEHIND the basket only, so the fairway and the basket are clear. Shot looks longer than it is because it's uphill. DGCR has it listed at 172 which is probably accurate. Maybe 200 feet at most. The plants behind the basket are tall enough that they reach the middle of your shin, and they essentially serve as little umbrellas that prevent you from seeing the ground. I overthrew this drive and almost didn't bother even searching for my disc because you have to constantly kick the plants of the way just to see the ground.
-Not super challenging for skilled players. First time playing it I birdied 9 of the holes. Should have had a couple more.
-Course is next to an apartment complex that is CLEARLY full of WMU students. I played this over the summer, but my guess is that the place can get packed if you go during the spring/fall. This is mentioned in a few other reviews as well. I drove through the apartment complex once and saw two students with discs in their hands.
-No bathrooms
-Probably not enough parking to meet the need.
-Pond kind of smells, but I've been on worse courses for sure.
Other Thoughts: Really a fun course to zip through or play with someone who's only half into the game. Plus, plenty of chances to ace.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not pretty, but fun

5+    4/10/2016   1/10/2017
Review By: jdborden
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great place to learn the game

The guy that runs the place is very friendly and does a good job keeping it looking good (which is tough when you have frat houses right next door and people coming there just to drink and smoke)

Weekly tournaments

Lots of chances at an ace

Feels secluded even though you're in the middle of a lot of residential
Cons: Trash can get out of control

The pond is very dirty

Normally crowded (luckily it's small so it still plays fast)
Other Thoughts: This may not be the nicest looking course, but it's still one of my favorites. It's where I learned to play and I still go once in awhile because it's always fun. People don't give it good reviews because it's too short or has lots of trash, but it's not a city park so everyone has to help out and throw something away if you see it. There's trash and everywhere people.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

5+    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: KnownKiller
Played: 82  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short Course
- Great for beginners and people looking for a semi-easy course.
- Great for practice/work on overall game
- Good number of holes to throw a long shot and other really short shots.
- Not very many repetitive holes.
-
Cons: - Some parts of the day, very busy
- Trash on some holes, but not that bad.
- Water is very nasty. Holes #4 and #11
Other Thoughts: I play this course almost every night with my roommate and him and I really enjoy playing here. It may not be "top notch" but I feel its worth playing.
A lot of friendly people willing to help. Unless we get a lot of rain then course is mostly dry.
Wood chips on the course also help in keeping it dry.
There are a couple trees down from recent storms but doesn't really effect game play.
Signs would be helpful but park is run by mostly college kids who just enjoy playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course for people that are just starting out. some holes will test your accuracy and will require different shots easy to get a good score
Cons: short course, some holes are really close to each other which you could easily hit someone on a errant throw, small parking lot, few tree stumps/ tree roots where tee is which could mess up throw.
Other Thoughts: pond will eat your disc but its fairly easy to avoid. Hole one now has a cement tee pad which is a plus, many more to come i hope

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Short and Sweet

2-4    5/10/2009   5/14/2009
Review By: Azar002
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mid-range holes, good accuracy practice. A few nicely placed water hazard holes. A few downhill holes and uphill holes. Can play it a few times in one short outing.
Cons: No long holes. Discs lost in the water are irretrievable unless you want to get stinky. Parking is a little cramped, only 20 cars or so can fit. If it is your first time there and no locals are around you might not find your way around.
Other Thoughts: Some very fun holes, like #15 playing off the road, or the two holes on peninsulas. Good lefty course/righty forehand/righty anheuser.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.