Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: bpete1084 Hole #3 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0
Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Good course, needs a map and clear markers!

2-4    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: apcarver
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great challenges, like the pond that ate my Leopard on day two (RIP!), various trees, and a hill or two. Concrete pads are a big plus as well. Very easy
Cons: Downfall to this course, and a detriment if you're not from the area, is that the pads and holes are/can be very hard to discern. I had some help with some locals yesterday and a tiny bit today. However - here are some negatives that I noticed:

No overall map for the course, not every pad has a sign noting which hole it is and corresponding tee placements and distances, there sometimes may be a not-so-obvious spray painted number on the corner of the pad to note the tee, numbers on the baskets are old number labels and often times face away from the tee, there is little logic (to me) to some of the hole placements.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think that this course would've been better as a longer 9 hole course, but trying to self navigate the 18 was difficult enough to turn me away after 9 and 5 holes respectively.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Try The Local Route On Hole 3

5+    10/10/2017   8/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.712 Rating) (REVISED - replayed October 2017) An all around good course.
- CHARACTER - About average. The tee pads are concrete and generally shaded. There is good hole signage at most holes showing hole layout, pin locations, and distance. There is a community board with league info near the big picnic shelter. (no course map) The shelter has picnic tables and is perfect for the end of round gathering point and for the summer pop-up thunderstorm. Also, there is seating at a couple tees. There are a bunch of multiple pin placements (around 30).
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are great ace runs. You will have great opportunities on (1), (3), (4), (10) and (12), depending on pin location.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with two exceptions. Throwing in the pond on hole (4/13) and throwing left on (9/18). On most holes if you miss your shot, you will still have an opportunity for an easy par. Also note, there is a pvc disc retrieval pole at the pond on (4,13)
- ELEVATION - "Good for a South Florida course that is" and about average compared to the 102 Florida courses I've hit. Probably about 20 foot of change throughout the course layout. Hole (1,10) is about 15 feet down. This all stated however, just about all parts of the country would consider this course flat.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds are constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. There is normally little trash as there is a good number garbage cans.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few areas of overgrowth and just one water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - A single should be able to complete a full 18 in about an hour. Groups of 4 probably would finish in under 2 hours.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is more scenic course than average. There are a bunch of old oak trees along the layout. The grade is resembling of a graceful sweeping meadow and the pond is a pretty and peaceful looking disc snatcher.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairways width are moderately spaced and long enough to challenge intermediate players. Most of the advanced players I personally know like playing this course. Pros will come away less than challenged however.
- DRAINAGE - The Limona course has a reputation to dry quicker, when compared to other Tampa Bay area courses.
Cons: I do not find any major flaws with Limona.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 10 degrees. Nearly all the fairways play threw an oak tree canopy and have moderately spaced throwing lanes. There are no par 4's or 5's. The pond on hole 4/13 is the one curveball the course really offers. I'll also note that it's nice to have good hole length variety as the course varies from 190 feet to well over 400 feet.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR and on the course, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. For example hole 1 and 10 share the same basket and fairway but tee from different angles. Some holes unfortunately just add distance between the two tees. The back 9 is probably two throws more difficult than the front.
- CHAINS - They are playable but I believe some may be homemade. Basket (1/10) is very much an oddity.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Not the best or worst I've seen, but probably below average. You will have double back three times (5 to 6) and (12 to 13) and (14 to 15). In addition holes 9 and 10 are not exactly the closest that you'd see compared to the average course that does the double loop.
- NAVIGATION - Tricky in spots, the map on DGCR was not that good, so I made a new one and uploaded it at the files tab. In addition, there is no course map on site and hole signage is also missing on a few holes, (5), (6) and (7). However, regardless of all these issues, the course isn't too hard to navigate, due to the mostly openness of the course.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. None of the fairways are shared but it will be easy to run one into another fairway due to the wide spacing of the big oaks.
- PARKING - Gravel and pitted and in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: A solid course that's fun to play time and again. It's nice to know that they actually seem to regularly re-position the baskets. Limona DGC however, is far from the best course in the wider Tampa Bay region but still worth a look see after you've played the top courses in the area. Oldsmar, Picnic, Cypress, Medard, Taylor and Cliff. A must play at least once, if you live in the Tampa Bay region itself.
- LOCAL HOLE - Try the local route on 13. There is a pavered stone tee box to the east of basket (1) that aims across the pond to basket (4/13). A 250 foot throw clears the water and distance to basket (A) is estimated at 283ft according to satellite imagery.


1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Small

1    8/30/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 49  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Decent
Cons: Pin and tee box quality : 2 The tee pad for hole 18 seems to have washed away.
Lost disc recovery : 2 I lost my gazelle in the pond.
Terrain management : 2 There is lots of erosion that needs to be repaired.
Other Thoughts: Ease of finding next hole : 3
Hole info : 3
Layout : 3
Beginner friendly : 3
Variety : 3
Ease of finding course : 3
Fun factor : 3

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center