Denver, CO 
Lakewood Dry Gulch Share
Uploaded By: pmockler Hole #5 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 400ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Don't play without a guide

1    5/21/2017   5/21/2017
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great views of both the mountains and the city. Good tee pads. Nice variety of slopes, trees, and creek. Provides good challenge for intermediate and advanced players.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate. No "next tee" signs. Extremely dangerous layout. Many shots put pedestrians and BIKERS at risk. Some baskets are right around blind corners creating the possibility of severe injuries.

Light raill tracks are in play on a couple holes. Signs warn golfers not to cross the fence, but I observed several golfers doing it anyway.

Several holes criss-cross each other dangerously.
Other Thoughts: I know locals will likely give this review thumbs-downs with the Colorado tradition of course score inflation. I know many of my reviews sound like broken records, but the truth is the truth. Thus is a solid piece of property with a very BAD course design.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A bit of an adventure

1    3/23/2017   4/7/2017
Review By: sjroesinger
Played: 37  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: Fun course with many diverse holes
Good baskets, good tee pads
Cons: Hard to follow course flow in some areas
Many placards are no longer there
As others mentioned, there are homeless remnants throughout the course
Didn't like playing under the power lines most of the round
Other Thoughts: Looks like they were pouring a new #1 tee when I went
The train must have altered this course a lot
Curious to watch them building all of these new luxury apartments facing the course!

The Long Walk

5+    2/6/2017   2/27/2017
Review By: highdesertdisc
Played: 26  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Tees - Large concrete pads at every hole.

Challenging Holes - A variety of trees, elevation, distance and OB to keep you on your toes.

Great Hike - A solid hike up and down the hills from Knox that heads slightly east and then bends west
almost all the way to Sheridan and then back again!

Multiple Basket Placements - While I think it is most liked at its shortest basket placements, they can get as long as 700+, which can be really fun

Great Views - As you head west you see the mountains before you and can almost forget your in the city (especially hole 7)

Open Field - Nice wide field by hole one is great for practice/warm up throws

Disc Sales - Usually in the summer months a guy will have large orange 5 gallon drums with used discs. Were talking $5 - $10 a disc folks.
Cons: Damage/Wear on Signs - Some of the signs are torn down

Homeless - While less of a presence in the colder months, a lot of homeless camp out along the river. I have never had any issues but its a good thing to take note of.

Its A Park - There are more than a few places where the sidewalks cross the path from tee to basket, so be okay with yelling heads up or waiting for people.

Directions - Not much at all. Go with a friend who knows it or follow someone else. Or get lost, that can be fun and hey ADVENTURE.

Hazards - While less of a con for me and more of a trek, if a disc gets away from you and lands on another bank, on the train tracks or in the water. Be prepared to do some awkward trekking to retrieve it.
Other Thoughts: As a backhand player this course can get a little repetitive sometimes, but that said I find it interesting enough to keep coming back here to perfect my lines and find new ones.

If you are crunched for time, just play holes 1-8 and then play hole 21 back towards Knox St as hole "9". Its a nice quick fix during a work day. You can stomp it in 45mins.

If you think you might throw it in the water. Bring a golden retriever. If you think you might not throw it in the water. Bring a golden retriever.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not good at all

1    2/9/2017   2/17/2017
Review By: breezywywh
Played: 52  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: There are baskets and tee pads
Cons: Nasty water running through course that had a noticeable odor (who wants to reach in that to pluck a disc)
Not a great layout
Homeless debris and litter everywhere
Many throws directly towards/across the paths
Broken/missing tee signs
Other Thoughts: I joked to my friend that we'd have to watch out for syringes. That joke became reality as I noticed one in front of me on my 1st putt. I lived in the Denver area for 5 years and never made it here. I wanted to try a new course while visiting with a friend and we were in the neighborhood, so we checked it out. I could not have regretted that decision any more. I would not ever play this course again, as it was one of the crummiest courses I've ever played.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Man up and play Paco

5+    6/14/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diverse landscapes, elevation, foliage, environments requiring a diverse arsenal of throwing capabilities and distances. Some wide open distance shots; some long, tight-window, narrow drives; some that require a competent placement of your tee shot so you are left w a good upshot. Some in-jail looks, some short and seemingly easy birdie/ace runs. Has it all and then some.

All concrete tee pads.

All 21 baskets in decent to good condition.

FREE.
Cons: Tall, thick grass and weeds can swallow up your plastic so watch closely and track all shots, especially on the back (9-20).

Some "homeless" will snatch your disc so again watch closely.

Lots of pedestrians who are not paying attention so always yield if you see someone.

Inconsistent course/hole maps on the tee pads so try to locate the basket before throwing. Also it's easy to mistake basket 18 with basket 10, and vice-versa, so be sure you're throwing at the correct one.

Lots of derelicts. Drunks, junkies, crack heads and others just living in tents in the park for free. They're mostly just trying to con you out of your money, ciggs, and inventory. Would suggest not making eye contact.

On a hot day it can be a long slog so bring plenty to drink.

I think the train buzzing through every 5-10 minutes adds an energy and uniqueness to the course. But avoid throwing into the tracks. It's always sketch retrieving your plastic.

Lots of trash, especially on the back 9-20 holes. Police yourself and don't add to the problem, douchebag.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you a better player. Lots of scrambling and precise coordination of powerful shots are required to finish below par.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Rained Out

1    8/10/2015   4/14/2016
Review By: nolan24970
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes and obstacles to throw around
-The creek running through the course makes for some difficult throws/approaches
-In the middle of Lakewood/Denver but still a substantial amount of space
Cons: -The back 9 was tricky to navigate as you entered more of a ghetto
Other Thoughts: It had rained a lot in the days preceding our game, and it started raining when we were out there. Around hole 9-10 there is a path across the river/creek that was flooded out and made it tricky to cross. There are other ways around, but our group didn't have the time for the slightly longer detour. Basically rainy weather seems to affect this course a lot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Side hills

1    3/13/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: sasheise
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played in March, so foliage and grass were sparce. This was a fun course with good diversity in doglegs, altitude variations, and distance mix.
Cons: We were held up a couple of times by walkers on the path that runs the length of the course and the trolley at the turn around point. The last basket is over a 1/4 mile from the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Stream was at a low level so the penalty for landing in the creek bed was low - this would change dramatically during the high water periods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blah... first 9 was fine back 9 was crap

1    10/16/2015   3/11/2016
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First 9 was ok
lots of open distance to play with
varying degrees of elevation
Cons: back 9 was non-existent
seems to start in a ghetto neighborhood
Other Thoughts: Granted this was back in october 2015. It was also a bit difficult to find the beginning and it seemed the course goes by 2 names.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't understand the hate

1    2/20/2016   2/20/2016
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 21 holes all with serviceable baskets.
- Concrete tee pads on every hole
- Long course, has legit par 4s but a nice mix of some shorter holes
- Tunnel shots, hyzer lines (the majority of shots), Anhyzer lines. Overall good variety
- Elevation changes
- Great views and a creek that comes into play
- Light rail drops you off right at the course if you can't drive
Cons: - Light rail runs through the course. Discs would be un-retrievable if they land on it.
- Some of the baskets are single chain and don't catch too well
- A lot of holes play down or across pedestrian walkways but on a nice Saturday there was very little foot-traffic and not any blind shots
- The park does have a bit of a homeless problem but I had no issues, everyone I encountered was friendly
- Not the greatest neighborhood but far from the "ghetto" that people call it
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I moved to Denver a year ago and had been avoiding it because I have heard negative things (gangs, missing baskets, etc.). I found this course to have more variety in shots than any other course in the metro area and would love to see more events here. The light rail does add to the chance of losing a disc, but I had no problem avoiding it. The creek was shallow and clear enough that it was easy to retrieve any disc that goes into it. Go play this course, it is worth your time

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Near Downtown

1    1/29/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: bsflyerkc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the only 18+ course that had easy access from my downtown hotel. I just used a $6 Uber ride to get out here, but there is a rail line with service from downtown too.

The course is in a "gulch", but it wasn't dry. The gulch is full of water and there is a rail line on the banks of the gulch. The water and the rail line are a constant concern, almost always serving as an OB down one side of the fairway. The majority of the tee shots favor RHBH lines. Trees are used around the targets so that you have to pick a line and execute. Most fairway shots are not on level ground -- uphill, downhill, sidehill. Overall, I thought it played very fair in the short positions.
Cons: You do have to pay attention to pedestrians, but that's the trade-off for having a nice course so close to downtown. It would be really tough to build a course this close to downtown that didn't require sharing the space with other people.

Bigger, brighter flags on the baskets would be helpful. I'm sure this isn't a problem for people who frequently play here, but I would have really struggled to find the target from the tee had I not been playing with locals.

Also, the grounds could definitely benefit from a little TLC in regards to trash.
Other Thoughts: This course was solid. I would definitely play it again if given the opportunity. I played in late January of 2015, 60 degree day. After 5 holes, I joined a 3-some of local players who were good players and even better hosts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.