Lewisville, TX 
Leonard L. Woods Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 4/2009)
4 / 294ft.   3 / 372ft. Par / Distance:
"Pro" tee marker for hole #5, very tough to find these unless you know where they are


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
L.L. Woods

5+    4/14/2017   4/16/2017
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 176  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: L.L. Woods is a easy, open and fun course. There is great parking and easy navigation throughout the park. There are red tee signs that point you in the right direction. The only navigation issue would be the gap between 12 and 13 as there is a little walk. This course typically has a few groups playing so you might be able to follow their lead. Most of the holes are short ace run/ birdie opportunities. There are a few that will let you stretch out your arm such as the last 5-6 holes. Like I've mentioned this courses it pretty open so you can almost treat it as a "field session". I work on my flick on this course and my approach game.
Cons: Most of the teesigns are missing. The park is heavily used so pedestrians can get in the way so you need to be careful when throwing. There isn't much variation but this course isn't designed for that.
Other Thoughts: This is a easy clean park that is great to bring your family or dogs. The terrain isn't rough and not a lot of stickers. This is a great course to really work on your game. With the course being so open wind can become a factor and makes your utilize different shots. Having an open course like this with limited obstacles is great to see areas of improvement in your game.

I think most people who play this course aren't looking for the technical shots (We have other local parks for that). This is a fun family friendly park that lets you try different shots and enjoy the game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A pretty nice residential course for beginners

1    8/1/2016   8/1/2016
Review By: nckirksey
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/17/2017
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: By far the most beginner-friendly course I've played in DFW since I picked up disc golf in June (I've also been to Denton, Bear Creek, Turner Park and Trophy Club). This can potentially be a con for more experienced players who are seeking a challenge. However, for newer players, L.L. Woods offers an easier intro to the sport.

Nearly impossible to lose/mess up discs on this course.

I encountered no hazardous wildlife.

Next tee location is marked with a red sign near the end of each hole. SUPER helpful for first-timers on the course.

Great course to introduce new players to disc golf.

Course appears to be well-maintained by the city of Lewisville, as it is a rather busy residential park.
Cons: Lack of challenge. I've been playing about a year and I really only come here nowadays for forehand-only rounds and when I bring a new player along.

The vast majority of traffic on this course is people using the walking paths. Pedestrians very seldom pay attention to discs, so you've really gotta watch out for them. Many are elderly and walk really slowly.

Most holes have very limited tree coverage, so get there early in the day during warmer months.
Other Thoughts: Probably the best beginner course in DFW. L.L. Woods isn't super long, but has some holes which allow you to let her rip.

Pedestrians aren't the most cordial here, it seems. I try and give a nice "Hey, how's it going?" to everyone I pass while I'm playing, but it seems I'm often ignored here (not the case at other local courses). Furthermore, the pedestrians here seem to walk slower than at other local courses.

Avoid this place on the weekends during summer months, especially early (8am and later), since the place is swarming with walkers. My dad and I tried to play a round here at 8 in the morning and maybe got to play 8 or 9 holes in over an hour, due to the insane amount of foot traffic. The tempo was wait about a minute for pedestrian to clear the area, throw off the tee, wait for another few groups of pedestrians to clear, throw your up-shot, putt, wait 1-5 minutes at the next tee to throw, etc. Brutal.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner Course

5+    3/11/2014   3/12/2014
Review By: ontherun
Played: 32  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find the first hole since it is next to the parking lot
- Park is well maintained
- Bathrooms
- Large concrete tees
- Easy to navigate for people new to the course with the exception of going to hole 11 to 12. There is a concrete tee slightly to the left and behind basket 11 that people tend to go to, so they end up throwing at basket 1. The tee for 12 is to the right, across the walking path and there is a tee sign for it
- Difficult to lose a disc. If you can't find your disc and you are next to the drainage creek, odds are you are going to have to walk/run downstream to find it
- The holes make the most out of the few trees there are on the course and can provide a slight challenge to newer players
- Fun ace runs
Cons: - There is a walking/bike path that is alongside the majority of holes
- Hole 6 has a busy road that plays to the left which may be a problem for beginners or when the wind kicks up
- The basket for 18 has a playground to the left, a backstop that is often used for baseball to the right and a swing set behind the basket. There are often kids walking in front of the basket as well. (Should only be a problem for beginners or when there is strong winds)
- Distances are wrong on the tee signs that are there and haven't fallen apart
Other Thoughts: - Beginner course that would be boring for an advanced player
- There are benches throughout the park but not at the tees, they are located along the walking path and can be in the way on holes 10 and 11 when teeing off
- Drinking fountain by the tee pad of hole 10 is only turned on during the summer
- Holes 1-12 are short with well placed trees that give it a little bit of a challenge but not much
- Holes 13-18 are the longer holes but are wide open
- The course dries out quickly with the exception of hole 1 and around the basket of 2

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Great for beginners

2-4    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: IBDKing
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-A few benches on the jogging trail and near the pavilions
-Great place to bring beginners
-Optimal utilization of the few obstacles that are present in the park
-Start and stop near the main parking lot
-It is impossible to lose a disc
Cons: -Baskets are starting to age and lean a bit
-A few tee signs and "next tee" signs are missing
-There were a few boring open shots towards the end
-The course plays very close (and across) a somewhat busy sidewalk
Other Thoughts: This course was the first course I played on a while back. I am still a beginner, so note that these comments come from one who is still learning.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  L.L. Woods Review

2-4    11/29/2012   11/29/2012
Review By: DFWTX214
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 17.5 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of Good Looks.

Relatively easy to follow.

Great course for night golf. Open and a limited number of trees with a lot of choices for shots.

It would take an unfortunate miracle to lose a disc at this course.

Last few holes are long and open if you want to chunk one.

I'd give it a 3.5 as a night golf course and a 2.5 as a day course. I'll average those to 3 for an overall rating.
Cons: In the middle of a neighborhood on a long and narrow track.

A few baskets are very close together and could be annoying for anyone not familiar with the course.

Joggers and dog walkers using the trails woven between a good number of holes.

The only bathroom is near #1 and it is an open course in the middle of a neighborhood.
Other Thoughts: The ground was hard and the grass short when I played this course. I noticed discs were skipping quite a bit more than my home courses. Players should be careful not to overthrow because of an unexpected skip.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/31/2011   7/31/2011
Review By: yourmomrhymes
Played: 14  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course for beginners.
Wonderfully maintained park.
Very nice tee boxes.
Navigation is very easy thanks to signage.
Trees give most holes personality.
Generally very open, some holes have nothing between the tee box and basket.
Cons: Very easy.
Not a lot of variety.
Fairways are kinda close, but shouldn't be a problem if you can hit the fairway.
Not sure if the pictures on all the signs are accurate, but there is no problem finding the baskets from the tee box.
Other Thoughts: Great course for beginners.
Great course for more advanced players to work on their ace/birdie game.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/15/2011   5/16/2011
Review By: papamullins
Played: 27  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Park is very well maintained. Grass is cut short, tee pads, baskets are in great shape. Signs at baskets pointing towards next tee.

This is a great course to introduce someone to disc golf, or take someone still learning the game. The course opens as you progress, allowing newer players to get a feel for shorter holes and then really drive from the tee.
Cons: Can get pretty busy during the weekends (lots of families, kids playing, people walking / biking on the sidewalks that roam throughout the course) so be sure it's clear before you throw (you should have no problem seeing from tee to basket on each hole).

Either some of the basket locations moved or some of the signs are wrong on distance.

Not a lot of variety here. It's very straightforward, a few holes with some landscaping (trees) mixed throughout, but that's about it.
Other Thoughts: My friends and I try to play this course at least once a week for a night round. LL Woods is an EXCELLENT course to play at night; it is very well maintained. There's no fear of throwing in "the rough" and then searching for your disc.

I think this is a great course to relax and practice your game. If you need more of a challenge, head across the highway to Lake Park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Beginner Course

2-4    3/15/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 424  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 7.5 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a very clean and well kept park. The tee pads are more than long enough to tee off on. There are signs directing you to the next tee pad. As the title stats this is a beginner friendly course. All holes are easily attainable for par. #1 is a nice little hole that is thru the trees. Some of the baskets are guarded by trees, but not so much that you would be scared away. There are also some holes that on the backside of the basket it slopes downhill, so there is some risk reward on your approach/putt. The last 4-5 holes have decent length to them so you can air out your drives, but they aren't so long that you can't reach them in 2-3 shots. As previously stated there is basically no water threat, the drainage ditch could have some water in it, but it is not deep enough that you should loose a disc.
This course will not be all that challenging to an advanced/pro level player. Good for practicing medium range drives and up shots.
Cons: #4's basket was missing its sticker so there was some confusion as to what basket to aim for. There were a few holes that were missing the yardage signs.
Other Thoughts: Has a nice restroom facility in the middle of the park. There is also ample parking and a nice playground and basketball court for the family members that might not be into disc golf. This is the first course that I ever played on so this place is kinda special to me in a way. During the summer it can get crowded with other disc golfers and walkers. The first time I played here, summer of 2010, there was a school group having a picnic in the park and a kid tried to steal a friend of mines disc. I played here, 3-15-2011, in the morning on a weekday and there was no one playing but there were about 5 walkers, so be aware before you throw. Overall a great learners course.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Beginner course

1    1/8/2011   1/9/2011
Review By: C-Van
Played: 101  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Tee Boxes and signing. I always knew where to find the next Tee Box after I finished a hole.
-Great usage of limited space. A could see the city making it a 9 hole course based on the area they had, but they pulled all the stops and made a nice 18 hole course.
-Very clean park, well groomed.
Cons: Can get crowded at times, with people hanging out at the park and there were allot of fellow discers out there when I was there, maybe a sign that there should be another park in the area?
Other Thoughts: I am from the Austin area, and I was visiting some friends and they took me out to this park. I really enjoyed it, very friendly environment with a relaxed environment. Very good course to go have a chill game and/or practice. To me the first 12 holes were very much different from the last 6 holes, which made it interesting.
-I played this one in the winter and there were no leaves on the trees and all of the grass was dead. I wonder how the course would have been during the spring and/or summer.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Top 3 Cleanest Courses

5+    8/31/2010   8/31/2010
Review By: johnwangg
Played: 143  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
1. This is one clean course. The park is very well maintained (I did see it once not mowed, but that was quickly fixed that weekend). There really is not any trash.

2. All tees clearly marked, and all pads are cemented. The "pseudo" creek is all cemented and never really fills with water. Very easy to get your disc.

3. There is plenty of parking and fairly easy to get to.

4. There are a couple of good holes that may be challenging.
Cons:
1. There really are not any obstacles, you can pretty much launch in any direction. There are a few trees but mostly get in the way if you mess up you mid-shot.

2. Rather short course, you can bomb almost every hole, except maybe the first one (its way too short and not very challenging, if you dont birdie that one, you will par it)

3. There are no elevational changes or challenging tee placements. Its pretty open.

4. It is a shared park so you will get kids as obstacles, along with joggers and even some homes. Ive landed one disc in someones back yard as well as their front yard.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course if your looking for good practice before you go onto the other side and play the lake. I play courses based on location and love it when its in pairs. 2 in lewisville, 2 in mckinney, 2 in cedar hill, dallas and garland (i count that as two also).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.