Cedar Hill, TX 
Lester Lorch Park - Coyote DGC Share
Uploaded By: cooleyes37 Hole #18 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 220ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 54
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 DFW's best

5+    7/6/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 488  Reviewed: 265  Exp: 30.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A short (but not too short) technical course.

A few of the holes have been lengthened sense the last time I played out here.

Benches on about every 3rd hole.

LOTS OF SHADE which is great on a hot day like today was.

Cement tee pads on every hole.

Tee signs on every hole.

Good use of what little elevation is in the park.
Cons: Some of the Tee Pads are too short.

Could use some more benches.

Poison Ivy, lots of it.

Briers if you get off the fairway. (I have yet to play here and not draw blood)
Other Thoughts: When ever I play Cedar Hill, I play both courses back to back. (Beaver 1 - 16, Coyote 2-1, Beaver 17-18)

Together with the Beaver course, Cedar hill is the best place to play disc golf in the DFW are by far.

Coyote really makes you throw your line. If you throw in the rough, you are in trouble.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wow, fantastic course!

2-4    7/5/2010   7/6/2010
Review By: AequitasVeritas
Played: 61  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2010
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tons of technical tree holes.
-Couple of chances to seriously bomb some discs, especially #14
-Nice and shaded for most of the course
-Pretty clean
-Well maintained. Granted, looked like they had mowed the day before.
-Will demand every shot you have in your bag to do well
-2 great 18 hole courses out here.
-Great use of the natural terrain
-No water holes
Cons: -Trees....lots of trees.
-Can get muddy after some rain
-Some of the holes can be real disc eaters
-Didn't seem to be enough places to sit down
-Speed bumps in parking lot.
-No water holes
Other Thoughts: Great course. I now have a new favorite hole of all time! Hole #14 out here is just a great hole to really let one rip. The pin is tucked into some trees so you have to have some accuracy.

Surprisingly, this course didn't seem to be too crowded on the 4th of July weekend. Only had to let one group play through and they were way better than us, so it was ok.

This course requires having to throw to the right and the left. It really doesn't favor one throw or the other. Great mix of right and left doglegs and a few long holes.

Ace opportunities on a few holes as well.

If you come down to DFW for disc golf, this should be on the list to play. And you locals, it is totally worth the drive.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar Hill's Coyote

5+    12/10/2009   1/12/2010
Review By: TxDiscGolfBoy
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 12.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2011
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Shot variety
-Terrain variety and elevations changes
-Scenic course and the surrounding area is nice as well.
-Very clean course.
-Very scenic course.
-If you want to get good at your short-fairway game, this is the place to be.
Cons: -Very muddy when wet.

That's about all I can say about this course or it's neighbor in lue of cons.

-Lots of trees, turns, tight fairways,
Other Thoughts: This is only one half of 36 hole's course out in Cedar Hill... it's a must visit. Worth your time...without a doubt in my mind. If you love disc golf -- well let's just say that Cedar Hill's 36 hole's is the best in the DFW area.


7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Near Perfect

5+    12/13/2009   1/1/2010
Review By: McLeod
Played: 86  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.8 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well Maintained
Great Design
Privacy
Elevation Changes
Cons: Far Drive
Bad Parking Lot
That's it
Rocky Terrain
Other Thoughts: Best place to play 36 in the metroplex. It's so quiet and peaceful out there. Not much to complain about this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/5/2009   12/6/2009
Review By: Scoot_er
Played: 123  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 18.4 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very nice breath of fresh air for TX Disc Golf because this course gives a round of 51 a 1000 rated round yet most of the holes are well within range and probably 10 are under 300ft.

Multiple pins that change the scoring range of specific holes nicely and make for fun tournaments with different setups.

If you get hot on this course you can shoot great but if you are not shooting well your score will show it.

Cons: Quite a few lefty/sidearm skips that aren't too kind to those with even solid anhyzers as you need the disc to skip 60ft or so from a bend.

Rocky terrain on some holes can also chew discs up.

Other Thoughts: Like I said on the Beaver review, these courses are among the top 10 in TX and a great disc golf destination for anyone visiting the area.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Ehh, I'll skip it next time

1    11/17/2009   11/17/2009
Review By: chalos13
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2009
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Baskets seem new, lots of benches and trash cans, looks like brand new tee signs. From hole 2 backtrack up the fairway and go right on the path. From 3 go straight ahead, you can see 5 from the fairway, don't let it fool you. This course has so many uphill shots. this makes a good challenge, but it also makes you're round that much longer.
Cons: This is a tunnel course. Played in the fall, when they cleared this course, they left short stumps all over the fairways, when the leaves fall, this means you're going to trip on them all day. Hole 18, WTF? are you kidding me with this tunnel? It's insane.
Other Thoughts: I prefer Beaver to this course, but I did play better here, and the guy I played with liked this better. Liked this course, but I prefer a course that I have fun more than get frustrated.
Also, can we not have nice things Cedar Hill? This is the worst graffiti I have seen at a course, ever. The benches, holes everything was written on or carved in. One table had someone name cut into it, about an inch wide groove, letters the full size of the table. Come on people.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 WORTH THE DRIVE

2-4    5/28/2009   7/9/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2009
8 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, benches every couple holes, adequate parking, with port-a-john in the parking lot, very nice tee-signs, although some have been vandalized. lots of trash cans...and a very well kept park...A+ on maintanance

this is a very technical course, with some pretty rough holes....but most of the holes are fairly short so a 3 is still easily attainable....you have a decent amount of variety here, but the main goal is just to hit your lines....accuracy is rewarded greatly....most holes set up for rhbh....this course will really make you learn your discs...or at least beat them in REAL well lol

another plus is you have the adjoining beaver course with its tee-pad right next to the parking lot...two 4+ star courses in one spot?!?!?! what more can you ask for

**Information kiosk at the parking lot with scorecards and maps!!! big plus, and YOU WILL need a map if its your first time..
Cons: 1.**long walk to first hole from parking lot, you must walk around towards the pond to the big open field, hole 1's tee-pad will be to your left towards the trees.

2. a lot of shorter tee-pads...all holes are fairly short but i know a lot of people have problems with the short pads bc they go through their usual run up.

Other Thoughts: hole 1 is around to the right( towards the pond, from the parking lot read cons)

bring water, this ones not too long, but theres some short hiking involved

this is one of those course that will definitely make you learn your discs inside and out, you will definitely need every shot in the bag.

i highly recommend playing this course no matter how far the drive....trust me its worth it....anyone living or visting the dfw area must play the two lester-lorch courses

8 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great wooded course to pair with the beav!

2-4    6/4/2008   6/4/2009
Review By: drgnslyr221
Played: 26  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some of the best wooded holes in DFW!Like the Beaver course the layout and tees are great.

Some hard but fair tight lines through out.With the occasional open hole thrown in for good measure.Hole 18 has one of the funniest tunnel shots I've ever played.Hole 6 might just be the best wooded hole in DFW!
Cons: Poison plants in the deep parts.Not nearly as bad as bear creek though.The walk to one is a bit long but gives you a great few of the beaver course.
Other Thoughts: A most play especially since both courses here are excellent! If you want to throw all 36 a cool way I found was to throw 1-7 of the beaver course than throw all the coyote than play 8-18 of the beaver.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded, tough and spectacular

1    6/1/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 58  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/24/2013
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded if you like that, multiple pins on most holes. The tee signs along with showing you where both baskets are also have an arrow pointing you to the next tee, which really helped. Great variety of types of wooded holes, not just tunnels or straight shots. Pretty well kept. I faded, "DONKED!! and THONKED!!) off the fairway more than once and was able to find my disc with little to no trouble. My fav hole was 6. It is about a 250 ft. throw across a mini gully with the basket sitting on a hill slightly right of the fairway. More than 1 signature hole in my opinion. Busy so if you're new there you can follow the locals. The elevation was used very effectively, nothing drastic but definitely not flat. Concrete tee pads. A couple of ace runs, even for average at best players(I'm one of them). I almost aced 18, it would have been my first. If you play this course regularly it will make you learn to throw every shot humanly possible. Also some great pin placements. Multiple paths to the basket, so you can try to thread the needle or play it safe and throw the anhyzer or tomahawk. Just a pleasure to play and in my case, to get pimp slapped by a great course.
Cons: Poison ivy, which is on almost every heavily wooded course that I have played. Even though the tee signs point you to the next hole it would still be nice to have some arrows on the trees next to the baskets. This course is hard to find compared to the beaver course. A couple of more tables or benches would be nice but not really necessary, just nitpicking. Not really any major cons. The only thing keeping me from giving it a 5 is no water shots and no major elevation, but it is definitely going on my list of fav courses.
Other Thoughts: Along with the beaver, this is a 36 hole set up that is worth a road trip. This was my first trip into the Dallas/Fort Worth area. I figured why not start with one of the highest rated ones. I was definitely not disappointed. Follow the grayish tan gravel path and follow to the left, walk past the pond and into a clearing. The tee pad for one is in the left corner. after hole 9 walk at a slightly right angle into a smaller clearing and the tee for 10 also to the left. Just look at the tee sign and try to remember where the arrow is pointing. Enjoy your beat down, unless you are really good.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 09 review.

5+    4/11/2009   4/24/2009
Review By: Trev_Masta
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 1.If it's a hot sunny day you will not be bothered in ths shady wooded course.
2.Tricky shots keep you on your toes throughout the entire course keeping the competivity up.
3.Pins are not too far from the "t" box.
Cons: 1.The trees on this course are your worst enemy. Finding the correct path to send the disc is the trickiest part of the game.
2.The "t" boxes seem to be really short on this course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of my favorite courses. I recommend that you bring a large group of friends and plenty of snacks and drinks.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.