Layout Extinct

Bridgman, MI 
Lake Township Park DGC - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #3
3 / 492ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 Next >
  

2-4    4/11/2010   4/12/2010
Review By: Gleiber
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is a great beginner course or a good course to dust off the cobwebs from a long off season. It has some good fairly short holes that requires a few well placed shots around trees. Holes 1,2,4,5, and 6 are fairly easy holes that are great for some relaxed play with friends. Hole 3 can be a bit tricky with the 3 trees right in your way to the hole and the fence to your right. A well placed low shot should put you in the right position for par. You shouldn't have to worry too much about losing your disc over the fence. Holes 15 and 16 are great leisure holes to play.
Cons: I lost my disc over the fence on hole 3 the other day due to a strong wind and the fact I hadn't played since September.

Holes 9,10,11,12, and 14 can get VERY frustrating during the spring time since it floods a bit in the woods and it can get very muddy with mud holes from 1-2 feet deep, I have yet to not get muddy. If you go during April I suggest shying away from hole 11. Holes 15 and 16 cross over and could cause problems during the summer when the park is busy. Hole 17, if you don't know exactly where you are going, can be annoying. During the summer when it gets crowded there could be a high risk of hitting a car since to get to the whole, you have to throw across a parking lot. Also, if it is windy and you don't know where you are going, be careful of the lake, it is right over the mound. Make sure to scope out where the hole is first. Almost lost my disc in the lake.
Other Thoughts: I played there twice over the weekend. Both times I ended up with muddy pants and shoes. Lost my disc over the fence on hole 3, and came within a half a foot of the lake. Weren't too many people. A few families.

Just make sure to scope out what you playing through on holes 10,11,12, and 14 to make sure you don't get muddy if you dislike mud. Also, make sure to scope out 17.

Also, THERE IS a GREAT HORNED OWL'S NEST on Hole 14 in a tree that has a "v" split halfway up, about 3/4 of the way to the hole. The nest is sitting right in the "v". So far I have only seen 3 baby owls in it.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/19/2009   3/5/2010
Review By: gordonbombay
Played: 51  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well manicured
Great beginners course. Several short holes and little chance of losing discs.
The course makes great use of the available land and seems to squeeze a hole out of every unused portion of the park (with the exception of the pond).
Holes 1 2 5 6 play on top of a mound and through a grove of trees. Fun holes with different shots required for each.
Hole 3 is a long flat hole with tall trees on the left a tall fence on the right and demands a low shot or a well placed roller to make par.
The holes that play in and around the forest area can be a lot of fun. A couple have blind drives with a little elevation change that makes it hard to see the pin.



Cons: 7 8 9 are pretty much filler holes with not much character or many obstacles.
Crossing Fairways on 15 and sixteen could get dangerous if the park gets crowded.
Other Thoughts: I played in early fall and the park was entirely abandoned. During the summer Im sure it can get its fair use with the soccer fields and baseball/softball diamonds, which several holes play right next to.
The wide open holes get a little monotonous but there are enough holes that play in and around trees to change it up a little.
If they go for a redesign on this one hopefully they address the crossing fariways and play around the water/over the pond instead.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Solid course

5+    8/12/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: Frolfer4Life
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nearby, Free, Not usually crowded, Mowed, Easy to find disc
Cons: Number 3 blows, Short holes
Other Thoughts: - #3 needs to be moved or put up a 20 foot high fence with a gate
- #9 needs to also have a tall fence with a gate
- Lots more room in the park, could easily fit 9 more holes
- It would be sweet if they put in concrete teeboxes

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    9/10/2009   8/3/2008
Review By: davetherocketguy
Played: 68  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/22/2012
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. I really think the 17th (570') is now the courses signature hole. It forces a bomb of a tee shot and then an awesome (and very long) approach to even sniff the hole all while avoiding the roadway (which I assume is OB) and getting into a little nest of trees before even thinking of getting your putter out. This is one of the few times I like how the road way comes into play. I've played a lot of courses all over the place and this is one of my favorite holes.

2. 10 is also great. It's a great confidence boost to those that throw RHBH with a sweeping right to left path to the basket.

3. Those are a nice choice in baskets on the back nine. The double layer of chains are more $$ but worth it.

4. Mowed and well kept up.
Cons: 1. The layout and the flooding on hole 3. (I'm told the flooding is now fixed or reduced) There is also a high fence lining the edge of this hole so errant throws are impossible to retrieve. UPDATE: I see the park planners have seen fit to install a gravel walking path right in front of the #3. Brilliant.

2. During the spring there is a soccer league there and hole #4 cuts right across one of the fields.

3. Hole #7 is tough to find along with #9. Hole #6 (along with several others) is right next to some grills.

4. There are no tee pads at all. Just rutted out grass.

5. 15 and 16 are a major issue. You have 2 fairways crossing each other and presents obvious safety issues. That is a serious no-no in course design. The 15th tee is between the 16th basket and tee. 15 has you throwing REAL close to a active park roadway. 16th tee is a blind shot to the basket. People making the long trek from 14 to 15 are in danger of getting clocked by drives from 16th tee.

6. 11, 14 are not very playable currently. Heavy shule is the "fairway" here. Use a brightly colored disc otherwise you will NEVER find it. These will be better once the leaves are gone. Wear long pants because there are nasty prickers on these holes. UPDATE: The fairways on these holes has been cleared rather significantly and the holes are playable. Regardless, be very careful roaming around the shule in this area - I have seen poison ivy and there are ticks in the area. However, this will not change my rating...See item #9

7. 12 needs some under brush cleared as well. It is sort of playable as it is but it forces the dg'er to throw waaaay too close to a very busy asphalt path and fence.

8. #6 has you throwing really close to one of the many soccer fields here.

9. I found out recently that #17 has a rather absurd mando. If you follow the mando as designed and you will be out IN FRONT OF the tee box for #18. Seriously? This hole needs that mando? At 500+ feet long and a hidden basket, the freaking hole is hard enough as it is.
Other Thoughts: If you are a local, this is a good place to practice but I wouldn't drive a significant distance to play here.

Someone has gone through a lot of trouble to expand this course. While I applaud their efforts I just can't rightly give it anything better than a 1.5 until some of the cons are addressed. It has the potential to be a 3 or 3.5 at best. Unfortunately, with all the activities on this course it will never be much better than that. Also, the land just doesn't offer the elements many dg'ers love to see like hills, woods, water hazards, etc. I think the designer has done ok with what they had to work with.

Note: My suggestion for play is to skip the following holes...#3, #12, #15 and #16 and ignore the mando on #17. If you do that, it's not a half bad disc golf experience but not something you want to drive a long ways to play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

6/17/2008   6/17/2008
Review By: TimSyl
Played: 96  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 10.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Hole 3 is a good hole, good length and a tunnel fairway. Always mowed, would be almost impossible to lose a disc. Good design for the available space.
Cons: Only 9 holes and not really any other courses very close, so going there just for this course is a bit of a stretch. Bit of a walk to some tees...didn't see any maps or scorecards.
Other Thoughts: If they could somehow add 9 more holes, it would make it worth the trip.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Busy Crowded Park

2-4    8/3/2007   5/24/2008
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 9 holes, interesting pin placements on limited available space. Trees, slight elevation. Good beginner course as most of the holes aren't very long.
Cons: This course is built in a smaller crowded park and has to share with numerous other park ameneties. During sporting events or busy days, I can imagine this park is frustrating to play. Also, the course design is such, that you finish the 9th hole and have a long walk back to the parking lot and the first tee.
Other Thoughts: Nice to see a disc golf course in this neglected corner of lower western Michigan, wish there were a few more around there.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 don't go out of your way

9/7/2006   2/20/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 345  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 31.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 baskets
beginner friendly
Cons: signature hole 3 had a fence along the entire right side and was almost flooded
in a grassy area.
hard to find hole 7 after hole 6
too near other park activities
Other Thoughts: The park is nice with plenty of other recreation for kids and has room to expand the course in other areas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.