Denver, CO 
Lakewood Dry Gulch Share
Uploaded By: pmockler Hole #8 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 320ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
An underrated gem in Denver proper

5+    9/10/2017   9/27/2017
Review By: Freeheeler7
Played: 45  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Excellent variety of hole length, shots required, elevation gains, great tee pads, never crowded, every hole has multiple pin locations, only course in Denver, close to my house, never a dull moment regarding the local population.
Cons: Terrible or no signage, pins do not get moved often enough, lack of maintenance on the back half of the course, hard to navigate if you don't know the layout, the City obviously cares very little about this course, no easy access from 19 pin to 20 tee, no easy access to 7 long's green, sketchy neighborhood (but this is also what I love about it), too much trash and far too many tent cities in various locations.
Other Thoughts: In my opinion, this could be a championship level course with just the most minimal amount of effort from the City. Barring that, if they would allow those of us who use it frequently (I play there at least 3 times a week) to help care for it, that would be great. In the late fall, winter, and early spring the entire course is generally playable (pending snow) and is a looong, challenging course that requires the player to use every shot and disc in his/her bag. Grounds maintenance could be better. Changing pin locations more frequently would be great. Clearing out the tent cities would be amazing. But all in all I love that the reputation of this course keeps people away, because I almost always have the course to myself. That people think it's too dangerous to play there is a complete joke. I've had numerous positive interactions with the people who call that park home, and very, very few negative encounters. But, by all means, go play lighthouse or Johnny, or Expo and leave Paco to me and the handful of regulars who call this our home course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Challenging course

1    3/19/2017   8/19/2017
Review By: Buckwheat
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very diverse course with some challenging holes. Good use of the area.
Cons: Not well kept, area used by homeless. Some landing areas are non existent.
Other Thoughts: Fun course to play but I was alone and kept my head on a swivel.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sketchy at best

1    8/8/2017   8/9/2017
Review By: leafshi
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Relatively close to downtown, different terrain, long holes, nice tees.
Cons: There appeared to be a homeless population living on or near the course, tees and holes not well marked, hole 8 tee was a sidewalk, some holes were full of trash, some holes were next to the light rain and if you shanked it hard, it would end up hitting a train.
Other Thoughts: We gave up at hole 9 since we didn't want to deal with the homeless population.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Narrows

5+    6/20/2017   6/20/2017
Review By: ZachTuthill
Played: 45  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/20/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Land use. Backs up to Federal and uses every inch of available space.

There are holes where you can go 100% full with a driver, no matter HOW good you are, and not overshoot.

Everything is in play, all the time. If you think skimming the sidewalk on a hole is your best option, it probably is.

Due to meteorological forces beyond my understanding, the corridor this course is in rarely gets windy short of a storm, a rarity for Denver.
Cons: Everything is in play, all the time. A big arm coupled with an errant shot could put the light rail, a fenced and inaccessible neighborhood, and the Platte in play.......from the same tee.

Basket thievery. Because then of course you're scanning 400 feet in front of you for a stick with a ribbon jutting out of the ground.

Trash, decaying wood, and the occasional surly homeless.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I dubbed this course "The Narrows," and it defies logic.It begins with several lengthy but navigable holes in a well manicured park. It's fun, compete-with-your-friends frolf. Then you arrive at the first of many bridges, throw several blind holes, and begin throwing west for an hour. The park part is over, and now starts the section where "everything is in play." On one hole, you can bank or ride the wall elevating the light rail to great affect. Another offers the ultimatum of throwing directly through an aluminum tower's support beams, or throwing a shot that has to ride over the river its entire flight to be successful. The available space is so minimal that you play both sides of the river. After each implausibly long, westward facing hole, it seems you must turn back (I mean you've passed three playgrounds and two light rail stations on the same line), but somehow you discover another tee box leading you 497 feet to another bridge. At some point you realize you're no longer competing with your friends, but trying to stay afloat against the course. It's about now that you realize you're also playing the longest course west of the Eisenhower Tunnel. The holes are dishearteningly long through the middle. When you finally do turn around, the trip back feels much shorter. If your gut says skip it off the sidewalk or tomahawk off the tee, it's probably the right move. The Narrows rewards you on the 21st and final hole with an obstacle free, boomers paradise with no hazards in play. A tip of the hat to the discer who just spent twice as long and twice the energy he expected to play the only course in Denver proper.

Sorry for the length, but it's a polarizing course with to many vibes to sum up quick. All in all, if you're visiting, you can do far better in the metro area, where there are 25 courses of all variety in striking distance. But if you are a skilled player or a local, you need to play this course. Despite feeling like it was designed by the March Hare, it has a special place in my heart. It's a true test of skill and grit, but most importantly it serves as a lesson in humility. My Summit county buddies and I routinely dominate tough mountain courses. So I guess what I'm saying is, once in awhile its nice to come them down to Colfax and Feds and get our asses kicked by this wicked gem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't bother

1    5/31/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: spacin_mason
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Long Holes, close-ish to downtown Denver. There were 2 holes on the opposite side of the train tracks next to the playground that featured cut grass and were actually playable.
Cons: Little to no markings, 16-18 very overgrown holes where you can lose a drive in the fairway, dirty (saw needles around). Was never able to find hole one.
Other Thoughts: I am sure if you catch this place with trimmed fairways and a local who knew their way around, it could be fun. There is definitely course potential with some of the wide openness. But with overgrown fairways and little to no markings, it was very frustrating to play.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Don't play without a guide

1    5/21/2017   5/21/2017
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great views of both the mountains and the city. Good tee pads. Nice variety of slopes, trees, and creek. Provides good challenge for intermediate and advanced players.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate. No "next tee" signs. Extremely dangerous layout. Many shots put pedestrians and BIKERS at risk. Some baskets are right around blind corners creating the possibility of severe injuries.

Light raill tracks are in play on a couple holes. Signs warn golfers not to cross the fence, but I observed several golfers doing it anyway.

Several holes criss-cross each other dangerously.
Other Thoughts: I know locals will likely give this review thumbs-downs with the Colorado tradition of course score inflation. I know many of my reviews sound like broken records, but the truth is the truth. Thus is a solid piece of property with a very BAD course design.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

A bit of an adventure

1    3/23/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun course with many diverse holes
Good baskets, good tee pads
Cons: Hard to follow course flow in some areas
Many placards are no longer there
As others mentioned, there are homeless remnants throughout the course
Didn't like playing under the power lines most of the round
Other Thoughts: Looks like they were pouring a new #1 tee when I went
The train must have altered this course a lot
Curious to watch them building all of these new luxury apartments facing the course!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

The Long Walk

5+    2/6/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: highdesertdisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Tees - Large concrete pads at every hole.

Challenging Holes - A variety of trees, elevation, distance and OB to keep you on your toes.

Great Hike - A solid hike up and down the hills from Knox that heads slightly east and then bends west
almost all the way to Sheridan and then back again!

Multiple Basket Placements - While I think it is most liked at its shortest basket placements, they can get as long as 700+, which can be really fun

Great Views - As you head west you see the mountains before you and can almost forget your in the city (especially hole 7)

Open Field - Nice wide field by hole one is great for practice/warm up throws

Disc Sales - Usually in the summer months a guy will have large orange 5 gallon drums with used discs. Were talking $5 - $10 a disc folks.
Cons: Damage/Wear on Signs - Some of the signs are torn down

Homeless - While less of a presence in the colder months, a lot of homeless camp out along the river. I have never had any issues but its a good thing to take note of.

Its A Park - There are more than a few places where the sidewalks cross the path from tee to basket, so be okay with yelling heads up or waiting for people.

Directions - Not much at all. Go with a friend who knows it or follow someone else. Or get lost, that can be fun and hey ADVENTURE.

Hazards - While less of a con for me and more of a trek, if a disc gets away from you and lands on another bank, on the train tracks or in the water. Be prepared to do some awkward trekking to retrieve it.
Other Thoughts: As a backhand player this course can get a little repetitive sometimes, but that said I find it interesting enough to keep coming back here to perfect my lines and find new ones.

If you are crunched for time, just play holes 1-8 and then play hole 21 back towards Knox St as hole "9". Its a nice quick fix during a work day. You can stomp it in 45mins.

If you think you might throw it in the water. Bring a golden retriever. If you think you might not throw it in the water. Bring a golden retriever.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Not good at all

1    2/9/2017   2/17/2017
Review By: breezywywh
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: There are baskets and tee pads
Cons: Nasty water running through course that had a noticeable odor (who wants to reach in that to pluck a disc)
Not a great layout
Homeless debris and litter everywhere
Many throws directly towards/across the paths
Broken/missing tee signs
Other Thoughts: I joked to my friend that we'd have to watch out for syringes. That joke became reality as I noticed one in front of me on my 1st putt. I lived in the Denver area for 5 years and never made it here. I wanted to try a new course while visiting with a friend and we were in the neighborhood, so we checked it out. I could not have regretted that decision any more. I would not ever play this course again, as it was one of the crummiest courses I've ever played.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Man up and play Paco

5+    6/14/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diverse landscapes, elevation, foliage, environments requiring a diverse arsenal of throwing capabilities and distances. Some wide open distance shots; some long, tight-window, narrow drives; some that require a competent placement of your tee shot so you are left w a good upshot. Some in-jail looks, some short and seemingly easy birdie/ace runs. Has it all and then some.

All concrete tee pads.

All 21 baskets in decent to good condition.

FREE.
Cons: Tall, thick grass and weeds can swallow up your plastic so watch closely and track all shots, especially on the back (9-20).

Some "homeless" will snatch your disc so again watch closely.

Lots of pedestrians who are not paying attention so always yield if you see someone.

Inconsistent course/hole maps on the tee pads so try to locate the basket before throwing. Also it's easy to mistake basket 18 with basket 10, and vice-versa, so be sure you're throwing at the correct one.

Lots of derelicts. Drunks, junkies, crack heads and others just living in tents in the park for free. They're mostly just trying to con you out of your money, ciggs, and inventory. Would suggest not making eye contact.

On a hot day it can be a long slog so bring plenty to drink.

I think the train buzzing through every 5-10 minutes adds an energy and uniqueness to the course. But avoid throwing into the tracks. It's always sketch retrieving your plastic.

Lots of trash, especially on the back 9-20 holes. Police yourself and don't add to the problem, douchebag.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you a better player. Lots of scrambling and precise coordination of powerful shots are required to finish below par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.