Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: Donovan Hole #1
3 / 205ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee: Straight ahead and watch out for the trees. BTW, that dog, Oakley, would run after your disc and stand by it to let you know where it was and then run back for the next person to throw. A real treat!



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 61
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Great Course, even when muddy!

1    10/21/2018   10/22/2018
Review By: rthomp8
Played: 19  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was my first time playing Z-Boaz, and I played solo. Finished in about 90 minutes. We've had almost 2 weeks of off and on rain, so I figured it'd still be pretty soggy. Was pleasantly surprised at how playable it was and how little mud I actually had to slog through.

-Incredibly well-kept park, even after 2 weeks of rain. You can tell this club is active and works hard to maintain the course.

-tons of variety in the hole designs: tight wooded shots, uphill and downhill shots,rocky terrain, open grassy fields. Plenty of room for thumbers, rollers, grenades, and pretty much any other shot you want to throw out here. You'll need 'em.

-While it's not a full John Houck designed course, he did consult on it, and you can tell. You usually have plenty of options off of the tee; lots of risk/reward shots.

-quality tee-pads with plenty of trash cans and seating. Only 1 pad felt a little short (short tee for #8), but it's a tight window and a shorter hole, so you're likely shooting stand-still anyway.

-Decent signage. The main thing to pay attention to is the "Next Tee" indicator. Playing my first time solo, it was a lifesaver trying to find the next tee pad, which wasn't always visible.

-As mentioned previously, the front and back 9 finish up back at the parking lot, which is great course design.

-Has a practice basket just on the North side of the parking lot.
Cons: -some drainage issues on holes 10-12. Looks like the basket for #11 is just in a pond at times, so you just have hug the right side of the fairway, and get close enough to give yourself a gimme putt and move on if there's been any rain.

-a few blind baskets from the tee (which I like). Helps to scout out a few holes if you're playing the first time by yourself or, better yet, play with someone who knows the course. The downhill shot on 9 is especially tricky. Basically, you just have to push it over the top of the trees straight ahead and then finish left. Definitely helps to have a spotter on that one and possibly call down to make sure it's clear before throwing.

-Going from hole 6 to 7 can be tricky: there's a clear path heading downhill from basket 6, but when it splits, take the right path for the short tee box for 7, left path for the long tee.

-No safe way to cross the creek when the water is high, so you just have to skip 14-18 and replay a few other holes to finish your round if there's been rain.

-No course map on the board by hole 1, but easily downloadable from this site or from Udisc.

-Not super cart friendly, but I carry anyway.
Other Thoughts: I love playing disc golf for the challenge of the sport and for the joy of walking, and this course delivers on both of those aspects. After you climb up the rock face of #2's uphill shot, you're rewarded with a nice, open slope down to holes 3 and 4. The design works through the elevation changes really nicely and grants some nice views and paths to walk down.

Also, got to meet John, who helps run the Sunday and Monday morning minis (8:30am sign up on Sundays for dubs). Super nice guy and very helpful in giving pointers on the holes.

This is a challenging course, especially if you don't have a big arm (like me), but still a ton of fun to play. Will definitely be going back regularly, and is worth the drive from Dallas if you're passing through the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of the Most Popular Courses in Town

5+    9/7/2018   10/11/2018
Review By: LeftyPower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 29.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix of open and wooded holes
Good use of elevation on several holes
Good use of creeks on a few holes
Good tees
Good signage
Good separation between a lot of the holes
Active local involvement with course
Several memorable holes
Good flow and easy to play just a front or back 9
Cons: Very crowded on most weekends
A couple of tees tricky to find for newcomers but not that bad,the signage on tee indicates the next one so remember the arrow direction from the last tee.
Very small parking lot
Tough to navigate if you have a cart (reaching for a con here, I don't use one)
Older baskets, but they aren't bad
Other Thoughts: This is one of the older and most popular courses in the DFW area and for good reason. It is pretty far out in the SW corner of town but I still try and get out here when I can and on a weekday if possible. I find unless I have a big group that plays slower on the weekends play will get held up and you often will not get to play through slow groups here because the course becomes one big backup.

I really like a lot of the hole designs, there are some tricky woods shots starting off and then you get a few more open holes where you can air it out downhill with large trees for obstacles.

There are a few signature holes like hole 9 which is a blind shot down a steep hill but you also have to throw it up enough to clear the tall trees below to a blind basket location. This one you need to scout out if you don't know where it is and it has 3 different basket locations that can be used. Have your first thrower go down and spot for the rest as you usually will have someone searching for a disc on this one.

14 and 18 have the creek in play and both are easy to clear but require an accurate shot to do so or down in the ravine you will go which is much larger than the creeks. The creeks usually are not deep at all so not much of a risk for a lost disc at this course from that.

Hole 15 is a woods hole that plays along a creek on the left the whole way and used to have the signature Z fake basket...I actually threw at it thinking it was the basket the first time it popped up on the course (DOH!)

Z-boaz has a lot of traffic, sometimes graffiti or trash is an issue but it also gets pretty well maintained with a lot of local support so the course gets updates and good care as well. I would put this course squarely in the top 5 for the entire DFW area and a must visit if you are anywhere close to the Ft. Worth side of town.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Z best in Ft Worth!

1    3/19/2018   3/19/2018
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 480  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 8.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a solid mix of everything from wooded holes, to open holes, a creek comes into play on holes 14, 17, and 18. Sweet elevation is present on this course and that gets started on hole 2. Loved the 40+ ft incline with the basket sitting out in the open up on top of the gypsum rocks. Threat of roll away putts on some holes if you aren't careful add to the pucker factor here as well.
There are multiple pin placements on most holes and some holes have more than one tee. I like the fact that at each tee the look is a bit different to give all skill levels a solid test. There are also a few bomber holes, hole 4 comes to mind, allowing you to air out a drive.
Tee pads were nice and ample and the signage was useful.
There are some low ceiling shots here and many of the holes have awesome lines that need to be shaped in order to give yourself a look.
Holes 11, 14, 16, and 18 come to mind here.
Hole 9 was a sweet elevated tee shot that you basically throw a spike hyzer(RHBH) over the tree row. Loved this shot. As other reviewers have said it might be wise to use a spotter here.
The locals that I encountered were super friendly and let me play through and guide me in the correct directions up asking.
This course gets a ton of play and I can see why. Its so much fun and has a great variety to keep you wanting to come back.
The flow of the course is logical and navigation shouldn't be an issue.
There are stone pavers on hole 14 and 18 to assist you in crossing of the creek.
Cons: This course does tend to get crowded so if you like to play quick rounds then you will need to allow for some extra time.
Not a huge con but for those golfers that like to use a cart some holes are a bit steep and the walkways are narrow. I wouldn't say that it is impossible to navigate with a cart but it is a bit of extra work. It can be done just be advised.
Some of the hard pack in the fairways and around tee boxes could be an issue if there has been a lot of rain.
A couple of holes the transition from basket to tee is a tad long, but this is a minor con.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed what this course had to offer. It provided me with a good challenge and I didn't feel as though it was the same thing over and over again. Hole 1 was a wooded hole which went into hole 2 which was an uphill hole which led to holes 3 and 4 which were more open park style holes, etc. There really is something for everyone here.
I especially like the elevated basket on 2 and the elevated tee on 9. Also holes 14 and 18 were very nice tests of accuracy and had a nice sprinkle of water threat in there as well to keep things interesting.
I would play this course again in a heartbeat and IMO is a must play if you are in the DFW area. Its definitely ones of my favorites. If you like a course that overs a solid variety and makes you use a variety of shots then you will love this course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

From the Feint of Heart

2-4    3/10/2018   3/12/2018
Review By: Can't get right
Played: 20  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good technical course. This one will have you using all your shots. Load up on flippy discs.

I really like the use of the wooded areas. They really force you to dial in your accuracy. Most holes have heavy foliage.

The elevation changes are pretty significant for a DFW course, and the deep set creek makes you think before you tee off.

The park is well kept. There is trash here and there, but for the most part, you guys are doing a great job keeping the place up.

I really like that the front nine and the back nine both start and finish at the parking lot.
Cons: Some hole really REQUIRE spotters. Hole 9 specifically seems terrible if you can't clear the tree tops off the tee. Bring a friend that doesn't mind being down range.

People that have not played -Boaz before need a guide. I've played a couple of times and still struggle to find some of the tees.

Parking is a bit crowded on nice days.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. It was very imposing the first couple of times I played it, but I don't have a big arm so this is a good course that caters to my technical style of play. Disc selection is key.

As a slightly below average player, this is not one I'd recommend to amateurs. This will be a disc eater if you can't dial it in. But if you got something more than just a big arm, this is one of the better technical courses I've played.

Keep up the good work guys. You've designed yourself a really nice course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

1    7/29/2017   7/30/2017
Review By: 34blast
Played: 33  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 21.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1). Variety of long, short, right, left, downhill, uphill
2). Nice course with lots of challenge and hazzard
3). Easy Parking
4). Nice People
5). Putting warm up hole next to parking lot
Cons: 1). Got lost for a bit between hole 6 and 7, so not well marked
Other Thoughts: I believe this to be one of the best courses in DFW. There are several places you don't know where the baskets are without an app like U-DIsc or walking down to have a look. I saw little or no trash, no shady people, and it wasn't crowded. I guess I was lucky.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Mighty Z

5+    6/16/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 76  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2016
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beast this course is. It's mean it's brutal. I'm like a girl in a bad relationship, Z beats me every time I'm there, but I keep coming back.
Technical holes in the trees that rival other DFW courses like Coyote. Long open holes. Crazy uphill, crazy downhill. Ace run holes. They are all here. So much here at this park.
This is a park that has nothing else going on except disc golf, so you tend to not have random roaming people. It's made in two nine hole loops, so it's easy to leave at nine or start at ten. There's a practice basket with a huge area around it.
Cons: Crazy busy! Like I said, no non-disc golfers, but a ton of disc golfers. Go really early in the morning or get bogged down.
The baskets look like they've been through nuclear warfare, but they seem to still catch.
The train tracks are right by the park, not far off the fairways on a few holes. It's mainly just loud and annoying.
The fancy wooded Z basket thing is gone. This makes me sad.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the D F Dub, go to the Z!

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Fun!

2-4    10/1/2016   10/4/2016
Review By: 02sportytex
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Challenging holes while still playable for newbies.
- It's got everything from wide open no obstacles, to climbing shots, top of cliff-down shots, and over the creek and through the woods to grandmother's house we go-shots.
Cons: -Some holes are hard to navigate, specially hole 2 and 9 but most of them are easy to see the basket.
-Parking SUCKS! This is a very popular course and the parking lot is far too small for it's popularity.
- No where to warm up with long shots before beginning the round unless you drive to the nearby baseball field and then go start the round.
Other Thoughts: I enjoy this course each time I play. Last time, I lost my favorite driver on hole 2 thanks to a wicked left hook shot. Spent a good half hour going through the trees between hole 1 and 2 and had no luck. If you find a blue Discraft XS driver with the name Curtis on the back, please let me know.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  BEST COURSE IN DFW

5+    8/22/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: ChainSocietyDiscs
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: This course is in amazing shape! It offers every shot you can imagine throwing. Huge hyzers, huge anhyzers, huge forehands, long straight tunnel shots, blind shots, elevated shots, and everything inbetween! One of the coolest dynamics of this course is its history. The course was dedicated to always be a public park in Fort Worth after a local business owner purchased the property and dedicated is as such to the city. The locals are awesome and always willing to help you find the tee pads but once you get to hole one it flows in the most natural way a disc golf course can. The tee pads are all very large and in great shape! This is by far the best course in DFW.
Cons: I cant think of one negative aspect about this course.
Other Thoughts: If you are ever in Fort Worth contact the local club The Texas Chain Society for information on minis and a league that is run weekly! We hope to see you on the tee pad!

3 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Must play course in Fort Worth.

1    7/7/2015   7/7/2015
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 123  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Plenty of parking, multiple tee pads, multiple pin locations, signage was good. This course has everything, open shots, tight tunnel shots, elevation changes up and down, trees, trees, and more trees. The trees provide good and bad tree love. The course makes you bring every shot you have in your bag! Alot of high risk, high reward on this course. A must play!
Cons: Not very many cons. The course had some trash out and around even though the trash cans weren't full. The course and holes were in good shape except some of the walk ways could be trimmed up.
Other Thoughts: The course is well known and heavily played, I played on a Tuesday and saw about a dozen people out there playing, but the course is so well laid out that I never ran into another group of players. I definite must play if your in the area.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Enjoyable

5+    5/19/2015   5/20/2015
Review By: Johnyfo8
Played: 71  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is one of the oldest in the Fort worth area yet it is still evolving. There is some shaping of the holes that has happened in the last 6 months or so that makes the course better. There is almost every type of shot in this course except an island shot. My favorite holes are 10 and 15. The creeks and trees make this course a tough but enjoyable place to play.
Cons: The course is very popular and can have too much traffic at times. Having the trash emptied more regularly would really help keep the course clean and there is a bunch of graffiti. The rough off of the fairway is really thick in many spots and loosing a disc is pretty easy.
Other Thoughts: I like all of the recent work on the course and some more thinning of the off fairway areas would make it less frustrating if you have a bad shot without making it too easy.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.