Bismarck, ND 
Lions Hillside Park Share
Uploaded By: ibanez95 Hole #5 (Taken 7/2013)
4 / 432ft.   4 / 402ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2

1    9/12/2021   9/14/2021
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 637  Reviewed: 327  Exp: 17.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lions Hillside park is a solid little 9 hole course in a clean and well maintained park right in town.

The baskets are some older Mach 3's. These are a bit rough around the edges looking but still caught pretty well. One pin position per hole from what I could gather.

The tee pads are nice, level concrete. These are plenty long and wide enough for a course like this. There's actually two tees per hole too, which you don't see all too often on nine hole courses. The alternate tees do more than add distance, they usually play further off to one side or another, making the shape of the fairway play significantly different.

There are posts with tee signs at the regular, or maybe original, tee pads. The signs don't offer much other than hole # and distance.

There's all kind of shots to be had here, especially from the dual pads. You can get by just throwing RHBH or RHFH, but it'd serve you well to have both shots here. There's a solid amount of elevation here. I don't think there was a completely flat hole on the course.

The design of the course was executed very well here, using the space provided to the best it could be used imo.

The course is free to play and in the ground year round. This would be a solid winter play option too, if you're into that thing.
Cons: There's a lot of erosion going on here. The course has been around for a long time, so it's going to get worse before it gets better.

Plays pretty close to a few walking paths but nothing major. It was take a real shank to find one of these paths, or an overthrow of the basket. Just be aware of your surroundings out here.

The majority of the tee signs are missing. Probably only 3 of the 9 were still present when we went. The bigger con is that there's no hole maps on the maps, or ones that are left. There are a few spots where some pins are pretty close to each other making it hard to tell what one you're aiming for.
Other Thoughts: All in all this was a surprisingly fun little 9 hole course. I'd be glad to have this course near my house. I'd play it all the time. It actually kind of reminds of the little 9 that got RIPed near me last summer. Good little city park course that's enjoyable for all skill levels.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Would You Rate A Nine Hole Course 4.0 Or Higher!

1    9/4/2021   9/8/2021
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1523  Reviewed: 1468  Exp: 43.3 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I know this question equals Pro Choice vs. Pro Life or Trump vs. Biden and everyone has an opinion. My opinion has always been that I would rate a great nine hole course 4.0-5.0 but the simple fact remains that I just don't find nines that have all the attributes that I want a 4.0 to 5.0 course to have. I've currently rated 1457 courses. Of those, I have awarded 8 5.0's, 22 4.5's and 83 4's. So 113/1457 means I give out a 4.0 or higher rating about one in every 13 courses I rate. And I'm awarding little nine hole Lion's Hillside Park in Bismarck, South Dakota a 4.0 rating. I will explain.

Lion's Park is a wonderful piece of land on which to build a course. It's perfectly hilly with just enough mature trees. Next, this course provides a nice challenge for MOST players. The amenities, baskets, tee pads and signage is more than adequate. The course is easy to navigate and the park is beautiful. There are two pads for each hole which helps keep up the interest and it's a ton of fun.

The course starts right at the park's one parking lot and loops back. The baskets are older Mach III's with a large number on top. The tee pads are nicely long and concrete. The pads have the hole imbedded in the corner. The signs are simple and easy to read. Navigation is intuitive. Most of the holes are either really pretty or nicely challenging or both. # 2 is lovely with basket sitting down in a small depression. # 3 is tough playing at 633' slightly uphill from the alternative tee. # 9 is a fine finishing hole at 375' slightly downhill to a basket near the parking lot.

I do have one concern and I probably wouldn't 't even call this a con. Because this course gets so much love, erosion is everywhere, especially around the baskets and lots of other high usage areas. If this course was in one of our more liberal cities such as Minneapolis, Seattle, Portland or San Francisco, they (???) would shut it down, for like two years in order for the grass to regenerate. One idea that might help with the erosion issue would be to spread some wood chips around each basket. It would certainly look better than mud.
Cons: There are a couple of signs missing.

Only nine holes.

Older baskets.

Some players would want more options such as different basket placements.

The alternate tee pads could be more radical than they are to increase distance and challenge.
Other Thoughts: I loved playing this course at 8 am on a lovely early September morning. I'm thrilled it give it a 4.0 rating. It's a fun throw in a beautiful park. I definitely wasn't planning on finding a course like this in Bismarck, ND. A very pleasant surprise, indeed. Lion's Hillside DGC needs a few more ratings in order to be listed amongst the top courses in North Dakota or among the top nines anywhere.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tough 9 Hole Course

5+    10/15/2014   10/30/2014
Review By: rickles
Played: 31  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 16.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/9/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging hills make this 9 hole course with alternate teepads a fun play. Beautiful view of Bismarck and surrounding area at the baskets of 5 & 6. Good mix of short and long holes (one being 600ft+). Light-moderate wooded course with mix of open and tight shots. Will make you use almost all your shots.
Cons: Was a great 18 hole course and now 9 after parks dept needed more space for other amenities and to keep safety with walking paths a primary goal. I agree with their decision as many holes were close to walking paths but it was a great 18.
Other Thoughts: Has alternate teepads, so play 18 and still record on DGCR as both positions are listed on the DGCR Course listing.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/16/2013   9/20/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 105  Reviewed: 24  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 9 hole course is located in a very well maintained city park which maximizes the surprising amount of elevation and loads of foliage in the park.

The layout of the course is great with Hole #1 being close to the parking lot and #9 coming very close back up to it. Very easy to navigate (except Hole #3 is up to the right, not left which the rows of trees makes you believe it would be). Each hole provides unique challenges and will require you to test your skills a bit but not overly difficult. Some holes I was able to drive with my mids and others I had to go all out on a driver (i.e. Hole #5), I really appreciate the variety!

Each hole has two teepads to choose from if you feel like playing a couple of rounds and adding new challenges to the holes. The pads are cement, a good length and in good shape. The baskets are excellent and the tee signs include appropriate information on hole distances per pad and the par.
Cons: The tee signs could include a map of the hole being played even though you can fairly easily spot the hole on all but #3, it just would be nice with the amount of trees in play.

No nearby bathroom that I found but it's a small park, figure it out and keep it clean. Also it's probably the busiest place in Bismarck to play since it's so conveniently located, but keep your eyes open and be patient.
Other Thoughts: This is probably my favorite 9 hole course I've played thus far (many to go I'm sure) but it really is aesthetically very nice with a lot of trees and elevation and will test your skills while still being very beginner friendly.

I chose to give this course a 4.0 rating because it is only 9 holes and the signage could be Slightly better, also it can be very busy. Other than that this place is great and I recommend it anyone to go here and play a few rounds!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/21/2013   7/22/2013
Review By: ibanez95
Played: 35  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 25.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging holes and pin placement with elevation changes throughout the course. The park is right in town so you can stop and play a couple quick rounds while you're out and about. Park is usually maintained well and the course is almost always clean and cut.
Cons: Course is missing a couple signs. Could use new ones including maps. Tends to get pretty busy at times.
Other Thoughts: This course was originally set up in the 80's as an 18-hole frisbee golf course. Unfortunately, it was changed to 9 holes after a recent park renovation. With a few changes to the old layout and par ratings for every hole, this would have been a truly incredible course. Still one of my regular stops.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Inviting, and enjoyable.

5+    7/3/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 92  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
Pros: A quick 9 hole with a surprising variety of challenges. Elevation changes combined with a lot of trees and great basket and tee layout made this one course i had to replay several times. This great little course forces you to shoot over, under, up, down , through and around. The tees are great and the alternate tees give you another look for each hole, or let you play an 18.
Cons: No map, and minimal signage. thankfully the small park made it easy to navigate.
Other Thoughts: this a perfect short course, the kind you can go play on your lunch break. loved it!

 

5+    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: Znarf
Played: 19  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty straight-forward, quick 9 hole course, that can be played multiple times in a session. I would call it an intermediate course just because of elevation changes, trees, and the different types of shots needed to score on holes. All of the tee boxes are concrete and fairly large. Even the alternate tees are very good. The course is fairly short, but takes a lot of finesse.
Cons: Signage should have a mini-map showing where the hole is. Sometimes the tees are dirty.
Other Thoughts: Living in the Bismarck-Mandan area, I choose this course over and over again. The others aren't as good. Fun for both beginners and advanced.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/20/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 26  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 12.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Short and easy to play if you don't have a lot of time. Multiple tees. Good elevation changes for such a small course. Well signed and well laid out.
Cons: Usually its really crowded and it seems like you're always rushed. Only 9 holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice course

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good play

1    4/29/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: SnowBlind
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 11.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: elevation change in north dakota! good amount of trees, varying distance. Right in town and offers good variety. Pro and am boxes.
Cons: Crowded, think the local high school just got out. Hole 3 is long up hill and through a tight grove, wtf. Only a niner

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Lions Hillside Park

2-4    10/16/2010   10/18/2010
Review By: Arnie
Played: 55  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Tee box for each hole, gave you two choose's. Nice wide concrete pads. Signs with the Par and Feet were in great shape. A nice mixture of short and long, with uphill and downhill.
Cons: The signs need to show were the basket is and were the next Tee box is. The Tee boxs did have some loose dirt and leaves on them, which made footing a little hard at times.
Other Thoughts: Great place to play, instead of the bigger course in Bismarck. The last time I played this course was when it had 18 holes. Iam Glad they reopen this course. It is the best 9 hole I've played this year. The wind is a factor here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.