Fort Worth, TX 
Z-Boaz Park Share
Uploaded By: TheHipstick Hole #2 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 245ft.   3 / 245ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 57
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great Course

1    7/29/2017   7/30/2017
Review By: 34blast
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 20.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 1). Variety of long, short, right, left, downhill, uphill
2). Nice course with lots of challenge and hazzard
3). Easy Parking
4). Nice People
5). Putting warm up hole next to parking lot
Cons: 1). Got lost for a bit between hole 6 and 7, so not well marked
Other Thoughts: I believe this to be one of the best courses in DFW. There are several places you don't know where the baskets are without an app like U-DIsc or walking down to have a look. I saw little or no trash, no shady people, and it wasn't crowded. I guess I was lucky.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Mighty Z

5+    6/16/2016   10/11/2016
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 69  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/25/2016
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: What a beast this course is. It's mean it's brutal. I'm like a girl in a bad relationship, Z beats me every time I'm there, but I keep coming back.
Technical holes in the trees that rival other DFW courses like Coyote. Long open holes. Crazy uphill, crazy downhill. Ace run holes. They are all here. So much here at this park.
This is a park that has nothing else going on except disc golf, so you tend to not have random roaming people. It's made in two nine hole loops, so it's easy to leave at nine or start at ten. There's a practice basket with a huge area around it.
Cons: Crazy busy! Like I said, no non-disc golfers, but a ton of disc golfers. Go really early in the morning or get bogged down.
The baskets look like they've been through nuclear warfare, but they seem to still catch.
The train tracks are right by the park, not far off the fairways on a few holes. It's mainly just loud and annoying.
The fancy wooded Z basket thing is gone. This makes me sad.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the D F Dub, go to the Z!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing Course

1    4/9/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: Scouser17
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: You use all of the discs in your bag on the course.
Elevation Changes which is nice compared to most courses I play.
Lots of technical holes and 2-3 wide open.
Beautiful landscape.
Multiple Tees
Beautiful scenary.
Cons: Nothing major.
Other Thoughts: Took 2.5 hour drive to come play. Was worth every penny spent on gas and time.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Z-Boaz

5+    8/3/2012   8/5/2012
Review By: BigGAC1
Played: 39  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 8.1 Years
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is probably the best course I have played. It has a great mix of tight wooded lines to open bombers as well as a crazy amount of elevation change for being in a pretty flat part of the city. And the creek comes into play in a number of holes in the back 9. The course starts at the bottom of the hill and then plays up top and then down and around the side of the hill and back up again for the front 9. This lends itself to some really fun elevation change (Hole #4,9 are awesome bombs off the top of the plateau). Back 9 plays through some fairly dense woods. And crosses over the creek a couple of times. 15 has a really fun line thats perfect for an anhyzer with and understable disc. 16 provides an interesting challenge as its a pretty tight fairway, but still a long hole and wooded at the end. And 18 is always fun - you're basically trying to meander through a wall of trees in front of the tee box.
Cons: Can be very crowded - also makes parking a hassle. After a lot of rain the river crossings can be a bit hairy. I've played here a lot and this has only happened once but after we had had a whole lot of rain this past winter a couple of the holes were flooded. Haven't seen anytime since then though. All pretty minor complaints.
Other Thoughts: Fantastic course, excellent mix of technical shots and bombers. Hole #9 is a personal favorite of mine. You can avoid the crowds if you just play early (a necessity in the summer if you want to beat the heat).

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Perfect Home Course

5+    8/10/2011   8/10/2011
Review By: willmayfield
Played: 21  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2011
0 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Every kind of shot needed. Extremely challenging without being annoying. Beautiful course fecund with elms red oaks and live oaks.
Cons: Traffic, at times. The loud jets and trains.
Other Thoughts: Great place to learn. Back nine is nice and shady for the really hot days.

0 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    3/17/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: tland447
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: -all types of shots required
-great veiw
-wooded area
-river
Cons: -its very hard to find some tees including the first tee
Other Thoughts: I recomend this course to average players or above. Not a very good beginner course.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 z boaz

5+    1/25/2010   12/21/2010
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2011
1 Helpful / 20 Not
Pros: very big very windy beast in the winter in great shape the pins are moved very often well groomed great hills and trees can bee very tight right now the first two are short and the 3 and 4 are very large come and try to par good luck five is short and dog leg left and six is short strait but well covered seven from the pro tee today i threw a back hand w/ me being a lefty worked well then birdied with a long tomahawk eight is a dog leg right and nine is a big down hill dog leg left good luck in the wind ten is big and open and the pin is in the wood witch makes for a difficult approach eleven is a short tight dogleg right and twelve is big open hole that i pared with a back handed nuke then a tomahawk with the nuke again and then a good putt 13 is across the creek short pin 14 the leaves are pretty bad and 15 is tight but strait and 16 is strait and there is a good line for lefties over the trees to the left with a good hizer back hand 17 is strait over the hump and e z birdie 18 is to the right my buddy aced it last week


the locals are very help full and i play z boas every week end at least once
Cons: some times crowded but not bad the leaves eat the discs so bring a rake the course is known to eat disc and the water is cold but that is about all that i can complain about
Other Thoughts: top coarse in ft worth come play people are friendly and dogs are welcome

1 of 21 people found this review helpful.

 Awesome Layout

1    7/10/2010   7/11/2010
Review By: grizzledizzle55
Played: 14  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/17/2010
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: -Demands all of your shots.
-Some really cool holes.
-Benches at every tee.
-Brings in a little river into play, but it is not too intimidating.
-Multiple Tees
-Multiple Holes
-I love shade
Cons: -If you go there after it rains it can be very muddy.
-#11 especially
Other Thoughts: I really liked this course. It felt like a tight course, but there were many different lines you could take. Just an all around good quality course. Many holes are pretty straight forward and easy to navigate. On number 9 throw over the trees and rip it. Bring good quality plastic. I had an inconsistent day and hit a few trees hard. This course is a hike also. Would def. recommend this course to any experienced player. Not good for newbs.

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Best combination of styles Ive played anywhere

5+    4/8/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: billbiddy
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Challenging combination of terrain types. it has Water, Tunnels, Thickets, Open distances, Elevation changes (sometimes dramatic ones) and left and right banks.
Cons: It is increadibly confusing for a first timer to figure out at all where the next tee can be. Especially on the first 9. Play it a couple times and it will start to click.
Other Thoughts: It really is a shame its so popular. I dont mind that people like to play it, but I really dont like how people treat this course. Its so in the woods that a lot of people tend to litter the course with mounds of beer cans and other things. It is also in practically outer mongolia for those of us that arent in cowtown.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Love at First Drive

2-4    7/31/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: XxInnovaxX
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 9.1 Years
13 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful terrain, with several elevation shots....a BIG plus in dfw....This has got to be one of the most proffesional looking courses i have played to date with A TON OF VARIETY...several wooded, open, uphill, and downhill holes...creek comes into play on 3 holes.... a lot of holes you definitely have to commit to a line and hit it, the good thing is many holes have a couple lines you can choose from which can really make a round fun and interesting...Best advice is shoot for the fairway, take your threes and keep on walking....theres a couple birdie holes but you have to pick your battles, this is def not a pitch and putt course, some of these holes par 3 seems impossible :) ....

Z-Boaz has Plenty of open holes to just let it rip, mixed with plenty of technical holes that are long and short...and another good thing is LOTS OF BENCHES!! always a plus....several trash cans too, they just dont seem to get used very much :(
Cons: NO SIGNS!! i noticed a couple of marble slabs next to the first couple tee pads....other than that, nothing.....if its your first time you def need someone to show you around!! Lots of trash, a lot bagged, but a lot on the ground as well....but thats def a sign that this place is used a lot.... oh and btw i didnt see any restrooms either..

only reason its not a 5 is bc lack of signs and lots of trash, if trash was picked up and they put some signs up this would without a doubt be an easy 5
Other Thoughts: Lots of People here...zboaz is probably one of the most popular courses in the dfw area...and for a good cause....i will highly recommend this course to everyone....

Bring your "A" game bc your gonna need it....has plenty of holes that you can par one round and easily take a 5+ the next....if it seems like its not all that hard, play from the longs with all par 3's, shoot a 54 and you'll feel like youve won the lottery...

another note- this ones def not the place to bring a newbie to try and learn the sport....it can be pretty hard/frustrating at times, even for the best of players

13 of 16 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.