Brookings, SD 
Larson Park Share
Uploaded By: DustyV Hole #13
4 / 214ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Grand Larson-y

1    9/3/2017   11/19/2017
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 346  Reviewed: 231  Exp: 14.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shooting low scores is fun, but this is ridiculous. Larson Park is an 18 hole layout that is really fun, and you will be under par. There are concrete tees with signs, and the baskets are all good.

The park is covered with plush grass, and it has a fair number of trees on most holes. There is a large hill that puts elevation changes in play on much of the back nine.

This is one of the shorter 18 hole courses I have played in terms of distance. Wind could throw some curves, but it was very nice the morning I played there. Good for practicing the basics, with roomy fairways that are not totally devoid of trees.

The holes I liked best were 11, 13, and 18. All of them are downhill with different throws. I went for the mid range line drive to the pin on 11. 13 I threw a forehand flick. On the grand finale, I went for it and threw a nice flexing driver that bombed past everything. Way overshot it, but was still able to get up and down for an eagle 3.
Cons: Not an ultra challenging round. Not really much of a challenge at all. The pros will find it a snoozer. The layout isn't that hard to follow, but it ends in an odd spot with a walk back to the car.

Anytime I make 18 under par, especially on the first attempt at a new course, something is wrong. Perhaps an adjustment of the par is in order. Even if you play them all par 3, going under is not too difficult.
Other Thoughts: The posted par is 68, which is obscenely generous. On my first and only round I scored a 50, and that included 2 bogies. Finishing in the 40's is quite possible. One of those courses that has enough elevation to be fun, and you want to play over to see how low you can go. Hole in 1 on a par 5? You can do it here on hole 18.

Larson Park reminds me of a gentler version of some of my favorite courses, like Boyd Pond or Earlewood in SC, or Jackson 18 in Atchison, KS. Loads of fun, with less tress and higher par. There is just enough going on to keep it from being a pitch and putt. The back nine is pretty cool, playing up and down the hill with a big finish from the summit on 18.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Fun Course

2-4    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 66  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Use of space and elevation: Although the holes were all of similar length, the variety of trees and elevation changes made each hole a unique challenge
-Baskets: The baskets were in good shape, and seemed to be kept up well
-Teepads: New, large cement teepads provide and excellent surface to tee off of
-Signs: Informative and colorful. Hard to get lost if you are paying attention to the signs
-Maintenance: The grass and trees were all kept up well
-Accessibility: A short drive from the highway, and plenty of parking near the first tee
-Shot variety: Plenty of left-right holes each
Cons: -Some holes are close together, which would become a problem if many golfers were out at the same time
-Written Pars: While I would never complain about forgiving pars, these were ludicrous. Par was way too high, and I found myself playing down to the difficulty of the par
-Walking paths run through the course, and pedestrians are always a hazard to watch out for
Other Thoughts: This course is a ton of fun, and one that is easy to score well on. It is not the most challenging course, but a beginner would enjoy the distance (or lack thereof), and the advanced player can work their short game. A great play if you're in the area!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    5/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 31  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice fairly easy course with good use of elevation. Baskets are nice and tee pads are concrete. Each hole has a nice map showing trees and hole locations.

The whole park is nicely mowed, and it is easy to find discs - I only remember losing one disc here over multiple years.

The front 9 is mostly wooded, fairly technical shots, and the back 9 is open, longer shots which make great use of the elevation changes. There is a good mix of short and long holes, although nothing above 400 feet.

Overall, it's a nice free public course with a laid back atmosphere. Much better than the SDSU course.
Cons: There's a gross bog by holes 12-14 which is always covered in green scum, and a pool of water forms by hole 1, especially after the spring thaw.

There are a few very short holes (4 and 7) which are very easy birdies.

There are very few benches, and only about every other hole has a trash can.

There is no signature hole, and a lot of them blend together.
Other Thoughts: I usually hammer throw on hole 2 to avoid trying to get through the 10 foot gap between two evergreens.

A lot of the baskets are taken out in the winter due to the hill being used for sledding.

Even playing everything a par 3, there are numerous birdie opportunities, and intermediate players should be able to throw most rounds under par.

There's a drinking fountain and bathrooms by hole 4.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/9/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: vanguard
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Diversity of holes
-Elevation changes
-Scenery
-Easy to navigate.
Cons: -Can be crowded on nice days, although most people have no problem letting you play through or merge groups.
-The signage is wrong on some holes.
-There is a sesspool near holes 12 and 13 (very minimal chance of disc loss) that detracts greatly from the natural beauty of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Mostly a younger (18-25 year old)demographic that plays this course.

Larson Park can be a real challenge if winds are moderate or higher.

Our group always plays each hole par 3, rather than the course par.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.