Brandon, FL 
Limona DGC Share
Uploaded By: bpete1084 Hole #3 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 190ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Fun Stop

1    10/17/2019   11/15/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 556  Reviewed: 181  Exp: 27.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Limona is a fun little course conveniently just off of I-75 . The park looked mowed and clean and must get a lot of love from the local Limona Disc Golf Club . From previous reviews , it looks like the course has improved over the last couple of years . I know that the course is trying to pass itself off as an 18 holes , but it is really a 9 hole course with alternate tees .It may have to do with geography more than anything . This is a very small landlocked park . It does boast multiple pin placements and I was told that they change regularly . The baskets are basic Gateway Titans and catch pretty well . The course has 2 large cement tees per basket and new and informative signage . Another perk is that the trash receptacles are actually on the signs . There are some benches scattered throughout the park , and a nice shelter up near the start and finish of the course . For Florida , this course does have some elevation to it .It rolls to where you never have a completely flat drive . #1 starts you off with a downhill sloping short drive to a pin that is guarded by trees . The trees in this park are large and mature . Some make a good canopy to guard against higher throws . There is a large pond that will come into play , maybe to the right of #1 , on the left edge of the fairway to #4 and 13 , and a water carry over the pond on 13A ( kind of a hidden tee on the way to the #1 basket ) . other highlights include an elevated wood framed basket on #6 and a double mando on #14 . #18 is a good finishing hole . Although the tee is spray canned on the street above the hole 9 tee pad , it is a 443' elevated drive with mature trees and their branches on the right and a murky pond lining the left of the fairway . The basket sits at the top of a long uphill slope near the parking lot and pavilion . The park seems to get a lot of play . There were maybe 20+ people on the course when I was there on a Thursday mid-afternoon . This course plays fast . I finished in well under an hour . Disc risk : unless you chuck it into the ponds or throw it way up in the trees , this park is so clean you almost can't lose your discs . Signature Hole : 13A if you dare play it . The water carry is under 300' but it can feel intimidating since you are about level with the pond and have shrubs on either side of the tee pad .
Cons: #1 . Let's really call it what it is , a 9 hole course with 2 tee pads .This might turn off some , because since the course can get crowded , it will jam up some of the holes . I personally liked the course . #2 variety . Course designer John McCray did a good job with what little space he had to work with , but the course lacks length for anything over a par 3 and most of your drives will be straight or with very little shot shaping . #3 Safety . because this park is small and plays tight , some of these fairways tend to look overlapped . I don't think your head needs to be on a swivel , but errant drives will pose a hazard , especially since the course is popular with the locals . #4 Navigation . This course could use some Next Tee signs either on the ground or nailed to some of these nice trees . If you don't print the map , you will look at all of these baskets and tee pads and walk to some of the wrong ones . Other than that , any other gripes aren't as important . The parking lot is bad .It is rutted and unpaved an looks like it would scrape a low riding car or muddy your vehicle up after a good rain . A nice bathroom would also help .
Other Thoughts: This is a great park for the locals . The park is compact , but is really meant for disc golf . It gives you what it has , given the small amount of space here . You have an elevated tee , water hazards on a couple of holes , a couple of tight fairways , a double mando . The fun factor resonates here . You can tell by how many people are throwing on a weekday early afternoon . Close to I-75 , this is an easy on/off access course for anyone near this corridor . In a fine neighborhood , I would play her a lot if I lived nearby . You might note that Limona Disc Golf Club has Tuesday bag tags and doubles starting at 3 and going until ? and also Saturday Handicaps at 9 , in case you want to join up or avoid . The park offers some elevation and is a nice walk through .A great starter course in which to graduate from and attack some of the more challenging courses not far away . My Recommendation : The course isn't going to be a challenge for the tournament tested , but I can see where they can work on their approach game , and even safari a few holes , I think they would still like the walk and the elevation changes . Other than that , this course is great for the intermediate , the local , the newbie , because of the accessibility , the traveler . I would give this course a try . I think you won't be disappointed .

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    5/17/2019   5/18/2019
Review By: nathan122591
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.7 Years
Pros: Has a few holes that are decent.
Large concrete tee pads are nice.
Signs (when there) are helpful.
Relatively quick and compact.
Cons: Multiple overlapping baskets.
You and another person could be aiming for the same basket at the time or be cross crossing paths because the lines overlap often.
Many holes don't have tee signs and no holes have directions to the next tee.
The tee for hole 18 is literally the street.

  Good course, needs a map and clear markers!

2-4    8/23/2016   8/23/2016
Review By: apcarver
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has some great challenges, like the pond that ate my Leopard on day two (RIP!), various trees, and a hill or two. Concrete pads are a big plus as well. Very easy
Cons: Downfall to this course, and a detriment if you're not from the area, is that the pads and holes are/can be very hard to discern. I had some help with some locals yesterday and a tiny bit today. However - here are some negatives that I noticed:

No overall map for the course, not every pad has a sign noting which hole it is and corresponding tee placements and distances, there sometimes may be a not-so-obvious spray painted number on the corner of the pad to note the tee, numbers on the baskets are old number labels and often times face away from the tee, there is little logic (to me) to some of the hole placements.
Other Thoughts: Overall, I think that this course would've been better as a longer 9 hole course, but trying to self navigate the 18 was difficult enough to turn me away after 9 and 5 holes respectively.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Try The Local Route On Hole 3

5+    10/10/2017   8/10/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 428  Reviewed: 418  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/15/2017
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.712 Rating) (REVISED - replayed October 2017) An all around good course.
- CHARACTER - About average. The tee pads are concrete and generally shaded. There is good hole signage at most holes showing hole layout, pin locations, and distance. There is a community board with league info near the big picnic shelter. (no course map) The shelter has picnic tables and is perfect for the end of round gathering point and for the summer pop-up thunderstorm. Also, there is seating at a couple tees. There are a bunch of multiple pin placements (around 30).
- ACEABILITY - Several holes are great ace runs. You will have great opportunities on (1), (3), (4), (10) and (12), depending on pin location.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with two exceptions. Throwing in the pond on hole (4/13) and throwing left on (9/18). On most holes if you miss your shot, you will still have an opportunity for an easy par. Also note, there is a pvc disc retrieval pole at the pond on (4,13)
- ELEVATION - "Good for a South Florida course that is" and about average compared to the 102 Florida courses I've hit. Probably about 20 foot of change throughout the course layout. Hole (1,10) is about 15 feet down. This all stated however, just about all parts of the country would consider this course flat.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds are constantly mowed, trimmed and manicured. There is normally little trash as there is a good number garbage cans.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, few areas of overgrowth and just one water hazards in play.
- QUICK PLAY - A single should be able to complete a full 18 in about an hour. Groups of 4 probably would finish in under 2 hours.
- RAW BEAUTY - The course in my opinion, is more scenic course than average. There are a bunch of old oak trees along the layout. The grade is resembling of a graceful sweeping meadow and the pond is a pretty and peaceful looking disc snatcher.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This really is not a beginners course per say but beginners should enjoy it regardless due to the low disc losing possibilities. The fairways width are moderately spaced and long enough to challenge intermediate players. Most of the advanced players I personally know like playing this course. Pros will come away less than challenged however.
- DRAINAGE - The Limona course has a reputation to dry quicker, when compared to other Tampa Bay area courses.
Cons: I do not find any major flaws with Limona.
- UNIQUENESS - The holes themselves are lacking the uniqueness that you'd see on your average 18 hole course. There are no dog legs. The most that any one hole veers is perhaps 10 degrees. Nearly all the fairways play threw an oak tree canopy and have moderately spaced throwing lanes. There are no par 4's or 5's. The pond on hole 4/13 is the one curveball the course really offers. I'll also note that it's nice to have good hole length variety as the course varies from 190 feet to well over 400 feet.
- 9 BASKETS - Although listed as 18 holes on DGCR and on the course, there are only 9 baskets in play. Two tees go to each basket. For example hole 1 and 10 share the same basket and fairway but tee from different angles. Some holes unfortunately just add distance between the two tees. The back 9 is probably two throws more difficult than the front.
- CHAINS - They are playable but I believe some may be homemade. Basket (1/10) is very much an oddity.
- LAYOUT FLOW - Not the best or worst I've seen, but probably below average. You will have double back three times (5 to 6) and (12 to 13) and (14 to 15). In addition holes 9 and 10 are not exactly the closest that you'd see compared to the average course that does the double loop.
- NAVIGATION - Tricky in spots, the map on DGCR was not that good, so I made a new one and uploaded it at the files tab. In addition, there is no course map on site and hole signage is also missing on a few holes, (5), (6) and (7). However, regardless of all these issues, the course isn't too hard to navigate, due to the mostly openness of the course.
- SPACING - Slightly below average. None of the fairways are shared but it will be easy to run one into another fairway due to the wide spacing of the big oaks.
- PARKING - Gravel and pitted and in need of repair.
Other Thoughts: A solid course that's fun to play time and again. It's nice to know that they actually seem to regularly re-position the baskets. Limona DGC however, is far from the best course in the wider Tampa Bay region but still worth a look see after you've played the top courses in the area. Oldsmar, Picnic, Cypress, Medard, Taylor and Cliff. A must play at least once, if you live in the Tampa Bay region itself.
- LOCAL HOLE - Try the local route on 13. There is a pavered stone tee box to the east of basket (1) that aims across the pond to basket (4/13). A 250 foot throw clears the water and distance to basket (A) is estimated at 283ft according to satellite imagery.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Best it has ever been!

5+    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: sincy25
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Pros: Back pads are now concrete and no longer pavers. Hole 19 is a great addition to add a challenging throw over the water. The addition of trash cans throughout the course has improved course clean up!
Cons: Cons:
Other Thoughts: The course looks amazing!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home Course

5+    7/1/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: murq1898
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Clean park
-Well manicured by the club and county
-Holes 1-9 have great concrete tee pads
-Multiple pin positions adds variety
-Signature Hole #4 is a nice water carry over a decent sized pond
-Nice use of elevation, especially for a Florida course
-Decent amount of shade for the hot summer days
Cons: -Small course should have probably have just been 9 holes instead of 18 with secondary tees
-Back 9 tee pads are pretty rubbish (Word is new concrete tee pads are on the way!!)
-Holes 4&13 (same pin) are disc eaters, plain and simple -- play it safe
-Would be nice to have more benches throughout the course for those hot days
-Could definitely benefit from some Nex-Tee signage for the visitors
-Non-golfers can be a menace occasionally
-Mosquitos (Yes, you're in Florida, bring something with DEET)
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and since its less than .5 mile from my house, its the one I play most frequently. Its a solid beginner course with the exception of the 2 water holes, but you can play down a hallway the first few times to keep your discs dry if you don't feel confident enough to carry the pond. The locals are all pretty friendly and helpful. The use of elevation for a Florida course is really nice and if you're in the Brandon/Tampa area you owe it to yourself to check it out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun smaller course

5+    3/1/2015   3/1/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
Pros: As mentioned in other reviews they have done a superb job with the space they had to make a fun 9 hole course. Mandos on 2 holes, one elevated basket, and a nice finishing hole using length, trees, and water on the far right. The 4th hole is the signature hole to carry the water.
Cons: Should be just a nine hole course and instead of having the back 9 with slightly different tees, I would've made blue and red tees period. Where are the port o potty's and trash cans?

 One discer

1    5/21/2014   5/21/2014
Review By: thisdoesfine
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: **Only played 9/18 holes - read Other for why**
Quick play
Concrete tee pads (9 holes only)
Beginner friendly
Water hole isn't hard
Plenty of shade for FL
Multiple pin placement
Cons: No designation of which layout is in use
Too easy for experienced players, I was putting for 2 on most holes
Not enough variation.
Holes share baskets (1/10, 2/11.... 9/18)
Missing tee signs on at least 5, 6, 7 and navigation was tough being alone and never playing there before.
Threw at the wrong basket a couple times.
No bathrooms onsite.
Other Thoughts: I still had fun because it is disc golf. I was in town with a couple hours to spare so I checked the course out. If this was the only course I had near me, I would make the best of it but, I have no interest in ever going back to play it again. I didn't play the 18 hole layout but it looked like they just turned what used to be pro / am pads into extra holes. The course plays like a hot mess to be honest and I'd have more fun just playing gorilla golf if I lived in Brandon.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nine should have stayed nine

1    9/8/2013   9/9/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This could be a good local course. It is all pretty much in one field area but there are plenty of trees that will force different types of shots. You'll have to make some very straight throws. You'll also have to approach pins from some odd angles.

If you knew the course well, I could see playing it all the time. There is some good disc golf there and I'm guessing that it is rarely busy. Seems like a great place to work on your game and get to know new discs.

There is even a nice water carry when the water level is not too high. In this case "too high" means, touching the bottom of the basket pole.
Cons: I get the idea from some of the previous reviews, and the info on the site, that this was formerly a nine-hole layout. I'm guessing that the old layout was much better than the current eighteen. There isn't enough space here for a full eighteen. Currently most fairways are in the path of at least one tee. There are two tees that throw directly over one another. I wouldn't want to play here if there was anyone else on the course.

To make matters worse, there are tees with no signs and signs with no tees. It's confusing to say the least. Add the fact that the signs are pretty vague as to where you are targeting and the fact that from any tee you can see at least six baskets, and you have a mess.

I don't hesitate to say the navigation here is the worst that I have ever seen on a course. I certainly played to the wrong basket on a few occasions. And due to the signs/holes issues, I missed a few holes entirely.
Other Thoughts: Limona is a probably a decent course to play regularly. But for visitors, I wouldn't recommend it at all. There are too many courses in the Tampa area to spend time figuring out which tee goes with each basket here.

Some of his could be fixed up with some work, but I think this a nine that should have stayed a nine. There just isn't the space.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Nice Neighborhood Course

2-4    9/5/2013   9/7/2013
Review By: thrembo
Played: 195  Reviewed: 149  Exp: 45 Years
This review was updated on 2/27/2020
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a very nice clean park in what appears to be a great neighborhood.

It has some nice rolling hills, a couple of ponds, well-mowed fairways, and plenty of shady mature trees for obstacles.

The tees are spectacular. They are probably the largest poured concrete tees that I have ever seen.

This course uses Gateway baskets, and they are very nice.

Most holes have 2 or more pin placements.

There are a pavilion and a few picnic tables.

The course has a high fun factor, with a good mix of short and long holes.

The course is very close to I-75, so jumping off the highway for a quick round is a breeze.
Cons: There are a few navigation issues. The course could benefit from some next tee signs/arrows.

A couple of the holes are missing tee signs.

The baskets have #'s on them, but on some of the holes you can see multiple baskets from the tee, and have to walk down to see which is the correct basket for that hole.

Some of the holes with multiple pin placements have no way of showing what pin is in play, so more walking down the fairway is needed to tell where to throw.

The course has 18 tees, but shares only 9 baskets. It wasn't an issue when I played it, but I wonder how it would work during peak playing times. IN MY OPINION, I would prefer this course to be a 9 hole course with 2 sets of tees, instead of its current layout.

I didn't see any restrooms, but the course isn't too far from civilization.
Other Thoughts: Even with its flaws, I consider this to be a wonderful suburban oasis course that has a lot to offer. I was wondering if there were any houses for sale around the course, and thinking what a great neighborhood this would be to retire in!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.