Roanoke Rapids, NC 
Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: LeeLK Hole #8 (Taken 9/2014)
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Short but fun

1    9/5/2014   9/15/2014
Review By: LeeLK
Played: 68  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 11.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice open shots would be fun for beginners. Baskets are in good shape. Decent mix of shots required.
Cons: Runs right through the park so if there were other people there it would be dangerous. Pretty short, so you're not able to really open up. Tee pads are patches of dirt.
Other Thoughts: It's pretty fun. Would be a nice local course to work on your midrange shots. Otherwise, not really worth the trip out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Where I got my start

5+    7/1/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Scottspnutgang
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 12.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -great course for first time players
-easy to get around
-requires players to learn different shot methods
Cons: -only 9 holes
-terrible T pads
-only open during certain parts of the year
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and it's what got me hooked to disc golf. This course holds a special place in the heart for all local players.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Small Town Decency

5+    10/27/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: bbwrenn
Played: 103  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2019
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Park has a few things going for it.

It has a few holes that play long for beginners (250-280ft) and lots of birdie attempts for those same players.

Nearly all the holes are pretty open, which is a plus for fun factor for a beginner. Not too much here to frustrate a casual player. Hole 7's "tunnel shot" is still wider than most wooded holes on a typical North Carolina course.

Holes 1 and 8 are right hand turns, while 3, 5, and 9 are left. Since this type of course is often just a bunch of 200 foot straight pitches or dumpy hyzers, this is nice.

There is restrooms and water fountains near the course, which is a nice bonus.
Cons: Only 9 holes.

The teeboxes are nonexistant. They were once neat piles of gravel, but have turned into spread out piles of dirt. A few of them have roots, and 9 even had some broken glass last time I was there. It's best to be very careful in order to avoid tripping or pulling any muscles.

Holes 2 and 3 are so short and simple that they feel like "par 2s".

There are no real obstacles, so players will quickly find the course to be a yawnfest as they improve, or if they're already skilled.

The course's condition is sometimes kept up, but most of the time there are rocks, branches, etc all in the middle of the fairway, particularly in the fall. Usually the solution would be for us (the locals) to organize a workday, but it isn't a public course. It's owned by our local power company, and the employees do not clean the disc golf course with any regularity.

One other unfortunate aspect is that the course is open somewhat limited hours for much of the year, or even not at all for the winter. The schedule is available on the Course Info. page.
Other Thoughts: Unless pitch and putt courses are your favorite, I would never make a special trip to play here. It's less than 10 minutes off the interstate, so that's a plus for course baggers.

For locals to Roanoke Rapids and Halifax County, there's only one other option within a half hour and it's about 15 minutes out of town. So this place is a decent option to keep loose and have a little fun.

It could use a couple of trash cans on the actual course, but most of the locals clean up decently after themselves.

At one time probably around 2009, a Dominion Power representative had mentioned to a couple of our most frequent players that they had plans to potentially expand the Lake Park and possibly include 9 more holes and lay concrete tee pads. Those improvements would be huge, but I don't see them coming to pass at this point.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Less Than Average Joe

5+    11/7/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very short, and impossible to get lost on. GREAT for begginers or a quick 9 hole round. VERY OPEN. No real hazards.
Cons: Too short for big arm throwers and not technical enough for advanced players. The holes provide no real challenge after about 6 months of playing as they are all open with very few trees between you and the basket in the fairways. Teeboxes are sand, and poorly kept by the staff on site, though one worker did take me to get extra sand with a cart so that I could fill in some of the more dangerous boxes.
The course is situated on the edge of a family lake park and walking trails, and the local high school cross country team practices here and has meets here so watch for runners trying to cheat a few yards by cutting through the holes during these times.
It is only open from February 28th-November 10th from 11a-6pm. The staff will close early to get home a few minutes early on a regular basis and one of the staff there is a total JERK to the DG players.

Trash is a HUGE problem since this ark was originally a hang out for teen drinkers and party-ers looking to hide from cops as recently as a few years ago, and a few of the local players here can be rude to new comers, and disrespectful to the staff and others using the other park amenities.
There's room for 9 more holes, but the owner (Dominion Power Company) doesn't seem inclined to add onto the course anytime soon due to the handful of rude players.
There are only 2 trash cans, and neither of those are on the course, they are outside the fence by the exit from hole 9 and the other by the entrance to hole 1.
Hole 1 can pose a problem for lost discs if your shot gets high and left over a tall chain fence that separates the course from some very over grown field areas. Hole 3 and 8 offers the same if you shoot long past the basket and high, though 8 is somewhat retrievable by going around the park and into another parking lot to the field it will land in.
Other Thoughts: Seeing as this course is in my hometown, I hate to rate it so low, but it deserves not much more than this. Its great to go play to waste some time and keep your arm loose, but not worth a drive for anyone more than 5 minutes out of town. If you are in Roanoke Rapids, are a disc golf player, and have absolutely nothing else to do... its worth it... but if you have something else you could do.. like wash your hair or re-lace your tennis shoes, you'd be better off to do those things instead.

I play it regularly when it is open just to stay loose and keep my game up somewhat. Other than that, I wouldn't play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An ordinary 9 holer

1    12/28/2008   3/24/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *It's mostly a woods course with 2 somewhat more open, mixed terrain holes.
*The Chainstar baskets are good and a personal favorite of mine.
*The course is easy to navigate, and the amount of rough is just right.
Cons: -Closed in the winter from Nov 9 to March 1! And during the rest of the year it's also only open from Wed - Sun 11:00 to 6:00. There's a tall locked fence that keeps you out.
-The tee pads aren't long enough and made of uneven gravel
-The length variety is low. 2<199/ 7 of 200-280.
-There are almost no Amenities: no map, score cards, or warm up basket. No benches or trash cans either.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.) Or possibly a somewhat difficult Red level. White level players will make mostly humdrum pars, but Red level players may find it a little more challenging.

Hole 2, at 119 ft., has the distinctive of getting on the list of "Shortest Holes in NC". If you don't take a 2 you feel like you've dropped a stroke.

This course is like the ordinary kid in high school-- there's nothing that bad about it, but there's not much that really stands out either. Everything is just so average. The fairway shapes are average, but could use a little more variety (5 St/ 2 Lt/ 2 R). There's average elevation variety with 3 Flat/ 2 Up/ 4 Down, but the greatest elevation change is only +8 ft. The tee signs are adequate but very basic. The greens, beauty, and overall quality have no glaring flaws but nothing stellar either; they're all just average. Since it's only 9 holes that pushed my rating down a little. I wouldn't make a special trip to play here.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings too.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 The hometown!

5+    10/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 48  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is very new. All the holes are pretty short. They have signs on all the holes and the course is easy to navigate.
Cons: They need concrete tee boxes and a back 9. Hopefully they will eventually add a back 9 and put in some long holes to balance out the front 9. Needs to stay open year round.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown and everytime I am there I try to get a round in. Very fun and easy 9 holes.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.